(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

DQ: ya lor..skali the baby slip under the water how? really la, my hubby can be sometimes too clever for his own good. hahaha

i feel like i'm starting to get back all my 1st tri symptoms - tiredness, bloatedness. but 1 thing i like are my nails - they look so healthy and growing at a very fast rate [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ica>> My belly gets really itchy when I tried Clarins oil. Switched back to Mothercare's Stretchmark cream n all the itchiness went away. You might want to give it a try. Very light texture.

Pris: thanks! will check it out. have been using clarins oil and it seems ok. only recently tummy very, very itchy

ica: You should get a soft toy about the size of BB, ask your hubby to bring it to the big bath tub in the bathroom and ask him to try bathing BB. Then they will know how not easy or impossible the task is.

I bought a bath tub with stand.. so i need not bend over to bath him which will be bad for my back. The stand if dun use, can fold and lean against the wall.. so won't block the way. Hubby say when BB older, can bring the stand out and place a pc of wood on the stand and turn it into a picnic table. haha!!

The area ard my belly button seems to be a little red.. I am so scared they will form into stretchmarks... And i think i already spotted stretchmarks on my boobs! I tried to apply the clarins oil on my boobs but i think too oily, cos only applied once and start to have 1-2 tiny pimples. Gonna get cream based one... My friend also told me to apply on butt, hips and inner thighs.. so busy!

DQ: wah.. you really buy alot of things lei.. those things, maybe i wait till BB older then slowly get. haha!!

hael: I am seeing LC Cheng this fri. Such a long wait!! I hate it after every visit, cos we need to wait for another mth! Argh! Now everything for me ok. I can slp well, lesser toilet trips, appetite growing, no leg cramp. But backache and sometimes indigestion. Just to check with you, does LC give u calcium pills? Cos till now he never give me, only ask me drink more milk.

ica: I woke up at 4am ydae and thinking to come to the forum! Hahahah.. Couldnt get back to slp until 6am. Haiz.. Hate it when its sleepless night!

Eliss: The stetchmark cream can be buy at People's Park. You know the one first floor is the big hawker center? At level 2 & level 3 is the place we are saying. U can try go compare both prices. One is call Swaton and one is call Ocean. Both are on the right when u go up fr the escalator. Most prob this sat I am gg, i can help u check out the price. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ica: maybe can try wat Ann has suggested! v clever way of showing men how thgs wk...

they are visual animals.

tell them also diff to get our point across. sometimes when they c it, they'll get it. hahahaha...

sweetkiss: my ass & thighs r the main areas i c the marks! cant c anythg below my belly yet.. cuz i cant bend. lol!!

ann: i told u im a KS sporean. hahaha.... i bot those items esp the jumperoo cuz i saw it @ taka fair. n fell in love w it!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bath tub in ikea only selling for $15 for those that want cheap cos I think bath tub no need spend so much lah. Some ppl just use those normal basin (those market can buy red colour type haha).

Ann, can see where the ship docks for tat weekend. I

m gg on the 9th apr weekend n they r cruising to redang. I m a fan of e sun, sea n sand. Too bad now can't go diving or snorkelling, but I still get to enjoy the sun n sand lol...

DQueen, the learning home u got is from fisher price? I

saw one at the mattel sale but hubby say no pt buy so early [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so didn't get it in the end.

JoLyn: Yahh I also hate it. My next appt is 1 mth away so long more... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

btw, calcium pills are normally only given to you if you told your gynae you have some problems taking milk. For me, I dont drink much milk so the doc gave me calcium pills. However, the best form of calcium is still from milk as pills don't get absorbed as well as milk. So if you have no probs taking milk... just drink abt 3-4 cups a day is sufficient [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I also need to buy a new tube of stretch mark cream. My first tube I used was Trilastin (http://www.trilastin.com/) which I felt is really really good but only available in USA and its quite expensive to ship over. So now i'm using palmers cocoa butter which is quite light so I'm not sure how effective. Now coming to the "danger" time where the stretch marks will actually appear, so wanna get a powerful cream for my 3rd tube hahaa!

DQ: Ya lo.. men are visual creatures. But hoh sometimes if u suggest such things to them, they get pissed off and they think that we take them as stupid or what.

I also like those play gyms at Taka bb fair.. but not sure if I should buy lei.

Hubby keep saying i buy alot liao.. just like on Monday when i went shopping on my own.. he say i really buy alot.

Jolyn - the food centre you mention is the people park's food centre right... behind OG right? I think i know why liaoz... I'm going there SAT too after 2pm cuz I need to make a new pair of specs nearby too... Thanks!!!

Re: Bath Tub - heard Mt A will give a free bathtub. So those delivering there, think, no need to buy bathtub for bb.

suntan: yaya! the one i bot @ the mattel sale (the super dusty pl). haha...

cuz i tink cheaper by close to 50% as compared to outside & my husby is the one who likes it.. so we bot lor.

anyways, these kinda thgs wun 'spoil' one.. unlike food. so can buy 1st. lol~~

haf fun on the cruise trip, babe!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ann: buy already keep in the room or cupboard, dun let husby c! hahaha... then he wldnt kno!

