(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

You know when i visited my gynae for the 1st time, he told me no colouring of hair/rebonding or perm...but i also cant stand my hair leh..i did softbond a few mths back before i got pregenant and the condition still ok as of now. But think wait for a few mths more, it would be very bad alr..so was thinking of doing the rebonding a few mths later, but cos of what my gynae say..i still considering leh..

I din ask gynae and jus went ahead to do colour before I went to hk.. Just told the hair dresser not to touch my scalp.

btw, anyone went to different website to sign up and get their goodie bags?? I just signed up for the dumex one. wondering which are the others that we can get goodie bags.

Also.. any mums here MS stopped for a while then came back again. Din have any MS for the whole of last week, but last night and jus after lunch today, I puke again.. not sure if it's MS.

Noknok,

I tend to have nausea after meals too even though I'm already past my morning sickness days. I guess it's because as the baby grows, it pushes against the stomach thus increasing the stomach pressure. That's why if I eat till too full, I'll feel like vomiting again.

Noknok,

Me too have signed up for Dumex (only), but the goodie bag is dampers..lol no use and in the end, gave it to my sis.

springleaf.. thanks.. seems like I'm not alone.. Hungry now.. sigh..

Suntan - Think can sign up for the similac one... free sample for the milk for pregnant mums... I hv a tin of that from my friend.. but I hated it.. it doesn't dissolve properly.

So worried!! KKH called and asked both husband and I to go down to redo a blood test, cuz i have low HB, it means low red blood cells right? I am so afraid if i actually have any desease?

Anybody knows anything about low HB?

springleaf, if your EDD is 五月二十八 take 五(lunar month) as odd. Your lunar age is odd (have to take note whether your birthday is before or after bb's edd though). So odd + odd = girl?

Quoting bbmermaid: "cos wat u hv to do is convert ur edd to the lunar calendar. eg: for me: edd is 31jul: lunar is 六月二十 which i only take the 六 as even no."

this is how i interpreted bbmermaid's guidelines and calculated mine...hope this helps!

Vernie, Sweetkiss,

Now, I'm confused whether to use 5(odd) or 28 (even).[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/kao_confused.gif]

Shann Yheng - low HB - low haemoglobin level? Besides having low red blood cells, there are other causes like red blood cells too small (I hv that, thalassaemia trait, it's genetic defect).

They might be asking both of you to go down to test for Thalassaemia. Just a guess. Your hubby also need to do blood test??

Thalassaemia trait if it's minor got no symptoms one. It'll only cause a problem to the baby if Both you and your husband has it. If only one party has it, then shouldn't be a problem. dun worry first, go for the test to find out more.

hi shann yheng, if i am not wrong HB refers haemoglobin - red blood count. i think normal range is 10 - 14. Perhaps you are anaemic? do u feel dizzy easily?

springleaf, vernie: Oh... Now I am not sure too. Cos bbmermaid mentioned she took the even number from her EDD so I thought as long as the EDD has an even number then it is considered as even.

Springleaf,

think the test originated from www.motherhood.com.sg I tried it there and I got result as boy.

Think only use the month.. cos it's EDD and not actual date of birth, using the month seems more logical. if it's actual date of birth then not accurate liao.

I just did research, so scared if i got cancer or anything... luckily is just 贫血症.

Yes i suspect i have it since young, i remember during high school when we all have to stand up to greet the teacher, once i stand up from sitting position, my vision will black out, in the end don't even bother to greet teacher liao, just forced myself to stand up but hold on to the table.

My mum has rheumatoid arthritis, so when she did blood test not long ago, doc said she has mild 地中海贫血症 Thalassaemia , asked me to do a test too because i might be carrying it too.

so zhun.

As long as not cancer i feel a bit more relieved liao.. Yes Nok nok he has to go with me too, we are going tmr early in the morning.

Think they're jus worried that your hubby also has exactly the same trait as you.. That's the question that my gynae ask when I told him I have this condition.

Shann : No.. you cannot take calcium and iron tablets together. 2 hrs before and after taking iron pills.. no calcium intake is allowed which means no milk too. That is my instruction from gynae.

hi can i ask if anyone is taking obimin Pluz? the one that contains DHA and EPA? Do you feel nauseous or vomit after taking it? Currently i am taking that and everytime like 10 mins after swallowing, i feel sick, like nauseous, giddy then will vomit. i tried after meals, with meals and on empty stomach, no difference.

