(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

vernie

agree with phy, go with glass bots from the hospital. b4 u leave for hm after ur delivery, on a daily basis, get FM fm the ward and stock it up. after that if u r keen to feed ur bub w the FM, dun throw the bots away, wash and dry them. they are gd for next use for ur bm! they are BPA free and is at no cost to u... keke... all u hv 2 do is get the covers from places like TMC/kiddy palace to cover ur bm

Ya, the bottle caps are sold at parent craft at TMC as well as the shop downstairs. If you have FBI/SBI card, got 10% discount.

Jellypurin,

Ya, express and store then when milk times comes, put in bottle warmer, put in the teat and vola, the milk meal is ready! haha

phy

u r already v gd.i will try and express exclusively from the start for my #2 for 6mths. after that will wean him cos my job is too demanding. my office dun hv place to express sm more!

RE: Baby Expo

Anyone intending to go down tmrw? The advertisement never really tells much.

Dun even know what other vendors/retailers are there.

can anyone tell me...for the cloth nappies right...we need to get another protection for BB to wear ontop of the nappies...erm wat tat call arh...

mrslong - me will prob go down after work tomorow..can chk out the metro expo sale too...but i agree dat the advertisement sucks..probably another small-scale disappointin event [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jellypurin,

Hee, I intend to express as much as I can and freeze them!! Hmm, I'm luckier, there's a small little room here for me to express but hor... seriously speaking, really wonder if I can still express while working.... quite lazy for #2.

Mrs long,

I may go Expo to take a look tomorrow coz will have to drive my sister to the airport anyway.

Wanna look at car booster seats. But if too crowded, will give it a miss.

milk bags gonna BF my kid but being 1st time mom so not too sure. TIA for answering my questions:-

1. if freezing BM using bag, to thaw it, do we put in fridge first, then later warm it up? or can we put the bag directly into a mug of warm water to thaw it? or hot water also can?

2. after warming up the milk, we pour into a milk bottle - will we be introducing more air into the milk?

3. if expressing milk into the bags direct, means we have to hold the bags, right?

4. what about those Avent VIA storage cups - is it all right to express milk into a bottle, then transfer into a storage cup to put into fridge?

jellypurin, phy: Thanks for the advice. Will get glass bottles from hospital then. Won't buy first. All hospitals give the glass bottles? Not just TMC right? Coz I will be delivering at Mt A.

vernie

yeah, they do.

ica

1. u can thaw in fridge or use hot water to warm up. nv microwave or boil the bag

2. no. u will not introduce more air. if i am not wrg, air is introduce when bb sucks on teat

3. if u r using medela, their pump and save bag attaches to the breastshield, hence u dun. otherwise, u will need to do some form of transfer

4. avent via cups are storage cups and can be frozen. if u r using medela, there is the avent to medela bottle rings to help u pump direct to via cups even when u r using a medela pump.

eliss

can. u can tell the nurse u want to standby in case ur milk dun cm immediately or to be used at hm for just in case situations...

Jellypurin thanks so much! hope BF comes easy to me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my office has a multi-purpose room, small one but it's known as the milking room among colleagues. haha

Tell the nurses you need the bottles coz you may want to store BM in them.

But bear in mind that the capacity of the bottles is 90ml, at most 100ml.

Anyway, the nurses won't ask much coz many mothers get the bottles from them [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Usually the nurses won't ask a lot. Just ask for a few bottles to last you for a few days.

But bear in mind that the capacity of the bottles is 90ml, at most 100ml.

Anyway, the nurses won't ask much coz many mothers get the bottles from them [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

transporting EBM sorry, forgot about this question.

To transport EBM from work to home, is it ok to keep it in the fridge and upon reaching home, put them in the freezer? Will need an insulated bag + ice packs for the journey home? TIA again

Dream: Ya lo.. it's quite clear in my mind. Think I always worry BB too big and hope BB come out soon so that might have trigger yesterday's dream. But then the gigantic baby i saw in my dream is really huge and got cleft lips. Was shocked when i saw the gigantic baby. When the nurse told me my baby is not in this nursery, then I sort of heave a sigh of relief although at the same time I am worried like where's my baby then?

1. if freezing BM using bag, to thaw it, do we put in fridge first, then later warm it up? or can we put the bag directly into a mug of warm water to thaw it? or hot water also can?

You can put in fridge the previous night to thaw it but thawing process a bit slow. What I did is to put the bag under running water for a while then pour into glass bottles then into bottle warmer set at 40 degrees celcius.

2. after warming up the milk, we pour into a milk bottle - will we be introducing more air into the milk?

Jelly answered that already.

Not sure about q3 and 4 coz I expressed directly into the glass bottles or medela bottles.

I used medela electric pumps. Just need to pum directly into the bottles. To my delight, the glass bottles I got from hospital fit the valves of the pump. Then after that just cap the bottles and store in fridge for next day's use.

If I wanna freeze the expressed milk, will have to transfter the EBM from bottles to milk bags.

ica

best u get a fridge to go or use the insulated bag plus ice pack that comes tog w ur pump. it is impt to keep expressed bm as cold as possible. one other way i know of is that if you are considering to freeze ur bm after u express and not use to bring hm to feed bb, freeze in theoffice fridge and can bring home using any regular freezer bag w/o ice pack provided ur journey hm is not too long, ie more than an hour. but if u r going to use it on bb after u express, then u need ice pack to keep it as fresh as possible

Glass Bottle & Bottled FM - erm, do you ask for these everyday or asked once on the day you discharged?

So does it mean that if we wanna freeze EBM, have to put in the milk bags? We cant freeze them in the glass bottles?

Read the reviews that Laninsoh bags tend to leak.. dunno how true is that.

Good Morning Ladies.

