(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

hi ecym, pls help to update my details...no. 55 in the list...

nick: vernie

edd: 3 july

gynae: dr henry cheng

hosp: Mt A

child no.: 1

just got a call fr the gynae's clinic...Oscar test is low risk...very happy...still dunno gender yet... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Christina, oh i think should be fine. I have so many gfs whose 1st and 2nd child's age gap is 12-18 months and they are coping well. i do think 3 years may be quite a long gap, by then to ask me to restart breastfeeding and those late nites again, no way! hee

same as ecym, obimin does not seem to get rid of my MS. My nurse told me it covers all the vits we need for pregnancy so since we are nearing 2nd trimester, can start taking and stop the folic already.

ecym, my MS is still here after 12weeks! gosh when will this ever end? I have already lsot about 1kg odd and hopefully i wont put on too much weight this pregnancy heee

I love year end. so many Public holidays, good reason for us mummies to rest our feet without taking leave!

hi ann,

i am new to this thread. just wanna to share with you tt i have been spotting red/brown disharge on and off since week 5. i am now into my week 9, it is finally subsiding. The reason was because I have bleeding near the sac area so it was a close call for a while. I only took the injection once as it din help. But I was on strict bed rest for a week and modified bedrest currently (have not been out of the house except for medical appointment and going to office). Hope this give you some reassurance that you are not the only one, hang on!

btw, ecym, think pregnant ladies cannot take flu or H1N1 vaccine. Check with ur gynae or GP if its ok to go ahead with it.

Yup, my gynae also advise me not to take as the government still hasnt give the "clearance" for pregnant ladies as yet.

hi ecym

can help me update my edd? it's 27 jule 2010. am 72 on the list [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thanks

morning ladies

jastine: i have been seeing a gynae near my hse but thinking of switching cos i think I would like to have the baby at TMC.

any Mummies at TMC to recommend their gynae.

As for Ms, I have been having it since week 5 till now, week 11, been keeping my faith and waiting for it to subside but it seems to get worse this week, vomit out all my food at night , terrible feeling..any one taking anti-vomit pills? I have lost 3 kg already..

btw, how much is a oscar test? my gynae only offers triple blood test.

Ecym: while i agree that pregnant women are the high risk group for H1N1, I also feel that we better not take the vaccine at this stage,

Astro_Gal: I also dunno why I bleed when I poop. Sometime you know.. when poop wanna come out but just need a little push to get it out.. then if i give that little push, i will bleed lo. But now better le.. so keeping my finger crossed.

Pohling: Thanks for your reassurance. Mine is luckily.. I have no bleeding in the womb but only near the cervix area. So wasn't put on bedrest too much but still less walking, no shopping and no housework rule applies.

hi jastine,

my research was Yvonne Chan and Lawrence Ang. Dr Lawrence Ang was topped up with my friends' recommendations. Yvonne Chan might be full for July already. You might want to check that out.

Springleaf, were you at Dr Yam's clinic last night at around 8.30pm?

Regarding the pimple cream that we were discussing previously, i asked my gynae and he mentioned that the normal cream should be all right. But need to make sure that the following acid is not found inside the cream:

1) Salicylic acid

2) Retinoic acid &

3) Glycolic acid

Hi Sun_tan,

Yes, I was about to ask you the same question too. I went to get my blood test results for the Oscar test and also the recalculated risk. How's your baby?

Haa! cos when i went in, Dr Yam told me its you. He even remembered me telling him that i was refer to him via you..lol bb is doing well. At week 10 now, meausing 3.46 cm. So hows the result of your oscar? He is helping me to arrange for me from next week onwards.

Sun_tan,

Wow! You're already 10 weeks - time really flies. My recalculated risk is 1 in 6000+, considered extremely low at less than 0.1%. So at least it's one load off my mind. And you're right about him having very good memory. My husband told him his name just once during our 1st visit and almost 1 month later when I next saw him he could still remember. Anyway, all the best for your Oscar!

springleaf,

ya, he asked about my hubby last night too asking why he did not go with me. He too remembered his name..lol..for the oscar test, how long did it take to get ur results?

Sun_tan,

You'll be able to get to know your baby's neck thickness immediately after the scan. This is called the Nuchal Translucency. I suppose you already knew that any value below 2.5mm thickness is considered normal.

After that the sonographer will check for your baby's nose ridge. Presence of the nose ridge will be considered good news. They also check if the baby's CRL,skull and aminiotic fluid are normal. Take note of which centile your baby size lies in at the end of the scan report. The higher the centile, the bigger your baby is for its gestation age.

