(2010/05) May 2010 mtb

HI JSP> thanks for the guideline on birdnest. btw wat is shi san tai bao ? is it nice to drink or eat ? cos i cant really take bitter stuff... n wat is its effect ?

Petals,

I was also thinking abt this kinda of problem (kid sleeping in the same room) so, i've decided that once my baby hits 6mth, i will try to let him/her stay in their own room. To get them used to it.

It will be betta for u to start getting son used to sleeping in his own room now (maybe HB can ac him till he doze off) rather than when the bb arrived. He will probably feel the bb is more precious if you do that then.

Morning MTBs!!! Wow so what tonic is mummies taking now??? Im only taking chicken essences.... dunno what kinda of soup is good for us now.... any advise??[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mrs teo,

yes, I know that if we want to move him out of the room, we must do it before the baby arrives. when we hv our #1, we also thought of moving him out when he is 1 yr old, but once you are used to having him in ur room, u just can't bear to move him out again.

Orange,

my boy is 3.5 yrs now. maybe it's about time I do the same too...

Hi Sue, we also went to 1 temple "shi tei nai nai", god for baby (something like that) after my M/C. A lot of people said have to pray after your M/C (pray only Lunar Calendar 1st or 15th)and people who's want baby. I'm going again this Sat to pray for my baby health (^^)

Dear all...finalli bk after a 3n stay at KKH...(not me though, it's my girl)..she had HFMD n is feeding n drinking veri poorly, so gotta admit her for drip ..cos she's dehydrated. She is recovering now. But i tink im getting sick cos tiring to tk care of her day n night at the hosp.

Went for oscar yest, result may be out later or tmr mrg. Btw, gynae scanned for mi n say that she did not see anyting in between, thus maybe im hving a girl again. Now im 12 weeks. But she say still got "chance" for boy as now may not be so accurate. My bb open leg big big, but i also nvr see anyting in between..so chances shld be low for a boy.

destiny> boy or girl the same lah! as long he/she is healthy can liao right? i'm secretly wishing for a girl though. girl i thk easier to take care. hope your girl is feeling better.

how is the rest? am having a terrible headach since last night. going back on half day to rest soon... bua tahan liao!

mush,

I'm not doing oscar but will be doing triple test in 15/16 wks. triple test is blood test for DS. accurary for triple test is lower compared to oscar and similarly the costs for doing oscar is also higher. but there are also high number of false positives in oscars and the most accurate is still to go for the invasive amnio test.

Chloie,

I also still experience headache on and off. sometime when it gets too bad and I need to focus on my work, I will pop one panadol. it does help a little. but it'll be best if u can rest. do rest well....

Destiny,

hope your gal will recover fast so you can hv a good rest too. try and get someone to take over you so that u can hv some rest.

petals> i tried popping panadol before but no use. but just now i got my colleague to buy coke for me. it work wonders man!!!!! not so painful anymore. not to encourage you all to drink coke but just do it in moderation. i usually sneak out in the afternoon to the mama shop to buy juices to drink. cant let my hb see otherwise i will have no tomorrow. he is getting a bit naggy this few weeks. making milk for me every night, making sure i have taken my pills. it's good lah but just still not used to it lor....

Thanks everyone,

I am thinking why my gynae suggested oscar test since there are so many false positive. Should go and do amnio test right away since I am already 35. Some more, oscar test so expensive.

Did not sleep well last night. I will try to stay positive especially during this one whole month of waiting game. No mood to shop for maternity wear and other stuffs until result is out.

I haven't logged in for a while - weather turning cold here plus my energy is back (hooray!!) so been out shopping for clothes for my kids....

Draik - dun worry ok? hugs. understand how u feel cos i had bad result for my triple test last time, cried buckets. but then i realised that wldn't help, so just pray that all will be fine k? really quite a lot of false positive cases.

mush - i didn't do the oscar test...and not planning to do triple as well. just praying hard that we will accept whatever God gives [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

chewy_ring - so did u manage the find the kid's market on sunday? btw did u mention before that u still do foot reflex now that u are preggy? can meh?? i miss my regular sessions but i tot we can't do it...

and for all the mummies going for their tests soon, good luck!! hope all turns out fine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Petals

my #1 also usually will slp thru unless he want to bunk in with us or too hot or just cant find his pacifier... heehee... but i'll stay with him in his room till he is slping liao them leave the room...

kurisu

u r welcome... juz sharing wat i knw n practise when i had #1... 'shi san tai bao' is a kinda 'an tai' medicine... not bitter kind n quite drinkable lor... i also dun like such stuffs but so long as gd for the bb, i just pinch my nose n take lor... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/uhoh.gif]

destiny

*hugz* glad tt ur ger is recovering... muz be hard on u too... take care hor... drink lotsa water n rest more... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/kiss.gif]

chloie is right tt bb gender is secondary so long as healthy can liao... boy or ger also will be ur sweetheart rite??

chloie

me too secretly wishing for a ger leh... coz #1 is boy mah... so want to have a ger tt i can dress up n buy nice dolls for... but if boy i'll also sayang lor... coz all my fresh n blood lor... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/wink.gif]

Draik

i think coz the amino tests got its fair share of risks tt y ur gynae suggested OSCAR which is no risk at all for a start 1st... anyway, stay positive is the way to go ger... rest well tonite ya...

