(2010/04) April 2010 mtb

Last time don't feel so hot leh... Haha. Any mummies having trouble w toilet training? DD refused to poo in potty,....even though we can tell that she want to do it, but put her on the potty only, she refused to push

Hello from super cold place.

Am so tired of being sahm. Really peifu all the sahm here. Brought out cane once and my dear girl cried until she puked all over her corner. So no more cane for me.

Reiz: hi. Had the same problem but got a potty book and after reading a while we put her on potty to read. Then she was ok to sit there when she wanted to poo. Need to sit w her and encourage. And had to totally not give in a few times after when she cried badly for her poo poo diaper. Now our problem is to get her to poo in toilet.

Hi Maddie,

Wah, super cold place sounds good to me now. I cannot imagine living with this type of HOT weather everyday, told hb i want to migrate and was rewarded w a wilting look.

Sahm is really mind-numbing and repetitive day in day out. We don't get much appreciated but still have to endure insensitive remarks from others who proclaimed us very free!!!! Haiz.... I just pray that my children appreciated me and I have instil the proper values in them.

Hi maddie =)

She is ok on the potty, pee ok, but whn she wants to poo, dunwan to see on potty..hmm will try out the potty book nxt time!

Ya from a super cold place sounds good!! Nowadaya the weather is crazy! One min scorching hot, next min heavy rain. Yhis type of weather can fall sick very easily. So mummies take care yeah!!

She wanted to follow the book to the letter. Ie must sit on potty, not toilet bowl, then must call grandma after she did it. We just got her to poo in toilet bowl yesterday so hopefully that's the end of the poo saga. Just left night pee to do. Lazy and don't really wish to bring her to pee in the night. Yawn.

Comtemplating to put son in Zion bishan or PCF at bishan for N1? Do u all have experiencec with e the above 2 schools for us to make final decision?

Hi Maddie,

Yah, now I headache about the night waking to pee task also. Need to change her bed (she is still sleeping in the baby cot). Going shopping for a princess bed tml.

Hi mummies !!!

my son still not potty train yet ... i gave up on him... he can know whow to pee in the actual toilet bowl but he will wan to play water after that ... tried to use the potty failed..

i think i leave it to the CC to do so... CC will help to potty train around this age right???

my CC say later part of the year ....

but i see most of his classmates already potty trained... hope he can do so soon....

morning mommies

dawn,

yes, you can get cc to train. both of mine are trained by cc and goes diaper free in the day before they turn 3.

HI celynlee, talk to CC b efore, they say its still early.. and maybe 3yrs+++ later part of this yr they will train...

BTW mummies , i have a question to ask...

normally kids go CC, we can expect they to fight with each other over toys or something ...

yesterday my son's teacher complained to me that my son hit a boy and the boy finger bleed a little. The boy is alright. And my son was bought to a corner for punishment and scolding ... And of coz the boy is the "victim" in this case. The boy said that my son use toy to hit his hand. And my son can't express himself that well like the boy too. No one saw what happen too...

when back at home, i asked my son why he beat the boy, he told me "caleb beat (pointing to his mouth)".. But i believe he didn't told this to the teacher. As he was in shock when teacher scolded him and punished him.

I told my boy, " u have to tell teacher next time " but he seems not happy or something, and keep repeating the whole of yesterday abt his mouth pain (which i look no bruise at all) and today, when i bought him to CC, he complain to me abt his mouth again ...

he seems mentally not happy that he kenna scolding/ punishment.

Its very common for child to have conflicts/ fight in CC....

If it were u, how would u "console" / explain to ur child? he seems very 不甘愿abt it

dawn,

maybe you can tell the teacher about it and let her get the 2 together and talk about it. with their limited and see what can be gather from it and proceed from there.

celynlee

i called the sch, guess what, not enough manpower to bring kids to toilet and will only enforce this before 3 mths when they turn n2.

tried 2 times diaperless and teacher didnt bother to quickly attend to his toilet need and end up his short got urine smell.

what is this no manpower ? diaperless earlier and later makes any difference ? why must wait til 3 mths before n2 ?

also

Dawn

fighting.

very common for my boy, gana push and fell 2 weeks limping and spend money on specialist, sch said can claim with the insurance.

stomach got finger stretch mark with blood, arms, side of his eyes. here and there always got injury.