We are so close to the weekend... I love it.

Hey gals, when are some of you planning to stop work in preparation of the little darlings' arrival?

Mine will end this Friday.

eliss

can ask everyday or u ask for the carton to be given to you on the day u leave :p

junie

ya, for first time MTBs it can be but it will get easier. most impt thing is dun give up and dun feel guilty if u cant bf ur bb fully! they will still grow even on FM

jayamum: U mean u are starting your maternity leave, or u have resigned?

I intend to go on leave 1-2 weeks before my EDD, depending on my situation. I hope to start my leave at the latest possible time so i do not waste too much time waiting to pop at home.

Going to take only 3 mths' leave. The rest will clear slowly in case my mum is not free to help me babysit, or to bring baby for checkup & etc.

sweetkiss

technically if u wana freeze bm, u wanna consider milkbags bcos it saves space in ur fridge. the other popular brand is platex and blue egg... but blue egg v ex...

Most likely I'll just take 1 week leave before my EDD to start preparation.

If BB decides to pop abit later, to me still ok...take the days to rest as much as possible & to finish up all the prep work, before BB comes.

jellypurin >> I bought Avent VIA cups (w/o the adaptor) to store my BM.

But honestly, i also dunno what's the procedures like?

1. Pump into the milk bottle

2. Transfer to cup for storage in freezer

3. Take out from freezer, pour into milk bottle

4. Warm it up using food/bottle warmer

5. Give BB drink

Is that correct?

I am thinking of taking 1 or 2 weeks before EDD so that I can prep the BB room and things. Thinking of only washing the clothings nearer to EDD.

Jellypurin, phy thanks!! so much headache becoming a mother, but worth all the hard work [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mrs long, if put the BM into freezer then the milk will be frozen right? then how to pour it into milk bottle? I am also using the Avent milk storage cup!

hahaha...miss one crucial step.

How to thaw the EBM in Avent VIA cups?? Wah, really very suaku leh me.

Anyway, haven't lunch I'm already so tired. Been surviving for 4-5hrs of sleep for the past consecutive nights.

Tossed & turned in bed till ard 12mn then sleep, then wake up at 2am-3am to have a fruit cuz woken up by hunger then before long, got to wake up to pee 3-4 times a night, before waking up @ 6.20am....

Sweetkiss: I am working here on a contract basis. My contract ends this Friday. They have asked me to come back permanently after the baby (only after Im comfortable to come back).

Im keeping my options open for now and told my manager that I will decide this later and thanked her for keeping me in her mind for future employment.

Therefore for now, last day of work is this Friday. Thereafter, I will be busy with preparing for baby's arrival.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

AtomicKitten and Yvonne: Thank you for the info on noodle float. Will go down NTUC AMK to check it out!

Very good discussion going on abt bm storage. I also dunno how milk should be stored.. Learning from u mummies

mrslong should be just like using milk bags - either in the fridge (will take longer) or place the storage cup into a container fill with hot water - courtesy of Jellypurin & phy

i'm getting heaty. have 3 tiny white bumps on the tip of my tongue - they are my heat sensor/indicator. hahaha

oh ok, thanks ica [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Am taking a day leave tmrw so that I can sleep in. Then if I have the energy, then go down Expo.

My HB commented why I always feel tired one...I told him, try going through what I am going through and cuz BB is also "taking away" my energy! Grrr....my leave is slowly being depleted, so sad...

hi ladies! im now waiting to board the plane! will log in after 9 May!~ tata! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I realise something abt hubby recently. Whenever i received my credit card bills, he will looked at it when i am looking at it and he will sort of like question why so much money.

Last mth he asked then i explained to him that remember we booked the chalets for my grandma's bday that's why bill so high. This mth he asked again then i explained to him that remember we went baby hyperstore to buy the stuff for BB and paid using card cos he say can chalk points. Not sure if he conciously did it or sub conciously doing it.

I find it very funny lo and ask him why he like to question my transactions recently. He say nothing.. just asking lo.

By the way, it is my credit card bill and I paid for them. Not using his money at all.

Normally it is the other way round where wife will check on hubby's bill not this way around. Haha!!

Do any of your hubby does that?

Sigh.. i dun have much leave left either. want to take leave also can't.

last nite MIL made me the bitter tonic again. i told her that it is too heaty for me coz i get nosebleed whenever i drink. she doesnt seem to believe me & kept repeating to others "she say she got nosebleed leh, next time i dun make for her".

i finished the tonic and my baby was not active like usual. dunno is it coz i think too much or wad. so i wept silently to myself. dunno why i am so emo lah haha. till today, she is also not as active.. i keep craving for chocolates, i think maybe i need to have some to please my baby. :p

Ann haha! my hubby will if he can get his hands on them. but i have the key to the mailbox and and i'm always back home before he does, so he has no chance. kekeke

but he likes to go thru my sms and contacts, and cleverly starts deleting those sms/contacts which he finds foreign to him. gets me riled up coz i may need them mah. so i said to him "eh, who died and appointed you world monitor?" now he'll ask before he starts deleting. my hubby very kaypoh la

Sweetkiss dun worry about baby. think it's becos they're growing very rapidly so their indoor heated swimming pools getting too small. my baby also dun move as much, only at nite after dinner when i sit down to rest or early in the morning to wake me up. but movement wise not as much as towards end of 2nd tri

okie. going for lunch now. looks like it's going to rain

Ann> Nope, my HB doesn't check my credit card bills cuz he doesn't hv a chance to & can't be bothered, haha. Cuz I'm usually the one who open the letterbox & is the "home secretary" for my HB too.

But for my HB, if I spend alot, he'll think I'm a spendthrift & spend on "uselesS" things...but when he spend, can & deemed as "useful" things. :p