(2010/05) May 2010 mtb

Hello Mummies, its a wet day today..Feel like dozing off oready but still have to work.

Been losing sleep these few days due to a bad toothache plus im having bad cold & cough. Arrghhh..Really hate this feeling.Any one has remedies for toothache?The pain always comes & goes & it really hurts [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Been taking too much painkillers & its sooooo bad for the baby..Haiz..

KTSC,

Can pm me ur maid agent's ctc? Tot wana engage a helper as well.

Hello all your MTBs,

Been a silent reader of this forum for past 3-4 months....Today making my maiden post.

My wife (nick is mush) is expecting our first BB and Due-date is May 29 2010.

Recently, we just realised we got a serious matter... which is we havent got a CL....and seemed that those good CLs recommended by friends ard us all fully booked liao.

So pls if you guys out there have any lobang for good CL.....kindly let us know.

Dear blurangel,

Thanks for your referral of CL.

But she also fully booked till August.

Deby82, sure. I have PM U my maid agent contact. Her name is Jennifer Tan. Just mention to her recommended by me.

As for your bad toothache, think better consult the dentist ASAP.

Mrs Teo, ya after birth the stretched marks became silvery lines. They get faint as time goes by. But during this 2nd pregnancy, they surfaced again. Haiz..... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Ya, can open the baby banking account @ standard chart and ocbc. Then govt pay u a dollar for dollar.

There is a designated pediatrician after the birth of my 1st child. Cannot remember it is arranged by my gynae or the hospital. After that I find a pediatrician nearer to my place.

Goodday MTBs, FTBs!!

mush_hb, Good to see another FTB here ^_^ , sorry i dun have any other CL to recommend, cos after I book my CL, never go find any other ones alrdy.

Chillmum,

I tot my wife tummy doesn't look like 6 mths, but after saw your pics which your tummy is about the same size as my wife, guess me and wife a little paranoid. haha.

mush_hb, u can go the thread under 2010mtbs - any good confinement lady to recommend..I saw some mtbs commented on this..u can get the contacts from them..hope it helps..

hey gd to hear we r growing the same sized bellies. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mrs Teo,

Mine still 'o' now but can see the skin stretching sideways i thnk very soon gg to be oval then '-'!!!

Chloie,

shiny cos i religiously apply moisturizing cream day n night. the pic is taken just after i apply the cream[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pinnky,

i also put on abt 4kg hehe... but my tummy like growing sideways. n got ppl comment say its sml.

Alsky,

i think it also depends on individual body type.. some will show more preg belly some still can hide well...if bb growing well n doc never say anything shd be ok so dun worry ya.

Chillimum> Ooh... Havent apply so shiny liao!

I'm starting to feel hungry more often already. Was telling my hb that my girl is making me FAT! She like to eat high carbo food, eg. mee goreng [which I never like before], pasta, maggi mee, mee hun kuan, ban mian, xiao wan mian. All the mee!!!! And he said I'm actually the one who wants to eat those. So yuan wang! I dont used to like these food lor... Wrongly accused by him. *faint*

And I just had a bread from breadtalk about half an hr ago, now I'm hungry again! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I have put on 5kg lei... I dont want to be any fatter lei.... My mum even told me that when she was pregnant with my bro & I, she only gain 6kg till full term. Made me lagi sad lor! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Chloie,

No la apply liao then so shiny...i v scared got stretch marks so everyday make sure my belly is well moisturized.

hehe actually i dun hav much diff in my taste in food. still eating the same food i like before preg! eh u r liking all the high carbo type yr bb will be an energy bunny when she born.

me knock off already[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] happy weekending everyone! im craving for yu kee duck kway teow now hee...

wow... its seems like all of you aren't gaining alot of weight. I gained 10kg so far. So sad... Quite depressing as it seems like not many preggy mummy gain as much as I do for the first 5mth. Is that normal? My gynea did not mention any abnormality yet... =(

Mrs Teo - why aren't you using Clarins product for the stretch mark? Is there any special reasons? Am just curious cause alot of people actually recommend this brand. The olive oil that you are using seems good. It is absorbing? As in after applying, does it penetrate into the skin or it will leave a layer of moisture on the skin?

Btw, anyone here tried infant care?