Ann: hahaha! good suggestion. and your hubby is very innovative. you bought your bath tub at baby hypermart or baby kingdom, right? i've yet to check these places out

Jo_lyn: you were up too? ya lor, i hate it whenever i wake up around 4am coz by the time i get back to sleep, it will be around 6am and i dun wanna open my eyes when the alarm goes off - super tired. anytime before or after 4am is fine with me. so weird...

By the way

There's a talk this coming SAT at KKH. Hb and I will be there cuz this is part of the prenatal programme.

Event: Nurturing Your Child Talk

Date: 27 Mar 2010

Time: 10.45am to 2.00pm

Venue: Auditorium (Training Centre)

Audience: Patient & Public

Speakers: Speaker from Centre of Fathering & KKH Doctor

Registration Fee: $8.00 per couple

Organiser: Patient Education Centre

Contact Email: [email protected]

Description: Programme

- 10.45 am Registration

- 11.00 am Lunch

- 11.40 am Bonding with Your Child

- 1.00 pm Short Break

- 1.10 pm The ABCs of Vaccinations

- 1.50pm Questions and Answers

- 2.00pm End of Talk

Other Information: Click http://www.singhealth.com.sg/Interfaces/eCalendar/GetAttachment.aspx?attachmentid=c1ebcd8b-92d9-442c-b91c-826c2925b816 to download information

DQ: Haha.. cannot la.. my room so small.. everything also can see.. but if i really wanna buy, hubby also will let me buy. Cos I will say.. everything i buy.. add up.. also not as much as the 2 bicycles in the room.. then he will say.. opps.. ok buy ba. Haha!!

ica: I bought it from hyperstore. Actually I just wanted to buy the stand and not the bathtub cos i know deliver at Mt A got give bathtub.. but then i scared bathtub cannot fit well onto the stand. So dun wanna take the risk and decided to get another bath tub. I can use the one Mt A give to bath my dogs too.. their bathtub already coming 3 yrs old liao. Dirty too.

hael -- need to walk but not very far.. prince edward is the nearest stop le

Ann -- why not book a VIP coach and go up to genting like me.. then u can take a cab from genting to KL for makan.. and go back genting to enjoy the cool air?

pris -- dun use the oil.. use the cream from clarins.. a lot better... and no scent de.. non greasy.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ica -- dun scratch ah... rub rub can liao.. if not later stretch marks

i am also having sleepless nights now..... now, i cannot lie at any of my sides.. cause i will feel stretching pain/cramp... when i lie flat, bb's movement will be very obvious... i dunno how shud i sleep liao...

and.. i tend to wake up late in the morning now.. i dunno why... i also start to feel lethargic.. i think because 3 tri is coming... 1st and 3rd tri is the same!! only 2nd is honeymoon.. boo hooo

Serene: really? clarins cream is better than the oil? have been using the oil, so maybe too oily for me. tummy also got small red dots like pimples around belly button area

too late liao - i've scratched once in 1st tri. that time din know cannot scratch [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] to arrest the situation, what i did this morning when i couldn't sleep - i cut my nails! but the itch can be unbearable - feel like tearing my skin away

wow, seems like a busy morning, so many posts already.

ann, i'm also tempted to get those play gyms at taka. but always worry that end up never use. my sil bought a few for her bb, and end up she didn't use because her bb don't like. which one you want to get?

clarins oil : hmmm for some reason, it works wonders for me. my tummy barely itches. i used it religiously during 1st trim. must say have been very lazy this trim, some nights i apply, some nights not. just finished 1st bottle. starting on my 2nd bottle soon.

ica -- ya... i was their oil fan since last pregnancy.. then i realise that.. once i touch 2nd tri, i buay tahan the scent..

then my friend, a beautician, she intro me the cream.. so i jus drop by tangs to check it out. i apply on my hand, and shop arnd.. no scent, non greasy.. and it stays on ur skin like a protective layer.. i quite like it.. and more eager to apply now..

Serene: i can tahan the oil smell. just want something to stop this itch

i notice my sense of smell is keener now. in 1st tri, no such thing woh...

ica: preggers haf better sense of smell..

i can always smell someone eating food in my office...

be it dried fishball noods, hor fun.. chai png.. fried chix.. etc...

hahhaha...

DQ>> wah..u crave for rice? very high in carbo...if gynae asked u to watch your weight, rice is one of the 1st few food to go leh..

Serene: Genting.. I also dunno go there do what.. i dun gamble casino in the first place.. I have thought of going KL too.. but if go KL, my shopping bug will start again. haha!! Maybe I discuss with hubby and see how. It is a rare chance that no need to take leave and can still go overseas.

DQ: Ya lo... moreover he got nothing against me cause if i spend for myself, i dun buy very expensive things. I only buy expensive things for family members. Dunno why lei.. i buy things for myself, i will think and think one lei.. but if buy things for my family, if i can afford and they are happy, i will buy lo. Haha!!

babycoco: I also dunno which to buy lei.. this saturday morning going to paragon for check up.. maybe taka and see again.

dunno why but ever since I got preggy, I dun shop so much for myself...cuz nothing much to buy.

