(2010/04) April 2010 mtb

Syz, we moved to the third happiest country in the world. No wonder we are also happier. Wonder if im happy cos I have no work stress. My worries are what to cook for dinner and what to do with the kids. Am learning how to bake and roast a lot cos it is so much easier and leaves me time to play with kids. Will miss this cos have no oven in Singapore. Raw food here is super cheap too esp pork and beef. Eating out on the other hand is expensive.

Maddie,

Doesn't matter if it is the country or the work... so long as you're all happier [IMG=http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] How long will you all be there for?

Eating out is also quite expensive here. But the fresh produce at the markets makes up for all that. And it made me realised how spoilt we are in SG to be able to have certain fruits/veg throughout the year. Waited a long time for the pumpkins to come and when it did the berries were gone. That said, I am enjoying the seasons and autumn is probably my favorite cos of the weather and colours.

Will you be sending Tod M to preschool there? Little syz will start preschool in a few months time and I hope she (and I) will adjust smoothly to the new routine. She has never been to school before (what more one conducted in a language foreign to her) and is very attached to me so I expect lots of tears in the first few weeks. Part of me is still dreaming of the possibility of her waving bye to me and walking confidently into school from Day 1... One can't help but dream [IMG=http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Syz, todM attends preschool three days a week since may. She started to wave bye bye to me last week. Kicked up a fuss on Monday and was ok again these two days. But she attended full day school in Singapore. She has started to enjoy school and now talks with a bit of an accent. Thankfully it's in English. There was mega tantrum the first two weeks. I just got the teacher to grab her and I left. She was ok after I left. Just need to tahan. After two months here she has stopped asking to go to her old school and play with her old friends. that was a low point for me when she cried and said she wanna go back to Singapore school and take aero plane back tomorrow.

Syz: Great hearing from you! Have you picked up french? Your little girl will probably pick up the language very quickly once she starts school. You should have your number 2 there. The French healthcare system is rated one of the best in the world!

Maddie: Have you connected with some of the Singaporean mums living in your country? They can be a helpful source of information I find.

Living overseas: Hubby needs to be in HK for at least 3 months next year and we thought of all moving there for that time as I can work from my HK office. But we thought it was too short a period of time to take E1 out of school and to cope with all the adjustment issues etc. So we will stay put and most likely hubby will have to commute back every weekend.

HI mummies, i mentioned that i am doig a spree on wetbags

UPGRADED SIZE WITH UPGRADED HANDLES

Size 40X 50cm

[IMG=http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/8462604.jpg]

SGD$4.85 excluding postage [IMG=http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] if anyone need please pm me... closing orders 07/06/2013 2359hrs

hiya syz!

glad to know you are settling in. is little C picking up French to talk to her classmates?

ming, syz,

C2 has a habit of screaming / shouting / throwing things when he is really really upset. He is upset when things do not go his way, or when C1 and him argue. hence the pepper. i m not sure now about my no-smack policy.... C2 has been behaving in Mr C's presence more.

ming,

i would say do move to HK, if only to tell yourself and E1/E2 later that you have done it. it will be a different experience for sure.

oregano spray....

erhmmm, DIY oregano spray? http://www.iherb.com/Now-Foods-Essential-Oils-Oregano-1-fl-oz-30-ml/937 then look for a reputable recipe to dilute. maybe i will try it out myself [IMG=http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

moving overseas

we are still thinking. but only dreaming. no concrete plans. i was looking thro the website for AU immigration and realise wow the application fee for 2 adults is SGD14k. hmmm. a tidy sum.

ming

you will want to stay in the outskirts. i went & could not get used to the air pollution. came back with a high fever for no reason for a full 4 days. (usually my fevers are high 1st day & get better) i feel its the air quality there.

kids & air pollution might not be fun. i feel its a good choice u made

Morning mummies & all!!

Hey Dawn!

Ming,

Hongkong ...Personally i feel if you are staying in the outskirts with fresher air, then it might be better for the kids.