Hi hon..the ideal weight to increase thru out d whole pregnancy is abt 10-12kg..my gynae advise me not to increase 2kg per month..dun be sad, u can try to control ur diet, dun eat too sweet stuffs..If bb too big, u r not able to deliver naturally..but sometimes d fat is w/ u not w/ bb..u can check w/ ur gynae whether ur bb is in normal weight or not..

hv a nice weekend mummies..goin off soon..

Hi mtbs,

Just to share with you all cheap clothes for baby. My mum recommended it to me. I went there last week but the shop was closed. *Sad.. But I took some pics so I can remember the shop name.

Cheap clothes for baby

Shen Kwong Trading Co269C Queen St #01-246, 183269, Singapore

Tel: 63383260 Fax: 63389361

Below are comments from another mum(Faith Ong LS) from www.singaporemotherhood.com forum.

Cheap & Reasonable baby clothes & items:

You can check out at "Shen Kwong Trading Co." Think this shop is kind of like a wholesaler type of shop. In my personal view, the baby clothes there are simple/plain & more for at home wear. Some are per pack of 6 pieces (same design) for $10 or $12. I bought a pack of baby towel (6 pieces) there for $16. Cloth diaper is per pack of 10 pcs for $12. Anyway, you can check it out at Blk 269 Queen Street #01-246 (S) 183269, Tel Tel: 6338 3260. The blk is just opposite the Guan Ying Temple near OG in Bugis area. The shop is located at the corner, few steps away from a public toilet. I did saw same types of baby clothes in Toa Payoh Centre shops, but those shops are selling at something like 4 for $10. (priced slightly higher) If TPY is more accessible for you, you can also get at those shops (think these shops are those that are also selling curtains).

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3545164.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3545165.jpg]

vivi,

Thanks for sharing! I have no idea where to buy cheap baby clothes at all.. I dont mind plain clothes for the baby, at least these are unisex items. I tried going to Kiddy Palace or Baby Kingdom, but the clothes are so expensive!

chillimum,

Wah I love your shiny tummy.. haha! I last measured, mine's like 35". Let's pray very very hard the stretch mark cream and oil works...

Hey girls, are you all planning to take maternity shoots?

I told my husband I must do it, cos' we'll never know if we're going to have a second one or not.. I really dont want to miss this chance.

Have a great weekend mummies!!

Deby,

Is your chalet still an option for us if we hold it on 6 March?

RE: BBSHOWER VENUE,

Currently we have 2 locations =>

1. rantingbb's place in Jurong; and

2. AR's place in Tampines.

UNLESS there are other options which surface over this weekend,

I'll leave it out for a vote next week.

Reason being, they are on 2 extreme ends of the island and my personal choice will be biased. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

SK,

could you include this in the existing date poll or do we have to start a new poll next week?

bbhon,

I think you must have been quite slim to begin with...

You look fine even with the extra 10kg! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Evening mtbs,

Like to pose a question on the general market practice about confirming the service of CL.

Do u normally have a meet-up with the CL? Or just place a deposit via wire transfer to the designated bank account?

mush, mush_hb,

must thank you for all the trouble with checking on the venue for the bbshower. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mush_hb,

Usually will meet up with the CL and gave her a deposit ranging from 10 to 20% of the actual amount.

The CL will ask some questions and if you have any doubts also can ask her.

Hi Everyone!

I am a Mid May 2010 MTB. This is my 2nd baby & it's a boy! My 1st girl is turning 2 soon!

Gynae is Dr Woo Bit Hwa- Delivering in TMC.

Would like to join in the discussion. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

welcome mush_hb

My last CL was a recommendation from a friend, hence we did not meet up with her prior to her service. Also added to that was that she was a highly recommended CL, and she was not available for meet-ups leading to the delivery.

However, my hubby did a phone interview with her instead and was satisfied with the outcome. I can pass you her contact, if you want, but I am not sure of her schedule and whether if you had contacted her previously.

I paid $1800 for her services in 2008 (excluding APs), so she may be charging $1.9k or $2k this year.

Hi Rhino

Welcome! This thread can get really active at times, especially during office-hours... So do check in on the thread often.

Hello ladies!

