(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

thanks all for the feedbacks...

actually, i got the medela swing which is just a single pump.. but was thinking about the time consumed and wastage if i pump during office hours!!! and soooo, i went to exchange for the ameda one which is much cheaper and of course, it comes with price and if the spare part spoils more easily, then just have to get them replaced... i really cant part with 715 for the Pump in Style... gosh... i really cant part with the money... hehehehe... still deciding whether should i top up that 327 for that... hmmmmmm... then i was also thinking, if my friend is using it and recommended it, just let it be... this is the same friend who recommended me to my bridal shop and gynae and no regrets... hahahhaa...

the stroller is really a headache... i dun mind being heavy cos i m tall and slightly larger than an average lady.. ahhaha... people are telling me to get those with reversible handle so that baby can face you... hmmmm...

aprica is quite light but very very costly... peg perego is ok but heavy... headacheeeee... n i dun really like combi (maybe bcos of the colors they have, ahhahah)

hi kate

yes.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i will be shipping thru vpost.

someone mentioned desitin cream earlier, can oso bunk in.. so we can all share n cheaper shipping costs..

Erm, what is belly band and bugaboo ah? can someone explain to me heehee

Breast pump : my sil have 3 pumps but she mind sharing as its quite personal. Luckily my frez who is still breastfeeding now said if by e time I give birth she stop liao can lend me. I think if can ask ard its good to borrow instead of buying 1.. so exp!

sberry

isn't the 30% off for instore purchases only?

zhuoen

hmm if PIS is almost twice the ameda, then probably ameda will be good enough! just be careful not to drop it, my friend and i had that problem after drop a few times it doesn't pump well and have to be repaired. oops!!

zhuoen, if you are a full time pumping mummy is good to invest in a good breastpump. you can buy 2nd hand with warrenty and change all the parts yourself.

for stroller is better to have reversible handle cause you might not hear your baby cries when surrounding is very noisy. and you will constantly check on baby so if baby can face you will be better. but when baby grow, they don't want to face us liao. haha.

for combi, i find it not really good. i spend 400+ on a combi stroller and seldom use it. but when my son reach 1 year old the stroller became so unstable and shaky.

buy a stroller which is heavier like 6-8kg. and with big wheels so you can push your stroller more smoothly.

i like maclaren cause is sturdy enough for me to push up and down the stairs without carrying it. but one thing is front facing only. and my son prefer stroller that sits high up like strokke!

if you gals are free can browse back our previous archive, there is a lady selling her medela dual pump at $400 neg RRP $800 used only 1mth still under warranty. not sure if sold alrdy.. there is also another lady selling BabyPlus at $180 RRP $280..

kate - i m not sure if sale items still entitled, but most of the cases, merchants don't combine discounts/promotions.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

isobellies - it's applicable for online purchase too..

Bliss - oops.. perhaps u can join us next time.. once a while, i will get things fm USA/China.

but just tat it needs the SMH member to be at least 2yrs old in order to post and start a Spree thread.

Re: Stroller

I invest in a combi stroller when i have my #1. that time i dun have a car, so i m always tinking i need a light stroller so that i can carry my baby as well as the stroller when board a bus. but as she grow older now, like wat Bliss say, not stable liao. anyway i need a twin stroller now.

Re: Breastpump

I bought a second hand medela PIS. my neighbour use this and told me is good lor. so i juz buy and keep. will buy the replacement parts next year. my neighbour tell me, you invest alot of $ in, then you will be hardworking to pump the milk cozs $ alrdy spend. is a kind of "encouragement" for me not to give up breastfeeding.

kate, yes i bought combi also thinking can take bus with baby. this time round i think of getting a heavy stroller cause it impossible to lug a toddler stroller and a baby to take bus!

any idea that we preggies can use aloe products from bodyshop? im tempted to buy the soothing cream.

sberry,

any link for the spree?

sberry

im keen on ON and GAP but office no access to these 2 sites...will pm u my orders ok...

tink normally sale items still entitled to the sale code based on previous spree experience.

haha talk abt shopping feel so alive haha

Breastpump

now got alot of spree on the medela freestyle dualpump. its the newer version for medela PIS.

Am intending to join the spree to get the pump cos it cost ard $470 including shipping only.

Stroller

i own both a combi and peg. Combi at my mum hse and peg in my hubby car. Combi like the wt cos when alone and taking public tpt reallie cut down alot of wt. bad pt is the kid cannot sit until v big but luckily my gal is quite small size at 3 yrs old she stll can fit in so my mum use it to fetch her from the childcare.

Peg like the steadiness of the pram and till date my gal still can sleep v comfortably in it.

Missbluey

for beauty pdts my gynae say as long as it doesnt contain retinoal A or vit A its safe to use.