Hi ,

Any one know if we can take ginseng esp those korean ginseng ? cos have been taking them every winter to keep body warm n health ...

Yeah loh, I also want to know can take ginseng or not? Because I like to drink (^^) I heard only can take "da seng"? Anyone start drinking after 1st trimester? Can mixed with honey?

im 26 this yr so i didnt take the test... since the test is not as accurate so i tok no point... but i see alot of u took the test so a bit kanchong... hehe...

Yeah loh, I also want to know can take ginseng or not? Because I like to drink (^^) I heard only can take "da seng"? Anyone start drinking after 1st trimester? Can mixed with honey?

Audrey, I got the result on the spot. Consider low risk. I took it on the 9th Nov, it was my birthday and seeing baby on the screen for a full 20 minutes was like the best gift ever.

Mush: I did it at KKH... blood test was done about a month earlier, so on the 9th just went down for ultrasound.

Audrey: Was it because you did blood test and scan on the same day, that's why need a bit of waiting time?

Yeah loh. I should do my blood test last month but my husband said it better to do at the same day and he chnage the appointment loh. The ultrasound scan result was "normal", we can also see the baby nose bond quite clearly. The doctor said result quite ok but still have to wait for blood test result then confirm (; ;). So whole day my handphone is with me...

hi tigger 03

The jam was very bad that day .. so decided to head to hongmei rd market instead to shop at " ta tong yang" no chance at ni hong market .. will go down so other day bah ..

How i wish i knoe the gender of my kid nw .. sigZ ... till i am back in sin .. dec ..

hi chewy ring,

let me know when u go down, see if we can meet up [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i also wish i know the gender of my kid...then can buy teh clothes here right? u mean except for next week's visit to the gynae u are not seeing him/her at all, and only see gynae back in SG?

edie:

long time no see..

how is ur wedding preparation coming along?

i saw kcpq's wedding pics from her facebook account...

can see the thicker waistline from side view only..

actually, at end of 1st tri, many of our tummies are olready bursting out and i'm already wearing maternity clothes liao...

but i think she's younger, so her tummy muscles are firmer.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hello May2010 MTBs

Good day [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm new here.

I will like to share my story with you guys.

I'm now approx. 15wks pregnant. My EDD will be on 3May2010.

Recently(last saturday night), I started to have rashes on my thighs. And it got worst. Now I have rashes on my thighs, tummy and my buttock area. I went to KKH 24hours clinic on Sunday. But the doc can't do anything except to give me the calamine lotion and some pill(for night time) to prevent the itchiness. He also asked me to stop using my Palmer stretch mark cream which maybe the cause of the rashes. Or it can be pruritic urticarial papules and plaques of pregnancy (PUPPP). A rash that typically begins as small raised bumps (papules) within the stretch marks on a woman’s abdomen. It is the most common skin rash that occurs during pregnancy.

So I'm here to warn all mtb. Please please please be careful with the anti-stretchmark products that you are buying. I seriously don't recommend cream due to our weather. Lotion and gel will be a better choice for our "tropical" mummies.

I don't even dare to look at my body now. It started as small little red dots. But now it becomes big patches around my tummy and hip area. I have lost my appetite due to the rashes. It just to ugly/scary for me to look at. Being a mtb is really not easy.

My next appointment with my gynae will be on Friday. Hopefully I will be better by then [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Edie,

I did my downsyndrome test in KKH too. I had my blood test a week or two before the scan. They gave me the result after I did my scan. I was so nervous while waiting for the nurse to call me to the room. I never realise the word "NORMAL" is so important after she said that to me. Ha!

Oh! I saw my cutie "waving" at me when I was looking at the screen when the doc did the scan. I got a shock! The doc was shocked too! That is really the best gift ever. Everytime when I'm down, I will recall my baby waving at me, like saying hi to me. This is the only way to keep me strong.

Just went for my DS scan today and was told it's 'low risk'. But during the scan, found that there's fibroid on both sides and I'm told that it is quite common among women.

Saw my bb moving alot during the scan, very cute moving the hands and legs and even the mouth, i think all these matters more than anything else for us mummies, right? So that's why Im telling myself not to be so bothered by the fibroids. =)

Vivien > I had that during my last trimester early this year and it's terrible.

See the pic below. I can tolerate the itch so kept scratching. Was also told by my gyne that it might due to the anti stretch mark cream applied which I din. MY sis concort the cream but I doubt that was the culprit. Strongly believe it's PUPPP. Cant be help but to endure it. Strangely enough, I only had it for about 3 weeks. Luckily i was almost due that time.

