(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

gosh,I think i will give the baby bash a miss?Cos i might be holding bb J bd on 2 Jul... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

His BD is 12 Jul... to be confirm again, as now I am planning for my budget for a cosy, yet afforable 1st bd..

Tink My mother and MIL gotta do seperate. i dun wanna see 2 Bao qing tian snatching away my boy!

argh...

Seeing so many of ur bubbas hvg cereal, I also started my boy on ceareal some months ago. Just like his sister, he detest cereal and much prefer rice porridge!

Sk

It is true some babies cannot take brown rice cereal. They get constipated. Why dun u try giving rice cereal instead?

JP, my bb is the opposite. Loves rice cereal, hates rice porridge. Have no idea what to add to make it yummier for her.

By the way, what do your babies wear as pjs?

sun_tan, The BM u used to blend is freshly pumped one? Coz if it is thawed BM and then refreeze in the puree, not sure ok or not lei? For the purees I made so far (pumpkin, carrot, apple, potato, sweet potato), i only add boiled water to the potato/sweet potato ones to blend after steaming coz they are quite thick. The others, i just use the leftover water from the steaming. As for avocado, i did not try freezing coz i prepare fresh each time to feed bb.

babycoco, My bb wear sleepsuits as PJs. Prefer the one piece type. I realised he always expose his tummy if he wear the 2 pc type. Nowadays he stirs a lot while sleeping.

Went Gymboree for the trial class today. Saw Fazzy & another July mummy (forgotten her name but baby is Ishan).

This is the first time I realise Kayden can sit very long unassisted. He can sit quite straight and doesn't lean as forward or topple down. I think he must be lazy at home. Haha!!

Class was quite ok. Facilities not too bad. Actually I think I was only worried about sharing the toys part. Not the big toy but the small ones like balls and rattles. All babies at such age like to out the items in their mouths, so imagine 12 babies putting the same toys in their mouths.. quite worry abt the hygiene portion.

Will check out the other 2 gyms before making a decision in which one to place Kayden in.

Jonas: Haha!! Will bring him over to play with Javion more. But hoh like quite hard to meet Javion's waking hour lei. Haha!! Maybe if you don't mind dogs, you can bring Javion over. Maybe in a familiar environment, Kayden will be more willing to play. Haha!!

Sweetkiss: My boy also have difficulty pooping on Thursday. My FIL say he has to sort of dig out the 1st poop for him. Then Saturday even worse, like yours, my boy cry will pooping. His poop got a little blood. Hard.. when drop into the potty, can hear "Pong Pong" sound one. This is because my in law went to buy Nestle Cerelac rice cereal for him when his Bellamy one finish. In the end, he wasn't suitable for Nestle one. Hai.. Now my in law learn never to change the things which he ate without consulting me. Actually it is not their fault.. FIL told hubby that cereal finish le but hubby didn't tell me. So they went ahead to buy the Nestle one cos they seen me give him the sample pack before.

Since last Friday, I changed the cereal back for him liao. Though yesteday was constipation, today the poop is back to normal liao.. no problem pooping.

babycoco: My boy doesn't really wear PJ to sleep.. depend on the weather. He can wear anything to sleep. Diaper with top only, no sleeve shirt with shorts, etc.

vernie : thanks for assuring me... :p

oh ya... baby galens' stool start to become alittle bit harder.. even though, i feed him drink water after every of his milk feed or cereal feed... lol~~

But he bowel movement still quite okay, last month still twice a day, now turn to once a day... >_<|||

babycoco : if i will to slp in the air-con room, baby galen wear romper and long pant with sock.. if non air-con room, romper with sleeve and sock... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

And in the hot days, baby galen will wear abit sexy... or should i say airy... without sock... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

vernie,

Yup, the bm is freshly express one. Ok, think next time i will just use water to play safe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

babycoco,

Like Ann, baby Skyler also just wear a top + diaper. But if with air-con, then it would be top + long pants + sock and blanket.

Yesterday I bought an organic pumpkin and pureed it using the philips avent steamer/blender (god sent). One small slice of pumpkin made about 4 babycubes for me (just nice for the 4day rule). Fed Gareth one in the evening and he finished it !! Think he really likes it haha!