I spoke with the teacher/principal should separate them. the teacher said ai ya you know la kids are like this..I mean you should give me a call and not when I home and caught in surprise seeing him got hurt again.

he gana punishment for singing during nap time standing at the toilet. this punishment is frequent, i didnt know til when meet parents session then the teacher said. Im angry hearing that no wonder my son dont want to go sch.

chips,

find out what is the class size. usually, they will have an auntie in the class that can help to bring.

singing for nap time, ok lah cos he will disturb others who wants to sleep.

standing at the toilet means what?

Dawn,yes must remind him tat whatever happens, must tell teacher, dun keep quiet. I would inform the teacher abt what ur son said and get her to keep an eye on both of them in sch for the time being...i beleive aft a while, both kids would forget abt what happened n things would return to normal again.

Celynlee,

1teacher 16 children. I Was saying about the aunty too but still say not possibl

Standing at the toilet to 罰站。

i m very upset.

C2 kena pepper in his mouth by Mr C 2 times over the weekend. this boy doesnt respond well to punishments, shouting, it scares the hell out of him n he escalates which leads to Mr C escalating.... this morning, C2 asked me plaintively... mama love me? after the papa put him in a corner again for dumping his breakfast cereal on the table.

i dunno who i m more upset with, Mr C or C2.

hell la, i din bear a son for you to pour pepper into his mouth.

chips,

i'm not sure but I thought it should be around 1:12 or 1:15.

Standing at the toilet to 罚站, is the toilet within the class or outside? will anyone see him there?

I told my mum or dad to go and talk to the teacher. you know at least a different face voicing out to them they wil take extra cautious in handling.

always me no use lei

its improving but he still dosent like to go school so I asked him if I change school for him he ok ? he said ok.. I dont know whether he understand what im trying to tell him or not.

sekali go other sch same hahaaa

this sch, havent train diaperfree, brushing teeth and yet my friend child at his age is already in practise. maybe tat is the different of pte and govt

chips,

i'm not sure about that. yu xi started to bring toothbrush to cc since she starts cc. toilet train, i'm the one who requested it at the end of last year. cos dec period, not many kids are in cc they will be able to provide more attention to kids who are under going toilet training. that's how i feel, so i requested for it to start during the 'non-peak' period.

as for changing school for him, i rather you start working on it soon and change if you have the intention. don't wait too long till he is much older, it might be tougher to change

my son's CC cherie hearts.. before we enrol we was told that toothbrush is needed, and after he goes it, i realised that only K1 and K2 using tooth brush, the rest not using ..

they not really keen in diaper free at the moment... they say maybe until late N1 or N2...

but i see most of the kids already diaper free in his class

chips: common, but ur son's case abit too much??

the teachers willcall me if he falls and hurt/ bleed...

my son was the only one kenna scolding.. i mean fight takes 2 hands to clap ma... but why the "bleeding" one not being scold??...

the matter was rest juz like this ... i did not pursue and my son stop nagging at me too... so i let it go... fight is very common.. cannot avoid... but next time if only my son kenna scold only again, then i think i should speak out...

i also think that i should stop complaining to teachers that my son is naughty at home.. give them a bad impression, next time i say he is a nice boy at home LOL ...

BTW any mummies interested in wet bags/ ADJUSTABLE training pants ???

https://picasaweb.google.com/116530263271509395882/2In1WetBagHasWetAndDrySection1For73For195For30#

I am thinking of doing a spree, but need test response first

its a 2 zip (1 wet and 1 dry section) wet bag

size 30 X 35cm = $4.04 each excluding domestic postage (min order 200)

size 40 X 50cm = $4.55 each excluding domestic postage (min order 300 + limited designs)

https://picasaweb.google.com/116530263271509395882/2In1WetBagHasWetAndDrySection1For73For195For30#5877828651765272546

ADJUSTABLE training pants (from 10-20kg)

$4.75each excluding domestic postage (min 500 pieces + limited design)

designs yet to bechoosen... estimate have 5-10 design to be avaliable.

Anyone interested ??? before i start the spree, coz quantity quite high... but i have a few friends organising with me ... so hopefully can meet target [IMG=http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Topic still on toilet training I see. Thread moving slower here now Hor.

I toilet trained todM at home for 5 days last August when my mom was down. Subsequently I sent to school with diaper and she came home without. So dont think its a Singapore school thing. They were also ok with accommodating my request to toilet train her earlier but my girl refused to sit on the toilet not their fault. Now in Ang mo land school also I tell them she nap with diaper still they tell me maybe first day can then after that will stop. So now she nap no diaper. At night if I forget to wear for her she will wake up shouting 'Shee Shee!' and we néed to rush to toilet. So for our own zzz we still put it on for her. Guess we shd stop soon.

