(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Kat, ICA

I had to prick my fingers before each meal and after each meal and also before my sleeping time (tat's 7 times). Not sure whether it's called OGTT but I know that my doc told me to test twice a week.

As my relatives have history of mild diabetes, the clinic got me to rent the glucose reader until the delivery. After that, I tried to eat less of rice but my pre meal level is low (maybe i was hungry). Doc then said that sugar level can't be too low. Then now, i just eat and steer clear of mashed potato and chicken pie which I like during my 1st trimester.

Told my doc that I had wholemeal bread for breakfast and he said it's better to have rolled oats. I think it's cos wholemeal bread has 60% of whole grain only.

The urine test isn't that accurate cos i checked and it was normal but the blood test is more accurate.

ICA- Maybe you can pm me yr list of diet.

Sweetkiss

If not wrong, the doc will insert the medicine into your body. Actually the yeast infection doesn't show any symptoms.

I remember the doc told me to cut down on sugary stuff as it might cause this condition.

For those delivering at Thomson, would you go to the PD at Thomson during the baby's early years or to the neighbourhood PD?

My boss told me that there is a popular PD at Thomson who shifted to Novena Sq or UE Sq(a Dr Tan Boon Liat?). I was like taken aback when he told me 1 visit is not cheap, can be around $200.

Just wondering whether the vacination can be done at polyclinics. Should be cheaper?

Ling will send you the diet list next Monday, ok? the softcopy's in my laptop in the office. hehe..but mine's a pretty easy to follow diet. for the time being, the diet is like this (i've the hardcopy with me):-

Breakfast

2 slices of bread, lightly buttered

with 1 bowl of cereal/oats

1 glass skim milk

Mid morning/Tea/10pm Supper

2 cracker biscuit or 4 marie biscuit

or 1 apple *

or 1 sandwich

Tea/coffee, no sugar, and skim milk

Lunch/Dinner

1 bowl rice/porridge/4 potatoes

Vege & meat as per normal

1 fruit *

* Solid fruit preferable. No watermelon, papaya

* Avoid:

Fried food

Santan/coconut milk eg. curry unless it's cooked with evaporated milk.

The plan is to have 3 main meals (breakfast/lunch/dinner) + 3 smaller meals in between. Eat 2/3 for the main meals, with the balance 1/3 for the smaller meals.

since you have to test your blood glucose level so many times a day, then you must think and eat like a diabetic - totally no sugar. my dad had diabetes and i remembered he ate soya bean curd without the syrup

just wondering - is it necessary to go to a PD? a GP should be ok right? when we were young, we only saw GPs

i think before we check out of hospital, there'll be a PD checking our babies to ensure baby's healthy and normal

jts: u can choose to go pd or gp, but note that not all gp can diagnose as well as a pd if ur child has any childhood diesease. u can however go to a gp for the childhood immunisation program. gp's charges are lower for vaccination, but poly clinic even lower. pd charges are v high, so if cost is a consideration, then u shd do a hybrid of visits to a gp/pd depending on situation.

my criteria for a pd:

1. near ur hm if possible

2. has nite clinics

3. queue is short, in other words, not an overly popular dr.

noknok

when in the hospital, a pd will look at ur child. u can decide to continue seeing the pd or go to one nearer to home. always ask for goood recommendations from frens/relatives who lives in ur area.

u can start visiting the pd 3-5 days after going hm. the initial assessment is just to make sure bb is doing well, gaining weight and is not hvg severe jaundice.

For my gestational diabetes monitoring, the diabetics nurse suggested that I monitor my blood sugar 7 times a day, for 2 days a week. I just started doing that. I end up being really conscious about what I put into my food. Sometimes, I still worry about how big my baby will be. My last scan at 26th week was 920g.

And my next scan will be in 32nd week.

Do you all have scans more frequently??

Hi, I will be getting a PD first for first few months at least, then you can transfer to neighbourhood GP. I think first few mths is when we need to take the utmost care for our baby so a PD is better at handling.

If you don't have a specific PD, your gynae will assign you one (probably tied up with your gynae one). If you have a specific PD in mind, you can request but let your gynae know beforehand. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Julie: my visit with the gynae was once a month until 28 weeks, then 3 weeks once until 31 weeks, then its once every 2 weeks .. and then become once a week. Mine is a package so all already paid for, just need to go down for the visit + urine test + ultrasound

PD or GP: I think I will use a mixture of both ba. I have a quite good GP here at Sembawang mrt.. so many vaccination will go to him. Can use BB bonus to pay too.

I am a March mummy....I have a brand new car seat. suitable for infant to 1 yr old. got as gift but i have one already hence selling. It's good to get a infant car seat first then buy one suitable for older kids later. Infant car seat is more recline as babies can't really sit up as yet. It comes with handle and can be carried like a basket...can use it to bring baby home from hospital if not comfortable to carry baby

retailing abt $90. will let off cheaply at $45. if keen pm me.

