(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

actually i'd rather BB's clothes my HB & I buy...cuz scared wait my in-laws buy one not nice, heheee.

need to "convince" my HB to get a small wardrobe cuz BB's room no wardrobe, else confinement auntie no proper plc to put her clothes during her stay with us :p

Cot vs play pen:

my boy was using cot for the 1st 7 mths. after that he knows hw to stand up by holding the bar. i changed to playpen partly becos sometimes, my boy grab the space in between the bars and knock himself on the bars. so playpen is safer.

serene: do we need that many sets of mittens and botties? 10 seems like a lot ... oh ya, my mum who's gonna do the confinement for me, wants to use cloth diapers - she said better for baby. ok la, if she wants to, me not complaining [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] think i'll get them when i next go back to KL

ica: i scared bb saliva and putting hands into her mouth... then wet wet... so im expecting like... one day change a few pairs..

as for the cloth diapers.. i dun wan ILs to hand wash cause they are old alr... and if bb poo poo even harder to wash... but i get it cause it would be useful to lay on the bed, swaddle, blanket and on the pram even.. but i will be using disposable diapers unless bb got rash lor

vivi>> haha, ya...can but prob is home clothes i hv quite a bit already from hands-me-down.

but luckily so far my in-laws hvn't buy clothes for BB yet.

ica>> for mittens & booties, I'm actually thinking of getting 5 pairs 1st cuz full-mth celebration, am pretty sure some pple will buy as gift.

need to have extra cuz BB will bit the mittens and then become wet wet & smelly, so need to change.

vivi: thanks for ur advice... i think if i were to buy, i will consider play pen ba... still thinking.. maybe i discuss with my ILs and see how lor.. cause ultimately, FIL will be babysitting bb girl when i return to workforce.. i have to think for him too..

mrslong,

wear it when ur in laws come and patrol. they will feel good that the bb is wearing the things that they buy. keke

mrslong: i alr tell my friend the "to buy gifts" liao.. haha.. cause all close friends.. we always do that with each other's bb shower de.. so we make sure we get things of use for the new arrival.. keke.. i told them... no clothes pls... lol...

serene,

but can use the liner. normally my mil will throw it away when its soiled with pooed and she is scared to wash it.

to me playpen is like a daybed, then cot is for sleeping @ nite. hehee.

playpen can also put the BB in there & let him/her play with toys, while keeping an eye of him/her in the living room.

cloth diaper :

i got mine from JB jusco. So much cheaper than sg.

Pigeon brand is better than annaku (hope to get the spelling rite)

vivi: got it! thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mrslong: wah... very happening lei.. but wont bb get used to a bed and not want to rest on another?

oh ya... pigeon breast pads are great too! i stock up 2-3 boxes whenever i see kiddy palace got sale..

Talking abt Ikea, i was there last night and saw their bb changing table. Only cost $59. Most prob gg to get from there.

As for cloth diaper, remember to get the diaper liner as well.

serene: no worry. still got time. take it easy la...it's not that i'm ready, just that the baby stuff are already in place, like in my face kind of thing? bo pian but thankful la, dun have to spend so much

fluttering feeling? oh so that's what they are...i always thot it's gas..hehe

my mum says soak the cloth diapers 1st and wash them in the washing machine. dun have to handwash and i also dun wish her to

serene>> bo pian, just try lor. but at least BB have a choice (hopefully not spoilt for choice, haha).

i'm also hvg a moses basket (hands me down) for BB to sleep in till he's 2-3mths old in our bedroom.

then my friend passed me this electronic yaolan (which i'll only use as a last resort) if BB dun want all the above.

haha....spoilt for choices hor.

vivi: oh ya, i also read in another forum that Pigeon cloth diapers are good. it's actually anakku (meaning "my child" in malay) [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] in Msia, anakku is quite popular. ok, think i'll get Pigeon too

do Pigeon cloth diapers come in sizes? coz my mum said to get the biggest as they'll shrink after wash

sun tan: issit those that u fix it on the top of the cot?

ica: lol.. but they say bb wear better dun machine wash wor... and cannot soak too long if not will hurt bb's tender skin...

haha.. when i had a boy, i wasnt so cautious of skin and stuff.. now that i have a girl.... wahahhaha...

My friend say her kids have more diaper rash when using cloth diaper compare to disposable diaper leh... same mother of 3.

ica,

material wise : annaku not as good as pigeon.

pigeon wont shrink. but annaku will. But if u do buy annaku, it comes in handy when u fold it in a rectangle form rather than triangle.

