(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

sweetkiss : why yr MIL not supportive of BF huh?

My mum actually tried to discourage me coz she's afraid that it might be too xin ku for me. But i'm def going to give it a try lor.

I asked my fren the same question as to isnt it better for me to sleep with bb since i'm gg to BF. She told me its ok for bb to sleep with CL coz she will bring the baby to you for night feeds and after u are done with feeding.. u can zzz straight away as she will handle the rest ..like cleaning up ,burping the bb etc.. sounds good to me but i'm not sure if i fang xin enough

wow.. feeling great aft the aqua fitness.. Kekeke.. I think need more practice.. I wanna go buy the "noodle" (the long float) liao... However mayb cos of the rain, the water quite cold.. LOL... Hope those mummies have a great time.. ^___^

Sweetkiss,

I do engage CL.. She will not be sleeping with us.. cos space constraint... So CL n BB will be sleeping with my hubby's grandma for 28days lor..

At the same time I can have a gd rest too..

I also intend to BF.. hubby was saying pump out lor.. at night use bottle but day time will latch on lor..

Having a gd rest is important.. cos when u rest well than u will have gd flow of milk.. =)

Star xin,

as per wat noknok mentioned, 24 weeks n above cannot board starcruise alr. Me gg on the 2nd week of April, just on my 24th week! U can call them n let th know ur edd then they will advise if u r allowed to go onboard or not.

another sleepless night.

I am also in a dilemma, I wanted bb to sleep with us but MIL felt that CL should take care at night. not very comfortable with this too. I had a fren who sleep in same room with bb and CL, then hubby sleep alone.

morning MTBs,

I intend to let the CL sleeps with my BB in the same room. For night feeds, will use bottle. Just pump the BM out & keep in fridge.

That's what the breast pump & food warmer are for, hehee.

We need to have sufficient rest to "recuperate" so sometimes we need to be able to "let go".

If you're not comfortable, maybe for 1 session of the night feed, you let the BB latch on lor..cuz BB drinks milk every 2-3hrs leh.

and oh am glad MTBs who had their 1st Aqua Fitness session ysterday enjoy it. I can't wait to get some work out soon.

BTW, Jasline, is the instructor called Linda?

Morning mommies,

TGIF! Finally its end of the work week..seems to be a lllooonnnggg week.

Geri,

Me also intend to let bb sleep with CL in the night so that i can rest more. Cos after giving birth, body and health sure very weak.

Mrslong,

So what kind of exercise did you mommies do? need to swim?

MrsLong,

yes the instructor call Linda..

Should be the same instructor..

Sun_tan,

Aqua Fitness is kind of doing exercise in the pool.. Dun need to be a swimmer at all..

sun_tan>> I did not join the Aqua Fitness session, cuz too rush for me the timing. But the rest who went, had fun based on their FB posts [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

finally, friday is here!!

same here - i plan to let CL sleep with BB...use bottle for night feed also...must put the breast pump and milk warmer to good use... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

we need to rest properly and build up our bodies again - for the next pregnancy and future health.

BF - I heard from my friend that some old people dun encourage BF, cos they believe that it's not good on the mummies body. Of course, at their time they also dun have so much research done and information available that BF is the best for the babies.

I got a day CL.. dun wan a stranger to stay overnight... so I'll be BF baby at night.. time to move a sofa into the room

Thanks for all your advice.

I think will see how it goes. Maybe i will pump out and ask CL to warm milk & bottle feed bb.

No matter what will not buy any FM so they have no chance to feed it to bb.

Atomic Kitten: She said bb easier to take care if they dun depend on BM. And when i told her i intend to feed for at least 6 mths, she just said "u think so easy meh".. Then another in-law also told me not gd for bb to always wan to stick to the mummy, better to start FM asap & BF 1-2 weeks can already. I am sick & tired of proving my point because the stubborn old ppl always think they are right~ I am afraid without all their support, i will be "forced" to stop BF.

sweetkiss - maybe show them some reports... my friend did give up because of lack of support... Old people are not exposed to the information that we can get now, they also dun understand the bond building between mum n baby in my point of view.. Just try your best, if not, make sure your hubby is with you on this, so he will not relent to buying FM to store at home.. that's the easy way out and if it's in the house, that's it.. I told my hubby NOT to buy any FM no matter what happen and he's with me. He understands that BM is still the best. If he's with you, convincing the old folks is easier.