Hope this helps

hi missbluey - www.gap.com (u can buy fm either GAP, Old Navy, Banana Republic, Athleta fm there [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi mezzo17 - okie, no problem. i intended to place order latest by this sat nite or sun noon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sberry,

The price stated in e website is alrdy after the discount? If there is any other details like exchange rate or how to order, can email me too. thanks

Dear Mummies

Kindly use below format for order:

NICK:

E-mail:

Collection Method:

Item Name:

URL:

Size:

If OOS any alternative:

Colour:

If OOS any alternative:

Quantity:

Price: US$

PRICE IN SGD: US$XX.XX x 0.7 x 1.45 = S$ YY.YY

the exchange rate will be adjusted to actual according to credit card bill.

the shipping costs will be divided among all the spree-ers.

i will only consolidate orders fm our thread mummies only, coz not intended for profit earning. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

CJ - the price indicated in the web is before discount.

Mezzo17 - mode of collection can be by post, of self collection. more convenient places for me wil be at raffles place, bishan, amk, punggol mrt. we can try to arrange. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dear Ladies,

as this thread is meant to pen down our pregnancy issues, so i do not want to disrupt it n affect others. if there are any qns, pls pm me.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi all. This thread is moving so fast. I realise that the topics are changing repidly. But I need to ask something. I remember reading some time ago that many of you were on duphaston.

On Monday morning, I was spotting. I was scheduled to see my gynae that morning itself. She put me on duphaston (three times a day) but I realised that it made my MS really really bad. Or maybe it's cos it's the 6th week? But these days, I'd get my daughter ready for school. When she is off, I'd take a little food and a pill and then go to sleep. Then I'd wake up around lunch time, take a little soup and another pill and then I'm off to dreamland again. It seems only sleep is able to make the MS stop and keep my food and drinks down. Is there anyone else like me?

I only take two pills a day cos like cannot tahan thinking of what three pills would do to me. I have since stopped spotting, well as of yesterday. Should I continue? She has given me enough to last me two weeks till I see her again. Can die.

Any advice? Thanks.

i guess i will just handle my ameda with care... and dont look back.. ahhahahaha... just like everyone has their expectations on certain things... =)

how's everyone coping? I m fortunate that i dont have any severe morning sickness. i just have to cure my empty stomach in the morning with food and that would cure the problem... ahhahaha...

i have to take more meals with lesser intake and realised i cant take my normal intake anymore as I will feel very bloated... i take magnolia low fat milk (Used to like HL but find it very sweet now, hmmm), i also take magnolia strawberry yoghurt with small bits of nata de coco!!! i also try nutri-soy milk and recently got the anlene small pack milk which has 4x calcium!!! i prefer the chocolate one though... the original flavour is too sweet for my likings...

i stopped taking soft drinks (didnt really drink them extensively before pregnancy so not too bad), i will go for ice cream from time to time... hahahaha... i guess its ok if you take food moderately...

Vanz

Im also on duphaston cos of the blood clot. The last scan my clot has reduced but gynae still put me on duphaston. I told her MS quite bad dunno is it becos of Duphaston but she still say its needed to be taken since its still the 1st trimester.

She has cut down fm 3 to 2 and she suggest to me to take 2 at one time at nite before i sleep. It seem to help abit in the MS. maybe u call your gynae and ask if can pop 2 at one go?

Vanz,

Duphaston is suppose to increase ur hormones so in a way it can make ur MS worse but depends on individal de. Since spotting has stop you can consider taking it once a day? Of cos if can continue ur doseage would be better since no harm.

sberry,

Thanks will PM you tonight too.

Bliss, I tried it at Maternity exchange (i think at Marina), but somehow (even with the help of the salesperson) i just couldn't make sure that it stays at the same position. And hmmm it is very tight for me.

Breastpump

When my boy is born, he can't latch on at all, so i relied on 2nd hand medela PIS (bt not the advanced - very first generation). I was quite lucky, a friend loaned me hers. I love it a lot. I bought the parts and it last me for 9 months wherever i go (even when i go vietnam). Have used Swing but think it is single pump and hmm only good for travel, suction also a bit bit weak. Actually, if i have bought the medela PIS from the start, the costs is not a lot if i used for #1 and potentially #2. But hor, now, i a bit sian, cos i will close shop after #2, so if i buy now, it is really only for #2.

Pram: I bought Combi, not very lasting. Now the pram (after a year plus) is giving squeaking noise already. But the other brands are super ex.

HI Vanz,

Re the Duphaston, my last spotting was about 2 weeks ago. But doc says can't stop it and have to take it till the end of the first trim. I think it does make my MS worse, as well as the gas and bloat (often feel something stuck in my chest). Puke gas, saliva and bile often enough now - but that's better than puking food. Taking it twice a day.

Other symptoms I am getting:

a) bland/sourish taste in the mouth after I eat or when I don't

b) tastebuds gone haywire (sweet flavors are definitely amplified, tastes extremely sweet to me when there's sugar in any cooking; mushrooms taste bitter, if there is too much salt it tastes bitter to me too, can't seem to get the real flavor of food), think that's why I don't really feel hungry and don't have the appetite, but do force myself to eat to make myself feel better.