Annaku is smaller as compare to pigeon.

do check the price of the cloth diapers before buying at msia.

serene,

Nope, its a changing table by itself. Its like a shelfing where by the bottom u can put things like bb's clothes, diapers and the barang barang then the top part is the changing table.

oh cuz my HB said if machine wash & tho use BB detergent, the normal low suds detergent we use will still remain stuck in the washing machine over time, so no pt mah.

so i'm confused lor cuz he said want to hand wash (of cuz lah, he's not the one doing the washing, haha).

mrslong,

no idea lei. i dun know hw to wash clothes, even when have helper time, she also use machine wash.

but i always rinse another round before hanging to dry. worse for me as i use dryer after machine wash.

justina,

sorry cant advise u as that was 3.5 yrs ago. but during that time, i think i bought @ ringgit 26 and sg is selling as sgd 26.

sun tan -- oh!!! wah... cool... and its cheap lei.. its a good deal...

vivi: baby detergent also cannot soak for too long.. my mom say will bite the tender skin if not washed properly..

nok nok: hmm.. i heard abt it too.. cause if never change the cloth diaper promptly and because it doesnt soak into the diaper ma.. so its still quite moist.. for disposable diapers.. it will be absorbed into the diapers.. but also depends on which brand.. i will be getting nepia.. i heard good feedback on it..

Woah.. seems like you all are buying alot of stuff already.

Serene: I also intend to buy bottles and bibs from babymallonline. Since you say clothing are cheap and ok quality, i will buy a set or 2. Hehe!!

6 sets of 0m to 3m and 10 sets of 3m to 6m.. that is alot. I never thought of buying so many too.

I am so lost now.. dunno what to buy.

vivi: overnight?? soak for max 30mins must wash liao.. if not the cloth absorb the detergent very tough to wash away... bb clothes must be handled gently..

ann: ya.. i bought a few sets liao.. u shud get their 3 or 5 -pack set.. its very wu hua... USD 9.99 or so... and the quality is not bad and durable.. with cute imprints that might cost u a lot more in SG...

serene>> my friend used nepia and said it leak.

she's using Fitti. A few of my colleagues are also using Fitti cuz it's gd & cheap.

For Fitti, can contact Fitti directly: 6861 9155 to order. Can save abt $2 per pack than buying from say NTUC. But must at least order a carton (6 packs) & they will do home delivery. Can even mix the sizes.

E.g 3pk NB and 3pk S.

cloth diapers: yes, must change once wet to avoid nappy rash. cannot think that it's not wet enuf, so can wait

just to let you know, Avent stuff are cheaper in Spore that Msia. Everytime MIL comes down to Spore, she'll buy avent stuff - cousin's babies, who-and-who's babies ...hahaha

Serene,

ya. my mum does this. for adults clothes.

my pil's dun soak 1. sometimes only soak soiled cloth diaper. most of the time dun soak.

Serene: Ok.. will take a look at that. By the way, you order through spree or order online directly from them?

vivi: then maybe u can try to buy soap free baby detergent and soak bb clothes with warm water.. but max about 30 mins.. cause if its soap free, then it wont be too harsh on bb skin and easier to wash it clean.. warm water helps to remove stains faster... and sun the clothes to kill bacteria..

mrslong: ahh.. i think i must sample a few liao.. cause my friends use nepia no prob.. the rest all leak.. haha... weird...

haiz MTBs, i puked for the first time throughout my 20 weeks of pregnancy...so sad! and the feeling was horrible! now i kind of had phobia eating fishball noodles [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I also have a list of things to buy but I dunno the quantity.

For clothes I only bought a few pieces in 0-3 mths, then mostly in 3-6 months.

But I was thinking, if 3-6mths are too big for newborns, then I will also put one side till bb can wear, and by the time they can fit it will also last them 3 mths.

So not much difference between buying bigger sized clothes because the “lifespan” of the clothes are still 3 mths, isn’t it?

When ppl ask me wad I need for baby, I very realistic..

Tell them to give angpow.

Cos $ can buy what I need, instead of them getting me stuffs which I don’t need or not my preferred brand, etc.

ann: i go both ways.. if i order it myself, then i make sure the shipping cost is worth it ( also means, i buy a lot... haha) sprees can share shipping cost.. so its better that way lor...

Wah.. this thread is moving way too fast for me to catch up.. haha..

Washing - hubby n I thinking of changing washing machine to front load one with heated water function and baby washing function. Understand from sales that they do additional rinsing and for samsung brand, got this silver nano thing to go through to kill bacteria..

Ultimately we jus want the hot water washing for BB clothes.. our washing machine is pretty old liao and 'vomitting' out black black stuff.. tubclean several times still no use.

Sweetkiss - my friend's BB is 3 mths old and she said BB wearing 6 mths old clothes.. whether infant clothes can last or not depend on their growth liao.

vivi: im not sure which are the brands tat my friend is using but i will help u ask.. as for the washing methods, i got to read about them or u can also google it..oh ya, for bb's new clothes.. try to wash it at least 3 times before u let bb wear... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

supergal: take care [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] try to wash that after taste off.. and drink some warm water if it helps...

sweetkiss: i also agar agar de.. lol... we wont know what size to get until we deliver... so jus agar-ation first lor.. anything extra, jus get ur family members to go kiddy palace help u buy.. or u can sneak out during gynae/PD checks during confinement.. keke