(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

nok nok, ya, i also think my family won't let me travel. i love bali too. the food is really fantastic right? have you tried warung made? our favourite ...

hi mummies, most airlines dun take in preggy 35 weeks into their pregnancy for single child n 32 weeks for twins.

shld get doc's letter to certify tat u r fit to fly before ur travel.

fyi

I think it is ok to go travel... but up to indivdual condition...

best to hv anti vomit medicine with you when you oversea..

my tummy still can hide so i am going to taiwan in 5 more days by tour

I've been so busy at work! Today soooo tired so took the opportunity to come back to rest.

Went for Oscar and blood test yesterday. Happy and thankful that everything is fine and normal [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

During the scan, I was told "most likely it is a boy"..

Hmmmm, I actually had very strong feelings that #2 would be a girl, even thought of the names already... but oh well... as long BB is healthy.

2 boys... wonder if need to go for #3...

phy : if u can manage go ahead with #3. must be willing to accept #3 and able to financially have #3.

For my family side got this case:

My uncle - almost 50 - had 3 kids ready, #3 is finally a boy n already 9 yrs old. My aunt damn crazy thinking having another bb can keep my uncle by his side n being so selfish of her, all 4 kids suffered with financial for studies. haiz ... my uncle is very angry with his wife for being a "38" and worst spend $ like water & nvr think of the kids n future thats why choose to ignore her all the time. Now really broke and the kids got to stay with my family on weekdays to have meals n lights n computer to use for studies. their own home sometimes got light sometimes dont n parents seldom cook so the 3 elder kids always on canned food n ration. Thats why they love staying at my parent's place.

xbeanniex,

So sad right? Parent(s) who gave birth for their own selfish reasons. The kids are lucky to have your family to help them along.

Read the news that one girl gave birth to a baby and hid it in the washing machine.. sigh, children should be born to be loved.

Anyway, just a tot, most probably will stop at 2. Now can comfort myself that I don't have to buy alot of stuff coz #2 can use #1's [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Save $$ [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

phy : i also thinking to have 3 kids as i grow up in a family of 3 siblings, thou my younger sis is adopted by my parents since a mth old till now - 23yrs old - but must really plan well to have #2-#3. else having the kids only makes them suffer.

My mum ah .. i also speechless... everytime mouth say dun want to help ppl feed kids anymore... now she is feeding more n more... n seems like she is enjoying seeing all the effort she put in to bring up those kids and seeing them grow up & study well.

Hi babycoco.

My spotting came back again today... light but I still worried. So went back to gynae and gave me the hormone pills again. Ask me to take for 1 week and monitor. But dosage now reduce to 1 pill 3 times a day. Last time I took 2 pills 3 times a day.

Saw my OSCAR test result (even before gynae saw them). Nurse was telling me I belong to the very low risk catergory.. 1 : 13000 plus.

Oh.. i didn't know beside Down Syndrome, we are also testing for Edward's Syndrome and also Patau Syndrome.

xbeanniex - it's understandable wat your mum is doing lah.. it's like me taking in and fostering dogs until my hubby tells me no more.

Ann - how much did you pay for the OSCAR Test? what's Edward n Patau Syndrome?

Noknok: I paid $470 in total. Some information which I found out about Edward and patau syndrome. I also saw the photos of kids and babies suffering from such syndrome.. really broke my heart.

Edward Syndrome

In Edward's syndrome there is an extra chromosome-18 (trisomy-18). It is a very serious abnormality that leads to severe mental and growth retardation, abnormalities in the heart and other organs and malformed features that include a small chin, low ears, cleft palate, a webbed neck, and flexed limbs that have deformed hands and feet. These babies do not survive very long and the majorities don't make it past six months of age. Sadly, nothing can be done to change this.

Patau Syndrome

Patau syndrome, also known as Trisomy 13, is an abnormality of chromosomes in which a patient has an additional 13th chromosome due to a failure of chromosomes to split during meiosis. It can cause the following conditions: motor & mental retardation, extra digits, microcephaly, low-set ears, failure of the forbrain to divide properly, heart defects, eye defects, cleft palate, spinal defects, abnormal genitalia, abnormal palm patterns or overlapping of fingers over thumb.

Thanks Ann.. how did you tahan 6 pills a day?? They make me so sleepy..

Anyone experiencing cramps at lower abdominal area?? like those menstral cramp but light ones.

had been having them during lunch times when I walk lately.

Noknok : You are welcome. I dont feel sleepy taking them lei. Also dunno why.

I don't experience cramps.. more like sharp pain which lasted for a few seconds. I think it is called round ligament pain. Round ligament pain will sometime be felt as abdominal pain. This kind of pain normally start during the 2nd trimester.