Cath - u can invest in a 2nd hand medela pump n purchase on the spare parts. after u use finish, juz sell it off lor... i believe by then still will have ppl looking for 2nd hand or 3rd hand pump.

HI CJ,

Went home to check but I don't have the news clipping for the Sunday Home Straits Times. Recycled for bunny bins already.

But posted a link previously which was an excerpt of the article re protection for pregnant mothers at work. Hope you've read it.

Hi Mummies...

Finally decided to report here though I have been following the posts since I was tested positive on 26Oct.

#2 this time round as my #1 juz turn 2 in Sept. EDD is 01-Jul and I can confirm that can expect #2 arrival in Jun-10 as I am opting for elective c-sect. I had two unpleasant history - 1 ecoptic and 1 M/C.

Ecoptic was beyond my control but to accept the fact. The M/C was due to the reason that I took the strictly forbidden herbal soup and I lost it exactly after a week.

These two incidents happened before I had my boy.

As common to most of you, I am going through the symptoms (e.g. cramps, urge to p*ke, cravings, frequent urinatn, etc.)

Nothing much to advise for 1st time mummies except to really take note of herbal soup that you intend to take. U may like to note that even @ some halls which sell herbs (e.g EYS) does have some herbal soup pkts that indicate 'Not suitable for consumption during pregnancy'.

No intention to dampen the excitement on having new little ones growing in the MTBs here. Just to share my own experience.

Please watch out on any herbal soup that you gonna take. Do not take if you are unsure if it's safe.

Let's enjoy and go through this beautiful preggie journey ahead of us. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chermaine,

It's alrite, u dun have to feel sorry abt it. I am ok as it's all past. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

It's the Shi-Quan-Da-Bu-Tang. I think most of the elders would be aware of it.

I took it during a dinner when this old auntie claimed that it's really nourishing having to see that I am so skinny. I was in 1st tri, in week 10. Hb and myself thought that since it's really good, then i will drink more. Even finish up hb's share. Hb claimed that he dun need such nourishing stuff. So cuckoo rite?

The pain and show, everything else came exactly a week thereafter. I recalled my organiser and then I realise that I went for the dinner and elated to my mum that I took this herbal soup. Then she was like OMG when she realised that. I guess it's fated.

From what I recall during my shopping @ Eu yan Sang hall, there are some herbal packets that are not suitable for preggers.

So got to take note.

MissBluey,

Best if you can get hold of the Sunday Times for 8/11/09. Think it was the Home section. There are more details there.

I've recycled the paper unfortunately.

Kindly use below format for order:

NICK: cath

E-mail: [email protected]

Collection Method: Self Collect at north / at harbourfront/ postage

Item Name: 1) Belt Cowlneck Dress - Brown

URL: http://www.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=6035&vid=1&pid=664224&scid=664224002

Size: M

If OOS any alternative: cancel

Colour: Brown

If OOS any alternative: black

Quantity: 1

Price: US$ 59

PRICE IN SGD: US$59 x 0.7 x 1.45 = S$ 59.885

Item Name: 2) Maternity Ornament-Tree Graphic Tees

URL: http://oldnavy.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=5804&vid=1&pid=705682

Size: S

If OOS any alternative: cancel

Colour: White

If OOS any alternative:

Quantity: 1

Price: US$ 14.50

PRICE IN SGD: US$14.50 x 0.7 x 1.45 = S$ 14.72

the exchange rate will be adjusted to actual according to credit card bill.

the shipping costs will be divided among all the spree-ers.

Thanks sberry, let me know when to transfer $$. And your account.

doobom,

thanks for telling and sharing.. really appreciate it.. feel so happy for u as u r having ur #2 now.. gotta really take care and have a chubby and cute baby k.. let's jia you together! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I afraid i have depression... i feel abit down and sad..... scary..... especially my morning sickness is so unbearable.....

sorry Cath, saw ur email address. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

have sent the email to u.. thanks..

Chermaine,

No prob. Yes, I am trying my best to cope with the MS. It's much more noticeable this time round. Feeling quite affected by it.

CJ_junior,

Can update my details along with all of you in the table? BTW, I am with Prof Tay SK @ SGH O&G.

Elaine,

Oh... What happened? Dun feel this way. For the sake of your little one in you, you got to be strong and be positive.

As usual, Happy Mummy = Happy BB.

sberry,

Can I join in the spree too? If ok, I will PM you once I consolidate my orders.

Plan to order some long sleeve tops for my boy as he is entering childcare early Jan10.

TIA [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

doobom,

i'm oso dealing with my MS.. i will feel so terrible at times.. let's hope it's only for the first trimester!

elaine,

i do feel like tat at times and will end up crying to myself.. i think u might need someone to be ard.. dun think too much k..

Thks all mummies..... i really hope those with bad MS like me will get over it soon......

elaine

oh no, we must entertain you!! like CF also. haha.

do you feel that your MS is getting better yet? hang in there ok, only about 1 more month to your 2nd trimester right?

maybe the weather so rainy so you feel v gloomy also...