(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Good afternoon mummies.

I have just received my tin of S26 milk powder. Anyone wanna exchange it? I need Nan Pro 2.

Changing of teat: How I decide whether Kayden need to change the teat or not is when he drink milk, whether his teat gets flatten or not. When he suck to fast, the teats tend to get flatten so I know the flow is not fast enough for him. Then I will change the teat. When I change the teat, I only give him the new teat when he is being dreamfed. Cos that is the time he will concentrate on drinking milk only, thus I can determine whether the flow of the new teat is ok for him. At first he will choke abit, but after trying for a few days he will get use to the flow and ok with it liao.

Jasline: I think it is a phase they go through. Now Kayden is getting better but I am still keeping my finger crossed.

Thanks Lennie for organising the trial class... Can hubby enter the gym too?

See you girls this Sunday.

CNY Steamboat - Lynn thanks for the invitation but i got other house visit on the same day at 5pm... See if I can drop by to say hihi...

Eliss>> Yes, see you as well.

Actually I didn't get the Centre Manager's name for the Gymnademics. Forgot to ask also if HB's allowed since it's a private class.

Anyway, I'm not sure if my HB will be coming too as he'll only be back from Germany on Sun early morning.

I hope I can cope handling the BB alone!

Cuz it's be the 1st time I'm bringing the BB out on my own, hehee.

Is anybody using pigeon teats? Is M size or Y faster? When Ann mentioned that the teat sucked until flat, reminds me of my boy. The bottle, especially Medela cos it's soft plastic, gets compressed too. Does it mean the flow is too slow?

I don't want to exchange milk powder, I just want to sell! Intend to give EBM until 1 year old. Any takers? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

If I recall correctly, got Enfapro, Similac, Nan Pro, Mamil...

Anyone has the link for the bulk diapers purchase for Huggies.

I lost the link, if any of you has it, can pls post the link here. Tks!

kat: i using Pigeon Teats size L for my BB C. And using Avent Teats 3mth+ lll (got 3 big puddle look alike one)

I still have Mamil Gold Step 2 to let go too (2 tins of 400g)

kat. am using the largest teat (I tink is Y? I remember is the biggest) as I find the flow is too slow..

We cut the hole bigger and my boy got choke in IFC but at home we help him to control the milk flow so he can actually accept it.

I find my boy is an impatient drinker.. suck too slow, he doesnt want already. so I gave him the biggest teat (nv cut) when he is abt 3-4mths old

Kat - I using pigeon teats and have let my boy try both teats. At 1st use Y teat he suck very hard and after a while become frustrated so i change to M teat and he ok with it so M size is bigger i think.

Teats:

I using Pigeon also.

i always tot Y is bigger than L, till recently I read the cover then I realised Y and M is the same.

Copy frm Pigeon Website

"It is recommended that mothers select proper hole sizes that enable baby to have the ideal feeding of 10 to 15 minutes during each feed."

charliebrown>> my boy is using NUK teats for wide neck bottles. I'll be changing his teats to the abv 6mths, size 2 teats in another week when he turns 6mths.

So far ok, it's only when he sucked too hard/long, then it'll become flat. Then I'll pull the teat out, let the "air" release 1st then put the bottle bk into my bb's mouth.

charliebrown: I'm using NUK too. same as you, i bought the 6mth+ one but it looks so big! havent given to my girl yet. so instead I'm giving her the 0-6mth, size M (for formula milk). i think the hole is bigger, but the teat same size. so far no problem, but i dunno if there's any difference haha

I tot i twist the cover too tight, so result this.

The new pigeon bottle (in yellow) it come with a thing, anyone know what is it use for?

Junie,

I m sure u wld do fine bringing bb out alone. Practice makes perfect! Nowadays when I do groceies shopping, I wld carrier S along (Cos no one at home) lol.. I wld be gg for the gym alone as hubby needa work.

I did ask the lady wat to prepare for bb. She mentioned to dress bb in loose clothes, prepare some snacks n water.

Haha, I have the following for swapping:

For myself: Nan HA and Mamil Gold 1 each for Similac

For my sis: Nan HA, Nan Pro, Mamil Gold, Similac 1 each for Enfa

Good morning mummies.

Last night I have an event so didn't bring Kayden home from my in law place. I called up to check on him. My hubby's sister picked up the phone. While talking to her, she say that Kayden seems to know mummy call cause he keep looking at her. I think he is just curious as in what she is doing. Then she passed the phone to him and I talked to him. He was quiet and no response. My hubby's sister took back the phone and told me he was smiling all the way when I talked to him on the phone. I can hear Kayden making alot of noise in the background and she told me that Kayden is trying to take the phone back from her. She passed the phone back to him and he was talking very loudly to me and I just response in my own way (Have totally no idea what he is talking abt, Haha!!). My hubby's sister told me that he is trying to find out where mummy is and how come only voice and not mummy. Haha!! I really dunno to believe her assumption or not. But quite nice to think that her assumptions are all true.

S26 FM: Anyone wanna exchange S26 FM (400g) with me? I am looking for Nan Pro 2.

Jasmine: The white thing with the pointed end is for you to unblock the teat hole if it is blocked.

morning!

for gym this sun, can bring hubby along if class is not too packed (says the center manager) But apparantly there is a separate sitting area for the other parent and both can switch to play with bb(she say too many minders baby might get distracted)

peanut: I think he wanted the phone back so that he can bite it. Haha!! But my hubby's sister says otherwise.

Claudia: Ya lo... I was told the same thing too. But I thought both parents there then more encouragement for baby. Haha!! Oh.. must bring socks for parents to wear too.