I have occasional light cramps too but feels something pulling on my nerves haha. But I experienced some sort of muscle aches at the side of my tummy... It feels as if I have been done abdominal exercises that causes it, esp when i sit on the chair for too long... I think maybe I slouch? But only happens on my left side near to the waist...

Hi I do experience the pain as well. Its a very fast pulling feel then its gone. Glad to know I am not the only one suffering and i guess its quite normal?

Ann: Try to walk lesser and rest more. R you in ur 2nd tri already?

Jo_lyn: Ya.. already walking lesser and resting alot le.. till i think i am going to get bed sore soon. I think I just hit my 2nd trimester ba.. now only 12 weeks 2 days. Hehe!!

Hi, i have also been experiencing this cramping for the pass couple of weeks. Have asked gynae about it on the previous visit and he mentioned that its becos of our expanding utreus, thats why sometime can feel muscle cramp. He said that if its not very strong and doesnt prolong for long, its normal.

For those mommies who has passed the 12 weeks mark, have you started announcing your pregnancy to other ppl? I would reach my 12 weeks mark next week. Cant wait for the announcement!! :D

Hi bbmermaid,

wow, you are very li hai, still can bring bb out for walk every morning and evening. I simply cant. I dont dare to bring bb out alone too. Do you have any helper at home or just you and bb? I find that there are many things to do at home , be it bb care or housework and my own things, I do not have the time to bring bb out on my own. Normally got to wait till weekends to go out with hubby driving us out.

You can still plan to go HK? Wah! Bringing your #1 along too?

good morning mummies!!

Ann: wow isnt there a test which checks for all the chromosomes in the body instead of testing for the different syndrome? I try not to go to those websites to read about all these as it can be really heartbreaking to see the babies suffering like that.

Phy: Just like you, I will be having a boy for 2nd one again and my hubby has been urging for a 3rd one. I think we can manage the 3rd one financially but not mentally for me. Imagine my first 2 kids running around and both my hubby and I have to chase, where got hands to take care of the 3rd one? And my colleagues who have 3 kids are always telling me that we will definitely neglect one of them since the oldest or youngest may be more favoured, so I do not want this to happen.

sun_tan: My tummy has began to show at 14 weeks already but becoz of my MS, I lost weight so some of my colleagues cant tell that I am pregnant but some know about it. I will try to wear looser clothes when I am out with hubby or church and definitely they can tell.

RE trips and flights: Actually taking flights is fine, just as long as not too long distance as it can hurt your back if u sit too long. I travelled for biztrips to HK and Taiwan during my 1st and 2nd tri and took ferry to Bintan for the 3rd tri. My gynae was v open minded about it and claimed travel is allowed until 1 mth before EDD! But if your condition is not v stable, then better rest in Singapore, at least anything goes wrong you can rush to your gynae straightaway.

Minibean,

So will you be going for 3rd one? I think if I have #3, sure cannot travel liao. Hubby and I like to lug our boy along whenever we travel. We will also want to lug #2 along in future. But if there's a #3, sure more difficult in terms of $$ and child care. But really want a girl...

Travelling during 2nd trimester

Like alot of you, I also plan to travel. Most probably gonna laze in Bali.

Just sharing a frightening experience with you ladies. I travelled to Krabi with my 2 sisters in my 2nd trimester during my first pregnancy. We took the long-tail boat out to an island a distance away. Who knew the motor broke down on the way back and we were stranded at sea for 5 hours. It was very scary as the sea was quite rough and I puked big time. Was very frightened that I might lose the BB then. Thank God we managed to get back to main island after 5 hours.

I remembered I called my husband on my hp but he couldn't do a thing as he was physically in Singapore then.

This time round I'll take it easy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Just laze around Bali will do.

sun_tan (sun_tan): I am 14 weeks now and besides my family & friends, I have just informed my boss and my grandma-in-law. (I get along better with her than MIL).

My parents-in-law still don’t know yet cos grandma-in-law told me to announce to them after CNY!

But I think it’s hard to hide soon. My MIL saw me eating bird’s nest all of a sudden, and my tummy is growing bigger.

Someone offered me her seat on the bus two days ago. Maybe it is getting obvious now.

By the way, I had my checkup 2 days back and I am only taking Obimin.

I know some mummies have calcium/fish oil and stuff like that.

But my gynae never give or recommend me any leh..

Morning all,

Thanks for all the info... not so worried now..

Many of my friend's and collegues know already.. I din really bother to keep from anyone.. They ask, I tell. My immediate boss knew the moment he saw my MC from the Gynae.