Havent be able to join in the discussion for past 2 days bec I was away from office at clients place for external audit. so headache! Still havent finish my work bec my client hasnt given me all the info (which I have been asking him since Oct'09!!!!!!)

So moral of the story, ladies, if u have auditors coming over, just give the info asap so tt we also can finish our work and pack up! :p

I had Wendy's (the new fast food outlet @ Lau pa Sat) yest. Whoa! Had to wait in queue 25 mins just to order!!! but I made up my mind to try it so I waited that long. :p

Anyway, read that the thread was about cord banking, tummies, stretch marks, leg cramps, CLs and of course baby shower location! hehehe!

Cord banking

I'm going for the seminar on 30 Jan! And I read that you can pay for it using the CDA a/c. But need to go find out more b4 my hubby and i make a decision..

preggy tummies

Hon, dun be sad, I am joining your club. I also gained 10 kg.. My baby has super sweet tooth..but must control my diet already... But funny thing, many say my tummy small for 24 weeks.. Sigh... so i dunno where that 10 kg is actually piling up.. But my cousin made a comment yest that she has never seen me this big in her entire life.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] What a comment! Haiz!

stretch marks

My hb says mine is area my butt n thigh area.. I cant see any in the belly area... but i just use normal cocoa butter.. didnt bother to buy a particular brand bec i think it depends on ur genes right?

Leg Cramps

Can only think of pain... that muscle pull's pain from 2 days ago is still there.. but its comforting to see that i am not alone...we just gotta hang in there till baby's out i guess..

Baby shower location

I agree the 2 aval locations are at 2 extreme ends.. I'll also help looking around for alternative location.. maybe someone living in Condo with function room... Nez week I'll update on my findings..

and hello to the new members!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pinnky, i think someone posted the mother & baby expo details.. if u missed it, its happening at

19 March 2010 - 21 March 2010

Event type : Family

Venue : Hall 6B

Admission : Public - Free Admission

Event Schedules : 19-20 Mar 10 - 11am to 9pm

21 Mar 10 - 11am to 8pm

Show Profile :

Mother & Baby brings you the highlight of the year – BabyCare Festival 2010, where families will be thrilled by the fun activities,

exhilarating entertainment and fantastic buys!

Take care ladies!!

Am off to see my gynae.. gonna see how much my lil one has grown! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bbf > I have added the options of the 2 venues but dun think every participant can edit their own vote to add in their preference again to the edited poll eh. I can help to add in everyone's vote into the poll but abit ley-cheh.

Maybe I will create another poll to add in the options? Easier this way but thing is have to gather all the options else hard to manage the poll.

So tentatively only got 2 choices, Jurong Point-Centris or Tampines. Plus, since most votes go to 6th March (Sat), shall we end the earlier poll and make a choice to the venue for the next poll now? New mummies dun need to make another vote to the earlier poll too.

What you think eh?

Mummies > Please cast your vote to this poll before the next poll is created. Thanks.

http://www.doodle.com/gi5pax5xvdwvr5ue

Hello SK

Thanks for the effort in creating the polls.

Just a suggestion: Can you provide detail such as where exactly is the Tampines venue?

Advance thanks.

Thanks for both your advice, Alsky and rantingbaby.

We performed kinda of a phone interview of a CL (obtained via one of recommendations at motherhood forum thread). During the phone call, the CL request us to deposit 10% into her bank account to confirm her service.

Thus, just like to confirm if this is standard CL industry practice [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Mush,

Yeah normally they ask for some form of deposit to sort of ensure your spot. They wouldn't want u backing out halfway either.

I had to deposit $300 and my CL will be charging me $2k. CL from Malaysia. Help me for 28 days. I just pray very hard she doesn't disappear on me but since recommended by my friend should be ok.... i guess.......

I am also looking for CL.

Know it's late but due to waiting for my amnio test report,

that's why I am holding this back... At least baby is tested normal, a load off my mind!

