(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

its actual the personal threshold for pain de...

one of my friend.. super super small size.. give birth to 5.. all natural no epi..

dun think or hearsay too much.. dun scare urself.. really... cause most of the time, u walk out of the hospital thinking.. how come its not the same way as i thought? i shud have.......

jus take whatever that comes. learn what are the options u have but dun commit yet.

dun forget, our body does great wonders. soon it will be even releasing stuff that is like a pain killer to us... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i always tell myself.. my ah ma can do it, how come i cannot? haha.. true enuff, the pain was bearable (to me at least).. i was jus shock with all the first times like.. water bag burst, pushing in delivery ward, using laughing gas, pressing the red button, checking for dilation..

in fact, checking for dilation is more pain that delivery lor! haha..

hehe thanks girls. guess, if God wills, i will go for natural without epi.

ica, one of my colleagues also describe it as menstrual cramps. hopefully i will be able to endure it.

i've heard that having a doula helps but engaging one is like ex.

cherry.sue -- dun worry la.. the contractions are intermittent.. its not like pain thru out.. jus the the resting time will get shorter and shorter.. but before u know it, u alr pass the stage liao..

actually, my hubby was very touched when he saw me pushing and delivering.. and its really a very precious moment.. treasure it.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

whoa serene, you really put me at ease. hehe will remember what you say. the past week, i've had two friends who gave birth - thus the reason why i'm so antsy, hehe.

thanks a lot for your assurance :>

cherry.sue -- cause i was like anyone of u.. scared of a lot of things.. but then.. after that, i realise.. actually, positive mind helps alot.. i carried the.. "ok, im ready, what now?" mindset into the hospital..

after the whole thing, while dr was stitching me, i remember i turn to hubby and asked a qns that i dunno why i asked.. cause it was a still birth delivery.. i asked.. "hows baby?"

at that moment, when i heard dr and hubby telling me, everything's good.. my heart jus felt so good and tears were welling. its not because of the loss.. its because i know everything's alright.

my bb was bigger than expected.. then i asked dr if next delivery would be the same.. he pat on me and say.. "yes, if u can endure this, u can safely deliver naturally next time also"

that kinda.. "first step into motherhood"... haha.. super wei da de lor

sun_tan -- depends on the stage of checking.. initially, missy or dr will use their finger to check and kept repeating "sorry sorry" cause its a disrespectful behavior.. then they will try to "help" the dilation..

from 0-3cm, its the longest duration liao.. means.. it can take days for u to dilate to 3cm even.. but once u hit 3cm.. it will speed up extensively.. 3-8cm can be like.. within 2 hours or faster..

when i was abt 8cm dilated, i was in the delivery ward with the leg rest and wide open.. haha.. then missy will train u to do proper pushing.. and shun pian check ur dilation (normally to see if they can see the head or not)..

each checking, they will let u know how much u are dilated.

when u are pushing, dun make noises, dun kiu ur face.. all strength and energy must be converted to the tummy area. once u make noises or facial expressions.. then ur energy and strength will be diversified everywhere..

i gotta learn this from a snr nurse who came to visit me during my delivery.. diff nurses teach diff.. at least i got a indian nurse to teach.. she wasnt very clear.. but when the snr nurse came.. she got the indian nurse out and she sit in front of me to guide me.. because of that, i pushed out within 3 lonnnng pushes..

oh ya, each push, try to endure and tahan ur push.. meaning.. breathe out slowly and consistently.. my per push is about 8 secs or so.. this will help a lot in ur delivery..

mai kan cheong.. thats very impt too!

oh ya, my bb boy was breeched at the point of delivery. i was worried that he would ask me go csect.. but he told me.. "i am confident i can do it."

and true enuff.. bb came out successfully but with his butt out first.. so imagine the "pain" i was suppose to be feeling..

but like a lot of mommies say.. "before u know it, its over le.."

serene,

Wah seems like alot of things to remember leh..but at that time so painful le, still can remember so many steps?

serene: you made me cry by asking how the baby was knowing the outcome...you are super amazing, woman!

cherry.sue: dun think of them as labour pains, just contractions, if that helps. from Supernatural Childbirth [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lol..

its a maternal instinct.. all of u have it de.. bring it out and face it bravely.. carrying a bb in ur tummy is a great responsibility. the moment u are preg, this duty to brave thru all storms is on u.. its not only about giving the bb the best.. its about protecting the baby till ur very last breath.

i carried julius till i was almost due le.. my bond with him is very strong and its a miracle.. many pple were amazed how i could play with him and how he could respond to me when we had no way to communicate.. lol..

at that point when dr tell me "sigh, im sorry, theres no heart beat" i cried very loud in the clinic.. but i know theres more things i need to do than jus crying. even thou no life liao, but, i still gotta make sure i deliver him properly and fulfill my responsibility as a mother.

im glad i didnt avoid, i didnt opt of any csect or any sort to avoid anything.. cause, going thru the process of delivery is a reminder of what i went thru to protect this little life and how my responsibilities.

