(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Ica: Ya.. just launched one.. chestnut ice cream.. called Koorimo. Now not available in retail store.. can only order online. 4 tubs of 130ml cost $18. Quite ex right?

my hb just asked me to go with him to hong kong. he's going for work, leaving sun, back on tues. said he'll worry if leave me in singapore by myseslf. but now walk a short distance already feel breathless, tire easily, dunno how much fun it will be to go hong kong. what a waste of money if go and end up spending the whole time in the hotel room.

130ml is not a lot right? ya, very ex but if you really want it, go ahead. not that you eat it everyday mah

that day i was back in KL, my sis was eating baskin robin's choc chip swirl ice-cream (something like that, can't remember the exact name). i could only watch while she kept digging into the tub and putting it into her mouth...so cham! and hubby also had ice kacang - i could only watch...boohoohoo

Serene: I also dunno nice or not lei. Cos if order 1 pack nia (4tubs), delivery fee is $5. Only when order 4 packs, then delivery is FOC. Find it quite ex so dun dare to order yet.

babycoco: I would go lo.. i dun mind rotting and eat lots of food. Shopping is not my style. haha!

Ann coz i failed my glucose test lor. gynae said no sugar. do you think there is no sugar ice-cream? if got, i'll eat. hahaha...i think i wanna eat black sesame ice-cream

gynae also said no santan (coconut milk), so no curry unless it's evaporated milk. if i've known that i'd fail the test, i'll gorge on these forbidden food. ahahaa

HONGKONG!! FOOD!!

can go eat mango dessert.. then go eat.. yu dan.. then go eat.. dim sum.. YUMMMMMMMM

go fa yuen street to buy bb things! lol..

buy and nua in hotel eat also can...

ica -- alamak, actually i quite bo chap liao.. i jus eat.. haha.. ice cream whatever.. teh ice also drink liao.. lol..

Ann -- ahh.. hmm... ex.. but if u crave for it.. go get it! i cannot tahan cravings now.. last night at 11pm.. i told my hubby i wanna eat ba bao and lo mai kai.. and he had to go some kopitiam to get it.. lol.. cannot wait means cannot wait somemore.. lol.. im a meanie..

ica, i know how you feel. today i'm very bad, had 3 chocolate waffle for afternoon tea. feel so guilty afterwards. but my blood sugar seems to be under control, every time i do the blood test on the glucometer, the result is all normal.

ann, hmmm you're right, i don't mind going to hong kong just for the food ... yum.

just curious, when did you mummies take the glucose test? is it when there's high sugar levels in the urine test? or at a fixed time, like 28th/30th week etc. Coz i can't stay away from chocs and ice cream but so far haven't had any glucose test....scared already..

thanks serene, peanut, ica .. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i might have a steak later tonite & get brush this wkend. prob about time i gather all things in place ... lol ... have not even bought many of e things i bought by this time when i had #1!

babycoco

i would if i were u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] like Ann said, even if it was just to relax in hotel & veg out & watch tv ..

peanut

so far, i have not done any glucose test either. i didnt do that for #1 either so i dont know if routine test or not leh. BUT i did test for some +ve protein in urine in last test - i also duno wat it means. Gynae said "to monitor" [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Re: Weather

hope when all of us do our confinements it wont be so hot! its unbearable!

actually i was given a test strip every time i visit the gynae.. then im suppose to pee pee on the strip and the colours on the litmus paper will change.. then put it into a zip lock and show to nurse. nurse say ok, i throw away.. haha.. dun even know whats that for.. and i keep forgetting to ask

I took my Oral Glucose test in week 26, as I have signed my baby up as a guinea pig for the GUSTO study. This test was part of the study. If not for the study, I don't think my gynae would have asked me to go for the test, cos I don't have any risk factors. Not overweight, no family history of diabetes. Maybe just age over 30 years. Maybe it's a blessing in disguise. Now I'm more conscious with my food and I exercise more. So far, I manage to maintain my weight gain at 7kg at 28 weeks.

Ica: No lei.. so far I dunno any ice cream with no sugar except those that my furkids are having. Hehe!! Help u keep a lookout.. if I find one, i let u know. haha!!

Serene: Ya lo.. have a crave for it but then see the price dun dare to buy too. Haha!!