Many CL booked out already.. Haiz!

hi mummies, daddies,

hope everyone is doing well. me just got back from a company teambuilding trip... and have the worst case of bites from bed bugs. just went to see a doc. she says since i am preggy, cannot take steriod jabs. given 2 days MC instead. argh... its damn itchy.

hon,

i opt to use olive oil coz personally i find to be a more nautral source of moisturizer.

it is definitely oily, but it does get absorb into the skin. i usually apply like 5-8pumps on tummy after shower. if its too oily, i'll apply to thigh and feet (with socks over feet after that)

I'm new here! I'm 2nd time mum. Edd :24 May. Having a gal. My boy is 20 months. I'm a stay home mom and I stay at Bedok Reservoir.

Hope to get to know more friends here.

Hey ladies,

Regarding the venue. Just checked with hb, my place is not big enuff to accommodate for 20-30 ppl.

And he emphasized that his gym equipment (weight lifting stuff & bench) in the study room is a bit dangerous to have lil ones running around.. So am so sorry.. my place is out. Left with rantingbaby's place at the moment...

Ermmm.. no one here lives in a condo?

Oh! and saw my gynae yesterday. My baby is doing well. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] weighing abt 750g. I think thats a good weight for 25week foetus. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I just wanna ask ard.. i always dream abt my bb.. being born and all. the gender is correct in the dream. But the first time i dreamt, my bb looked like cartoon hippo and his right feet had 2 sets of 2 toes stuck to each other.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] And yesterday another dream, this time everything was ok but my baby had 9 fingers on one hand!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] What does that mean??

Mrs Teo - txs! U take care and get well soon. =) Hopefully u can recover for yoga on tue.

Pinnky - txs for ur advice. I will check with my Gynae on tue when I visit him.

bbf - Txs for ur reaassurance. But i think i still need to control my diet. must remember remember remember.

AR - Don't worry too much about the dream. Its probably a dream only. Don't take it too hard. I think preggy mummy usually have lots of weird dreams. Everything gg to be just fine k. =)

hi, would like to seek the advice of all mummies here. i'm having a bad flu currently and my GP is not open today. does anyone know if i can take the flu tablets prescribed before pregnacy? ie. the common small yellow tablet (chlorpheniramine).

Hi Pigkitty,

I am not sure about chlorpheniramine. But my GP gave me Antamin (also yellow tablet) for flu when I was pregnant. Why not go to another GP? Its better to get someone certified to prescript.

Hello MTBs and FTBs,

Just to share abit. Today we went to the 2 Baby warehouses in Kaki Bukit and also Kitty palace in Toa Payoh. We compared prices over some items and found the warehouse's is overated. The prices is either the same or more expensive then kiddy palace. Furthermore if you have friends who have discount card for kiddy palace, things will be even cheaper by 10%. I think not only Kiddy palace have this kind of discount card. So my advise, dun go to the warehse, just go to whatever kids mall that have discounts. Just my 2 cents.

We bought some stuffs to get started also. Bought 1 set of advent bottles, 1 head and ear thermometer( not cheap, phew!), 2 changing matress, Yaolan Mattress, 2 X Nail clipper set, 1 packet diaper liner. Cosing $200+.

I think what we bought is even less the 1/10 of what we have to buy in the coming mths. lol.

hi pigkitty,

no problem, the small yellow tablet (chlorpheniramine) is fine. my gynae verify it for me before and the consultant in my antenatal classes mentioned that it's safe

when i have flu, refuse to take any medication...haha. my gynae as long as it's medicine he give me, it's okie to take. just take natural vit C like lemon or orange with warm water and have a lot of rest. your body should be able to recover by itself.

Hi everyone, haven't been posting. Down with flu and doing home and room improvement project. That's the thing about unplanned pregnancy. Busy with wedding, then now house then later will be delivery then confinement, I think I can never ever have proper rest already.

I went to YP Parenting Seminar today, think I'm the only one who went. Ok la, quite informative but mostly is for my hubby cos most of the info I know already.

Anyway, I'm so looking forward to yoga.. it's still on tuesday and same time right?

Talking abt confinement lady. I jus found one too.. she also asked for $300 deposit.

Did a meet up with her too. She seemed like a pleasant lady. She was recommended by another CL who is fully booked till July.

But i wanna check something.. my CL is engaged with another mummy in late march.. and my edd is in early May.. the CL said should be fine, as most 1st time mummies will deliver earlier than later.. i'm worried if her March mummy deliver late, and mine early.. how ar??