Pardon my big fat legs. There were more on my body. Those on my legs turned to scars now.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3232534.jpg]

Sue: By my wedding I'll be 21 weeks, I don't mind having tummy cos I got myself a really flowy dress so should be able to hide the bulge but I'm afraid the weight will show on my face.

Vivien: Yes, that was like a relief. Now we'll look forward to find out the gender of the baby

Hello everyone! Been following this thread off and on whenever I have the time but didn't really feel like posting until I had my scan. Guess reality doesn't really sink in until one actually sees the baby on the screen. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Well I had my dating scan today and saw the baby for the first time. So this is for real. In case you're wondering ... I'm based in the UK too (waves to newbie01). This will be my second baby.

newbie01 you were asking about bottles. Besides Avent, Tommee Tippee is also a very popular brand in the UK. I'm a fan of Avent bottles too. It is very convenient if you use the Avent pump. However I don't like their BPA-free version. It leaks too much for my liking. After you've spent so much time pumping it is very heartbreaking to see your EBM wasted. I'm now in two minds whether to change my non-BPA free Avent bottles to the BPA free version and risk leaking or just go for Tommee Tippee. I quite like the Tommee Tippee closer to nature bottles too.

With regards to breastpump. I think it depends on personal choice and really how far you want to go with BF. I started out with an Avent Manual thinking that I was only going to express occasionally but when my son came along he had other ideas. He refused to latched and I was constantly pumping day and night. In desperation I got the Avent Uno. Mainly b'cos it was Avent and all my bottles would fit and Mothercare was having a sale on it! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/wink.gif] Nothing wrong with the Uno except that it was too slow! Not really practical if you do exclusive pumping. But I stuck with it for 5 mths before my BIL told my hubby that he thought I was spending too much time pumping. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/lol.gif] After that my hubby made me go and research for a more efficient pump. In the end I decided to get the Ameda Dual Lactaline which has served me since the beginning of this year until now. Yup I'm still pumping twice a day just enough to give my son a cup of EBM. I'll stop soon probably when I reach the end of my 1st trimester. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] My experience with both Avent and Ameda pumps are generally very good. Avent (manual) is still my choice when I'm out and about. Very convenient to pump in the car. I've done it quite a few times while my hubby drives on the motorway.

Anyway enough of my rambling but if it is of any help, you might find these links useful to help you make your decision:

Ameda vs Medela vs Avent vs Playtex

Mumsnet Breastpump Reviews

Morning mummies, sorry to disturb. I'm currently organizing a bp for neurogain fish oil. I have 2 types of neurogain fish oil for pregnancy woman/breastfeeding mummies & kids respectively. Price is around 25% cheaper than the market price. Feel free to view if you are interested. Have a nice day ahead.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3227842.html?1257983036

morning... i was told by my gynae not to use anything that has cocoa butter in it as known to cause skin irritation... from what i know Palmer stretch mark cream do contain it as one of the active compound... so mummies be careful on what you use...

Oh no.. mush... im using palmer...but so far apply only like alt days cuz not so diligent to apply daily... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so far my skin ok...

morning mummies ,

so quiet in the morning .. keke ..

Tigger 03 ,

I did a scan in sin to confirm no ectopic preg .. then gynae says have to take the triple test if there are any within 15-17th weeks. So have to draw blood here and take the results back to sin for him during my detail scan at 20th week( will be back in sin for the scan) I visited the no 2 proclaimed hospital by the shanghainese and was shocked at the facilities .. confirm will not be delivering here unless emergency. Yet I have to find a safe gynae here just in case accidents .

Vivein ,

think u have PUPP .. have an auntie with PUPP too .. itch.. but sometimes it just goes away ..

Hi edie, just received call from KK. I'm moderate!! The nurse said below 300 is "high rise" Above 1000 is others....(don't quite understand what is it)I'm 600 so, moderate!!!

Thank God!!

Hi edie, just received call from KK. I'm moderate!! The nurse said below 300 is "high rise" Above 1000 is others....(don't quite understand what is it)I'm 600 so, moderate!!!

Thanks God!!

Hi aedis2308, I've just done my blood test on Tuesday. After you blood test you have to go for scan also? The blood test is to test Down Syndrome and ... (sorry not very sure others.

I'm done my ultra scan on Tuesday and the result out was "normal" (means the baby looks ok, no Down Syndrome) but doctor said have to combined my blood test than can confirm. Some people scan result ok but blood tesy result show "high rise" to have D/S baby.

It's better to do you blood test before ultran scan (2 weeks before). So after your scan, they will able to tell your the result. I do both together so that why have to wait 2 days for the result and these 2 days was super worried.

Hi Audrey,

Thanks for the information. I'm not sure if I'll be doing any scan after the blood test. Hmm, will check it out with my gynae.

tigger03

u asked abt ft reflelogy.. My regular masseur says okie .. cos she massage clients haev experience before .. am still doing twice a week [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

stupid rainy weather in shanghai .. cant seems to go out of house for a few days already