(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

bliss

u r very young leh... but u r oredi so experienced... how come i can't find ur data in the chart? u oredi have 1 or 2 children?

initially i thought i can do wif a relative help in the cooking part n take care of bb myself.. actually it is not possible.. in the end, my hb after a week got a CL thru an agency. my previous CL is not tat bad but we found tat she is too picky n demanding.. eg. brf she can only eat oats n we have to get it specially for her. her hands allergy to certain brand of detergent, we have to change it to her preference, etc. she oso wants to take good food.. it seems like my hb will have to 'take care' of her too.. haha..

so tis time round, i must make sure to book a good CL earlier.. cannot save the $$.. may i noe which CL did u book? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sberry, i got married at 19 and had my son at 20.now he is turning 2 year old son on xmas eve. expecting no.2

my name not in the chart cause i don't know my EDD yet. now should be 7-8 weeks.

i didn't want to get a CL this time round too. But after serious thought is better to get if not my hb got to take 1 month off which end up next month no pay. haha. most importantly i need someone to cook for my son and bath him. now i worry more about him during my delivery and confinement.

I booked aunty siew zhen. i talked to a mummy who engaged her last month and find the comments not bad. at least not those bossy and naggy type can ler.

genice, didn't know you knew crystal. no wonder i find your FB profile pic very familiar cause we ever comment on crystal FB. haha

hey bliss, u r a young mother.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

so how many kids do u intend to have?

oic, no wonder can't find ur name..

aunty siew zhen? i called her yday too.. she told me she is pending for a lady with EDD not firm yet. tink she told me she is doing one confinement in apr/may, so must wait for her EDD before confirming can take or not.. is tat u?

she sounds great to me, friendly.. guessed i got to cross her out my list.. :p

u mean u go different threads n managed to find someone who just use her service? i m trying to do so too.. as one opinion is not good enough, but i m really lousy wif navigating.. haha..

missbluey, haha.. is not easy to be a young mummy too. just telling myself 10 years down the road i will have a better life.

sberry, i intend to stop at 2. not easy to have more in singapore.

yes aunty siew zhen is talking about me. cause i told her i will confirm my EDD with her next week. at least can see she did keep her words which is quite good. i think i will arrange to deliver after her May job is done. now i have even start thinking of the date of delivery.

if you find a review of a particular CL which seems good, search her name under yahoo and google and all the site which mention her will list out. so be it good or bad reviews you will know it.

i take note more of 2-3 comments from different site and different way of typing in case they type it themselves.haha

through agent also not bad. but depends on luck too cause you won't see the CL until the day she come to your place.

bliss,

yes i know what you mean. your friends are still fooling around but you have to stay @ home look after your kid. @ least you can retire early and depend on your children. =p

missbluey, yes. but in this generation i think cannot depend on children liao. maybe 20 years later their living expenses will increase so much. so better don't depend on children.

but at least after they grow up i still got the energy to work and save money for the future.

actually i didn't want to have no 2 so soon. but i can't imagine having another baby after 5-10 years.

at times do envy my friends that they can go late night movies, going out without worrying about the little one at home. since pregnancy till now i have not gone to the cinema. my son has been sticking to me since birth. but too bad, love is blind. but i hope blindness can be a blessing in disguise too. haha!

bliss

even an old chick like me still got a lot of friends with no kids who have all the time in the world to themselves!

i also haven't seen a movie in a long time. i can't stand the thought of spending 2 hours if the show turns out to be bad, then i'll feel like i wasted all my time...

bliss,

haha, yea, i know but i refused to believe that my son & this bb are these type of children when they grow up. me too, i don't want to have no. 2 so soon yet i wish to close shop before 30. i also do envy my friends who can go out & have fun while im @ home playing laptop with sleeping son. i do have a friend who is already a mummy (her son's age about my son's age), she could still go ktv pubs almost every week. i don't wish my kids to ask "where is mummy?" when they are older, don't wish to be that kind of catergory mummy.

i think im fortunate. i do get to go cinema or karaoke once in a blue blue moon, pester hubby to go with me. haha.

isobellies, don't say yourself old chick lar~! haha

missbluey, of course we didn't wish our kds grow up to be so bad. but i don't know next time are they able to support parents liao. i do have friends we put baby at parents place and she went rounding, clubbing and fishing till late nights. but not very nice to come back drunk and let your kids see that also.

i think after having my son i left no energy to go clubbing etc. everynight just wish my son faster sleep so i can sleep too! SAHM have not much energy left after the whole day.

i did went to ktv once but with my son too. ever since i tell my hb we are not going there again. haha cause my hb and sil having fun but i'm busy chasing my son around.

but i do leave my son with my mom for 2 hours if i'm going to attend scrapbook classes but that's like once in a blue moon too when my mom is in a good mood cause she can't handle my son alone. my mom pamper him too much ended up bullying grandma.

sorry to interrupt. Wanted to share with you the Baby heartbeat monitor I bought. It is the best selling baby heartbeat monitor in Europe.

