(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

cherry: i also didn't think of tt qns leh..maybe i shld ask my gyane on my next appt.

ling: some durian will help to do tt trick..protein make bb big n fat..

i stop taking durian liao..scared bb grow too big...every 1 is scaring mi by saying my tummy big big..but doc say he's ok..will have to see how much he weight at the next appt.

ann: i going to do tt after my next gyane appt..go cut my long hair short then manicure n pedicure all at once..maybe some last min shopping also.

cherry.sue -- time ur contractions as it would be very informative for ur gynae to advice u what to do next. and yes, inform gynae about ur contractions.

Ann -- haha..remember dun paint ur nails, cause the nurse might ask u to wipe it off... as for hair, i will leave it long so that i can tie properly when i have my confinement.. last confinement, i was worried that i would be HOT.. so i went to cut and layer my hair.. and i totally regretted it lor.. so i learnt my lesson and i shall leave it as it is.. keke..

Sweetkiss -- it depends.. sometimes, water bag will not burst and gynae might have to burst it for u in the hospital.. depending on everyone's threshold of pain.. sometimes some mommies dun even know it thats a contraction..

because at the later stage, our visits to the gynae will be more frequent, so we will agar agar know when we are dilated and how much.. normally once we are 3cm dilated, the speed of dilation will be SUPPPEERR fast.. but from 1-3cm it can take days or weeks...

with our frequent visits, the chances of getting a shock would be minimized unless precious decides to come out earlier than expected..

Contractions: I think I will time the contractions and see if it is getting more intense before calling the doc. I have very bad habit one.. only go to doc if I cannot tahan. If waterbag breaks then of cos I will go to the hospital immediately and call my gynae.

lasery: My mum did not buy anything for BB at all. She is only going to buy the anklet for him cos she say it is tradition that grandma from mummy side have to give anklet to grandson. Dunno why too. So now she waiting for gold price to drop before she buy.

Wa.. your BB school already fixed ah.. that is very fast lo. My hubby and I only concern abt playgroup and childcare now. I understand that childcares in ang mo kio quite hard to get in cos long waiting list.

Ann -- pls dun wait ah.. cause we cannot anticipate the road traffic condition and we cannot tell how fast we are dilating... keke.. better go hospital when gynae advice u to hor.. keke..

Serene: I dun think I will paint my nails. I will cut my hair short in June. But if have time then would like to trim it to make it tidy before I go hospital. I think i will like to cut it short short till my neck expose. I hate it when it is hot.

Hehe.. will take your advice and not wait. I think my hubby will not let me wait too. Now every little thing, he also wanna call Dr Fong. I have to be the one who stop him from doing so.

Ann >> I also wanted to cut my hair real short. Had a haircut last Sat & asked the stylist, can I cut my hair short now like Kym Ng like that (used to have such short hairstyle anyway).

But the stylist said now my face shape not suitable...sianz! Cuz my face now become bigger & rounder, so hv to stick to my bob.

serene: i intend to cut my hair wor...i struggle very very long then decide de..now thinking again liao..i scared very hot..

ann: my mum kinda kiasu de..haha..but nvm lah..who don't like their son to get dote on by the grandparents rite..

ya..sch aready fixed liao..save me from all the trouble.

any 1 can teach how to time the contraction? no idea wat to look out for.

mrslong: I looked very funny with short hair too.. I look like school kid with short hair. My mum say maybe dun cut my fringe too short then I won't look so funny.

When should I head to hospital?

It is often advised that when the contractions last about a minute every 10 or 15 minutes, you should make your way to your chosen place of birth. Another useful guideline is known as the '4-1-1 rule' - meaning that it's time to get to the maternity ward when contractions are 4 minutes or less apart, lasting for 1 minute each, with this occurring for 1 hour or more.

However, you should make sure beforehand to check the policy of your chosen place of birth with regards to when they would advise you to come in, as different birthing centres can vary.

If you are not yet 37 weeks pregnant but you have been experiencing increasingly regular contractions, either with or without other signs of labour, then it's important to get in touch with your doctor or midwife as soon as possible - your baby may be arriving early.

http://www.askbaby.com/timing-contractions-we-explain-how.htm

lasery -- no prob.. actually based on my experience.. contractions are very easy to notice.. i didnt gauge it by pain.. u will notice a muscle movement on ur tum tum.. a movement of ur muscles pushing ur bb from top to bottom.. meaning.. somewhere below ur breast to ur belly button area.. the nurses in the hospital will normally use her hand to feel on ur tum tum and she will know when ur contraction is coming.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

how does contraction feel like and how ur body works to deliver the baby

http://ezinearticles.com/?What-Do-Labor-Contraction-and-Labor-Pains-Feel-Like?&id=492295

The first labor pains are grinding, scattered and irregular. Many women describe it as bad menstrual pains. The first labor pains are usually felt in the front site of the pelvis and groin. Pain is mainly caused by pressure on the abdominal and pelvic area due to powerful uterine contractions and stretching of the cervix, vagina and perineum. During labor, contractions increase in frequency and intensity and can become painful.