Finally they will do the blood test. The blood test results should be out the next working day. For my case I did the test on 23rd December so my results were faxed to Dr Yam only on 28th Dec because of the Christmas holidays.

It'll be good if your husband can go with you because the ultrascan will be even clearer than that for the regular gynae visits and both of you will be able to see how active your baby is.

springleaf,

What you meant by the higher the centile, the bigger the bb is for its gestation age? so is it the bigger the better?

Cool, will look fwd for the scan. Cant really see much last night, except for a white mass and the flashing heart..

Sun_tan,

I've got a big baby. My baby's size at 11 weeks 5 days when I did the scan was 6.04cm and this size is in the 95th centile. Which means that if all babies sizes at the same gestation age of 11 weeks 5 days are ranked from 1 to 100, with 100 being the largest, my baby is the fifth biggest.

Actually there are advantages and disadvantages of having a big baby. The pro is that at least you can be assured that baby is growing well. But the downside is that delivery can be more difficult. So maybe medium-sized would still be the best.

fazzy,

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thanks!

springleaf,

icic, so for now, i still wont know that the centile for my baby. any idea how fast bb grow per day?

Sun_tan,

Average growth should be about 1mm per day. So you can roughly estimate by adding the no. of days to your next ultrasound to the current size.

morning all.....had been so tired recently, went see gynea last tue n he gave mi MC from Mon till thurs but too bad i nid go back work on wed n thurs.....wasted sia

my boy so clingy now n i've injured my right wrist now.....will be seeing gynea nxt mon again....hopefully bb's growing well....had been receiving lots of bad news this wk liao

I did my NT Scan yesterday. I am about 12 weeks and baby is 6cm.

My recalculated risk is 1:18000+…

Saw baby stretching the arms during the scan and moving about. So cute!

I still have lots of Folic acid left. Do I still need to finish them now that I am 12 weeks?

I also have 3 new bottles of Obimin. Can I stop the folic & start my Obimin now?

sun tan,

boy still young n super energetic now....n all of a sudden (think he can sense bb) became v clingy....even refuses to step feet on the ground sia when i'm ard.... keep wanting me to carry so now wrist injured liao lor

Hi Sweetkiss,

Congratulations on your good results. You have the same EDD as me. Were you able to tell the gender of your baby during your scan?

I think you still can continue with your Folic and at the same time start the Obimin. I started taking prenatal vitamins as soon as I learnt of my pregnancy.

I'm @ 12wks now. Having my #3..

EDD: 10th Jul 2010

Gynae: Dr Judy Wong

Hospital: TMC

Did OSCAR recently.. test results OK too. Nxt to test on gestational diebetes.. my greatest fear. Praying hard I don hav it cuz my #1 I had it...

Hi MTBs... i am new here. Currently expecting my 1st child.

EDD: 11 July 2010

Gynae: Dr Yvonne Chan

Hospital: TMC

Should be around 12 weeks now and going for my blood test and Oscar next week. Hope everything will be fine. Seems like my MS is still not subsiding yet... hoping that it can be completely gone after 1st trim.

Quite a few Dr Lawrence Ang patients yah? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Just went to see him this morning. Best time to see him is definitely after 1130am!

Cant see the gender yet, not gonna do Oscar test as he said bb's neck thickness is alright (didn't do for no. 1 also), bb's at 6.5cm @ 13wks!

Hi Springleaf!

My EDD keeps changing… Yesterday I saw my report which stated “EDD based on scan” which is 9 July so I assume that should be the updated one.

I did ask the doc but she said it’s too early to tell the gender.

How about you? Are you able to see?

You mean I can take Folic and Obimin together?

suika,

can start telling your boy abt the bb..my sis will mention the coming di di to her daughter every now and then so that she will get use to the idea. Then next time when its time to start buying things for bb #2, sometimes it good to get one for ur boy too, so that he will know he is not left out.

jellypurin,

like that mine 11mths lagi no nid try rite....he keep jumping on mi now....so worried will hurt bb inside me

Sweetkiss,

I couldn't see my BB's gender too. The sonographer said need to wait another month.

Yes, can take Obimin and Folic Acid together. I've been taking my prenatal vits which already contains 800mcg of folate together with another 5mg of plain folate since the start of my pregnancy. So I've been taking in more than is required for folate but there's no toxicity because it is a water-soluble vitamin. Just finish up your current supply of folic acid and then take just the Obimin.

suika

mine ger will not jump on me but she wants me to carry all the time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I have a medela freestyle pump for sale. Bought in nov 09. (US set without warrently).Use only for one mth. Selling at $400. Freeies: Avent breast pump conversation kit for medela freestyle. Please email me if interested.