Jace, I pureed it using the water left inside the steamer when steaming. However, I read online that almost all foods can steam like that except for carrots. Carrots we should throw the water away and add in ours if our babies are less than 8mths old. Cos got nitrate or something like that!

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5020250.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5020251.jpg]

hahaha the "wukong" seems so satisfied after the meal! the bowl u are holding really seems quite a big one, do u gradually increase the feed or do u give him so much the 1st time for his pumpkin?

My mum started feeding my bb with porridge. She asked me to buy scallop so tat it will taste better.

Sweetkiss: I pm you already [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Feeding solids:

I have just started my bb on brown rice. I have been giving him only once a day- a few teaspoons, after milk feed. So far he seems to like it..I have also bought avocado for him to try next. How long do we let our bb experience all these new food, before we can replace one meal of milk feed with solid? Cos I remember some mummies said not so soon as milk is still the main nutrition for them.

Can some mummies share the feeding schedule (with solid) for your bb please? Thank you!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Magmag:

Do you all sterilise the magmag cup?

Jaclyn: your bb can sit well in the bumbo and with some room space left for his legs. My bb will slouch to the front, and the legs space is v tight.

Quartzie: oh nonono its very little actually. Like 2/3 of a baby cube. We mixed in some milk too cos scared the taste too "new" for him. Btw, i heard not good to start babies with shellfish/seafood till older. Its one of those "very easy to allergic" types of food.. plus alot of chemicals might be used in the "drying" process of the scallops.

charliebrown: For me, my baby is on 1 tablespoon of brown rice mixed with 3 tablespoons of milk... once a day in the afternoon after his milk feed. In the evening I give him a small amount of fruit puree or vege puree (he is on pumpkin for these 4 days). Small amount is like..40-50ml with some milk added in. I will be taking it slowly.. dont want to overfeed him.

As for replacing milk feeds... i think i wont until he is older like 8-10 months. But just to share my son don't take ALOT of milk de... till now he 6mths 10days old, he cant even finish a 130ml bottle of milk in one shot. We've tried all ways and have decided that maybe hes just an impatient drinker! Drink abit stop, then drink abit stop kinda thing. :|

Just to share, this is a good website with lots and lots of information on baby weaning (starting solids)

http://wholesomebabyfood.com/pureebabyfoodandstore.htm#How%20To%20Freeze%20the%20Baby%20Food%20Pur%C3%A9e

http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/baby-food-freezing-chart.htm (extremely useful as it tells you what type of food is suitable for freezing and whats not)

re: Gymnacademics

hi mommies. i had sent an email to most of you including to the mommies who dropped me a pm.

i don't have that many responses hence i will go ahead and submit your names to the centre.

solids feeding

not replacing milk for every feed yet too.

Lunch will be some fruit / veg puree (still feeding the jarred ones until i buy the blender)... Usually about one third of the jar then feed milk - bb usually takes about 100ml then reject

Dinner will be oatmeal cereal (for the mom).. started with 1 tablespoon, now 3 tablespoon mixed with milk. And after that he will usually finish off the rest of the milk (i make 180ml)

Actually am worried that I am overfeeding him cuz he is still on 6 feeds a day... total milk feed about 900ml. Was reading the similac tin suggested feeding volume and it says 180ml 4 feeds a day. Not sure if its cuz stage 2 is more filling or they reduced the feed per day to factor in solids intake.

Magmag

yes I sterlise it... Actually i quite KS.. even the bowl and spoon also sterilise! But magmag cuz am using the teat still so figured its like pacifier so should sterlise

bumbo chair

charliebrown yah, mine i have to pull the leg part apart to 'slot' my boy's thighs and calves in! Anyways he doesn't rreally like to sit in it so am feeding him in a high chair nowadays

Avocado purree

Vernie... how much do you feed per feed when you prepare fresh?

Stools

Yes, becoming more like adult's now... one lump type. And colour is based on what he feeds... I noticed he starts pooing less often too... Last time once a day. Now sometimes he will do once every 2 days... so i feel like i've struck lottery whenever he poos!