so for bb celeste, i want to do it naturally and feel it and remind myself, from this day, i am not only a mother, but i need to know what i shud do as a mother.. cause i brought this life to earth.

sun_tan -- dun worry.. remember this.. deep long breaths, transmit all energy to tummy.. stay calm..

when u are the only one in control, u need to be calm..

there would be many voices (nurses, dr, and hubby) but ultimately, u will only seem to be able to hear the voices whom u trust most. for me, it was gynae and hubby.. hubby was doing a great job so gynae didnt talk much.

keep thinking.. a bit more, a bit more..

serene, i am amazed by what you have gone through, and how strong you are. i only hope i have half the strength that you do. thanks for sharing your experience with us.

dun worry la.. all of u are great mommies.. everyday, i see all of u looking for things that u can provide for your babies.. even thou its ex, but u ladies still try ur best to get it.. all because of the child in u.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

think of it this way, its a sign of responsibility..

everyone will walk thru this motherhood differently.. some may have hiccups here and there.. but then.. think again wor..

do u have that much courage before u were preg? initial fears are normal.. scared of delivery, pain and worried that u dunno what to do.. but ultimately, its the maternal instincts that gave u all the courage to face them all..

some of u may be mindful abt ur weight (suppers and late night cravings) or diet before pregnancy.. but when u know u are preg.. u jus want to eat well to make sure ur bb is growing well.. lol.. we are alr making sacrifices le..

everyone is brave and strong here de.. im sure men cant do that.. haha..

once u prepare ur mind and body for the new arrival.. u will enjoy and learn the process more than just suffering the pain.

May -- im plus size wor.. basically.. i get baby doll tops but a must for me to get maternity pants/shorts..

so i go to OG to get the pants.. last time i bought was CNY period.. 3/4 pants for $30+.. comfy and adjustable.. i got 2 maternity (baby doll) tops at $59 there too.. i can also wear it after i deliver

otherwise, i will go to topshop maternity wear at great world. or jus a normal babydoll dress..

as for maternity bra/nursing bra, i get it from marks&spencer.. thou ex, but very durable.. and can cater to a big cup person like me..

oh ya, buy maternity clothes that wont go out of fashion.. cause we need to keep those for our future pregnancies.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i remember my friend buying those fanciful ones, end up, when she had her following pregnancies, she had to buy new ones cause its "out of fashion" and quite orbit to wear out..

Serene: Your story is very touching and u are a brave woman.

I once read somewhere and what this person wrote actually meant something to me. It's just a simple sentence. "Tough problems dun last but tough pple will".

I am sure we are all tough pple and we will manage watever is in for us especially during childbirth.

babycoco: Haha.. ya.. i love to eat. but now go HK, won't it be hot?

serene: u r my idol!!!!

muz learn from u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hahaha...

bu gan dang...

ann -- i wanted to go hk instead of genting.. but im worried my leg cannot tahan.. plus hk toilet very scarce if u realise.. lol..

and due to the feng sha in china now.. hk will soon get affect too.. so u must do ur research before u decide on ur holiday..

Serene: I am also worried cause I cannot walk too long. I scared if I walked too long I will spot again.

So thinking of going somewhere relaxing and yet still can eat. Hehe!!

Ann -- jus saw from the news about the sand storm.. i think u better think of other places liao le.. BKK is very messy now also...

if u have history of spotting, choose a place to relax more than walking arnd.. cause when u are overseas, this is the last thing u wanna see..

even when i was in genting, i was very worried.. i worry that i cannot go to my gynae if anything happen.. but thank god, everything is ok and good.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i wanted to go hk cause i wanna go garden street to buy bb stuff.. and nuk mfger is there, so i can get the bottles.. but think think.. i think better not, so i went genting to enjoy the cold air instead.. lol..

ya, just read about the sandstorm, i'll be in hong kong from 31st mar - 2nd apr. hopefully the sandstorm & pollution would have cleared by then.

serene, is garden street a good place to buy bb stuff? what kind of stuff?

fa yuen gai, whole stretch all bb stuff.. cheap and good quality.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] bb clothes majority..

ya.. i agree with sun tan.. cruise can eat all u can lei..

now got promo, i think $600+ can go liao.. but i dun think its balcony class...

sun_tan -- bu gan dang.. im jus a 26 year old with small dreams and goals.. lol.. theres a lot of things for me to learn la..

like i said, i always feel that theres a reason for everything.. maybe its for me to learn and share with everyone lor.. we can learn from each other.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hiya! Anyone up at this hour? Woke up since 2.45am due to a very itchy tummy! Once woke up, itch gone. Now eating a slice of bread hoping that'll help me get back to sleep... sigh

Good morning ladies.

Serene: Ya lo.. I easily spot if i overstrain myself. Like on Monday, when i go Taka BB fair and shop on my own, I walk without stopping for about 3hrs, at night, I spot again. If go HK, beside eating, of cos wanna shop for BB things also even though I have gotten alot of things le. Hehe!!