Everytime when I wonder how's baby is, I will use the monitor to hear baby's heartbeat. It really gave me the assurance that baby is fine. This is especially helpful cos I get worried about baby due to my previous miscarriage in feb this year. You can pm me for more details or check out the website at: www.mybabyinspiration.com

i guess it's all about choices and priorities.

some days esp after work i wish i can just go and do my own thing (like go shopping or go out with friends for drinks), but kids bring so much joy, and i want to be as involved in my children's life as much as possible.

of cos when have to work and look after kids also not easy! v hard to find time for myself...

Bebe75,

can share the location of the shop u mention @ TPY? Just nice i can go jalan while my gal attends lesson..

My 1st and 2nd gynae appt is also 1 mth apart - but i think the MS kinda ensure me that things shld be under control..

And I also managed to finish a fish burger meal - upsize somemore!! But I cant really drink much water - either has to be hot or cold, and not plain for sure.. sianz

Hi Bliss

Dunno if your Auntie XiuZhen is the same CL whom i have engaged before. She is also siew zhen from Malaysia. She is very diligent in her work and her food is good. She cooked for my entire family - my parents (at different time), my hubby. But this time round, i don't know if i should engage CL or not. Cos my mil wanted to help me in confinement. She is very nice person, just that she has to come all the way from Malaysia, felt very bad.

Anyone still experiencing bad MS symptoms? I am still have terrible MS. Kept wanting to puke but cant puke. Very burpy and bloated. Gynae has given some medication but not helping. lost 2 kg already.

H1N1 injection

Has anyone's gynae called and ask if you will like to get H1N1 injection? the clinic called and ask if I will like to reserve for injection after 2nd tri, cos they said the dose is very limited.

bliss,

thanks for your guidance.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i will do a search.. btw, r u having natural or c-sec? u mention u going to decide when u want to deliver?

Re: Stretchmark cream

I used Palmers' the last pregnancy - recommended by my SIL and it works perfectly well. But i din really apply on my thighs and my thighs have a few stretchmarks... sianz. Palmers massage cream is rather cheap and avail at pharmacies/ kiddy palace.

Iso, dont say you are old chick la... i am also very old liao.. being preggy and have to take care of 1st child and also have to work... is rather tough.

bliss,

ya ya! i also tell my son to faster sleep so i can sleep early, but i always end up playing laptop. haha. nowadays i don't use laptop that late anymore cuz i realised i found myself dozing off halfway using it! hahaha.

i nearly wanted to bring son to kbox but heng, never. my son is too active to sit still in a room.

cath,

for me, not yet. but i doubt i will get the injection as i've heard some said these vaccines are produced too fast, scare got side effects.

BluBeri_lilTigger,

i find that the baby heartbeat monitor is not useful for me as my son is co-sleeping with me. so used to him having to punch/kick me while sleeping liao that i feel uneasy sleeping beside my hubby. hahahaha! but that is unless you want to put your bb in different room or leave him alone while doing your own things. just my opinion. =)

Cath, u reserved the H1N1 jab with ur gynea already? How much ar?

I oni asked my gynea for influenza jab coz i'm gg to Hkg on 17th.. supposed to take at least 2wks before the trip, but my appt at KKH is oni tml.. hope it's nt too late for the jab.

Bluberi, ya... i have reserved the jab liao... cos i need to travel to HKG and boston (dunno if still can travel) for work when i am 5th and 6th months... sianz x power of 10. Think is about $29. So they say high risk better jab... esp in airplane...

Missbluey,

i already brought my gal to karaoke twice, and its for 2-3 hours straight! I will even let her hold the mic for fun, just hv to make sure the music aint too loud. The only place I hvnt brought her to is cinema.. dun dare to try yet..

The baby heartrate monitor (prenatal heartrate monitor) is not much of use for me during my first pregnancy. Maybe is the brand or what. We could not really pick up the heartbeat, just my tummy growling probably. We tried to sort of "speak" to the baby with the mini speakers but hmm gave up after a while. We will just read or sing songs for "tai jiao".

Koaru, how old is your gal? *admire* I can't imagine my little Jay in KBox, he will sure mess around with the echo/ volume and all. He is about 19 mths now.

Oh and all mummies,

Do you know that tomorrow, Kate Spade is having up to 70% sale?

65 Ubi Crescent #06-07 Hola Centre

9am - 6pm.