Btw... apart from Ann, anyone started to train with potty? According to my aunt... must remove diapers and put over potty whenever poo... otherwise next time baby don't wanna poo without diaper on.

lunch tmr:

a grp of mummies gg to lunch @ china sq sushi tei tmr...

so far there's 4 of us.

lemme kno who's joining @ 12pm.

me gg to chope seats... they dun take reservations..

babycoco: so far myself, suntan, irene, jasline & jaclyn r gg for lunch. all wkg, no babies.. but do come join us w amelie!! so long nva c her!! missmiss~~

i count u in?

nah.. not getting the LTS angpow.. i dun get to keep them! hahah... gonna use last yr's angpow.. cuz we prep a lot last yr.. didnt gif away all..

the angpow w monie sat in my drawer for 1 yr already. lol~

jaclyn: Oooppsss...i read about the nitrate thingy somewhere but did not know that for carrots puree, need to use our own water, not those left from steaming. I fed bb four times with carrot already...alamak, better change the method for carrot next time. Was wondering why carrot is recommended as one of bb's first food eventhough there is the nitrate thingy.

My bb loves pumpkin too. I did not add in milk to test whether he likes it. Since he liked it, i just feed him without milk.

claudia: I feed slightly less than half an avocado each time. The other half, i eat...haha! If I don't eat, then i will keep other half in fridge and feed next day, so not exactly "fresh" for the next day's feed. This is the only puree i have not frozen so far.

avent steamer blender: I find it very convenient and easy to use. Saw latest promo at Robinsons selling 155 in a bundle (steamer/blender + 10 VIA cups & lids). Mummies who still have not bought any blender, can consider this.

Feeding solids:

Claudia: I also scared that I will overfeed or underfeed my bb. Cos my bb keeps licking the spoon when I give him the brown rice. He is also on 6 milk feeds per day still.

Thanks Jacyln for the website recommendation! I will go read soon.

Amelie's a little terror. Won't let us eat in peace if she comes along. Let me see if I can find a sitter.

At least you don't have to come up with more $ for angpow this year. Can spend more on yourself :)

babycoco: brg amelie for lunch!! so many pair of hands to keep her bz [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hee... still needa prep more angpow for this yr... last yr we had 'concession'.. cuz it was the first cny aft our customary... n some relatives said no need to distribute angpow.

but this yr no excuse~

hahah... luckily H can collect angpow this yr too! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jaslyn: thx for ur link. i'll go try the methods.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jellypurin: i started with brown rice when she was 5.5 mths old and no probs with pooing, so i continued. she only has porridge or brown rice cereal mixed with veggies or fruits. so far we didnt intro her to new foods. but her constipation started a few days ago so i'm not sure what is the cause.

Ann: my girl's poo is still soft just that it is one lump (一条). but it caused her to bleed. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] i dunno why leh cos it happened suddenly and i didnt change her food. i'm afraid its the FM cos recently i changed her FM from 1 scoop stage 2 + 2 scoops stage 1, to 2 scoops stage 2 and 1 scoop stage 1. if that's the case, her constipation will be worse if her milk is totally replaced with stage 2... or i need to switch FM?

CK is offering Pampers Diapers S48/M44/L38 @ $13.80 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

*But not available @ blk 205 Bedok, blk 513 tampines central, blk 303 woodland, blk 624 yew tee sq...

Tried feeding bb E porridge today, but she doesn't like..

Recently, bb poo also hard hard one even thou drink water, think it's after eating the brown rice cereal? Any bb after eating brown rice cereal poo also hard hard one?

hi sito,

my baby hv been "gek" until his face red since he is on brown rice cereal. So far he still poo at least once a day even though the poo is very hard & always stick on his butt.

Hey mummies, my son is now 5mths ++ and hes still on EBM. Problem is, he doesnt like to drink EBM but wants to latch on. I"ve been back at work since he turned 3mths and in the day (8am to 8pm) he only drinks a total of 4 feeds, sporadic timings and each feed, he will only down 30ml-60ml of milk.