CL - I think I will also let BB sleep with CL to let her take care of the BB other stuff while she can bring to me for BF. Until the BM is established, i think have to let BB latch on at least for the first two weeks, then once got enough to pump, will switch to EBM at night..i guess this way is easier...to prevent CL using FM, think i will tell her i did not get any FM in the first place :p

I wonder can we request the CL not to close the bedroom door when she's with BB at night...

HB supports BF fully now. Though not sure if he will stand on his ground when BB starts to cry and CL starts to push for FM?

yeah...dunno why old people are like that...my mummy wanted to BF us more last time but was not successful...think last time no proper guidance from lactation specialist or courses on it...the excuse they give, no milk supply...for me, i will try my best, whether latching or expressed breast milk...

Sweetikiss>> You stay with your in-laws? if you BF, they'll know mah?

Anyway, for BF in the later mths, can consider BF via milk bottle (i.e. pump milk out) instead of BB latching on....cuz it's also impt to train BB to drink from milk bottle.

Cuz I have a friend who told me abt her friend's experience. The BB dun want to drink from milk bottle and only wants to drink milk latching on to mummy. This is actually not very healthy.

Eliss - ask hubby to sleep in another room.. haha.. that's what I told mine to do, I told him.. maybe you would wanna consider sleeping in my sister room (my sis study in australia and is not in sg) at night when BB is here..

Paying $1.8k for mine... agency quote me $2.3k excluding ang pao cos they can't get m'sian ones... my CL is from SG.. and she stay quite far I must say.. She stay Yew Tee n I stay Katong.. by the time she can go home like no time for her to rest liao.

Yes... according to my fren, she said 1st week usually dun have a lot of supply one. So we have to feed on demand. But i fear that if for some reason bb keeps crying, my MIL will think is becos bb is hungry & start to blame me for insisting on BF when i only have low supply. i told hubby we shld bring my MIL to attend prenatal classes with me to widen her knowledge!

Last nite i also argued with MIL cos she feels that i shldn't travel next mth though i repeated a million times that i have checked with the airline and gynae and both said is fine...

She said "aiyah, docs always everything also OK one.. During preg they also tell u to eat anything!" And i even reply back, "correct wad, preg really can eat anything as long as in moderation!" And she exclaim loudly that i am wrong & start her OLD WIVES' tale again.

Noknok - that's the backup plan when Confinement Period ends...

In fact, I was thinking let BB sleeps at the other room alone after CL is gone...I am a light sleeper so surely will wake up when BB cries at night... besides I have a trusty furkid who will surely wake me up... do you gals think its ok to let BB sleep alone in the other room?

tot the forum down again, my earlier post went "missing".

Eliss>> I'm also intending to let my BB sleep on his own after 3-4mths. We bought a Philip Avent BB monitor, so hopefully that'd help too.

But I'm also intending to sleep with the BB in the BB's room on alternate days 1st till he's much older.

BTW, good to buy those bean (sprouts) pillow for BB.

mrslong: Yup I stay with my MIL. Initially was considering to move to my new place once i deliver so my mum can do confinement for me instead. But due to some reasons i think better to stay with MIL first.

My fren also advised me to latch on during 1st mth & slowly introduce bottle/BM mix with FM subsequently..

babycoco: My MIL (She's my Step-MIL actually) is already 45. The prob is nt with her age but her thinking is very old-fashioned.

wow! so many stories on BF and MILs...i supposed you have to be firm on your stand, dun waver. but having said that, it will be quite difficult when baby's crying for milk and there's not enuf supply, then our hearts will be pained, right? just take things easy lor, being stressed won't help...dun bother about what others say, just do as you think is best

Sweetkiss - you new place is ready to move in already is it? If I were in your situation, i think i will move out first...what's holding you to stay with MIL?

Actually for the 1st week when we dun have much BM, can we feed bb partial FM until the BM flow is more and relatively more stable too? Cos if BM very little during the 1st week and we dun give bb FM, then how?

Newborn - I read and also heard that a newborn has enough reserves/fats in their body that can last for three full days w/o drinking/eating...

think what i'll do is have baby latch onto me when i feed. and at the same time, pump the BM so that hubby and my mom can feed baby and bond with her. this is according to a pregnancy book i read - better this way for baby and all so that baby can differentiate who is mommy and at the same time, others can participate and feel that they are contributing to the care of baby

just wanna share that i went to Tangs yesterday and got an avent single electric breastpump at $120 and avent newborn starter kit at $39, after 20% discount. And I get 12% rebate on top of that. Yay! The pump was a surprise as I thot the promo was over - it was going for $150 at some of the dept store couple of weeks back [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] this is much much better than the taka fair

ica - same here...got the avent newborn starter kit at 20% discount + 12% rebate...happy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Personally i think it's good to standby FM cuz if BM not enough, we cannot be too stubborn, else wait BB will be hungry, then keep crying, then we become cranky and wait fall into depression.