Actually was thinking of going Malacca.. nothing much to do.. can eat. But hubby going drinking and clubbing with his colleagues on 1st Apr, so i dun really trust him to drive the next day. And I really dun like to rush too much in my condition now. Like to take it slow and easy.

Sun_tan: Cruise is a good idea but hubby say very ex and got nothing to do. Not worth the money.

Maybe just consider Malaysia.

oh dear ica. hope u feelin betta tis morn. i get itchy tummy sometimes but then i will heap on the stretchmark creams to soothe skin. u shld try - may help?

serene

fa yuen gai to get there just alight prince edward stop. then do we need to walk any further or its pretty much there alrdy?

jo_lyn

how r things? when seeing LC next? i am seeing him next wk. tum tum alrdy feels larger than 4 wks ago! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

babycoco

garden street is that the same as serene's place of recommendation?

ica: You woke up in the middle of the night? I dun think anyone woke up. Haha!! Now u must be sleeping still.

Gd morning Hael.

baby cot bedding: How many sets are you all getting?

I already bought 1 set.. not sure if I need another set or not.

Toys: Do u all buy any toys for BB? I never buy anything at all.

hael: i tried all sorts - clarins, palmer's - not working. anyway, am seeing gynae next week so will ask her for stronger stuff

Ann: no, i'm in office now. usually i dun feel tired even if i wake up in the middle of the nite. funny right? but if this happens on consecutive nights, on weekends i'll be exhausted - dun feel like doing anything else, just wanna sleep

morning mummies!!

ica: wah!! u r good.. managed to go wk despite u wked up in the middle of the nite.

dunno y im so tired these days.... more tired than usual.

ann: tat day i went fp sale & bot some stuffs lor... the bigger toys actually. gd deals, but VERY DUSTY (caps on tat cuz it's reaaaaaally dusty). heheheh....

my tumtum feels like a balloon which is abt to burst lately. so TIGHT.. esp in the evenings...

same for u mummies too? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ica: Actually same here. For one night is ok.. but then every weekend, i also feel exhausted. haha!!

DQ: Oh.. what type of toys did u buy for BB? I seriously have no idea what to get. The only thing that come to my mind is the play gym. Nothing else le.

Good morning.

Serene Tan, thanks for the advise.. i think i shd be a plus size too.. but currently still wearing my normal wear cos stomach still not very protuding although think it's abt 22 wks. Haha... think i lost count liao.. =)

Ya i agree with Ann too.. u are a very brave women..

Just checking if anyone can advise what r d things to purchase to prepare for newborn. Been reading motherhood but this few issues nv write lei..

I oni know need to get clothings, cloth nappy, milk bottles.

I saw at taka peigon newborn start up kit but i dun understand wat it means by wide bottle neck etc..

Hi May.

I have a baby list which I had given to mummies here before. I can send you for you to take a look. It's actually from my colleague.. very detailed.. but u need not follow everything she wrote there. Just a guideline for you only. You can PM me your email address and i send a copy to u.

For wide neck bottle, i understand that it is more closely resemble mother's breast, as they require a wider nipple which facilitates a latch more similar to nursing than a slimmer bottle nipple. This is what the salesgirl at the Pigeon counter tell me.

Ann: i bot a few items which to be used in a yr's time.. (KS sporean):

1) jumperoo

2) learning home

3) booster seat (for dining)

4) toy, convertible to walker

these r the bigger ticket items i tink my frens & family wun b getting. hence i bot them lor.. plus they're so cute!! i cant help myself. hahaha...

DQ: guess i'm used to it oredi. during 1st tri, had a hard time keeping myself awake at work. then when 2nd tri started, suddenly the sleepiness all gone. maybe preparing me for more sleepless nites in the future. hahaha

DQ, were you the one who also bought a baby bath tub at the sale? i'm still looking for one. i told hubby about getting it and he said no need, we oredi have a bath tub in the bathroom (he meant the big one). adoi! guys are sometimes clueless about such things...

ica: 1st trim was also a nitemare for me.. slpless nites.. then came 2nd trim, more peaceful... i can slp better... but dunno y these days i feel super tired. sigh...

im not the one who bot the tub.. i tink is another mummy... hee.. cant rem who, cuz this thread flies @ times.

but she bot it aft i told her i saw the tubs there...

shd get a bath tub to help bb pompom. adult use one cannot lah... so big surface area... how to fill it to a certain lvl? waste water leh.. lol

go ikea lor, or those shops @ hdb shophses or wet mkts kind... im sure they sell bb bath tub [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

eliss: i keep telling my husby tat i feel my tumtum is abt to BURST!

hahaha.. cuz its so tite!!!

n my belly button gettin smaller & smaller by day!

n ass also feeling super itchy. tink im putting on wt & the skin is expanding~~

i also applied the cream generously... hahahah...