(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

morn mummies...

Antenatal class: i think they are confusing me lor. they smsed me if i can change my Sat's slot to Thurs. Eventually i called to clarify and changed to every thurs class. Then on Sat, they called and asked "why didnt u attend the class today?" So had to explain all over again. Now i am having my class on every Thurs at Blk 1 Thomson Rd which i dun even know where.

Diapers: Too lazy to source for cheaper deals, i bought mine at NTUC, Mamypoko NB size at $10.40 i think. There was a Mamypoko promoter there & she told me to get NB size leh. I only got 1 pack. Not enough then ask hubby to buy... also might try to alternate with cloth diapers in the day.

ann,

i received lots of diaper for my #1.

i would say good in the sense that i can test the different brands and its quite siong to buy diapers as we are suppose to change diaper every 3 hrs

junie

sometimes things dun fall in sequence as i read up on the books. u may hv a bloody show first then followed by contractions then waterbag burst. u may hv ur waterbag burst but for hours will not hv regular contractions to indicate you are going into labour. so situations differ.

if you are in labour during weekends, hospital will call gynae for u. just beware, i heard some docs charge extra for on-call situations on week ends... but i cant verufy that :p

mrslong can be either of 3 signs: contractions, waterbag burst, bloody discharge

all gynaes have emergency hotlines. when you're admitted to hospital, the nurse will call the gynae. midwives will attend to us 1st and i think gynae will only come when we're about to push i.e. about 10cm dilated

on avg for #1, it takes 1hr for cervix to dilate 1cm, so if we're admitted to hospital when 2cm dilated (which is usually the case), it will be 8hrs later before we start pushing. but some mommies dilate faster than avg

MrsLong

Not so sure... dont know which come 1st..

I also 1st time mummy.. the above were shared from my friends whom experience b4..

contraction ~ scared false alarm.. to contact gynae to confirm... before going hospital...

I will call gynae as to inform him or her to get prepare also...

junie

when we get to about 36weeks, try take walks, do stretching. i realised that u dilate faster when u r active. even though i was induced, i was already 2-3cm dilated at 38weeks and by the time i got induced, i actually went thru 7hrs of orchestrated labour to deliver my #1. but i also believe, when bb is ready to pop, bb will coorperate...

mommies

if u "think" u r in labour smtimes, ur gynae will send u to a labour room to monitor ur contractions. they strap u to a monitor ad if they discover your contractions are not consistent, u get to go home... keke

Diapers: Oh.. ok.. Then maybe I just buy 1 pack of NB size and 3 pack of S size in case alot of pple give me diapers as gift.

For me, I wouldn't buy diapers as gift cause mummies always have their preferred brand and I dunno which is good or not. If more practical, I would give NTUC vouchers or ang bao. Can buy on their own. Haha!!

morning mummies

not everyone having the same thing.

Like my friend, she was dialite till 5 cm but no contraction, no water bag burst.

For my 1st case, water bag burst at 5am, at around 7 to 8, i start having my contraction.

Just like jellypurin mention, some might had bloody show. then contracttion, but the water bag is burst by gynae.

As for contraction, I don't know is it everyone got the same feeling. to me, it was like PMS cramp. Remember to take down the timing of the contraction, also how long the contraction last.

If ur water bag burst, u got to reach hospital within 2 hrs.

Sweetkiss, you intend to use cloth diapers? I'm considering also but worry since it's not waterproof, will wet mattress etc.

babycoco: u can buy those plastic sheet to let ur bb sleep, can buy from kiddy palace..etc. traditional one is one side blue, other side is pink. but now got cartoon one.

or u can get those waterproof sheet from hospital, they will actually put under our butt, in case we stain their bedsheet.

Jasmine i've one of those traditional ones - blue/pink and rubbery. am thinking of using that as a changing mat. will it be too hot for baby as a mattress protector?

I bought the cot sheet (those raised up squares type right) from Kiddy Palace...Pureen brand.

