(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

One qn- The EDD is base on ur last menses given to gynae? and wil the scan help to determine the bb wk also? Im now 16 wks preggy but many of them says i look like im in my 20plus mths pregnancy....

hi cheese, i think the scan will determine how many weeks the bb is. i don't understand why they calculate from the date of our last mense, because bb not conceived then. my tummy also very huge. i'm now 17wks+.

hope to feel bb movement soon! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cheese: im also in my 16wk.

but whenever ppl c me.. they always ask if im in my 4plus mths. i guess our tumtum grow @ diff speed.

cheese: Ya.. the scan will normally show your EDD and the BB wk on the screen. I always tell my hubby i look like 7mths preggy after eating alot of food. Cos stomach will bulge out so big that even if i try to suck in also cannot.

as long as bb is healthy can le... i yet to do my shopping list and tonnes of things to buy! :x stress man... stress at work... stress here and there.... Duhz

btw, anyone staying in sembawang frm blk 488-490 or nearer? can PM me.planning to have a mummy talk nearby as and when.. there's a couple of us here le [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

babycoco, from wat I read before, BB can be delivered when they're abt 38 weeks from point of conception. For convenience sake, gynae may calculate from the first day of last menstration for woman ovulate more or less two weeks after that. So conveniently add 40 weeks to the first day of last menstration ba.

I guess in the pass technology not so advance that they do ultrasound every visit ba.

The EDD and BB wk on screen always changes one cos it depends on the BB's growth.

hi ann, me too, my tummy usually very huge, especially in the evening. and then by morning, it's a lot smaller. do you feel your tummy very tight? sometimes mine feel like it's going to burst!

babycoco: mine too.

i feel my tumtum super tite when i drink a lot of water or juz had a full meal.

is that the same for ya?

babycoco: Ya.. the tummy is so tight. Like hamster, storing food.. round and tight.. next morning all gone. Haha!!

regarding bb movement, i also feel it more when i am lying down at night, followed by sitting down....when i am walking cannot really feel it....i only started feeling more of the movements these 2 / 3 days but not all the time...i am in week 18...mummies, the movements will come soon...don't worry... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi SuperGal,

You can try to get cheap maternity clothes in OG. The maternity brand is Thyme. US brand. They are pulling out from Singapore. I bought my maternity clothes 3 weeks ago at Thyme - OG: 8 pieces (2 pants, 4 bloushes + 2 pieces of swimsuit) for only S$120++. very good deal...70% discount plus buy 1 get 1 free. I am not sure whether they are still in OG. I bought it 3 weeks ago

Cheese84 - The 1st scan is normally the correct one.

My last LMP was on 30.09.2009, by right my due date is 07.07.2010 .

But after the 1st scan at KKH using vagina scan doctor said bb is too small for 07.07.2010, my due date was push to 26.07.2010

Than i went for few scans at Malaysia the dates change somewere 19 July & 22 July.

The recent detailed scan done at KKh my gynae say just follow 26.07.2010 as the 1st scan is the most accurate scan ..

Not sure if all of you are into sprees but i join the sprees here to get some maternity clothes. Motherhood.com is one of them, also have Gap and Old Navy. I think i saw some TW sites too. Quite cheap but got to wait... I used to buy tube dresses but now some cannot fit due to bust area getting tight. Really have to start buying maternity clothes!

Does OG at Bugis has Thyme maternity? Which level? I am working nearby!

my tummy also very big! i thot i'm the only one like that. i look like i'm 6 mths but i'm only 4 mths! it gets bigger as the day ends. in the morning, not so big. read a pregnancy book, it says that it's due to gas, so no worry

this morning, my tummy super big. dunno why [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sweetkiss: I also join the Motherhood.com... they got big size shorts and pants.. suitable for me.. very comfy to wear.

