(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

wah, sweetkiss, reading ur post makes me hungry again! even though i just had a yummy lunch of sweet sour pork, ginseng chicken drumstick and brinjals and red bean soup! yum yum

Sweetkiss wow! really good appetite. my lunch was quite bland - home cooked meal - salmon, spinach, egg + rice. only the egg has a bit of soya sause...so sleepy now. some of my colleagues were having malay rice and i smelled the sambal - so nice. feel like having that for dinner. before that i was craving for chicken rice

Rmummy you're making me hungry, too but today not much appetite. yesterday i ate a lot. hahaha...what i miss is bitter gourd.

maybe tonite i'll cook a bit of red bean soup - i like to add black glutinous rice..hmmmm..yum yum

phy: amazing! when can u start to request for epidural? the moment you are dilated?

rmummy: ur lunch sounds yummy too leh! ginseng chicken.. omg :p

ica: u packed lunch to work? i am also tend to sleepiness after lunch. i think i am still not full. feel like having a warm bowl of porridge. hahaha

phy : i am amazed at how u can tahan 2 hours of pushing!!! i only managed to push for max 20 mins and after that, i totally no strength liao even tho i thot i was quite fit and had to resort to vacuum!

I was also induced. Did they insert prosteen in you? i hated that feeling! it was so painful! felt like someone pushing a brick inside me!

Sweetkiss once in a while, when i have leftovers from Sunday's dinner. but today's lunch was becos i bought 1 big piece of salmon over the weekend but din eat it. so yesterday nite had instant noodles with salmon + spinach. so repeated them for lunch lor, but with rice

tonight i just feel like having cereal with milk. these days i seem to keep thinking about milk

hi ica,

as a generic advise, do purchase insurance policies based on the country where you child is likely to be permanently based in. this is because there may be clauses that have conditions based on period of residency in the country where your child is residing. this is to ensure that claims is not affected should you need to do so one day.

ann,

may i take this opportunity to share with you a parenting essential information pack to enhance or complement your existing knowledge? this information pack serves to provide a general guide on the types of insurance policies to look for and general information on issues like education costs and etc. hope you find it useful.

download link- http://www.mediafire.com/?wmio1yozfgl

Hi Ann,

I cannot get to slp lor and was tossing ard the bed.. The pain was still bearable for me.. I wonder how the pain will be without epidural coz i intend to try w/o it coz i think this time will be a fast 1.

sgwestie thanks for the advice. no worry, if residency is an issue, i wouldn't have considered any proposal in the 1st place. have to be careful when buying cross border insurance [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi ica,

sure no problem. this is something that i always ask my foreign clients in the discussion. all these are the technicalities which clients may sometimes overlook. great to know that you have taken note of cross border issues.

Need some advise with regards to Cord Blood banking.

Would you all choose CordLife or StemCord? And let me know why if possible okie?

supergal >> My HB & I decided to bank our BB's cord blood with Stemcord.

1. Most of our friends signed up with Stemcord for their BBs' cord blood.

2. Stemcord stores the cord blood in 2 location

Also heard from friends,

3. Stemcord is set up by a group of doctors, whereas Cordlife is more commercialized.

So personally, I would rather store my BB's blood with an org. that's established by a group of doctors.

Just my personal opinions/preferences.

supergal,

we have chose cordlife. infact, i check with my gynae. My gynae said that cordlife more established. she said both equal good.

for mummies who have decided not to store cord blood commercially, do have a think abt donating it instead to the Singapore Cord Blood Bank.

Think abt how you and ur bb can really save another person's life with just this simple act.

And the whole process is v easy - they will come to meet you at your convenience and you dun have to pay anything at all too to donate the blood.

U can read more at www.scbb.com.sg.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sorry the info was a bit outdated. Just read that Stemcord now stores the blood in bags now too.

I am also going to donate mine if suitable. going to inform my gynae on my next appt.

cord blood banking it's noble to donate it but once it's donated to the public bank, we don't own it anymore. if it's not used and baby needs it, then baby has priority but retrieval fee is quite substantial, almost the same as banking privately. public bank has more stringent criteria as they need to cater to general public, worldwide. so if the cord blood is insufficient, they will not proceed to store. the amount required for each person depends on the person's weight

I am so happy today I had my prenatal massage.. finally after so long, feels good to kena PRESS!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Have you ladies booked your postnatal massage ladies yet?

hi ica, i'm not sure abt the retrieval fee part. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

but for me, the deciding factor to donate the cord blood than keeping it for my darling was the fact that " transplant surgeons will NOT use back the baby's blood for the baby cos the genetic abnormality that caused the cancer/blood/immune system would already be in the blood in the first place" (source: scbb.com.sg). So, in other words, the cord blood will be not be useful in that sense.

Also, i've read somewhere that cord blood will only be used to treat a very limited number of diseases and only to a certain extent.

Just my 2 cents worth, no offense to anyone who feels otherwise, k. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yes, agree with Rmummy.

that is also the reason y i am also encouraging mommies to donate their bb's cord blood for a greater cause rather than bank it like an insurance against a disease that the baby may hv and used it for therapy - which in this case is ineffective due to the genetic abnormally.

but is ultimately a parent's decision on what to do with the cord blood.