Eliss>> Yes, NB hv "food" store up to 3 days and some BB's dun eat so much 1st few days and just want to sleep. Gynae said it's ok.

My friend's sis-in-law who just gave birth few weeks ago insisted on 100% BF but as her supply was low, BB wasn't drinking much and Gynae commented BB lost weight.

My friend was afraid her sis-in-law will fall into depression cuz she kept crying when her BM not enough to supply the BB and she dun even want to consider partial FM.

vernie: yay! initially thot the starter set OOS coz din see it on display. thot wasted trip liao till i asked the sales person and she got one from the store - the last one [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mrslong: ya, same thing happened to my fren. she thot once delivered, BM would flow like a tap but turned out the milk only came on day 3. so she looked at her hubby and said no milk and was crying, coz baby was crying due to hunger. in the end her hubby had to borrow a can of FM from the neighbour. so, the lesson is to have a can of FM on standby, just in case. or get colostrum from the hospitals - they come in bottles.

Eliss: You see, I have a Step-MIL & a MIL. Imagine some women only need to stress over 1 MIL, I have 2..

I don’t want MIL to pop down to my house as and when she likes when I am having confinement. After confinement, still ok.

I know I sound selfish to say that, but when I see the way how she “plays” with my cousin, I very scared. She will wake the baby up just to play with her, use pacifier to disturb her and only know how to “return” the baby when she cries…

She is the type who enjoys family gatherings, and definitely will bring relatives to our place every weekend (like how she visits my uncle every weekend ever since my cousin was born, much less say her grandchild in future.) So I tot staying with Step MIL is a better option since she will not be able to visit during the 1st month.

I believe 1st mth can build up supply if u keep latching on demand. Unless really low supply then no choice have to give FM i guess.

My aunt also told me to take care of our health, cos her gynae did not encourage her to BF though she could cos he said her body was very weak.

ica>> Am not too sure if she's taking it, but we think she's pretty stressed and the more stress u r, may make it harder to produce milk.

Yes, the colostrum in bottles, think some hospitals will give 1 bottle complimentary...if need more then need to buy, shld be pretty ex and it's a small bottle. Saw one by Mamil.

sweetkiss>> wah, your MIL is "scary", heehe...pardon me for saying that. But she could be more considerate [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

autrumn, 4 BPA free bottles (2 small & 2 bigger ones), 2 extra newborn teats, 1 pacifier, 1 brush...usual price $49...taka bb fair also selling $49...the 12% rebate for tangs/ citibank member ended yesterday...not sure whether the 20% discount still on or not now...

autrumn: 2x4oz bottles, 2x9oz bottles, 0m+ teats 4x, 1m+ teats 2x, bottle brush cleaner, pacifier. bottles are BPA-free

Sweetkiss - complicated leh... i have to read your post a few times b4 i understand :p so you are actually staying put at your current place with your Step MIL to limit your HB's mum from visiting you...

i presume staying at your own mum's during confinement is also a no-go?

ica - perhaps i took the last one on the shelf! hee hee...anyway, glad u got yours... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I will be in my 24 weeks next week n actuali planning to go Bintan or batam for a short trip 2 weeks later..if their regulations are the same as cruises..den maybe I cun go...sob sob..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

mrslong: SGH gave my cousin a few bottles of colostrum when she delivered. where to buy the Mamil colostrum? at hospitals?

bottled colostrum much better than FM coz it's supposed to be similar to mother's colostrum

my fren had post-natal blues because of the 12-hour labour she had to go thru and after that, not enuf BM and having to face a cranky baby

starxin - i found this from bintan resort ferry -

"Is it safe to travel during my pregnancy?

Ladies who are 28 weeks pregnant or more from time of travel, a medical certification on fitness for travel must be presented during check-in. All pregnant passengers are required to sign an indemnity form at our counter.

Passenger is advised to check on personal health insurance policy coverage or purchase additional travel medical insurance from insurance companies prior to departure. "

i think should be okay to go bintan leh