The test strip is to test whether your glucose is high or not lo. If it turns green or darker green in colour, it means your sugar level is high. If it doesn't turn colour at all, it means your level is ok. I asked the nurse the first time I took the test. I was expecting colour change or something but nothing happen so i ask her and she told me.

peanut: Not everyone will take the test. Like I have mentioned before, i think pple who take this test are pple who have strong family history of diabetics like me or they fail the strip test everytime they go see gynae.

For me, I totally stopped eating sweet things in my first trimester. 2nd trimester, eat a little. Now abit hard to control. Haha!!

Serene haha! too late liao! i read ur post on the HK food, then followed by your craving for lo mai kai (my fave), then babycoco mentioned her choc waffles! wah! really cannot tahan, so am having an apple now. haha!

my next glucose test is same as my next checkup at gynae's on 19 May. just use glucometer only. oh, now my checkups every 3 wks

babycoco ok la, if your glucose reading is normal. gynae said i dun hv to test every day. very difficult when you have cravings lor. before i got pregnant, i drank coffee almost everday but stopped as soon as i found out. now can only smell...hmmm...ok la, better than nothing. hahaha

peanut glucose test is not routine. only if there's glucose in your urine or family history. taken about wk28

babycoco: I came back frm HKG last month. Only downside is that the MTR alot not very friendly, must climb alot of steps! Also toilets might be hard to find so must plan ahead first hehee. Otherwise, its sooo fun!! And not as hot as SG!

Our weather is really killer leh. I just came back from shopping with my hubby and both of us really melting in the sun just by walking to our car. End up we went MCdonalds drive thru to treat ourselves to milkshake cos the weather is just toooooo hott!!!!!!!

Ann: Chestnut icecream? Taste like those "gao luk"? I love gao luk!! =D

ann -- thanks!! no wonder when i had durian a day before my check up.. then i took the test, the nurse tell me no good. say i wanna fall sick liao.. and zun zun i really fell sick.. -__-'''

ica -- OOOOPPPPss... once in a while, eat something sweet nvm right? i mean.. i really what i will do if gynae ask me not to eat sweet stuff.. are u following strictly to it?

Ann wow! ice-cream for dogs? they are so lucky these days! hahaha.

every time i peed on the test strip, it's ok, so i thot maybe i won't fail the glucose test. then it turned out the other way round lor.

when my dad had diabetes, doc tested his urine and it was ok. but the doc din test his blood glucose. only found out when he started losing a lot of weight and was thirsty all the time, and he fainted at home.

Peanut

for me I take every time i visit my gynae...

dont remember since when I start doing the test so far they didnt come back to me with any problem..

Jaclyn

Talking abt gao luk... yummy yummy... got craving already..

Jaclyn: No idea how it taste lei but they claim to be using premuim chestnut paste to make the ice cream. Haha!! See the intro about the product i also wanna drip saliva liao. Now I feel so tempted to order. Hehe!!

Serene: haha.. I never take anything sweet prior to checkup. Scared i won't passed. haha!!

ica: Ya lo.. their ice cream even more expensive than mine ah. Then have to make yourself one lei.. doesn't come ready made. Only let them have it once. I did taste it but very yucky for me cos not sweet at all. They enjoy it so happily.

Serene well, when gynae 1st told me to avoid sugar when baby was too big, i stritcly followed. then when baby's weight back to normal, i indulged a bit lor. now i will try very, very hard to avoid sugar - naturally found in food ok but not watermelon or even papaya. no fun hor? but better also, then i can control my weight

Jaclyn eh, thanks for the idea! but i was thinking of having natural yoghurt and add fruit. less sugar ma...wonder what it will taste like frozen? hmmm...will give it a try

thanks for the info mummies! i'd better watch my sugar intake, just in case. I've got a horribly sweet tooth. must eat chocolate everyday..

Wah, suddenly so much talk about food again. Haa, making me hungry.

babycoco,

Yup, like what ica mentioned, can use those cloth diaper and use it as pillow. Cos its said that for newborns, their necks are not very strong yet, thus a pillow might be too high for them alr.

peanut: i also have a very sweet tooth. i will just die if gynae tells me not cut out sweet stuff from my diet cos its what makes me happy!!!

