(2010/04) April 2010 mtb

morning mommies

vic ma,

for disney, depends on whether you like or not. i enjoy my disney trip and wanted very much to go back again next year but it just a dream that won't be fulfil. [IMG=http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Vic ma - correction. Went last week nov (Sg sch hols), not oct. memory getting worse these days.

I thought disneyland's always meant for kids. Haha. Good thing about HK Disney - nothing much to buy [IMG=http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] not like Tokyo.

Do stay on for the evening parade/fireworks. I think that's the best part for me.

been busy untilllllll. the flu bug ran around and i m the last one.... dio dio dio.

plus i changed a new job, cannot work from home anymore!!!! getting used to being in office ALL the time.

rurucat,

no need. ASEAN nationals do not need visas to visit each other's countries. more specifically, I brgt my Filipino maid to MY for CNY back at the ILs and immigration did not ask for visa.

Hi Vic Ma,

U will definitely enjoy disneyland, don't worry! I love that place!

Hi cellow,

Woah, no wonder you AWOL for so long. Thanks for the visa update.

morning mommies

chips,

you see from the tin. it will tell you 1 feed of how many scoop is how many g. from there you can divide and roughly estimate its how many feed.

eg. yu ze's manil gold now is less than 20 feed based on his feed (6 scoops) for 900g.

i always think 3 weeks each day 3 scoup meal 3 feeds. (school twice home once).

21*3 = 63 feeds of 3 scoup enfagrow for 180ml water.

of course if the kid always takes a larger feed or smaller feed then the # total feeds changes.

I supposed everyone already past the stage 1.8lg cannot finish within one month liao ba

My friso 3, 1.8kg only last 12 days.. I'm so angry n suspicious if it was wasted or drink by someone..

The milk has been finishing faster n faster n I already nv feed him during midnight plus sch also nv make milk for them anymore, it should b a saving isn't it.

Morning two feeds before sch, before slp two feeds.. n only make 150ml or 180ml.

morning mommies

chips,

if i didn't remember wrongly, friso is about 49g per 180ml feed. in this case, you have 4 feed a day which will be around 196g per day. take 1800g divide 196g, 1 tin only last you 9 days. so your 1.8kg last you 12 days, its reasonable.

chips,

another way around is to give him 1 bottle instead of. each bottle instead of 180ml, maybe you make 270ml and it will come up to more than 300ml. in this case, you save a bit. slowly he will adjust his requirement. does he really need 2 feed in the morning and night?

yu ze drinks 270ml fm in the morning and 270ml fresh milk at night.

yu xi drinks 200ml fm in the morning, 200ml fm in cc and 200ml fresh milk at night.

yup morning 2 feeds is required.

6.30am 1 feed 180ml back to nap, before sch 8.30am another feed.

before bed - 180ml in living room while changing, another 180ml in bedroom

chips,

i see. he is still young lah. slowly, he will cut down. yu ze is 5 years old liao, still drink like that. he is only 3, milk is good for him.

chips

its not a matter of FM finishing fast, your boy started offwith good appetite in the 1st place.

if you are complaining about FM i think food intake also right? he also eats other food in large quantity too right?

you might want the PD to do a review for u if you are over feeding him or not in the 1st place.

once you decrease all foods in general his appetite might be normalised too.

but if he is eating alot of fruits & veg i wont bother much as those are considered good.

vicma,

drink is good but sometimes finishes too fast and im not sure if its all drank by him.

he had full bowl of rice 2 times a day for weekend if he is at home. In sch, will be according to their menu.

whenever home, eg yesterday he finds himself food and sat down at a corner n eat on own. Ask him if he is hungry, he said yes.. this is only after dinner 1hr. He had his dinner which is not little..

previously I brought him to specialist for his limping leg cause by his sch fren, the doc said he is taller n bigger than his 'suppose to be' size for his age..

good to have him 快高长大.. but sometimes his intake is scary. his stomach become so hard that I have to massage for him.

but kids usually dont know hungry or not. if they happen to like to eat & u ask hungry - they sure will say yes so that they can eat again.

you have to decide as the mom lor what's best.