thanks chelz!! prob i may just walk over to take a look these few days since i'm working near there. hopefully, they still have the promotion that you are referring to!! thanks thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

by the way ladies, what kind of vitamins are you currently on? i'm being prescribed folic acid for the first trimester, which i think is the norm..then from my second month onwards, i started on fish oil capsules, obimin multivitamin tablets and also, some calcium tablets..plus i drink a glass of milk every morning and take a tea spoon of bird nest every night...is that what you gals are doing as well?

sorry, it's my first pregnancy..and thus, naturally has many many questions to ask..hehe

glad to hear some mummies here also have big tummy. i keep telling my hb i don't think 17wk the tummy should be so big. but seems like i'm not alone.

supergal>> currently, i'm only on folic acid, multivit & calcium pills. I'm also taking bird nest daily and also try to drink milk daily too.

so i think it's the norm.

hi mrslong, yup that's why i think here is a good sharing forum for all mommmy to be! i learn alot here cos now not staying with my mom, she won't be able to take care of me all the time..so have to learn to take care of myself..

hehe..about tummy..mine still alrite, not too big but definitely can see that i'm pregnant..haha!

I'm on obimin multivitamine, iron pills, calcium pills & folic acid pills. Next visit gonna ask for fish oil capsule.

My breast also grown bigger but this few days... It seems like smaller.

Also i heard make up is not advisable... but recently i have cracked lips but dunno whether i can apply lip moist or gloss.. any advise?

I look more like a newly wed who ate too much after getting married more then a pregnant lady. I just look like I've put on weight all around my tummy area.. definitely dun look preggy at all. Feels a bit paiseh when collegues that dunno I'm preggy keep looking at my tummy. My hubby keep saying I'm not feeding my BB every night.. sigh..

supergal, I was prescribed calcium tablet, fish oil and iron tablet when I reached wk 12. Folic acid my gynae stop giving me le. Am also taking probiotic (this is to prevent me from getting yeast infection cos I always have it in e past) and multivit from GNC.

huh? make up not advisable? hahaha...i put on everyday leh..find it weird not to put on when working! i have already sacrifice my heels for flats now..hahaha! but i understand la, cannot say sacrifice. cos everybody wants the best for our baby!!

perhaps there's some form of chemical in make up and thus, some pple said is not advisable at the moment?

issit? makeup is not advisable? i've been wearing makeup to work everyday. I still go for my mthly facial too but did tell my therapist i'm pregnant.

think lip gloss shld be ok lah...as long as it's not consumables.

ceres - I think make up are fine.. I apply loads of lip balm when I was in Korea for holiday. If you're really worried, what you can do is to bring your make up and ask your gynae if it's safe to use. I've even seen my collegue going for regular mani & pedicure and dye her hair as well when she's preggy.

i cannot live w/o makeup!!!

esp i needa meet clients pretty often.

cannot go bare-faced... i feel it's a bit rude.

heels, im still wearing. abt 2.5inches. already downgraded from my usual 4s.

ive stopped my folic + b12. now on multi vit, fish oil.

i take birdsnest every other day.

i try to drink milk daily (if ive the time in the morning, b4 rushing out for wk).

stopped exercising totally.. wanna do yoga. but dunno where is gd... any mummies wanna sign up for yoga? can i join?? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

noknok, i also stopped taking folic acid after my 3rd month cos the obimin multivit also contains a significant amt of this...i didn't take iron tablet though..

wah, seems like most of us are on quite alot of tablets now..hehe! but these are all essentials i guess..anything that i understand not good for baby, i stopped immediately, anything good, i will try to take as much as possible.

i forgo my beer, wine, coffee, watermelon, pineapples, etc..hahaha...

but i still can't resist taking cold drinks..

and i got this weird craving for potato chips all the time..hahaha! i think i will end up getting too heaty some day for sure

Facial ok just cannot use those machine that has electri current according to my therapist.

Very scared... dunno can do this, can do that or not. Hah..