Cellow: hugs to you and C2! But I also understand how frustrating it is to look after a toddler and have to fight to control my temper at times. Also run out of ways to threaten and punish. Sigh.

Oh I miss you all so very much!!! I thought this thread has died and never checked back for awhile. So happy we r still talking!

Hi Chips,

The MCYS stipulated ratio is 1:12 for N1 class. U need to talk to the Principal.

Hi Maddie,

Your gal is so amazing! My gal refused to wake up to pee at night, we are also tired so night training is still a half-hearted attempt as of now.

Hi Cellow,

Totally agree w you. I get very angry when my hb punished my 2 kids also.

toilet training

C1 at 5yo is still not toilet trained at night, because I m too tired to get up. I leave C2 alone as is for now

Angry w hb

I guess it is one of those things that just happen when one or both parents are on edge. Temper temper.... my philosophy is that I am the adult, I have more self control and I need to model that self control to the boys. If an adult loses control (and we all will at some point in time), and models that it is ok to loseeeeee it completely to the child, what right do I have to demand of the child that he needs to have more self control than I do?

Breathe breathe.

I am taking mini breaks in my day (I miss pumping breaks [IMG=http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]). And now I take half hour w Mr C at the kopitiam after work before we fetch the boys... it makes ME a better mom.

I wake up at 630am to check emails though... that's how I balance my day. No one demands anything of me in the morning.

I m thinking of emigrating to NZ or AU. sigh. better quality of life. feel more of a human being, more free spaces for the boys to run free, and less of a rat on the treadmill. maybe i m just damn tired.

Hi Cellow,

I went to Perth recently and met some Singaporeans who migrated there. They raved about the short working hours and the nice weather. Cost of raw food items are not expensive also. Really makes me pause and think but I also heard that it is super difficult for a foreigner to find a job there.

morning mommies

cellow,

yes, I hate it when hubby lost control over the kids. of course, i'm not good temper in the first place but at least I try not to 'scold/scream' at them. just scold them in a firm and low voice.

I have a evening off once a week to have my me time. hubby is supposed to fetch the kids and settle them while I go do my own things, be it facial, manicure & pedicure, shopping, whatever. of course, if I choose to go home then its a bonus for him.

celynlee: thats good... my hubby dun let me have any me time!! he say then the kids now ?

i am guilty of screaming at my kids... especially this period, when my #1 is super naughty and super active ... my SIL say its bcoz i still feed him milk... which is sugar.. so super active and that i should switch to fresh milk or feed less .... BUT my son still not eating solids well (super picky eater) ... haizzz

morning mommies

dawn,

I force it on him. I told him, if I have meeting and need to work late, he still have to handle the kids himself. so just treat my off day as a day that I have to work OT.

I disappeared for a while because I went back to work after 8 months of extended leave at home with E1 and E2. Thankfully am on secondment now with a client and the hours are very decent and predictable. Also no need to check emails after hours so I am really quite lucky to have this time to transition back to "real work". E1 tells me she wants to follow me to work. My heart ached a little but was also secretly pleased that she missed me enough to want to go to work with me [IMG=http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cellow: What did C2 do to warrant the pepper in mouth punishment? I always think it is best to co-relate the punishment with the offence. For instance, a smack on the hand for playing with the electrical fan. So I imagine something like pepper in mouth is only warranted for lying.

ah boy is taking well to the pee port but pee or poot he also say he want to put put i spent one night sitting with him on the bowl for around 15 mins before his amusement wore off & he stood up & called it a night.

he started to use the boy's pee urinal too!

But Australia's tax is super super high!

I heard from a colleague who stayed there for 5 yrs that she couldn't save up cause most of her earnings goes to the taxes and the weekly rental of her apartment. She's paying 38% tax cause of her salary range and her weekly rental costs AUD 500 :S

i want to do another iherb long pang box.

anyone app fb pm or whatever find me thanks.

I just ordered more Hpts & Opks too.

AH HUAT PTE LTD – opks & Hpts

Pm me or [email protected] for transaction details.

Opks only

20 pcs $13.70

30 pcs $19.00

Hope PACKS $3.80 – available

5 hpts

MINI HUAT PACKS (UK) $13.70 – available

15 opks

5 hpts

HUAT PACKS (UK) $19 – available

25 opks

5 hpts

*opks - Ovulation strips.

hpts-Home Pregnancy test strips.