Cath, $29 sounds reasonable.. tink is Govt control price ba.. i wonder how much is the Influenza jab dat i'm taking tml.. will enquire on the H1N1 jab fm my gynea. I tink as long a bb is stable, 2nd trimester is actually the best time to travel, they call it "babymoon". the gynea i saw at the 24hrs clinic yesterday said best nt to travel in 3rd trimester.

the baby heartbeat monitor u gotten is the same as per the above link?

Missbluey,

the baby heartbeat monitor is to hear the baby's heartbeat when the baby is in ur womb. It helps when we want to know whether baby is fine in the tummy.

Lots of young mummies around..guess I shd be one of the oldest here..:p

Maternity wear shop - Carrona

Dot - The AMK one - I could not remember if the ladyboss had told me the exact locations in AMK central. So sorry..these days my brain seemed to be functioning at 60% of its capacity.

Koaru - The TPY one - at those shophouses near to the library. When u come out of the library from the delifrance door, you will see a small local bakery, and then one goldsmith shop. You can see Clark/knickers shoes shop as well. The maternity shop is further down, but facing opp the clarke shoes shops. It has 2 pregnant mannequins outsides its shop.

I hope my orientation is correct. The shop itself also sells other fashions wear, including those Elderly wear.

My bump is growing but still consider small for maternity wear. Today I attended my young gal's graduation concert and wore a wrap dress. My hubby said he can see the bump if I did not use my bag to cover my tummy. When he felt my tummy, he was surprised that it is quite firm one. Now he doubts that I am only 8 weeks, said it feels like 10.11 weeks.

CL

My mil did my confinement for both my earlier pregnancies. Now for this #3, I am not sure if I should default and let her do the confinement for me, Now she is nanny sitting for my niece full time during the weekdays, so I think niece will tag along with her. Then I will have 3 kids + 1 baby under the same roof, it will be chaos at my place. I might ended up supervising the 3 kids instead of resting. And Mil might ask Sils and their hubbies to come to my place for dinner, I do not think I will end up having my confinement in peace. I will have to discuss with hubby on this issue.

MS

The other day i was saying that MS seemed to stop..yesterday it came back again...next time I shall be pantang a bit ..dun say too much.

Insomnia

I am having insomnia recently..hardly can sleep at night..driving me nuts..Read that is is due to hormone changes..I am so sleepy during the day...hardly can keep my eyes open at 9pm. But when time comes to 1,2am..I will wake up and stay awake till 4am.. Told my hubby I was not that nocturnal in my previous pregnancies. Luckily this time round, I am SAHM..can take longer nap in the day.

Weight

I have gained 0.8kg over the past 2 weeks...I think I must cut down on junk foods..be more selective in eating healthier, less calories stuff.

For the past 2 weeks, I have been eating too much carbo (biscuits, breads, rice, noodle...) I can eat 2 packets of instant dry noodles at a go. This is just the start of the pregnancy..must remind myself to spread over the 10-15kg weight gain evenly over the next 8 mths.

Hi Blueberi, think it is also Prenatal Heartrate monitor but maybe different brand.

Actually can't bear to leave my little boy behind... so very reluctant to travel.

Hi cath,

I had problem trying to hear baby's heartbeat initially cos I place it at my tummy. But baby is hidden at the lower part of our tummy, below the belly button, especially before mid 2nd trimester cos baby is still very small. After mid 2nd trimester, it's very easy to hear baby's heartbeat.

hi Bluberi, i just checked with my gynae that it is not advisable to take H1N1 vaccination during 1st trimester. 2nd trimester onwards is fine then.

bryest, u mean at week 7, we can hear bb heartbeat using the monitor???

Hi cath,

where did u buy ur baby heartbeat monitor? The brand that I bought is not sold in Singapore retail shops. It's sold in Europe and apparently it's the best selling monitor in Europe.

Cath,

my gal is coming 2 yrs old [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] She is no stranger to karaoke since my PIL always sings at home.. in fact i am surprised she did not attempt to touch the sound system at all.

Bebe75,

does the 75 reflect the yr u r born? Then we are only 1 yr diff [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Thanks for the direction!

Bliss, you are so young! I'm 29 and expecting 1st bb only leh, old woman liaoz.

Cath, I'm still having bad MS, feel like vomiting but can't leh. Tried everything including eat dry biscuits, eat abit but offen still cannot work! I have headache almost everyday. Last week went to gynae, realised that i lost 1 kg, sigh.

Are we allowed to take cold drinks? I'm told to avoid all cold things including ice cream leh. Is it true?

I'm also taking ribena everyday but very diluted de. I heard cannot take too sweet if not next time bb hyper-active.

Being pregnant is really not easy, hope MS and headache will go away very soon!

Good health to all mummies and bb-ies!!

Sigh... My ECG report not good. Heart Centre doc suggested that I do another detailed test, Echocardiogram which costs $344. Cannot use medisave. My first KK consultation with all the tests is already $230... Heart Centre is $120 per visit... Super sianz cos everything $$$...