Shoes & clothes if buy, wait few mths later cannot wear. So now $$ spent on BB's stuff and my well-being (i.e. pre-natal class, stretchmark creams, etc) hehee.

mrslong: but i feel v hungry w/o rice.. hahah.. no wonder my wt increase so fast! but my gynae says im still 'ok'.. dunno he got bluff me anot :p

ann: samesame here.... i dun really buy exp items lah.. may once in a bluemoon..

but comes to bb items... i tink im more softhearted.

but i nva buy a lot of bb clothes.. cuz i kno they outgrow them v fast.. juz a few pieces i bot here & there.. to complement my handmedowns.

mrslong: i agree!!

cuz i feel depressed when i c 'normal' non maternity clothes. cuz i dunno if i can fit into them next time.. also dun dare to buy.

shoes also... nva buy all my heels already...

now juz wanna spend on bb dearest! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

DQ>> as long as gynae said it's ok, then still alrite but maybe later on, can cut down abit.

I get hungry very easily (i still eat small amt but many meals) and always eating on bread or biscuits (also high in carbo).

So now I put those 3-in-1 instant cereal with oat in the office...when hungry can "chong" & drink...hope it helps abit. Otherwise 1 loaf of bread (normal size) put in the office, I can finish within 3days by myself.

suntan: eat a bit lah...

my mummy says if u haf any crave muz eat abit.

if not next time bb v 'tam-jiak' (greedy).

old wives' tales..

okok.. i go lunch now... needa top up my fuel!!

gg to eat chup chai png~

ttyl gals!

DQ: I have no handmedowns so far.. so everything is new. But nevermind la.. can keep for number 2. haha!! but if i ever have number 2 and it's girl, i will sure start buying again. haha!!

sun_tan: Just eat lo.. but dun eat too much. I also just had durian last week. Also hoping I never eat too much. Hehe!!

DQ -- rice can speed up weight gain and toughest to lose.. so must take moderately..

for me... haizz.. why not i say what i hate eating most now?

1. noodles (mee kia, mee pok) or anything that has the yellow "ghee" taste

2. fish (including fish ball)

3. meat that has a meat taste (contradicting right? but this funny pork or chicken smell)

4. VEGE.. (any form..)

5. RICE ( i eat for the sake of making myself fuller)

basically.. theres nothing much i can eat right? wahahaha... so now, im a kuay teow person... everyday kuay teow.. ytd i had roti prata... this morning i had mac bfast... lol....

i love durains..!! but.. i can only eat maximum of 2 seeds.. if not i will puke them out... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

oh oh.. and i love fruits! esp water melon and honeydew...

im a potato and meat eater (if the meat has no smell..) lol..

DQ, Ann,

Dare not eat cos i heard by eating durian will cause bb to grow bigger in size. Judging from me and hubby's size, our bb wont be too small a size loh. Scare later wait over grow then hard to give birth. Also i am those type who has a heaty base body. Will get sick easily if i becomes too heaty..so always have to "ren"...

Btw, i alway heard that when preggy, we will crave for food which we normally hates? But thats not the case for me leh.. i crave for the food that i like before preggy, like durian, ice cream (die, all very fattening food) and i still hates the taste and smell of cheese and pig organs.

serene,

We must eat more vege now and food that we want our bb to eat next time. cos i heard from a talk show saying that what we eat now will affect the taste of the anmio and bb will be prone to like those taste after we give birth. So if we want our bb to eat their vege next time, we better start eating ours now..lol.. Find this quite true, cos last time when my sis preggy, she loves to eat fish, and now my niece loves her fish too.

I can't really stand fish too...only eat them once in awhile since I got preggy for the sake of BB.

My food cravings were stronger during the 1st trimester. Cravings range from chee cheong fun to chwee kueh to mee siam, hehee.

serene: i love potatoes too! and i love eating nachos w cheese. i feel nauseous & turned off whenever i see a prawn, esp those steamed prawns in hor fun. Cereal prawns still ok. weird rite...

Feeling a bit sick today. Headache & whole body aching like those fever symptoms. I popped a panadol & my coll was commenting that i shldnt eat during preg.. is it no safe for pregnancy?

sun_tan -- diff preg is diff de... sometimes it will go opposite, sometimes it gets stronger.. maybe u shud try walking pass the fruit stores..

last preg, i find that jackfruit smells like dog poo... this time, i find banana smell like dog poo.. lol!!

ica

yah, if u have tried most of the creams & cant work then better consult doc.

jaclyn

actually stretchmark creams r just v expensive moisturisers meant for preggers like us. i dont know if mopiko is gd to apply on when we r pregnant thou'. i usu would use that with itch lah but then now, prefer to use preg safe prodts leh

jo_lyn

nope. no Ca2+ tablets for me either. i asked him last visit & he said just drink more milk. when i asked him how abt bird nest he told me its just expensive bird spit & no need to eat. i still consume when my mum does for me but then his comment still lingers in my head. does he give u any vitamins or supplements at all?

how is yr prenatal class@ AMK hub?

DQ

at least u crave rice. i crave NACHOS with cheese dip! finally gave into temptation 2 wks ago. so shoik! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]