2ndly, CL from Malaysia need to apply for some entry permit to stay in SG rite? What I know is they have to go to custom to have their passport stamp in every 14days.. but my CL told me I can apply for her on the 28days basis.. do we have to pay for applying this on her behalf?? And do we actually need to pay for her transportation fee (2 way btw Malaysia & SG)??

Any idea??

Finally able to log in during office hrs to chat cos im on mc today..hahha...:p

ya, i paid $200 deposit fot the CL and she will be stayg at my plc for 28 days. told me she need an ang pow when she enter my flat and another one when she leaves. she can also help to buy food for me to cook if my mum is unable to do so..shes also charging 2k for 28 days service. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hey JOJO,

DOnt worry, i check wif my CL and shes also doing one in march till mid april, she told me tat most likely will only be due one or 2 weeks earlier...so dun worry..once ur water bag burst, get ur hubby to give her a call to inform her that u are admitted and to get ready. then another call is when ur gynae inform u abt ur discharge date then she can get ready to come over.. cheers.

Btw, my CL is also recommended by my frd her name is guihua...heard shes good.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] stay positive and awaits for our delivery ya..smile...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

good mornings mtbs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i must admit been quite delinquent on posting on this forum too..hehe

mrs teo:

oh dear! i think i oso kena some kind of bug bites... have been using 100% undiluted teatree oil..it really helps to relieve the itches.. i got them from either styx or the counter beside it, at taka b2 (near bedding section)

edie:

oh dear too! do try to squeeze in rests in between.. and take it easy... i can imagine it's quite hard to juggle the house stuffs but u get to have a baby room! how exciting!

for me, i dun have space in my house and am still resistant to junk away good furniture, to make room for the baby cot...

so, hubby and i are still procrastinating, and will prob start massive panicking in 2mths time.. hehe

about yoga,

yeah, am looking forward to it.. should be still on huh.. :p

about pregnancy complains,

wha! kena hit by sore lower backaches over the weekend! hopefully it isn't here to stay..

depending on my reddness (from bed bugs) I am not sure if i am attending tmr's yoga lesson. (i hope to though - but its quite scary with all the reddness on the neck)

anyhow, we will be paying the final amt of $240 for the 8 lesson course right?

Welcome Rhino..

Thanks A R, I got the info regarding the fair..dun worry abt d dreams, I always got very weird dreams also..

Jojo, I need to pay the transportation cost for my CL as she requested(return m'sia - sgp) but not too sure abt d permit thing..I also thought she needs to stamp in every 14days..

KTSC,tks for the maid's agent contact.Anyway, tot of going to the dentist but doubt the dentist can do anyting to my 'spoilt' tooth. At the most, they can only prescribe painkiller.

BBF,guess u must be mistaken. Im not the one who's having a chalet.

Ms Lee,

are you talking about MTA Childbirth class. Mine is on the Feb's Fri(weekday).

Talking about CL, my mother will be the one. Also not sure my mother will know about all this confinement staff. She has no experience at all and only hear things on what to do from her friends.. Quite worry for my mother!!!!!

Sorry for the interruption.

Siemens Healthcare Sector (Ultrasound Division) is providing free 3D ultrasound scans for ex pectant mothers. A total of 6 mothers are required. So bring along your friends! A free CD with your baby's 3D images will be given after the scan.

Details:

1) Preference: 24-30 weeks pregnancy

2) Date: 04 Feb 2010 (Thursday)

3) Time: 0900-1000hrs, 0945-1045hrs, 1045-1145hrs, 1130-1230hrs, 1315-1430hrs, 1415-1530hrs

4) Duration: 45mins - 1hr

5) Venue: The Siemens Center, 60 MacPherson Road

6) Contact: You could either call Jessie Wong, ofc 6490 8076/hp:92959189 or e-mail to [email protected]

Please be assured that for the Siemens free scan, you are not guinea pigs, and Siemens is not testing the machines. They are selling these machines to OB doctors in the region, and worldwide. They need you as models to train their sonographers and sales people, so they can learn how to scan pregnant mommies and things to look out for.

Please refer to this thread for an earlier scan for Dec 2008 mommies.http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/m essages/578191/1742857.html?1222314404#POST5865189

some other scans done in Mar 2009, July 2009 and Aug 2009