As labor proceeds, the pains start to appear in the abdomen. The cervix has to stretch to allow your baby to eventually pass through your birth canal. When the opening to the cervix is fully dilated, the second stage of labor - during which your baby is born - starts. As the baby's head advances further, pains are commonly felt at the back, hip and groin area. When the baby's birth is near, stretching of the perineum causes burning sensations. At this stage many women feel like they are going to burst. Majority of them, however, suffer only minor tears, if any, especially if good laboring positions and movement have been used to help the baby to rotate and find the easiest way out.

The baby passes through your birth canal and is born by a combination of the continuing contractions of your uterus, and your conscious effort to push your baby out by using the abdominal muscles. The physical and mental relief after vigorous laboring, and the ecstasy of getting your baby in your arms, are such a victory and pleasure that the last stage of labor - which is the birth of the placenta - is often unnoticed by the mother. As the placenta is much smaller than the baby is, and the birth canal is open, the uterine contractions push the placenta out easily.

serene : ok noted..will take note of tt incase i have any..

bb is kicking too much on mi until i pratically feel nth except his flying kicks...

he had been super hyper since yesterday mint ice-cream..he kick for the whole nite until i didn't really slep n just nw near breakast he kick until like i starve him for 1 nite like tt. now after lunch an hr liao he start again..

really give up on him liao..

cherry_sue,

My friend was into her 8 weeks ... the baby stopped growing so... sad to hear that coz we were so happy when she conceived.. not easy for her...

*yawn* sleepy and hungry. Waiting for friends to da bao food for me... don't dare to step out into the heat!

Haha, serene, you're really good... did so much research [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lasery2k,

Me too! Want to cut my hair... but to do that, I must rebond the flyaway hair I have...

I asked my gynae again... told her that I keep getting tension headaches due to weight of hair yet can't tie(get headaches) nor cut (messy hair if no rebonding)... Finally she said I can go ahead and rebond... she said that a little chemical is still alright bah... somemore 30 weeks already...

lasery -- keke.. cause got a lot of versions of hearsay ma.. besides my own personal experiences, i also do some reading and see what sounds logical to me... many things have to learn thru experiences.. and no point frightening myself on unnecessary things.. mother nature is wonderful and we shud trust her.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i going to do a mask then go zzz liao..need to catch back some slep while tt little kungfu panda inside is aslep nw..

wait til he wake up for dinner will be another around of kungfu fighting..

when i cut my hair to prep for my previous confinement, i was hoping that i will feel much lighter and more airy head.. haha.. but then...i realise that thru out the whole confinement i tied up and bun my hair... and the layering and the length of hair makes it difficult to tie up neatly..

my buddy who gave birth 2 mths earlier than me cut her hair real short.. and she told me that she got frustrated cause she cannot do anything to keep her hair in place.. she sacrifice her "looks" of having short hair for the confinement.. and after confinement, she got fed up cause she say she look very auntie and even wanted to go hair extension.. lol

but these are personal experiences la.. its really up to u all de.. for me, im jus keep it the way it is.. look ugly during confinement and right after confinement, i am gg to re do my hair style, paint my nails and whatever that i hadnt been doing for the past 11 mths!!!! lol

but but... do remember to ask if u are bf-ing ur baby ah... keke.. WELCOME TO MOTHERHOOD!!

Serene Tan,

Hahaha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Your kungu panda is napping har? Then mummy panda is also going to Zzz? Envy envy. Got a long meeting later... think I'll nap with eyes wide open.

Hair har? Me still having this inner debate loh... previous pregnancy I suffered throughout but was lucky to do confinement in Dec/Jan period whereby weather is rather ok... but now shudder at the sheer heat we will be going through in July!

I rebonded my hair when my #1 was 1.5months old. Expressed and threw away a few bottles of milk after that though..

Thanks, Lasery. My friend had lotsa durian when she was pregnant and her baby was big. Though not a keen fan of durian, I also have to watch my sugar level.