Imagine.. no desserts, no icecream, no sweet fruits, no sweet drinks...... :|

babycoco: I also heard abt that too. So I stop myself from buying pillows. hehe!!

sun_tan: I also hungry. Now just had a cup of oat cereal drink. More healthy choice. Haha!!

Jaclyn: Fruits still ok ba. I think take once in a long long while shouldn't be a problem one la. But I do agree sweet stuff makes us happy.

Jaclyn, I totally understand. heheh. need sweet stuff esp at work. but must control otherwise will get a total ban from gynae!

Hey mummies! few more minutes to knock off! whee~

anyone has any idea where i can get nice dresses that fits me now? I have a ROM & Wedding dinner to attend end of this month. All the nice maternity dresses cost like $80 and above and i dun wanna spend on them coz only left 2 mths to go...

Sweetkiss: I also have a wedding dinner and ROM lunch to attend beginning of June haha! Any ideas for nice maternity wear would be great!! One that don't cost us an arm and a leg! :D

wonder y maternity clothes cost a boom.. its d same thing like buying a bigger size clothes rite... so frustrating, some tops n pants cost 100dlrs? imagine...ridiculous..

ya lor, i only own a pair of white maternity pants so far, and it cost me $70+ from Spring Maternity. That's my one & only pants which i wear once a week. LOL... The rest are flare dresses which i had before pregnancy. I look so plain & boring repeating same clothes every week. So sad cant buy nice clothes from blogshops now.

I've also been desperately searching for wedding-appropriate clothes to wear! need more for May and June weddings too. So far I've just been wearing non-maternity babydoll clothes, and borrowing clothes from my bigger friends. I'm not even big enough for maternity wear which is frustrating. :|

wah my husband so lucky.. his friends planned a pre-fatherhood trip for him all expenses paid some more... so who is gng to provide a pre-motherhood trip for me then...?

babycoco,

I think about 3 months when bb's neck is stronger and more stable bah. I bought one from babysafe, those with dent in the middle so that bb's head wont become "flatten".

Haha, lucky for me, due to my hubby's patang-ness, he dont allow me to attend any wedding/birthday/full month celebration, so i am exempted from all these, thus dun need to buy extra clothes :p

Aisha,

Wah, you hubby's fren so good!! Haa go hint your girlfriends!

Aisha: Wah... all expenses paid lei.. but pre-fatherhood trip to where? Did he submit agenda for approval first? haha!!

hahaha!! he's going off tis friday to bali, only now he msg to ask for permission..cheh got no balls one. scared i'll blow up if he were to tell it to my face.. haha! i told him to put me up in a nice hotel lah then its fair.. hehe!

i bought dresses from top shop, dorothy perkins.. they also have a range of maternity clothes at great world city outlet.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Aisha: Ya.. he shld bring u along lei. Haha! Put you up in a nice hotel to enjoy too.

Valerie: I find that 3D scan and 4D scan only differ by not much in terms of price so I choose 4D scan instead.

Just now me & hubby went to coffeeshop for dinner. I went to buy drink at the drink stall. There were 2 aunties there and immediately say my tummy is a girl and commented my tummy very big. Ask me when give birth. I told them mid July and say mine is a boy. They were shocked and say my tummy quite big liao. Then a 3rd auntie came and they told her that my tummy very big hoh.. still have 2 more mths then give birth. Then that auntie say it's a boy cos tummy big. Ask me is it boy and ask if is twin. I say yes is boy and no it's not twin. I cannot stop laughing. They even ask me if I walk will feel heavy or not. I say no.. not really la.

I went back to the table and tell my hubby what those aunties say and say my tummy is big la cos a number of pple keep asking is it twin. My hubby say no la.. not that big at all. haha!!

Hello Ladies.

I have been so tied up lately and have just managed to read the threads.

Watched IronMan 2 on Monday this week - was good but I still prefer IronMan 1.

The weather is so hot and I have been sleeping naked with aircon and fan on (hubby has been away pass two days so I have the entire bed to myself). The heat is unbearable. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I have my 4D scan at Radlink and also my usual scan at KKH this Friday. Hopefully, this time I can see baby's sex.

Was at babyfair last weekend and bought some essential items like: cot, car seat, rocker, bathtub, pram, some extra bed sheets, plus some baby clothings.

I feel I need to buy some more things like bottles etc... But will do it next month.