I told my parents and my in laws the moment I know already. That leads naturally to the whole world knowing.. hee.

hi sweetkiss, my gynae also didn't give me fish oil. but hb and i have been taking for quite some time. i just doubled my dosage now that i'm pregnant. i read fish oil is really good. no harm taking i suppose?

hello ladies..

In 14th weeks now.. i told some of the closer friends, my boss and team members. the rest just let them guess or come and ask me.. i think is difficult to hid in office.. especially puking in toilet where got other ppl around.

i also will be travelling in mar! to HK. kinda family trip.. i hope able to make it through..

those have no intention to travel, maybe a breakaway at nearby island? batam or bintan.

Sweetkiss,

Icic, wow still got ppl give up seat for you. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so far i dun have leh..

For now only my parents and inlaws know, but not the relatives as havent 12 weeks yet, thus they didnt announce to the rest of the relatives. Also a few other colleagues and close frens knows about it..think when i announce, they will flip..cos it all seems so soon...lol.

ha i think my PIL already start announcing to the relatives. I already have a used baby-cot in our house already, thanks to HB's cousin.

Hi minibean.

Baby have 46 chromosomes in the body.. I don't think there's a test that can test all chromosomes. Hehe!! Oh.. there's a show coming up on tv... which is called " the girl without a face" .. I think it feature a little girl with either edward syndrome or patau syndrome. When I see the trailer, I nearly wanted to cry and I think the parents are very brave pple.

For me.. when my dad passed away, i think everyone knows I am pregnant cause I have a red ribbon around my tummy. So not a secret anymore.

Have anyone started taking tonic like bird nest? I intend to start taking bird nest soon cause my mum keep saying dun save on such thing cos good for BB's skin in future.. nice and smooth then no need to apply SKII. Haha!!

For bird nest, you all normally take those bottle kind or buy those need to cook yourself one?

Wow! So interesting to read up on all the topics! I just turned 12 weeks yesterday. Went for scan yesterday also and baby is moving a lot! Hubby and I are so thrilled! Cos I've been resting and lazing a lot at home, and I was worried Baby would not be so active. From now on, I will get back to my active living!

I also have booked a flight to Bangkok this February way before I found out I was preggies. To go with hubby, sis and cousin. Initially, wanted to change my hubby's and my tickets to my parents, but it will cost me more than $1K to do that. I was contemplating if I should go (this is my first pregnancy and I dun know what the risks are to fly/ travel). But, seems like we would still be going. But I still dun feel good abt going cos I know my MIL will not be happy with me going. Any advice? My sis and cousin can't go on their own cos it's their first time there. We are supposed to bring them ard. But I've already tod them if I go, the itinery would have to change to be not so strenuous.

Anyway, when I met some of my older aunties, they managed to tell I'm pregnant just by holding my hands! They would be saying "Why are you so warm? (Followed by..) Are you pregnant?"

They're so good, right?!

OK, enjoy the weekends, ladies!

Ann, bird nest there's this kind that's concentrate in bottle form. suppose to take like 1-2 teaspoon a day. I dun like drinking the individual bottles one.. Think I maybe getting that and put it into my soups. My mum bought me the one need to cook one. I was like telling her.. great.. it'll stay in the cupboard until you come back and cook for me.. haha.. cos it's SO much work!! I saw the concentrate bottle ones on sale in Bulk Purchase but Hubby ask me not to buy from those. He'd rather me go a proper shop and buy.

Fazzy, since you're already in your second trimester, travelling should be alright. I jus came back from korea and HK. No problem for me except that there are so many restrictions that I din really enjoy myself. Think a shopping trip will be good since 2nd Trimester can start doing exercises liao.

Suntan.. hee.. yep.. it's a bit fast for us.. but most of my friends knew I want to have BB asap.. so it din really come as a very big surprise to them.. they jus commented 'oh, that's fast'... my mum had been asking me every mth after our wedding if I'm preggy.. strike on 2nd cycle.. not as efficient as you.. hee

Am not taking any other supplement besides Folic Acid and the Similac milk for pregnant ladies now. E pill form of multi vit that I used to take kind of put me off.. Think I'll ask my Gynae to recommend what I have to take on next visit.

Yesh.. finally Friday... this week is so blue after such a long break.. haha

Normally I also eat those need to cook one but my mum is the person cooking. I dunno how to cook. Maybe I buy some and put at my mum's place and ask her to cook for everyone. Luckily she only live next block to me. So easy to go too.

I also go buy the concentrated bottle too. Hopefully now Fu Hua got discount when close to CNY. Haha!!

Ann.. you so lucky loh.. my mum stays in Shanghai.. haha.. no one to cook for me.

I know how to cook, jus that it's super lay chey.. hate it.