Using that as a mattress protector cum "air-flow"..cuz I tot put BB to lie on top of the sheet is cooler.

mrslong:

use medicine. to make labour faster.

sometime when edd was over, but bb doesn't want to come yet, then maybe use induce.

think if ur water bag burst first, they will do induce too, just in case take too long to dialite, there will be not enough oxygen for our bb in the tummy.

think my case, they did induce me, cos not long after they insert the drip on hand, i start feeling contraction. nowsaday got poor memory, can't remember the detail. maybe can check the gynae.

babycoco: my mum told me to try using cloth diapers in the day. she also said can train baby to poo daily after 1st feed in the morning. maybe can put those waterproof sheet or rubber mat on the mattress to prevent it from getting wet.

Good Afternoon!!!

i bought the blue pink ones liao.. $13.90 at kiddy palace.. its pigeon brand... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

induced labour for my colleague, her gynae broke her water bag to induce labour. she said it was painful

actually induce is not to make the labour faster.. its to start the labour. Meaning forcing your baby out.. some ppl need to induce because their baby is getting too big or they have medical condition etc.. however general rule of thumb is that let baby decide him/herself when they want to come out lor. I heard inducing can lead to a much tougher labour but it is different for all mommies lah~

as for robinson sale, i too got the mailer. Will be dropping by tomorrow. It is closed for members only and not open to public.. however 1 member can bring 3 ppl in. They also gave some vouchers in the mailer to be used.. got $5 off various stuff. I'll probably be using the nursery + lingerie one.

Jasmine>> oki..thanks = ) Getting a bit anxious already. 10 weeks to go! So fast yea..

I find my baby keeps tickling my thighs! Belly now so big that when I sit up or lean forward with belly touching the thighs, I feel him tickling me..lol

Serene do the pigeon ones smell rubbery & powdery? i bought mine at John Little expo sale for $9.90 - dunno what brand, but definitely not pigeon. had to rinse it several times to get rid of the white powder

ica:

hmmmm.... maybe can lay a pc of cloth diaper b4 putting our bb.

I never let my gal sleep on that cos she using diaper. or maybe like other mummies suggest, use a cloth diaper shield, so when ur bb wet itself, it won't wet the bed too.

babycoco>> put diaper liner on top of the cloth diaper. then when baby poops, just throw away the liner. Helps protect the cloth diaper so not so dirty to wash. Use diaper shells outside the cloth diapers, its suppose to contain the wet diaper thus protecting bedding n sheets from getting wet.

Pris: yah lor.... time passing fast.. yay! In about 8 weeks we will start seeing ppl posting about their labour already!! So fun.

Mommies pls remember to update all of us ok? Don't forget or don't get too busy .. we will all be eagerly waiting!! =D

jasmine thanks for suggestion. am thinking of laying the blue/pink rubber mat on mattress before putting on the cot sheet

Sweetkiss the rubber smell din go away even after several rinse

Pris: Ya lo.. have the same tickling feeling as you on the thigh too. haha!! Sometime I ask BB to stop tickle me. Hehe!!

Jaclyn: I was telling hubby the other day, if I go into labour, will I still have time and energy to come into forum to chit chat abit and update since delivery suite can access internet. Or will I spend most of my time cursing and swearing the roof down. Haha!!

Oh ya, I ventured down to People's Park yestaday. Found Napisan at Ocean @ $4.90 per box. Also bought disposable cloth maternity underwear, no brand one. Pack of 5 undies for $4. Washed the whole lot and testing one one coz ran out of undies already..haha..very comfortable.

I wanna ask something.. I know that we can claim like $450 from the medical bills to our CPF account right??? I know we need to bring the invoice to the hospital than we can claim & credit to our CPF account.

May I know do we bring the original invoice OR photocopy one will do???

Bing all invoice or jux invoice worth $450 will do??

Pris: I think most hospital got ba. I think they have to cater to our hubby's need too.. haha!! My hubby already decided to bring his laptop to the hospital. If he can, he say he would also bring his Xbox console and games too. He cannot imagine how is he going to survive if the wait is too long.

Jasline: For me, when i bought the package from my gynae, the nurse help me staple the original receipt to my checkup card. They told me just bring the check up card along to the hospital when I go into labour. The people there will handle the claim procedure for us.

Jasline: My gynae's nurses are compiling everything for me...so when about to give birth, they will pass me all the documents (original receipts, letter, etc) for me to bring to hospital...they say with those documents, the hospital will handle the claims for us....