Small tummy, big tummy, people will comment. As long as baby is healthy, it doesn't matter, my friend consoled me.

serene n phy : ya little kungfu panda sleping inside now...

mama panda nw doing mask...after tt will go zzz also...feels good to be on mc..can rest..

2molo will be back to work...=.=!!..jia you jia you..

hi, has anyone been diagnosed with gestational diabetes? what's the advice given for diet? and how many times must we monitor our blood sugar levels? my ogtt value was 10.2, which my gynae was pretty concerned.

ling : ya..big bb small bb also no difference..but having a small bb also gd leh..give birth easier compare to big bb..squeeze until faint loh..

cherry.sue,

Haha, just open your eyes the widest force them to stay that size for longest possible duration! Then blink a few times and repeat the steps.. haha, it works for me.. Aiyo, my big boss can really yak away non stop. Her track record is 3 hours without a water nor toilet break.

hello all,

Have a bad scare these few days as I did not feel BB moves a lot lately... just early last week, I still can see my belly moved up and down, but these few days its back to throbbing only... Hubby wants me to go A&E immediately but I thought I can still feel BB every now and then. My next appt is about three weeks time so I called up KKH yesterday to fix the earliest appt with my Gynae today.

Just back from KKH, Gynae sensed my worry and asked me if I feel any pain, heavy discharge, active bleeding and such... then he did a U/S scan for me. Phew... baby is okay, got heartbeat, umbilical cord was not around her neck, she is now 1.5kg at 30th week. And to be doubly sure that BB is okay, he ordered me to do a CTG to monitor BB's heartbeat. after being strapped for 30 mins, the report come back clean...*relief* Gynae said maybe I am too distracted in my daily activities that I did not notice BB's movement... anyway glad that she is fine...

julie -- i only heard from my collegue tt his wife got it during preggy..but it's only during the 9mths which she need to watch her sugar intake n to monitor the blood sugar level daily.

Hey anyone needs bonds singlets for kiddos? I'm getting some for my little BB. Very comfy and cooling when weather is hot and can be inner wear when it is colder.

eliss -- glad tt yr little one is ok..i saw somewhere in the post, as bb grow bigger, the movement will be less due to space constrain inside. as long we monitor them n make sure there's movement can le..

i want a bb girl lah...more guai n more gentle..nt like bb boy..so violent and kick so hard everytime..

Hi Afternoon mummies,

I was reading earlier post and came across on the walking part ard 30 wks. Is it true that by 30 Wks we cannot walk more than 30 mins?

lasery2k: yap i understand what u gg thru cos i also work in semi gov env. They even scheduled me to go base when i am in my 32+ wks.

lasery2k

me gng to cloth diaper partial only. nite time still go w disposables so that bb can slp as long as possible w/o feeling wet on his bum

cool..finally a kaki...jelly, tt's wat i intend to do also leh..

at brand u going for the cloth diapers..i still doing search for them.

lasery2k, not true, my bb girl is also very very violent, kick very hard. dunno what she was doing last night, kept kicking near my colon, so uncomfortable. i always tell her, you're a girl, must be ladylike, not be so violent, hahahha.

lasery2k

bought the babyland ones from a recent bp. they are quite resonably price at $12/pc if i buy 10pc or more covers. the inserts are $3/pc. i like it. i tried on my 19mth tod but v xiong, hv 2 change evry 2hrs, if not her golden bum will bcome red.

Eliss -- thank god. but not to worry.. as bb gets bigger, bb will move less due to space constrain... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] its a good move to go for a check up to make sure everything's ok

Cloth diapers -- im not using as diapers but i will be using for blankets/swaddling.. i bought pureen brand as i was recommended by a friend who cloth diaper-ed her bb.. i washed the cloths the other day and i find that its soft and ventilated..

Eliss: Glad to hear BB is doing ok. Sometime I get worried like you too. But i know my BB hoh.. everytime after exercise session, he will tone down his movement for 1 day or 2 before being active again. At first I freak out but then I got used to it. Also dunno why he tone down his movement too.. i mean i am the one exercising not him and he seems more tired than i am. Haha!!

Cloth diapers: I am using Pigeon one. I have not wash any of the clothings yet. I will use cloth diapers for daytime and diapers for nite time.

Julie: What is ogtt value? How u get the value? I did my glucose test, the nurse only tell me normal. That's all.

Just back from running errands at raffles place, walked the whole raffles place, so hot and think i walk too much, back aching badly now.

Eliss: was just thinking about you this morning, coz havent seen u here for some time, was wondering if you are ok. Glad to hear tt u and bb is doing fine! : )

Ya i dun intend to cut my hair coz i thinking at least during confinment can bun up or something.