Baby hiccups are reflexes done on bb lungs so that bb can start breathing when bb arrives.. its also mentioned in the video clip "in the womb" by national geographic... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

not to worry about the infection, jus take the medication that dr gave and it will be ok.. infection is very common because of our hormones change and the high blood circulation at our "there"..

Hi serene, where can we see the national geo videos? I know you posted the links before but i cant seem to find them already!!

Anyone still awake? Kind of upset with my hubby just now. My washing machine had some problem and stopped washing halfway, end up i decided to hand wash it. Cant let the soggy n soppy clothes be in the washing machine over night right??? And coz im going to hand wash means the clothes are going to dripping when i hang them so i thought its better to hang out to drip dry at night otherwise tomorrow then hang my neighbours sure complain. And my hubby will have to go work early in the morning meaning i will have to hang the clothes myself. So i started the hand washing, and ask him to help me hang it out. Coz the clothes are too heavy, so he started grumbling and say y dun leave it till tomorrow?? But how to? Tomorrow i will also have to hand wash and i will still need someone to help me with the hanging out right? And now we are not talking to each other...

julie : mine is also a package which comprises of monthly visit till 32weeks..thereafter i think it will be weekly.

I finally confirmed my maid today le!!!!!

a big load off my mind! For the next couple of weeks.. i have to clear space n ready for maid's arrival first!

ann : happy to hear that u had a good n happy meal last night! sometimes men didnt realize that we women are actually very easy to please one hor...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi all MTBs

i remember seeing this advertisement in magazine where a online website selling kimono baby clothes... but forgot the website address. anyone has any idea?

Can I check if babies will only stick to one type of teat? I have bought avent bottles but thinking of buying one nuk bottle to try out and see which baby prefers. Will she accomodate to both bottles or do they usuallyonly get accustomed to one?

anyone gg to deliver in Mt A and have applied for the ladies card? I would like to ask what is the advantages of having the ladies card if I am only gg to stay in the 1 bedded room during delivery. Is it worth to get the card for that only?

Hi sun_tan,

thanks! But the application fee is $98 for 2 years, only $2 difference from the disct of $100, looks like not v attractive leh. Then for the post natal course or bbs education courses and checkup for family, I wont be free to join, then do you think still worth for me to apply for the card huh?? I was wondering anymore benefits which I am not aware of or nt...

kepsis -- the husbands wont understand de la.. i had to explain to my hubby before he willing to move.. i had to remind him to help me keep back the clothes in the morning before he goes to work too..

bliss,

Opps the price went up? Cos previously when i applied, its only $60+ i think. But its worth it for me, cos i am also taking their antenatal classes...hmmm...not sure if there are other benefits, but like you say, you its only $2 diff, then no pt for all the hassel.

Know that this topic was discuss sometime back, but lazy to go back to search the link, any recommendation for nursing bra?

Its a girl, Its a girl, Its a girl, 100% confirmed....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3955011.jpg]

Has anyone bought breast pump already? Antenatal trainer recommended us to buy Medela pump in style but that's ex, around $700. My friend recommended Medela 300 bucks. The nurse recommended me to buy just 1 electric pump (not dual) which costs less than $200.

Jaya: Ur baby is so cute!

I went to the clinic to collect my med yesterday. Was given oral antibiotics and a pill to insert. I have yeast and Group B Strep infection. I know yeast is pretty common, though i dun have it before, but when i read up on Group B Strep it seems quie scary and risky for the baby. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Will ask gynae abt it on my next appt.

Jaya: yay congrats! Finally you know the sex hehehe! what a gorgeous girl you have there, so smily [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mommies, do you all feel the need to pee more often now? Today I went out in the afternoon from 3+ to 9+ i think I went to toilet at least 6 times. Each time I pee very little only but the urge is always there!! I think maybe bb is in a position where he is pressing down on my bladder but it is soooo uncomfortable.

sweetkiss : think i ve to give my gynae a call on monday coz my discharge is back again! this time got itch! i also hate the pill leh.. after insert.. the next day so messy[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

and omg.. my weight seems to be escalating so much! think already piled on more than 2 kg from my prev appt which is only abt 2 weeks back!

For infection, maybe can eat less sugary stuff and eat more yogurt.

I noticed if i eat sweet sweet stuff i got yellow discharge, very ichy too.

Yogurt, Yakult also good. But if really alot discarge and very itchy see doctor is the best.

thanx jaclyn.. i shall do that. been getting infection .. also dunno why.. i got use feminine wash, eat yoghurt and also no s#x leh.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]