Should i be worried. Now, hes hardly waking up to drink at night also.

I tried to change to formula milk, even mixing with EBM but he still refuses. Dream feed with formula also he will reject. Dream feed with EBM he rejects also.

Any tips to wean him to formula? I think my milk quality is also not so good now. Noticed that the foremilk qty more than the hindmilk. (less thick)

also, which formula is suitable to wean off? I tried Friso but he doesnt seem to like the tastes. Keep making disgusted faces at me.

I'm really so worried now cos he seems to be losing weight and i rarely need to change his diapers. Scared he dehydrated.

Started him on brown rice every morning but he only eats like 1 tablespoon worth.

mumsie,

my gal also prefer to latch on.. she had nv finish 100ml.. in infant care most of the time take 50ml only.

Is he putting on weight still?? if he is there's nothing to be worried about.. If you're really concern maybe ask whoever take care of him to spoon feed.

I started my gal on cereal when she's 5.5 mths old. maybe you can access if your boy is ready for solid.. if he can sit unsupported for a while, looks interested in food (my gal moves her mouth everytime we eat, you may wanna start him on solid.

Dun worry about the quality of your milk.. it's still the best for him. As long as you're eating a healthy diet there's nothing to worry about..

Hi ladies.

Oh.. I went to Jusco last Saturday. Only bought 1 packet of Goon pull up pants to try. Mamypoko not much discount so I never buy. Goon was good pricing. The pull up pants (L-size) if buy in Singapore costs $21 per pack.. Jusco selling S$15.60 like that. This is the price before J card discount. If you got J card, only S$12plus. I think next time round, I will go buy more packs.

Sweetkiss: Maybe your baby not suitable for that brand of stage 2 FM. Maybe change FM brand. I heard some pple say if baby is ok with Brand A of step 1 FM, doesn't mean baby is ok with Brand A of step 2 FM.

Sito: I do give the Happy Bellies Brown Rice to Kayden but only during weekend. I scared he constipate too. But so far consume during weekend, he seems ok.

peach puree: I make the peach puree today.. turn out to be like shake more than puree. Haha!!!

Noknok,

Thanks for your reply. your gal too? My boy already taking cereals in the morning, but very little. He only takes like maybe 50ml worth ( i measure in a cup).

Ok, i'll try get my mom to feed him twice in the day with solids instead of just once.

I'm ok if he still feeds at night when i'm back, but now hes refuses his nighttime feeding. And with the minimized daytime feeds, i'm worried it'll affect his growth.

Then did your gal still feed at night when you're home?how many times she latch on?

hello mommies,

for those who bought baby cubes, can you please let me know where you gals got them? and how much roughly?

i saw a website selling $14.40 for 8 cubes in a tray (2Oz or 70ml)..but with postage, need to add another $3. so not sure whether if there are even cheaper options around in the market.

would appreciate if any mommies can share please.

many thanks!!

Supergal >> I got baby cubes from the BP section. There was a promo and I think I paid $22.50 for 2 trays.

BabyCoco >> B wears a sleepsuit. He moves a lot when he sleeps so wearing a sleepsuit will ensure that his little tum tum is well covered = )

Hershey >> The pampers so cheap! maybe I'll pop by the CK at Chinatown tomorrow.

Hey Pris, haven't seen you in so long, how are you? How's baby b? Amelie wears sleepsuit too because we sleep in aircon room. But she's always drenched in sweat when she wakes up in the morning & we don't even cover her with blanket. Wonder if I should just dress her in short sleeve top & shorts. But worry she'll be cold, sigh.

sleeping -

recently my bb sleeping pattern is getting funny. Last time he would drink his milk at 9+ n fall asleep while drinking. Dunno wat happen to him this 2days. He seems to get difficult in sleeping. He is tired but he just can't get to sleep I really dunno y. As usually we try to feed him b4 gng to sleep but this 2days while feeding he will drink half way n suddenly cried or shout than drink again have to slowly coax him to drink. But eventually he did not drink finish. Than he will continue crying or shout with his eye closed n flip here flip there. I know he is tired but he juz can't sleep. Carry him also cannot. Can anyone tell me y? Is it bcos he play too much in the day? But my maid told me he nv play much..