Ecym,

btw, my edd is 24 Jul, however I will probably have my c section delivery 2weeks earlier which will be 10 Jul. My gynae advised me to do c section again as I got preggy quickly after my 1st c section delivery this time. So I will probably pop on ard 10 Jul. Thanks!

hi mtbs,

i'm fr the aug2010mtb thread. my edd is early aug but i have decided to go for c-section for my #1 hence very likely will deliver in july itself. hope i'm welcome here. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

btw, i see that most mtbs have gone for their oscar tests. i understand that the price differs from place to place but i'm still somewhat confused when i read some mtb paid $300+ while others paid $400+ and they are actually taking the oscar tests at the same place which is TMC. any idea why the price difference within TMC??

i'm scheduled to take my oscar test on the 18 this month so will like to know how much to expect to pay.

that said, my hb & myself are still comtemplating whether to sign up for the FBI program at TMC? any mtbs in this program too?? worthwhile? thanks in advance! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

finally friday is here...totally no mood to work this week after the long break....just came back from gynae's visit...i am at 14 weeks now...bb is a boy...he opened his legs wide and showed his birdie to the whole world! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ann, Noknok,

1st and 2nd trimester is a bit early to start taking bird's nest leh. I heard that taking too early will cause asthma in the bb next time cos it's too cooling. Best time to start will be around 7 mths into pregnancy. Oh...... and around last month of pregnancy, drink coconut juice from the real coconut so that bb's skin will be nice and smooth.

sun_tan: Haha, only once. Cos some of my clothings are quite fitting so the tummy pops out a bit.

Ann: I started taking bird’s nest once I am 12 weeks. I buy the concentrated one from Lo Hong Ka, morning one tsp, before bedtime one tsp.

The person say should mix in warm water before drinking if not it’s too “cold” for baby but I just eat directly, cos taste nicer.

I have friends who say bird’s nest not good for baby, will cause phlegm, asthma etc. But I still eat cos only 2 tsps a day, I don’t think will have much impact?

fazzy: Some of my mum’s friends also asked my mum if I am pregnant on my wedding! My mum says normally experienced aunties can tell by looking at the way you walk…

Before I found out I was preg I also booked air tics to Australia in May. I don’t know if I should change the flight date because the flight is 11 hours if I travel…

If I were to transfer the tic to someone else, it will cost additional $600 per tic… [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Noknok: Thanks for the advice. Yes, I also read that 2nd trimester is the best time to travel.

Sweetkiss: Yes, the problem with changin name is that it's so expensive and not worth it! But if you're really going, you'd have to stretch and walk in the plane every now and then!

Traveling: I also like to go traveling but unsure of my condition yet, i still having bad MS, dunno when it will subside, hopefully i won't be the unlucky one who puke till birth. those into week 13 and 14th, have you appetite improve? I m entering 13th week but still very poor appetite

congrats vernie, nice to know the gender early, ur boy very cooperative ya, cant wait to tell u . My one still crossing legs hopefully i will know soon.

hi angel, welcome, i think at tmc, some took the test at the hospital scanning area while others took it at their gynae's clinic, hence slightly different prices. I did mine at NUH, cost me $214

Most prob I will be delivering at TMC, if so I will sign up the FBI.think it is quite worthwhile

geri,

thanks for sharing. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my gynae refers me to TMC so i think i shd be taking mine at the hospital scanning area? btw, i'm under dr. adrian woodworth. he did tell us that it will be no prob breaking even at least so no harm in signing up for the program. it'll cost $148 for 2-yrs.

envy mtb who's planning to take a babymoon. i'm also an avid traveller. was actually planning to go italy & greece this summer but looks like have to give it a miss till after bb is born cos our trip are f&e & i'm the type who like to plan activities fr day to night (lol) so think that will be too taxing for me in my current preggie state. still hope to go for a cruise in my 2nd trimester though. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi blisstan, i dun hv helper. jus me n bb...cos i dun like to cope up at hme. prefer fresh air lor. and i hv the car, so i can go out with bb anytime. i will go out with my gfrds, cos some of them are still on ML. so its like a mummies n bbs meet.

we jus went to shangri-la for hi-tea early tis week, we hv 3 bbs and 4 adults...wen the door man saw us, he was like"wah, so many bbs..." think it was not a common sight lor.

for hsework, most time will do together with hubby or wen my boy is aslp. if my #1 is clingy, cos he's jus curious on wat im doing, i wld put him in his stroller, give him a biscuit n his training cup with his drinks. he's quite happy oredi.

for the hkg trip, it was booked b4 i knew i was pregnant..but if all r arranged well, im sure i cld enjoy the trip like everyone lor. my poor hb jus hv to carry #1 more liao.