I am due in 21 July and it's my #2 bb. I m a silent reader n came in to give my views since I just deliver my #1 in last yr march.

I feel my contraction pain on the night I was admitted. As I m a 1st x mum I duno whether it is normal pain or contraction pain but the pain was like every few sec interval.I endure n count the pain throughout the night. At 6am I wake up to pee n saw blood discharge so I wake my hubby up. I went to poo n bath n change getting ready to go to the hospital.

I was consider lucky coz I took 3hr my bb was out n my hubby says it's like watching a movie. My gynae asked me to hv epidural so that I can hv a smooth delivery instead of enduring the pain. I duno that I will dilute n deliver so fast also. When the epidural take effects n after that I can deliver. After the delivery I still feel fresh n energetic. I can even SMS my frens n relatives when I m still lying in the delivery suite waiting to get change n wash up. Mayb it's the chicken essence I took b4 I came in or the epidural which makes my delivery smooth. Hope my 2nd 1 will b smooth as well.

piggy_77: Wah.. you can still endure the pain throughout the night ah? When I was enduring those false contraction in the night, it was so tough. Couldn't even fall asleep at all. Keep walking around in the room lei.

Ann: haha... saw u ordering from the BP. Thread run too fast missed your link but fate bring us together!

How contraction feels? I dunno i got or not... now ard 26wk, going 27.

Ann: Yea, ordering from BP since i dunno where to get it. Slowly purchasing all the BB stuff. Then later pack hospital bag, buy bb cot etc.

Sigh, very soon my dog cannot slp in my room. Haha! decided to ask my HB let my dog tag along slp with him in another rm.

hi mommies...

ceres..i oso worried about my doggie..he is soooo used to sleeping with us..now once BB is out he cant come in initialy so i dnt knw if he can tahan or nt.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

how's lunch mummies?

my appetite very big leh. i had large bowl of wanton mee, a slice of honeydew and avocado juice. then i bought a choc muffin for snack later. now i am not full yet but my tummy is so tight!!! i underestimated myself, wore a pre-pregnancy dress to work today. haha.. the dress feels like it's going to split open man.

Jelly purin,

My water bag didn't burst actually. I started to bleed in the morning and still played MJ till couldn't take the pain any longer... got myself admitted around 9 plus... Didn't dilate much. When morning came, still didn't dilate much so got to be induced lor.

Managed to find my #1 birth story [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] My, seems like yesterday.

I've popped! Thanks for those who asked to go down to hospital after my MJ session on 23 Dec evening.. haha, it turned out that I was in labour

D.O.B ~ 24 Dec 2007, 1505 hours

Weight ~ 3.65 kg

Length ~ 51 cm

Head circumference ~ 36cm

Name : Ryan

Here's my birth story:

Got admitted though only 1 cm dilation as I was bleeding. But hor, after that the dilation was so slow!! When gynae checked me on Xmas eve 9am, found out that dilation was only 1.5cm.. (had painless epidural anyway).. she gave me 2 options

1) speed things up ~ induce birth

2) let nature take its course ~ Chances are that baby will be born on early Xmas (16 hours wait)

Well, after some discussion, decided to take option 1 (though I thought it would be great if my boy could be born the 1st Xmas kid haha )

Doc burst my water bag after that and things sped up a bit.

1.15pm ~ dilated to 5cm only..Gynae checked me and decided to stretch open my cervix.. then asked me to push.. She saw BB's head. Then midwives took over..

3p.m. ~ close to 2 hours pushing, exhausted. Gynae checked me and BB, BB's head still high up.. *sigh* gave me options again. I picked assisted birth with vacuum as I was darn tired after 18 hours. After much pushing (not me) by two strong nurses,

3.05p.m ~ YES! BB thrown on my chest!

Gynae then told me why I had quite a tough delivery.. BB's head is big!! and didn't expect him to turn out to be rather big size.. (last scan was only 3.1kg but at birth 3.65kg). To top it off, I had tight cervix...

In all, I had 4 tubes of epidural.. Thank God for that man!! At one stage the drug didn't work on my left and I was in great pain!!

Now BB came down with jaundice and is hospitalised.. going to visit him now..

Thanks for reading my birth story

Will post his pictures soon