Hi Cellow,

Yah, u need to be rich to migrate but if we are rich in the 1st place, then don't even need to migrate to get a better quality of life right?

how fast our little ones have grown and they are 3 yrs old now. Anyone keen to have a play date after the haze has cleared? Am staying in buangkok mrt area. Can meet sengkang/punggol/hougang homes, preferably near mrt.

yoohoo morning Maddie

saw your FB post on sleep training, I might as well reply here.

I still havent sleep train both boys to fall asleep by themselves.... they sleep with me and Mr C in the same room. C2 has high energy levels... for the past month, he has been sleeping only past 1130pm when I am already in the room w him and C1 by 10pm latest (usually 930-945pm). It is driving me nuts... but we sleep tog initially bcz of latching in the night... so this has continued.

Mr C and I are thinking of buying a double deck bed for the boys to sleep in the 3rd bedroom soon. C1 has been very excited to sleep in a big boy bed... i reckon C2 will be tougher to move out.

Hi celyn

Cellow, thanks for replying. Just struggled with small one 45 min watch him beg for latch and cannot sleep. Finally gave in and let him latch. Just wondering if he will one day stop or how. Does C2 still latch to sleep??

maddie,

C2 stopped latching Jan 2012 - 21months old.

By that time, work pressures had caught up w me, the final straw was me falling ill (and waking up late in the mornings). He was only latching once a day in the morning... so after one week of morning bottle feeds, he decided to wean... i couldnt force him back onto my boob. Sigh.

Both C1 and C2 weaned by themselves. No drama. *I* am very sad, bcz I miss the skin contact.

Son oredi 3 yrs old still not potty-trained. Everytime, bring him to toilet, he refused to do it. Almost all his classmates in payground are potty-trained. Very stressed n mil said he is slow. How u all train your son for toilet. Can share?

Hi 1sttimepapa,

I read some books saying you should make pee time like fun time for boys. Put ping-pong balls in the toilet and you demonstrate how to 'hit' them w the pee, there are also some toys that you can add to the toilet bowl so that it changes colour when your son pees on it. My PD said 3+ years old is not too old to learn, so don't be so pressurized.

U can try cold turkey, ie don't let him wear diapers for the whole day? I actually prepared a big container of snacks and let my gal holds it when I toilet-train her last time. She chooses 1 snack whenever she succeeds.

New helper coming to start work on 27 Jul. Existing helper workpermit expired on 29 Jul. Existing helper plead for trf n notbgoing home so as to save loan payment. Her agency has told me to apply for special request at woodland point n he willassist to bring her to JB. After that i will have no obligation as employer. How can i trust the agency to do proper job of taking her out of Singapore to JB. Wife said this is really not proper n taking advantage of loophole in Mom laws. We want to help existing helper but also don't want to break law. Have uall encountered this before???

Hi 1sttimepapa,

What you mean is that becos your existing maid cannot possibly find a new employer within 2 days after your new maid come, the agency is proposing bringing her out of Singapore then bringing her back somehow somewhat to find her a new employer?

If that is the case, you need to make sure you are protected. U only agree to such a arrangement on the ground that you can cancel your current maid's work permit immediately once you hand her over to the maid agency and you get your maid to sign a simple agreement that she has waived your obligation to buy her an air ticket home.

1sttimepapa,

I would be very wary... Mainly bcz of your helper’s welfare. Once she is out of SG and in JB, the agency can transport her anywhere and she is not traceable.

Ask the agency very pointedly for photos of where she is going to be housed, her meals, what sort of work is she doing during the day, how they are going to transport her between SG and JB for interviews w prospective employers etc.

Most imptly.... Ask your helper if she trusts the agency.

The agency wants to earn the commission from her transfer, but dowan to pay for her air ticket from country of origin to SG..... so there is an economic benefit for the agency for this arrangement, possibly at your helper's expense.

She has been looking for new employer on every sunday off. Last Fri, i told her new helper coming n i need to cancel her work permit n buy ticket to send her back philipine. Then she informed us she doesn't want to go back n want trf to save on loan. We asked her no employer how to trf. On monday, e agency that she has gone called me. Said he will b in charge to bring her to JB once i cancel her work permit with special pass. He said once she is our of singapore, my obligation will end.i asked how i trust he will bring maid to JB.He said will photocopy maid passport with malaysia immigration stamp.