My girl also wants to eat all the time 30 mins - 2 hrs after a meal she can eat nearly = to 1 meal again & is putting on abit too much weight. I feel as a parent they want to eat let them eat ba cos its a soft hearted thing lor. but this recent expansion is truthfully not fun. Clothes i have to buy often as she grows out of them so soon or i have to buy 4-6 yrs older clothes & sometimes the skirt fit but the blouse too baggy she look so ODD.

its a $$, discipline, health issue too for this eating area. (i myself try not to snack at night le cos once i eat - the kids also want to eat, didi i dont mind cos he under weight but jie jie who will bager for the lion's share is only getting fatter & fatter.

i grew up a fat kid i know the pain. i hope she doesnt have to go thru that.

your boy not fat just big sized thankfully. but u ask around opinion - mine is maybe the food intake all together needs to control abit. eat until tummy hard is not a common problem lor.

chips,

i agree, kids don't really know he is hungry or not. mine can just finished dinner and tell me they are hungry cos they wants to eat the snacks.

i will restrict them on what they eat in cases like this. sometimes, its just more of a habit and not real hungry. its like us adults, if we are used to having supper and suddenly stop having supper, we will be miserable and hungry. however, after some time, we get used to it and we can do without the supper.

Yes, I also feel is habit, but at times I tried to give n he said, I'm full, later`, hmm tat means he knows but I agreed food he likes he will tell mi he wants.

Currently those shorts he is wearing xl, tees age 6 fits him well. Size 4 shoulder n length doesn't fit.

my girl i bot cny dress set omg size 12 lor cos of the waist! she's only 6 in June lor.

the blouse super big so ugly. I bot wo her around if she was around i think i would not have bot. now i am keeping the blouse & let her wear the skirt only 1st.

dresses i am buying size 10 or L or XL depending on brand & cutting. i just so KS & fear soon again she will grow out of it. but cnanot always buy too big also - else look so ugly . & boo Hoo the clothes cannot recycle! i must go find my friend again & start of clothes exchange programe again - she has an older boy & a younger girl opposite for me & we can exchange clothes. else my clothes funds damn chor

my niece - i dont give jie jie's clothes cos the parents dont like old clothes i know so i wont pass any over.

fox is also very irritating hor?

under 3 yrs old the clothes one price range - over 3 another price range. NO sale same $60 budget for eg can buy only 3 items. (1 is sale tee)

got sale like 15% more if u buy more than 5 pcs last yr from OG, $60 got me around 5-6 pcs lor.

i not even talking about pretty dresses or clothes to go out. normal home clothes, tees to wear after bathing in school & shorts also have to replenish from time to time.

I have this evil plan to make jie jie wear more unisex shorts so that i can recycle. Tees as well new wear go out, old wear at home comfy.

i just cleared the kids wardrobe & took out 3 big bags of old clothes in the last 4 months. 1 big bag = 3 ntuc plastic bags worth. that's how much of "cannot wear liao must give or throw" stash.

i am feeling abit overwhelmed this yr. all the logistics, jie jie spelling & pushing her to read more. didi becoming more notti. i dont even do much housework & i am feeling stressed le.

i really kudos to those who dont stay with inlaws & have to do housework & cook & all.

chips,

in this case, he is much bigger then yu ze. yu ze is still wearing his 2t tops, 4t tops are very loose for him. shorts are still 2t, home shorts are those baby wear at home type.

vic ma,

yu xi is much bigger size compare to yu ze. she is wear 3t or 4t size now. i also tend to buy bigger size so she can wear longer.

i dare not think when i have to start more 'work' for yu ze. about 2/3 weeks ago, i started a new routine for them. off tv at 8pm, keep all the toys before they can go to bed and read story books.

last weekends, i added a 5 mins violin practice time for yu ze. keep toys, practice violin and read books. if anything before the reading is not done, then off to bed direct and no more reading. i'm glad, reading book is a very good attraction for them. they don't want to forgo it and willing to do whatever is required.

on some days, i will trade practising violin with berries homework. i thinking of slowly extending the 'homework' time to 20 mins and ultimately 30 mins. i can't decide if i should start my routine earlier or stick to 8 and let them sleep later. at the same time, all these are planned for yu ze. yu xi will most likely want to do the same thing as gor gor. in this case, she is having starting all these way in advanced.

dear all morning

celynlee / vicma

lucky i got recycle from my nephew my sis tend to buy n nv wear, quite a lot still with price tag hehee I can use my fingers to count how many pcs of clothings I bought til now. only on occasion eg cny / birthday then I buy hahaa...

but recently especially this year I start buying some shorts for him, my nephew at tis (3) age alrady expanded too much and his clothing dosent fit my son.. so I have to buy some especially shorts

imagine my nephew tis year p2 he is 42 kg

what is good for snacking? no idea what to stock for him

these are what I have. juices / occasionally juices / wild berries / strawberries / apple / pockeys / individual small pack biscuits at home...

chips,

i'm not sure what is good to snack. whatever snack i have, i only limit them to eat one a day. no second pc or pack.

eg. wang wang biscuit, 1 small pack only. chocolate, 1 pc only. ice cream, mini coneto. yogurt, 1 small cup.

on weekends, if they already eat ice cream after lunch, no more ice cream after dinner. so its strictly 1 pc/pack per item. even potato chip, its only 1 pcs from the big pack, not whole pack.

chips

u got read my FB sharing hor - not sure true or not hotdogs more than 12 a month got lukeimia risk increased 9? times. I was like SHIT man! my girl 6 this yr 23-25 kg now & loves hotdog buns too & i buy for her every week at least 2 times & my dad will buy also so she get 3 times a week that is 12 LOR!!!!!!!!!!!!!

freaking disgusted! if only she loves fruits & veg!!!!

now she at least understand AI MEI so i tell her junk food she really resist MacDonalds not bad! but still!