Pre walker shoes: Where did you all buy pre walker shoes? Want to buy a new one for Kayden. BP section all left with not very nice one. Or else it doesn't have the size for Kayden.

Recommendation for Gynae:

Hi mommies, my friend is currently pregnant and looking for gynae who can do delivery at MAH. She lives in Serangoon so it would be good if the gynae is nearby althou she is also ok if the gynae is stationed at MAH. She prefers a female gynae. Any recommendation? Thanks! BTW, she's currently with Adelina Wong but Adelina no longer do delivery at MAH =(

Irene (nfk22),

My Gynae is a female... from Paragon. She is nice person.. She can deliver at Mt A Hospital.

If u need the contact can let me know than I give u the contact.

What do you think of the policy stated below by a mummy? Found it in stomp when I was reading thru the posting.

"our kiddo policy is, if our kids come back said they kena beaten by classmates today, they will be punished, but, if they said they beat twice back as hard, then after that inform the teacher, they will be rewarded an ice cream."

Hey Ann , do u have Mdm Ida 's number ? She was ur massage lady rite ? My Fren just gave birth like check if Mdm Ida is available ?

Irene, my female gynae, Dr Chia Yee Tien, is based in MT E but she delivers at MAH, too. I think she has a clinic there but not too sure.

Ann, my baby does exactly the same thing every time I call home and my mom thinks exactly the same way your SIL does! haha

But poor girl fell sick yesterday [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] fever and runny nose. Was afraid it might lead to bronchitis (after hearing what an ex-colleague's baby went thru) as she had the symptoms. So rushed home yesterday to get her to PD. So now fever is gone but nose still slightly congested. Phew! When little ones fall sick, the whole household suffers - no one had much sleep and I kept monitoring her tempurature. So no 6m jab for her till she's back to normal

kiddo policy: what are the parents teaching their kids?? That it's all right to use violence? I hope that the parents are saying that in jest and don't really mean it

ica: Haha!! Maybe our babies really know when we are calling.

The parent who mention abt kiddo policy hoh.. also say that they rather be the one paying the medical reimbursement to other parents than to be the one receiving them. So I don't think it is a jest.

Ann,

These ppl must br crazy!! Wait till next time their kid after grown up landed in jail... Then wld they still say I rather my kid to be jailed than to be the one kenna beaten...

I've 1 tin each of the following milk powder to exchange for Enfa Pro Stage 2, pls PM me if interested as I seldom log in ;o)

- Mamil Gold Stage 2

- Similac Stage 2

- Nan Pro Stage 2

sun_tan: I think different parents have different way of teaching and logic. Ours just didn't coincide with theirs.

vegetable purees: What other purees can we make for baby to eat now? Kayden will be 7mths next Tuesday. So far he had tried the following:

1) Avocado (Totally hate it to the extent of vomitting)

2)Peas

3) Carrot

4) Pumpkin

Ann: Can try sweet potato or potato puree? Ian is also turning 7 mths next Tues. He had tried the following (rating in brackets - haha!):

1. Sweet potato (10/10)

2. Pumpkin (10/10)

3. Carrot (10/10)

4. Avocado (8/10)

5. Potato (5/10)

6. Apple (5/10)

7. Parsnip (0/10 - Vomit after just 2 spoons! But i thought it tasted a bit like sweet potato which he likes...)

For peas puree, how do u prepare? Do you used fresh peas or frozen ones?

vernie, for sweet potatoes, wad type did u buy? the brown skinned ones or purple skinned ones? i gave my girl pear puree too but she didnt quite like it. i used organic pears but they were not sweet. or shld i buy those china pears?

vernie: For white potato, I read that it is better to feed baby from 8mths onward, so i dun dare to give Kayden. Where did you buy parsnip? I wanna let Kayden eat that too.

For peas puree, I will boil it then blend it then sieve it. Alot of work. I used frozen peas as I can't find fresh ones.

Sweetkiss: how do you prepare the pear puree? just mash? no need to steam right? i read that can give china pears. i've been giving the purple skinned sweet potatoes. Once I gave the brown skinned ones (flesh is orange) but my girl didnt like heheh. So now i stick to the white flesh ones.

Ann: my friend gives broccoli and spinach to her boy who is 2months older than our bbs. broccoli may be too fibrous for our bbs but maybe spinach can.

So far my boy tried:- (Copy Vernie's format, rate in upon 10.. keke)

potato (8/10)

Apple (10/10)

Papaya (4/10)

Pumpkin (10/10)

Hmm.. think no more liao.. then i will give cereal, now at IFC he ate porridge, think got carrot, pumpkin.

Just started that's about it. Teacher say he can eat quite big bowl, a good start!

SK: I got the japanese sweet potato (purple skin). See pic:

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5039530.jpg]

Pear puree - i am thinking of using china pears too.

Ann: Oh, white potato only for 8 mths onwards? PD said can feed, so i tried. No wonder Ian did not like it too much. The texture is rougher compared to pumpkin, etc. I bought the parsnip from Cold Storage at Great World City. Must search the shelves thoroughly coz not very prominent.

Jasline: No, did not buy yet. Still thinking lei though not much time left. I will be going back to Msia during CNY, dunno whether to use that foldable highchair or just bring Bumbo back. Was trying to get some comments from mummies here whether they find it useful to let bb sit and feed them outside. If useful, then I can buy and start using during my coming trip. But I think bb can start to sit on high chair in restaurants already, so maybe no need to buy. You are considering to buy?

vernie: That is what I read in the forum for white potato. Oh.. ok.. will go search for the parsnip. By the way, you know where to get summer / winter squash? I heard can feed baby this too.

I bought the foldable chair for Kayden but had not even use it yet cause everywhere i go got baby chair. Haha!! Still finding chance to try.