(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

my gynae advised that even after we give birth & intend to BF, we should continue with our fish oil & calcium tablets as it's beneficial to both mummy & BB.

I have no cravings. All things also can eat. But I can't stand fish with those fishy smell.. not fresh. My MIL knows i like fish but then her fish always have fishy smell cos she get from NTUC and keep. Cannot tahan the fishy taste.. so only eat one slice of fish and dun eat le. On the other hand, my mum like to go market and get fresh fish for me. I love that.

They say now is a good time to eat lots and lots of salmon. Very rich in omega, so its good for bb's brain development.

i also dun really like fish but eating it for baby's sake. ya, salmon is good. so during weekends i'll cook salmon. my mum has been nagging me to drink more soup..sigh..

oh ya, avocado is also good. one mommy in another forum said she drank avocado juice in her 3rd tri and baby has lots of hair when born. avocado is good for hair. i made avocado milkshake last weekend - not bad and i din add any sugar [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] wonder what avocado juice is like? and how do you juice it? hmmmm...

Serene: i thot we cannot eat watermelon? in moderation ok? honey dew also - old ppl say it's cooling. also dragon fruit - very cooling

ica,

I dun care, i still eat watermelon. Imagine on a hot day, watermelon is just so heavenly. I also heard that if a mommy is prone to heartburn, the bb will have lots of hair too. Cos apparantly, during heartburn, it produce some hormomnes which will prompt hair grown.

i heard that black sesame paste is gd too. my friend told me her baby had very rich dark hair & the eye iris.. walnuts are gd for bb too.

sun_tan: really ah? When i get preggy that time, my heartburn was real bad lei.. now still have if i dun get to eat when hungry. Does that count? hehe!!

Sweetkiss: black sesame paste ah.. but like very heaty like that. Now hot weather.. dun even feel like eating hot dessert.

Ann,

Avocado got juice. There is this very famouse store at Queensway ABC market which sells avocado juice.. I dun really like the taste thou..

clarins stretch mark cream / oil - Swanstons selling at $56, ocean selling at $52.

Pigeon new born starter kit - dun buy, not BPA free.

I'm starting to get heartburn I think.. I have this nagging burning feel at the bottom of my throat that last for 3-4 hours after food... by the time e feeling is gone, I'm hungry already.. damn sian.. sitting upright, eating small meals, all dun work.. arghhh..

sun tan: but avocado is like a paste woh, how do you juice it? i'm curious...oh if your body is already heaty, eating watermelon will increase the heatiness and if your body is liang, then it will make it more liang.

oh ya, i heard before that black sesame paste is good. i like it, very yummy but have not taken any since i got pregnant...now i've a craving for this paste [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ann: so far i've only bought 3 bedsheets. on the hunt for a bumper but am thinking whether it will be too hot for baby? i got a newborn pillow during the expo fair so will be using a muslin cloth as pillow case. hehehe

I thought new born dun need pillow?? also.. for new born, dun put the bumper yet... only when they start to turn then the bumper is needed.. this is to avoid any chances of bumper falling onto the BB and suffocate him/her.

noorjahanm - I think Kiwi is great.. it's full of antioxidents.. I think tat kiwi not available so much in the asian countries in the past, so no restrictions that I've heard so far abt it.

I also heard sesame paste is healthy.. but very hard to find nice ones.. most of them I try too watery and sweet.

noknok: newborns no need pillow, can fold muslin cloth and use as pillow. but saw this NB pillow by babysafe - says can prevent flat head, so hubby bought coz his niece has a flat head. MIL had to keep rubbing her head to make it round but a bit too late. now niece's head not very round, a bit flat. hubby is afraid of that lor. dunno what happened, must be MIL and parents just let the baby slept on her back when young. anyway, has to change baby's sleeping position to prevent flat head, so we also bought a sleep positioner - but baby can only sleep on the side only during daytime, when there's someone watching. night time got to sleep on the back

bumper: oic...thanks

black sesame paste: try the one oppposite bugis junction. you know, the area with lots of makan places? there's one dessert shop, HK style, very popular. can try

ica: Where u buy the bedsheets only? The set I bought had bumper in it.

Baby can sleep on their side meh? I always see bb sleeping on their back only. haha!!

ica,

Avocado is the fruit right? I saw that they put into the juice blender and blend, like how they normally do for watermelon leh. Is it? watermelon will make me becomes even heatier? I tot would become more liang leh.. I also bought the NB born pillow at expo from babysafe. Intend to use it when bb's neck is stronger, maybe after 3 mths bah.