Noknok, don't worry, I'm sure your baby is growing strong and healthy. Even if you don't put on weight doesn't mean baby is not growing. There's this HK actress who gave birth recently, she only put on 7 kg (she was critised for the low weight gain) but her baby girl was 3.2kg at birth and healthy, too.

my gynae is giving me some multi-vit with even higher dosage of folic acid that I'm currently taking now. but this multi-vit does not contain fish oil, so gotta check with her. she also gave me calcium on top of the milk I'm already drinking

Ya i still put on makeup as usual, i do gel nails & pedi every month... No issue.. I think if everything also so restricted then a lot of things cannot do and life will be miserable! I am only on folic (left from 1st trimester) & multi-vitamin. Doc nv give me anything else....

Hey! i am interested in YOGA too but dunno where to find.

Noted, next visit i gonna bring loads of stuff there. Heh! Maybe i will just email her & check it out first.

supergal, is watermelon bad? it's my favourite fruit... cannot eat?

dqueeen, i'm planning to take up prenatal yoga at como shambala at forum. i did a trial class 2 weeks back, will continue after cny. their package is quite strict, cannot extend, so i thought safer to join after cny.

Currently I am on fish oil, iron, calcium pills and still on my folic acid pills. I did ask my gynae when i can stop taking.. he say i can stop if i wan to but make sure i take lots of vegetable and fruits.. but to be on the safe side, i continue to take folic acid in case I dun consume enough fruits or vegetables.

supergal:

r u looking for clothes to normal wear or gg to work?

There is one shop at Toa Payoh selling cheap clothing, compare to those.

Last time I bought 2 3/4 pants at abt 50 plus. maybe u want to drop by n see.

yes babycoco, like what mrslong mentioned, watermelon is "liang"...but i guess, it all depends on your body again..

i just knew i ate 2 servings of watermelon when i ordered a japanese bento set and at night, i had slight spotting...got a shock at that time cos i was in very early pregnancy then..

then i told my MIL and she said "no no, cannot eat watermelon now!" prob my body also weaker, that's why i experienced stronger effects..

My stomach is starting to show since last week and i feel breathless when i wear my normal clothing.

Sweetkiss: Thyme maternity has ceased their operation in Singapore and 30th Jan was their last day in OG. I happened to shop around there and the promoter there told me about it. Heard that the manufacturer has difficulty looking for a distributor in Singapore and they have to cease their operation here. That is why they are having major sales last few weeks.

By the way, may i know does anyone knows if pregnant woman can drink Honey? I thought it is a healthy drink but i was told by a colleague that pregnant woman shouldn't drink wild/raw honey. Any idea is that true?

hi jasmine, i'm looking at both actually..cos most of my office skirts all can't wear now..so priority is more on office wear..

thanks for your advise gal. prob i will go to those neighbourhood places like TPY or AMK to see and take a look..if it is not too casual, i could buy them for my office then!

thanks thanks

re: watermelon - my mom said it's a big no-no. another old aunty told me dragon fruit also cannot coz it's very cooling.

re: honey - i used to drink but mine's manuka honey. not sure about the raw/wild honey thingy. i read that honey is good during pregnancy. but i have to stop taking now coz gynae said no sweet stuff for me coz baby is big [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] at most recent scan, baby was 209g. so i googled and at 16wks, baby on average is about 140g

Pink : My gynea allows me to have honey drinks ... especially on days when weather is so humid n hot that plain water doesnt doesnt taste gd ... n my gynea even ask me to put lemon to honey if i m feeling nausous...

other than watermelon, pineapple and those long banana (Del monte type), i eat quite abit of other fruits (i.e. strawberries, winter melon, longan, apples, pears) & usually drink Apple-carrot fruit juice.

but orange also dun eat so much cuz i heard can develop phlegm so i stopped that liao.

i think grapes should be ok.

and on honey...i've been drinking those New Zealand made honey too...cuz i develop some throat discomfort lately so drank quite abit too.

just like everything else, must eat/drink in moderation. watch the sugar level.

supergal

there is a shop at tpy central, near the library that sells v affordable maternity clothes. tops n buttoms starts $21.40. if you hv prob locating the store, just ask around where skp is and u shd b able to find it