Sometime in the middle of the nite he will shout abit. N flip here n there. I have to pat pat him to sleep. So tired.

I tot bb grown up should be much more easy to take care but I dun seems too. Last time bb still can let u carry n lie on ur arm n sleep but now he dun like. If bring him out I have pro letting him sleep. If he dun sleep than cranky liao. Haiz.

Hi Babycoco!

Been really busy, husby is has been away for a week and I'm on autopilot mode now dealing with B and the 2 dogs. Thank God he'll finally be back tomorrow.

Maybe you might want to try a sleepsuit made with thinner material? Alternatively, you might want to try lowering the aircon temperature by 1 degree and see if it'll help. I notice for B, he'll perspire if the aircon is set to 26 degrees but at 25 degrees, he is ok.

sito : same same... after galen have taken "healthyTimes" brown rice cereal, his poo poo abit hard hard... But should be okay, i keep feeding him water...

chelz : ello, tis is the 1st time toking to u.... C: Same same, his poo poo alway stuck at his butt... lol~~ but he din realy "gek" until face red red... but he juz give a not happy face only... lol~~

pris : Ya... CK alway sell cheap.. C: I might be stocking up pampers.. since i missed out the carrefour discount... heehee~~ C:

babycoco : should b okay, don nid to dress her down.. juz wipe her dry in the morning... C: slowly she will adapt to it.. juz like galen... will sweat abit.. even when drinking milk, he also sweat... :p

babycoco : same as wat pris mention... dress her in thinner material and lower the aircon temperature...

usually, carter materials is much thinner... :p

Sleep suit: bb R wears a short sleeve shirt n long pants while sleeping (with air con ~25-26 degrees n no blanket) she sweats alot n is a late sleeper so if she is wearing a sleep suit after the night wipe down she will be wet by the time she gets to sleep.. the con for wearing the 2 pc is that her tummy gets exposed at times, tries to cover it whenever i m up but she just keep shifting her position during her sleep.

food: R have been on happy bellies brown rice since she started pumpkin, her poo poo is not as good.Is pumpkin heaty? I have checked with my pd...banana n papaya are good to give too

jas: at times my gal shouts/cries while sleeping too.. usually i ignore her n sometimes she goes back to sleep on her own. I have read that overstimulated babies tend to behave that way. is there any changes to your bb's day activities/naps? any new introductions or could it be teething? There was a period where my bb behaves like that too.. waking up in the middle of night crying n refused to sleep.. i could not figure out y. luckily she goes back to "normal" mode now. I think its quite normal for bb to "chu" patterns at times, just observe n they should get over the phrase soon. hang in there!

Hmm..I tot Food starts with "P" is good for Poopoo? i remember one of the mummies posted some article in regards of this.

Am starting bb J with pumpkin, today is day 2

and also introducing him stage 2 of FM too.

Hope everything will be fine!

Btw,I ask IFC to start porridge for BB J and he loves it!

Whenever he see teacher taking bowl, he will be excited and wanna take the bowl! keke, now when we are eating, he really looking at our food, have to give him some teether biscuits if not he very pek chek.

supergal: I just bought the baby cubes for around $13.80 at mothercare. It has 8 separate cubes, not in a tray. The cubes can be microwaved, sterilised. You may want to go and take a look. I have not started using those yet.

Jasline/Geri: my bb also, wakes up in the middle of the nite sometimes, to fart or to chit chat. Sometimes will cry, sometimes will not. And he likes to shift alot. Moving upwards on his cot. Many patterns.

Sleep time at nite:

Do mummies go home by certain time with bb so that you can prepare bb to sleep at nite? This morning was just telling my hubby that for the Reunion dinner at his parents' house, I want to reach home by 7 plus, so I can get ready and prepare bb to sleep by 8plus. His normal sleeping time. Hubby said no need to follow schedule la. But I really hate to mess up his bed time. I thought is good to get bb to zz at the same time every nite now as he is used to it. When he grows older, maybe can get bb to sleep later.