Noknok,

Ya, normally for new born, will just put the folded cloth nappy and use it as a pillow. All my frens does that.

Ann: i bought from ebay. mamas and papas brand - heard that they last and will remain soft after washing. can also get separates but pricey. can check Mothers Work at Tanglin Mall. also, there's this brand at Taka fair, nature something - selling separates also. i'm thinking of getting a cotton jersey sheet - let baby enjoy a bit. hehehe

sleeping on sides: can but must watch over baby because it's not a very stable position - baby may roll over and suffocate. so that's why they invented the sleep positioner. hahaha

sun_tan: ya, that very dark green fruit, shape like a packham pear but not as nice, with a very big seed. oohhh...so it's actually a paste. can be a dip, too, quite yummy

watermelon: that's what my mom told me woh...it reacts according to your body. but who can resist a cold watermelon juice on a hot day right? hmmm...yummy

ann, i think i will buy 2 sets of baby cot bedding. so that can wash & have spare set to use. i like the one from aussino, quite worth it, i think after discount less than $50.

avoccado : i love the indonesian avoccado, fruit very big, flesh very tender & creamy, almost like butter. i usually add a bit of condensed milk & sprinkle a bit of coffee powder. but very fattening so don't really dare to take often.

Hi mommies.. I crave for anything and everything coz I feel very deprived of food which i used to love leh. But my doc reminded me again n again to watch my diet and weight gain. So now, I ve to avoid carboo. But during my last visit she still asked why my weight keep increasing despite cutting down on carbo. I told her i eat a lot of fruits lor.. Now she said i also ve to watch my sugar intake. sigh... now i drink tea also dun dare put sugar! I still eat some durians now n then.. as a small "reward" to myself for avoiding french fries, nachos, chips, chicken rice, pizza etc etc

atomickitten: ya, me too. am watching my carbo intake as well and cutting out sugar - as much as i can. last month i only gained 0.5kg but just these past 3 wks, i've already gained 1.5kg! gasp! sure gynae will say something coz she only allows me 12kg weight gain for my pregnancy and i've already crossed the half-way mark...the other day i bought McD's sundae and while eating it, felt so guilty. ate less than 1/4 and threw it away [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ica, i also worry about keeping to the 12kg weight gain limit. i heard in the last trim, we pile on the weights even faster. how? i'm not eating a lot cos still poor appetite, but still managed to put on about 1kg/month. imagine when my appetite improve!

Eliss, pls help to update:

Child #1

Boy

By the way, Dr Ben Tham is leaving KKH, are you aware? I'll be switching my gynae to Dr LC Lee. How about you?

By the way, I've been using this moisturiser called Earth Mama organics shea butter for my tummy but it gave me rashes, so I switched to Mustela anti-stretchmark cream and the rashes subsided, and I really like the Mustela cream very much now. Worth to try for ladies thinking of switching brands or using stretchmark cream.

Can anybody recommend diapers brands pls. Thank you!

Eliss: Ya is the one behind OG. Noknok mention Ocean is cheaper, i think is at the 2nd floor. U can go check out on Sat. Hehe..

For those looking for front button pyjamas and dont want to spend alot. Can try finding at CHinatown too. My fren buy it at only $5. Is those silky material.

Hael: Current LC give me fish oil, multi vit and iron. Actually i requested for all. Hahaha.. He seems to be those more carefree one. He says as long we eat well, bb will be healthy. But for me i got low blood. There are times i nearly fainted, so he asked me take iron pills. What abt u? Totally nothing?

As for the prenatal class, i enjoyed myself alot. If you haven sign up, maybe u can consider Mrs Wong class. She is very interesting and not boring at all. Time passes very fast too during her lesson.

halo mummies... im backie fr lunchie...

had my fuel topped up.. chup chai png!! yummy!!

mrslong & serene: i eat rice lah.. not nva add xtra.. so i hope im still within the acceptable range...

ann: im lucky cuz my sis haf 2 kids. 1B 1G. so i can haf both gender 'fashion'.

hael & suntan: i was reading the forum during lunch lor... n i also bot doritos & ruffles & digestives aft fr cold storage! alamak... c u all eat till shiokshiok i also buay tahan! hahahah....

hihi mummies / mtb,

Do u gals experience any heartburn?

I've got heartburn till cannot sleep at night. As advised, eat less and more meal, drink milk etc also dun helps.. end up got to take tablets. but sometimes also throw out.