We checkd e background of agency.It was only opened in Jan 2013. We asked her last night how she trust e agent that they will take care of her in singapore until she find employer. She said other friends also do this way. She has pleading via sms to me n wife not to book ticket for her. My wife told her to focus on her work to look after son n discuss after work!

Hi 1sttimepapa,

Haiz... You worry about your maid's welfare and do checking for her yet she is adamant to go ahead with this arrangement. I guess the decision is taken out of your hands? Do you have someone else who can monitor your son and maid for the next 1 week? Imagine if you decide to send her home, don't know she will do something silly anot right?

Just found out that existibg helper used our hse wifi for her surfing for 1.5 yrs.When we showed us why her hp has wifi n is connected to our account, she still lied n denied. Really mad!

hello!! i'm here.. but I think userid changed leh.. I tried my old juye cannot.. but they used my nickname which I previously put.. haha..

Son has been refusing milk since new helper arrived 2 weeks ago. Even when we are around, he also refused to drink milk, what could go wrong? Need help!

hi everyone !

refuse milk??? erm.. maybe it happens that he dun like milk anymore ??

i remmeber my mum say that around 3 yr old, i auto reject all types of milk and she gave up giving me milk

my nephew now less than 18mths, also reject milk.. refuse to drink anything... so no choice my SIL will try to add milk into his food/ cereal... give him more cheese etc....
my niece also reject...she also 3 yrs old... she only wants fresh milk/ packet milk .... no FM ....

now 3 yr old liao, dun wan milk i think it should be ok, juz try give more cheese etc for calcium and if he is ok with his food then ok liao ...
or u can try fresh milk/ packet milk .... or chocolate flavour? like pediasure?

Hi mommies and 1 daddy,

Woah, it is good to have the thread back!

Hi 1sttimepapa,

Do you want to switch to soy milk? I had checked with PD, 3 yrs old child doesn't need to drink powdered milk strictly, it can be packaged milk, milo mixed w milk etc to ensure their calcium intake.

hihi all mummies,

Do you still remember me? My #1 is an Apr 2010 baby and my #2 is 2 yo already. How is everyone so far?
Logged in and was surprised to see the different interface of this forum. I saw the very first post about being pregnant with 4 weeks. I tot u mummies got pregnant again and reporting good news. How silly I am. hahahaaa...

1. Do u all know what is min ml of milk per day for 3yr old boy?
2. Son has been refusing milk since new helper come for 3 wks.
I have been scolding him hard in front of helper to son for being playful.
Wife has been telling me no pt scolding him n making him cry since this way doesn't work.
Must find out cause..is he feeling really insecure of new helper n miss old helper...is it due to his new molar teeth that he refused milk..Really heartache after scolding him hard n son told me that 'i am not good boy n i love u papa...'
Have u all experience this before.....

1st time pa.

he might think u sent the maid away cos he was notti. hopefully no one gave him that impression or told him that as it can scar a little child's memory & his understanding.

there isno use to scold him i would agree with your wife. if he is hungry he will eat/drink.

he might associate the joys of drinking milk in that maid's arms.

what i suggest you do is to show him more love. he might have lost his old maid but remind him again why you are his parent & why you are the most imporant to him by showing him unconditional love, irregarless of whether his misbehaves, doesnt want to eat or obey - you still show him love.

there is one school of tot which some say is quite true they misbehave to get our attention. showing him unconditional love - he will slowly be ok again & bounce back.

as a man you might feel gosh just drink milk only why so difficult - but its a long baggage the child has stepping into his shoes - he is sad of that old maid association, new anger faced with you. Emotionally he might not be able to accept all these at once. you must quickily scoup him out of this with love.

Maid agency played us out by taking away 2 maids from us within 1 mth. Both maid said cannot look after son though interview they said can. Irresponsible agency asked us find new. This put us in lurch of how to find new maid in such short period of time. Do you have any nanny in bishan or stand in maid to recommend? Who can we complain such irresponsible maid agency?