Rmummy} ya, that's true about the abnormality already inherent in the stem cells. i remember reading an article in ST about 1 year back, whether to go private or public - no conclusion.

but then, who wants to come to a stage where one has to use it, right?

i'm just thinking, if the abnormality is already in baby's cord blood, then will it be suitable to treat others? how does it work?

Hi all, just got my lap top back, i forgot who are those who wanted me to email them the chinese names book. Can PM me again? Thanks!

ica

i think gene therapy is too chim for discussion. but hvg said that i think the general logic is that someone's else's abnomally maybe another person's cure [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

also, i think recently, if i didn't understood or read wrong, cordlife featured a story on cordblood being used on a gene therapy from one sibling to another sibling. it was a case they used for marketing but if i din notice wrgly, the case was for teh younger sibling's cordblood to be used on the older. so the case of the older sibling using her own cordblood was either not present or not possible.

Jellypurin oh ya, i think cordlife advertised big time on this. was it a caucasian child? i thot the child's cerebral palsy was due to insufficient oxygen when the mom was giving birth to her, and not that the child has inherent abnormality? stuck in the birth canal for 3-4 hours, i think

cordblood banking - those who sign up for private cordblood banking, can divulge how much are we talking about on annual banking cost?

ica

ya, probably. but i think they were advertising how her sister cordblood helped her and not how her own cordblood helped her so that was why i disclaimed that either her own cordblood was not present or was not cosiderred... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cord Blood banking: After some research and discussion with hubby, we decided to donate to public cord blood bank instead. I read somewhere that normally doctor would not use the cord blood of the baby to save baby itself. Imagine if your baby have some form of cancer in them, what is the chance of the cancer cell not being in existence in your baby cord blood? So normally doctor would still advise to use another person's cord blood if need be. Saving the cord blood ptely is mainly becos in case close kins like siblings or parents needs to use it and not becos baby need it. And you cannot keep the cord blood forever. So me & hubby rather donate it out.

Jellypurin no la, i think she used her own cord blood. her story also came out in one of the parenting mags. maybe it's another case?

finally i end work le..can chat here with every1..

was talking to 1 of my collegue regarding cordlife just now and here pops the topic on it. so 'qiao'.

she bought the 10years 'insurance' from cordlife and it's about 2k plus, but they only have to pay 1k odd due to subsidise from govt. another 1 is 5k plus for 21 years. and to pay about 2.5k..which is like half the amt.

as for annual she told mi not worth it as after 5 years the premimum will increase . which is 100over buckz per year thingy for first 5 years.

Hi Kat,

For postnatal massage, I booked with Mdm Ida. She got very good reviews in the forum but she is fully booked till Sep 10 and even has booking for Nov 10 already. Nevertheless she will refer you to her relatives who are trained by her. Mdm ida's hp is 94249829. 90-min (body massage, tummy wrap & baby massage) for $50. Only need to make payment at every session. Min 5 sessions, max 15 sessions.

Hi Aisha,

When to go hospital: according to what is taught at my antenatal class (according to what I remember cos the notes are at home), we can proceed to hospital when:

1) water bag breaks

2) vaginal bleeding

3) contraction with interval of 5-10 min

irene: thanks for the info...i also learn something from it..

any 1 got lobang for before n after birth massage..i looking for 1..until now haven gone for any massage yet...kinda aching all over like a stiff robot le. now i m at 27 weeks..

Hey mummies..

not sure if anyone of u experienced it before but i keep feeling mild menstrual cramps on & off for the whole of today. It comes with pelvic pain also. No bleeding or anything but just uncomfortable. Afraid it's the dress i wore today, coz quite fitting at tummy area esp after my heavy lunch & snack!

for those who are interested, cord life's annual fee is $1+k, 10yrs is $3+k, while 21 yrs is $5+k..they have promotions every now & then but the price usu doesn't vary a lot..

as for stemcord, it's slightly pricier & if i m not mistaken, they only have annual or 21 yrs plan. for those who are keen, stemcord has a promotion for the baby expo this wkend..$300 off enrolment fee plus a mothers' day gift worth $170

for info, cordblood can store beyond 21 yrs but of coz, the no. of "live" cells will gradually deplete over time..

Cordlife: They actually advertise 2 cases - the more recent one is the caucasian girl with cerebral palsy. The older case was a 5 year old leukemia boy whose parent conceive a sibling so that the little sister's cordblood was used to save her brother. They did not store the boy's cordblood. The boy remain leukemia free till today.

At the end of the day, it is all personal decision whether to bank publicly or privately. And if privately, which company you are more comfortable with. Both got its pros and cons. Banking publicly is definitely noble. However, for people with family history of certain blood diseases or from mixed marriage, banking privately could be a good option. Can read more in May's Mother & Baby magazine. Got article on cordblood banking.

Sweetkiss,

U can asked for epidural anytime when you are admitted and pain starts kicking in... For me, low threhold for pain so I asked for it the soonest possible. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Rmummy,

I didn't feel the pain when being induced coz already on epidural.. no pain [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Kekeke

Mrs long,

I love MJ!!! Aiyah, must keep the mind occupied rather than on the pain itself... When I have to have my blood drawn, usually will ask nurse to hang on while I get start playing on my iphone (games) so as to distract me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi mummies should I buy Desitin in original or creamy formula?

I'm going to donate bb's cord blood to public bank. Imagine throughout bb's life no use at all but a perfect match for another bb, then I could have helped to save a life! If bb really need to use then I see it as fated and will spend the money to retrieve frm public bank lor.