Any remedy?

ica,

I think 1.5kg is acceptable weight for 3 weeks. Cos i read that we are suppose to gain 0.5kg per week.

As for me, from week 16th to week 20th alone, i alr gained 4kg! My gynae didnt say anything as of now, but still, i also worry i gained too much.

babycoco: me too. hopefully it's baby gaining weight [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but dun worry too much, as long as our pregnancies are healthy and babies are growing well. must think "i'm not fat, i'm growing a baby"

when you breastfeed, you'll be losing weight very fast - one reason to breastfeed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

for mummies who dun want to splurge a lot on baby bed sheets and mattress protector (which can cost a lot!!1)....try those from Ikea. I bought the mattress protector for less than $10 and they also have plain jersey bedsheets for like $7 or $8.....something to consider! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

babycoco: u only gained 1kg/mth...

i gained 1kg/week!!!

tink i better gif away the doritos & ruffles i juz bot... lol~

Haa.. DQ,

CONTROL is the word! I have a large pack of Lays (BBQ flavour) at home. I am trying to ren until i cannot ren then will open to eat..lol..but looking at it also makes me feels good..lol..

Hahaha.. U gals are funny. Just eat as and when you like. Moderate is still the word!! Bear in mind is our baby wanna eat mah. Hehehe.. I eat alot alot of rice also. Always top up my rice after first serving. Hahahha..

For bedsheet, i went Aussino yesterday and only to find out all left bb girl bedsheets. I ask the salegirl and she told me almost all bb boy ones are sold out. So funny leh. Tiger yr all bb boy??

DQ, i don't eat a lot leh, still gain 1kg. my appetite is very poor, my hb has to force me to eat dinner. otherwise i'm quite happy just having watermelon or apple for dinner.

potato chips : used to be my favourite snack, now can't stand it. i also have a big pack of lays, haven't open. think this bb not into snacks. only like fruits.

sun_tan: ya, gynae mentioned that 0.5kg per week now is reasonable but does not apply to me, coz i've gained quite a bit in my 1st tri oredi...sigh... but i dun really care about myself, just that for baby, whatever's in utero will affect baby's adult life

Hi Babycoco

you dont feel headache or feel like vomit juz having watermelon or apple for dinner...

For me I still need to eat atleast the normal 3 meals and snack abit when neccesary.. cos I do feel like vomit or headache if I dont eat.

Yes, there's avocado juice available at most fruits drink stall.

Green in color and can be quite creamy.

Tastes sweet also but sometimes drink too much can be quite "ge lat", hehe.

Bobeep - yep I know Dr Tham going to TMC, he will be going there in May. I will follow him over, so will deliver at TMC... and I've your BB record in my file.

CL - peeps, I got 2 contacts from CL from other mummies. If you want the contact, let me know. I already paid deposit for mine!

Avocado shake - my fav - i used to buy avo then add choc milk and blend...YUM...By the way the fruit itself is tasteless, so if you want less sweet, add skim milk skip the honey add choc powder...

now coming 24 weeks already gain 5kg lor.. also have to cut down my carbo. now 54kg.. must eat more veg now.. and drink more milk

I’m back from lunch too! Had nice Jap food…

anyway juz to ask, any mummy who went to expo bb fair got approached by citispa ppl?

They shoved a brochure to me and asked me to fill lucky draw form.

Then now I received their call saying I won a free facial treatment.. dunno if all of u “won” also?

I think is a marketing gimmick lor.

Another is Delphin or something.. giving away free pots with the condition that u must let them go ur house to vacuum ur mattress for free.

Stupid eh.. I didn’t think much abt it & just blindly agree since my house has a kid & thought why not.

But later on I realize this company doesn’t seem to have very gd feedback. Once they enter ur house, that’s it!

They will try all means to hardsell u their cleaners/cleaning pkg. I am so naive la!

babycoco: u really eat v v lil leh~

try to eat more during dinner instead of juz fruits alone...

esp if u dun take supper, next meal will be bfast, which is hours away~

suntan: u also v cute leh.. can tahan...

i also everytime buy titbits & try to tahan byu leaving it there... but bef i knew it... it gets cleared by my family members liao.. hahahah...

skyrain: i passed the 5kg mark longlong ago liao.. n ive said byebye to 54kg wks back.

hahahah...

now im hitting the scales to somewhere ive not seen before in my entire life!!

kekekek...