Rebonding

Think I'll go ahead then, will bear in mind what you ladies mentioned, don't let chemicals touch or near the scalp. Most probably going to Hair Inn at Orchard Central.

First pregnancy my gynae said no rebonding... so I ren3 till my son was 2 months old b4 I did it. But also poured away a few bottles of EBM after that.

But this time really cannot tahan. Not only hair getting out of control, the weight of it ( I have thick hair) is causing me headaches. Tying up my hair also causes me headaches. Weather also getting hotter. Want to cut short but needs it to be straight.

Went for checkup today, so happy to see my little one [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm now in my wk 14 and the little boy inside me is measuring 8.8cm [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gynae confirmed it's a boy today. Even showed me the prominent feature. Hmmm, she told me I can go for #3 and she'll tell me how to get a girl! Arggg...

hi springleaf, vernie is rite...u only take the lunar mth=五, then u compare it to ur dob=28yrs (pls add 1yr to ur age if ur birthday is aft the edd, cos tat's usually how they take lunar's age.

so, if ur lunar age is 28yrs, then ur answer is odd+even=boy.

but if ur lunar age is 29yrs, then ur answer is odd+odd=girl.

so ladies, ur lunar's age for calculation is very impt. only use the lunar MONTH of edd and ur lunar's age.

springleaf, mayb u like to send me ur dob n i can calculate for u?

ann, boy or girl...it doesnt matter...cos most impt is bb is healthy rite.....

hey, mayb those who r still spotting can try to ask chinese physician if can start to take "an-tai-yao" 安胎药 oredi, cos since some r oredi into the 2nd trimester...

my mum wld boil it once a week for me wen i was pregnant with #1, even tho i din hv any spotting during my pregnancy.

as for birdnest, i only ate during my 2nd trimester n 1week of 3rd trimester, cos the chinese physician told my mum tat no good to be too "bu". and birdnest will oso cause bb to hv alot of phlegm. (mayb can chk with the chinese phsician tat u get ur birdnest frm abt it)

and ah, wen u r into ur 3rd trimester...eat alot of fish, cos its good for ur bb's brain's development (DHA)...

on rebonding, my hair stylist who's oso my childhood frd refused to do rebonding for me during my pregnancy lor. cos she say its no good for the bb. cos some of the chemicals may go into the blood stream.

oso cant do it while im still breastfeeding, unless i feed bb before doing rebonding or throw away the 1st n 2nd batch of EBM.

on similac milk for pregnant mum, i dun like it too, cos find it way too sweet for me. i prefer friso mum...can drink for pregnant n lactating mother...taste good n easily dissolve too...

noknok, u try to slowly pour the powder into the water n stirring it at the same time...it shld dissolve better....

Thanks bbmermaid,

My birthday is 1st June, i.e. before my EDD 9th July and I'm 32 years (English) old this year.

You're right that boy or girl doesn't matter but curiosity is really killing me and my hands are getting itchy when I see cute little baby clothings when I'm out shopping.

I realized that for those who are able to see the gender during the scans, mostly is boy…

Is it because boys have the organ which is why it can be seen? Haha

hi sweetkiss, ya, i've also noticed from my friends, relatives that when it's a boy,they can tell the sex quite early. do you already know the sex of your bb?

I don't know yet, my last scan was 1 week ago and gynae never say anything too. My geomancer predicted girl, I calculated myself using the EDD/age method also girl (previously calculated wrongly). Haha..

hi springleaf, the answer is................................BOY...kekeke...

cos tis how i calculate:

ur edd in lunar mth: 五月=odd

ur age in lunar: 32 (cos bd before edd)=even

odd+even = kuku bird...

u shld go UE sq....the bb n children's clothes are really so cute lor...