Bought 2nd Maternity pants from one of the mummies and she is very kind to give me a few extra pcs of casual wear FOC. So touched and grateful as i think I can't afford brand new ones given the high med cost that I need to pay.... Will make do with these 2nd hand clothings...

However, if my baby is healthy...I think it's worth it[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi hi.. the thread really move soooo fast.... take quite awhile to finish reading :p

i have my first gynae visit on tue, then that nite found bleeding/spotting... after i monitor awhile... about 2 hours later... i found that bleeding didnt stop.. so i went down to kk 24 hour clinic.... the doc say bb heartbeat is normal and ask me not to worry.. anyway i also dont like the way she talk.. maybe all doc there are like that..

now i dont dare to carry my son le.. he now about 14.5kg.. too heavy for me.. but when he cry for me to carry, i feel so heartpain le.. i will go down to him n hug him more

wow bliss you really very young leh... to compare hor.... i like old women le :p

bliss, like you my last confinement is like the worst part of my life... actually intend not to hire for this one.. but hb want me to rest more... so need to get a good one.. cross my finger

just finish a pack of potato chips and now crave for ice cream!!!! oh my!!!! how much weight i will gain this time!!!

Tiger Baby, yup.. i read fm the newspapers dat H1N1 jab is to be taken oni aft week14. but can take normal influenza jab.

I have a preloved medela pump in style advaned (PIS) to let go. It's a dual pump system, comes with a carrier bag, cooler bag and 4 bottles. It suitable for working mum who wants to continue expressing when back to work.

Letting go as i decided to stop expressing due to lack of time.

Purchased during late August from TMC, however started using only during October. Comes with local warranty. RP:$790

Willing to let go at $400 (nego).

Please PM to deal now.

Thank!

morning mummies.. who is going for kate spade sale? anyone went for such sales before? thought of making a detour to there after my visit with gynae in the morning...

bryest, oic... i think i wil decide whether to get it when i am in week 12 then! :D

morning all!

having my bfast now while eating. 1 word - shiok! =p

koaru,

maybe i try when my son is much older, don't want to take risk. he is so itchy fingers! his ah gong does sings to him at times & now son can tells me "elson sing song!" heh, cute.

byest,

oops, i got mixed up with the other thing. so ignore my post regarding that. nowadays, im getting so blur. =x

bebe75,

seems like my insomnia is starting. last night, woke up to go toilet, then hubby told me some show on channel 55, after that it took me a while to go to sleep. nowadays i can't seem to nap on bus anymore unlike last time. =\ the other night, i was tossing & turning until hubby tried to pat me to sleep.

maggi - yes, i can have 2 packets at one go. before preggie is already like that le. quite a fan of maggi.

happy,

i think its ok to take cold drinks at times, moderation. i still take ice cream, don't care bo chap.

MS - it will go away de.

is this your #1?

bebe75

judging from your nick, i'm not too far off in age either lah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cath

yah, working and having a tot is already difficult, even more difficult when you have another one on the way! luckily i think i'm getting over the exhausting period, otherwise, jiat lat.

Hi mummies, I have ordered this skirt from UK but it seem too big for me. This is new size UK 14 and suitable for preggie mummies.

The measurement is

waist = 33"-34"

hip = 43"-44"

99% cotton, 1% elastane

- Soft stretch denim skirt with braces

- A-line skirt with faded effect mid wash

- Adjustable braces and patch pockets

S$18 by normal local postage. If you prefer registered post please top up S$2. Interested please email [email protected]

Images of the skirt (front and back view) @

http://honodokidoki.blogspot.com/2009_11_01_archive.html

Haha..my nick gives away my age..the reason why I said I am old..cos by the time this #3 goes P1, I will be 42 years old. When he/she takes PSLE, I will be 47. OMG, I dunno if I have the same energy to keep up with the ever increasing school/educations demands.

Tomorrow will be my first natal visit..pretty exciting. The other night I had a nightmare, I dreamt that my gynae suggested me to abort the baby cos of my ovarian cysts. I have 2 cysts which seem to stuck with me since my last pregnancy 6 years ago. I hope these 2 will not get in my way of becoming a mother for the 3rd and last time.

peck, if you intend to stop at #2 is better to have a CL to rest more.

Cath, i think the siew zhen we are talking about is the same. heard that she is very good. i talked to her before and asked if she can help with my elder one during confinement and she is okay bathing him and even cooking porridge for him at no additional charge. quite relived to hear that. i think i can handle newborn but not toddler after delivery.

missbluey, how old is your son now ?

Now bringing my son to LNT for an hour nearly make me wore out liao. no need to say ktv ler. haha

i'm have insomnia too. seems like alot of things is in my mind. slept at 2am and woke up at 5am, 6am, 7am and finally 8am.