Where not mentioned Opks are 20 miu = High sensitivity opks. Hpts are 10 miu ultra high sensitivity.

Prices include local postage within Singapore.

Those transferring from non POSB/DBS banks please contact me earlier as the interbank transfer will take longer – I do prefer to mail out only upon receipt of payment unless you are a regular.

Unfortunately no meet-ups please. Courier can be arrange from $6-8+ depending on your location for urgent deliveries.

( purchases are confidential - your privacy is respected )

Hpts only order – only 20 pcs & above please email me will require 1 week after payment is received.

unless the govt pisses me off that bad, i am one weirdo who prefers to stay in sg.

maybe cos all my relatives are here - i just pick up the phone & i can reach my parents & aunts. i dont mind long holidays in aust when i am retired. but to stay overseas. i dont know. maybe when my kids want to migrate & ask me along - i will consider then.

Cellow: agree that Singapore is too crowded and small. Although with enough effort there is always place to run free. However the parks will never be as big as overseas. There will never be as many animals and 'natural' things to do. Over here for 2 months so far we r quite enjoying our time away and also trying to treasure my time as sahm with the kids. Although I end up sounding like a tyrant sometimes after which I tell myself I have to shout less and threaten less. My hb is also more relaxed since work here is very pro family. Even childcare last pick uP time is 530! Ppl are civilized here and I have not Once had to struggle to push my pram thru the door cos someone always stops to help. The PRCs here speak softly and open doors for us too. So I wonder if it's the culture in sg That the foreigners follow.

On toilet training todM wet her bed last night. So much for night training. Doesn't help that hb sleeps with her now and is not willing to wake her up for pee.

Greetings from the other side of the world [IMG=http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hope you all are well. It has been almost a year since we moved. Experienced the 4 seasons, travelled a fair bit and looking back it has felt pretty much like a long holiday (am blocking out memories of all unpleasant moments as I type this). Sorry I haven't come back here to say hello earlier. Seemed to have become more of an introvert than ever before... even FB is hardly updated!

Ming,

Congratulations on E2 [IMG=http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] she looks a lot like E1. And lucky to have 8 months leave to be with them!

Cellow,

Oh dear, pepper? Poor boy [IMG=http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Maybe have to give Mr C an alternative punishment that he can dole out that is acceptable to you.

Maddie,

SAHM to 2 in a foreign place sounds challenging [IMG=http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Where have you moved to? Oh if cannot mention here it's ok, I understand.

Re: Moving overseas

I agree there is a lot more nature to be found in many other countries... work-life balance also much better in other places... pace of life is slower... But after being here for a year... I would still like to go back to SG. Will I work or continue to be a SAHM I don't know ($ will be tight either way). Home is where family is and all the FaceTime connection cannot replace their physical presence.

Hi Celyn,

Am in France. The initial few months were spent settling down... Finding apartment... Waiting for boxes to come... Unpacking... And after that many months finding my footing as a SAHM cos I have mastered very few skills in the art of homemaking. Anyway am now ok cos I have finally let go of my definition of a good SAHM (i.e. my mom... she could keep the house all neat and tidy, prepare lovely meals and yet had time to read to us and do other fun things together) and have set more realistic expectations for myself (i.e. very low in terms of meals and chores and just spend time reading, teaching and playing with little syz). Much happier now [IMG=http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Syz,

Yes, don't set the bars too high for yourself and life suddenly seem so much easier. I always tell myself to take it easy with the kids and don't harp so much on their development and beat myself up over it.

Hi Maddie,

Woah, good quality of life is very much treasured. My HB don't have any travel opportunities in his job, so I guess I can continue to dream about living in another country for a long time to come.

Hi Orangey,

Yah, heard about the atrocious tax rate in Oz, but I also heard that a food court cleaner can earn $100k/year and a part-time sales staff earns $20/hr! No wonder service standard is so high. I will smile whole day long if I earn that much! [IMG=http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I think most of us will wonder what it is like to live overseas (whether permanently or just a short while). Glad some of the mommies here have the chance and are willing to share their thoughts here with us.

Has anyone used oregano spray before? A colleague is raving about it and uses it for everything from cleaning her fruits and vegs to disinfecting airline seats. Am thinking or ordering some from iherb but just thought I will check if anyone here had used it previously

Hi Ming,

Your friend actually brought the spray on the flight to disinfect the seat? Woah!

On the same note, no I never used it before but I do use this organic orange skin extract spray to disinfect my kids' stuff, I got it from vitakids.