Hi bbmermaid,

Thanks so much for the help! And yes, I hope I could find out from my gynae soon so that I can start shopping. In the meantime, will look out for boys' clothings.

yup, ladies....i think boy is alot easier spotted than girls during the scan......my #1, i koe the gender at my 20th week scan, cos the lady tat did my NT scan was able to see the birdie, as my boy had his legs opened wide...

then there's my frd who say, if nobody can tell tat u r pregnant frm ur back view (even tho ur tummy is quite big), then its probably a boy. and its true for me, cos i din put on much on my waist area during the 1st n 2nd trimester...din need to buy any maternity clothes at all, only bght some shorts wen i went into my 3rd trimester...

then there's the old saying of the shape of ur tummy....round=girl, high n pointing=boy....(it not very true abt tis, cos the bb's position in the tummy cld change everyday)

np springleaf, but dun take the prediction too serious k.....as long as bb is healthy ya....

i bght some cny clothes frm BLOOM B for my #1 at UE sq (2nd level)...the lady told me tat the clothes r usually once sold, they dun repeat the design again....the designer is a korean lady...

u shld see there girl's clothes....so nice lor...

bbmermaid: Yup.. you are right. Boy / girl also never mind. As long as healthy, I am satisfy. But I know hubby would be abit disappointed if it is a girl.

Hey ladies.. not sure if you all did watch the show "Growing up without a face" yesterday on tv. I cried and cried when I saw the girl went in for her operation. 5 yrs old and had 29 operations to fix her face and more to come. It breaks a mother's heart to hear her cry before going for the ops. She is a strong girl... I think even stronger than anyone of us here. I told hubby that even the thought of going through C-sec scared me to hell.

Hubby say he dunno can accept such a kid or not but if your kid is a fighter, why won't the parents fight with him/her? Isn't it a parent's duty to fight along with their kid and not give up on them? But at times I also wonder can I be as strong as the parents who bring the kid into this world.

The next show is also touching... it talks about triplets who are blind and deaf. Hubby say I shouldn't watch such show.. I say we should cause it will makes us feel how lucky we are if our kid turn out normal and be thankful for everything we have.

I saw the trailer on TV too but didn’t have a chance to watch it yesterday…

My hubby also don’t encourage me to watch cos I tend to think too much.

Everytime before my checkup, I will start to scare myself what if my baby suddenly no more heartbeat?

Then when I didn’t see baby moving, I sort of panic for a few seconds till I see movement.

I think I am a bit crazy!

bbmermaid,

re. ur gender calculation, i'm still a tad confused cos in an earlier post, u mentioned,

then dob: 28th may 1975. in english calendar i'm 35 tis yr, but in lunar calendar i'll b 36 = even no. (if my bd is after my edd, then my age for calculation must remains as 35)

then in another post, u mentioned,

then u compare it to ur dob=28yrs (pls add 1yr to ur age if ur birthday is aft the edd, cos tat's usually how they take lunar's age.

so can i just cfm whether to add 1yr to our age if birthday before edd? for e.g, my birthday is in feb & i'll be 34. my edd in lunar mth is june, does that mean is even + even = girl?

how abt in cases when the lunar age is 30, do we take that as even or odd? thx in advance.

btw, hope u dont mind, i share this gender prediction with mtb on the aug2010 thread. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sweetkiss : I also very paranoid like you. Everytime before gynae appt, i so scared.. but when i hear the heartbeat, i know BB is ok.. but only awhile nia.. at night, I will start to get paranoid again. Hehe!! I think most mummies are like us la.. Hubbies all like to act cool.

babycoco: I also wish I can start exercising soon. But given my condition, I would have to ask the gynae first. I am more interested in aqua aerobics.. i prefer water. Haha!!

xbeanniex: I change my bra size to something bigger le and also change to nursing bra. Very comfy.. I like it alot. Going to buy 2 more from online.

Ladies, have a few questions.

1) when do you all start doing pre natal massage?

2) Anyone of you seen any chinese sinseh for an tai yao? Any good sinseh to reccommend? Hopefully chinese medicine can help to strengthen my womb and help to stop the frequent spotting or bleeding.

3) Anyone went to see baby cot yet? I went to see and saw this brand Pali.. their cot very nice.. any comment on this brand?

sweetkiss, ann : me too, me too. always very paranoid before gynae appt. especially when it takes so long to hear the heartbeat. gynae will show bb's heart beating, so i know bb ok, but when can't hear heartbeat right away, i also get very stressed out. my next gynae appt is jan 28. in the meantime, dunno how bb is. quite stressful right?

hahaha Ann : can show me to the online site ? As my bra now so tight till feel like removing .... i having the thoughts of buying sports bra ...

mummies, instead of buying bigger size bras, can also consider using bra extension...think someone mention before earlier (a few pages back)...can get from Spring Maternity...