Vicma

yup I recalled abt the suasages, my k also likes. I think more than the amt ur gal have.

sometimes no choice insist to have it.. my k likes meatball too.. all tis processed meAts kids love most

Celynlee

ice cream, yogurt my k cannot. He will lao saI. Chocolate also seldom give him.

No other idea wat is good, I boughtorganic raisins n oats for him too

chips,

not asking you to give that lah. just quoting you example of what i give and how i limit their amount loh. i don't buy oragnic food for them cos i don't believe in them. :p

you need to distract him wiht other food. he dont see means he wont get lor. cry down the house 2 days then can move on liao. no choice too. 9 times le the risk. i rather i die early.

vic ma,

yes, you are right. don't have it at home, cry the house down also mean don't have. i do that too. don't stock up snack at home. when we buy outside, always pick the smallest pack. once you finished, that's it.

vic ma,

for hot dog, i buy those cocktail size one. each time, only 2 or 3 pieces. i seldom cook them though they like. 1 pack can last me a few months.

celynlee,

i happen to see wont purposely find organic food..

im a junk person, so does my K .. hhaaaa

cocktail sausages off the counter. I boil them ...sometimes go together with his rice and other dishes

hello mummies!

woohooo...today talk abt yum yum food!~!~!

Chips,

Pockey & tibits..go slow...my boy gets only 2 sticks once a day if he asks for it..dried fruit sounds like not bad but once in a super blue moon for my boy ...i dun wana encourage the habit of snacking in btw meals myself.

Hot-dogs / Ham aka processed food

oh well ...there will always be people who take a divided stand on this ..At the end of the day, it boils down to what we can provide smartly within our means ..rather than a hot-dog sausage, maybe we can cook chicken / pork with simple condiments etc aka fresh food lah.

I so love my cocoktail sausages & ham but for the sake of good health, what is there to stop us from making healthier food choices if we can?

hello mummies!!!

snacking : my son learnt snacking nowadays and bo bian have to let him eat what he want, bread/ biscuits/ chocolates or whatever, but try to sneak something healthy inside

BUt he himself rejects sweets... strange kid right? haha

his main food, he is still rejecting at the age ! really dun know what to do with him

he caneat a full bowl of rice if he is happy, or he an also dun eat a single bowl of rice/ food for few days ...

and drink milk only...

my 1.8 kg last him 1 week ++, less than 2 weeks, maybe around 10-12days ?

he drink 175ml + 3 scoop of milk powder X 6 times at least each day ... sometimes even 10 tiems , he will wake up for milk a few times at night sometimes....

Haven't posted for awhile. In the blink of an eye our darlings are going to be 3 years old soon. Now planning my gal's cc birthday goodies bags. Not sure what to put inside if I don't put chocolates/sweets/biscuits. Decided to give stationary and sticker sets.

Hi Mummies! Finally have some time to pop in. Hubby was away in Bangkok and the kids chose to come down with stomach flu (E1) and the flu (E2) at the same time. Grrr... thankfully it's not too serious. Can't wait for them both to be well again.

Celyn: It's great that you are starting the kids on a routine. For a while we did Shichida home practice with E1 every night before bed and bed time reading. But since E2 came along, we have had to put them to bed separately, at different times etc so we have not been able to do daily Shichida training sessions. Must get our act together and start again. Thankfully we have managed to continue her bed time reading.

Been so long since I added some post here haha..

Was reading chip's and Vic ma's post on food intake. Sometimes really envy kids who are not fussy with food. My J, though not classified as fussy by my mum but classified VERY fussy by the MIL. She commented that he is not eating meat so he is fussy [IMG=http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I've tried ways to get him to try meat but he simply refused. The only meat he takes are fishes, hotdogs and nuggets only. Sigh... It's so stress going back to TW now cause I don't get appreciated for being a mum, in fact I get penalized because my boy is fussy! They deemed me a fussy eater because my son is fussy. Grrrr.....

Now I just hope that #2 will be a big eater and eats everything and hope that she is chubby chubby lor. If not my stress level gonna get double again! o.0

Hi Ming,

Yes, it is very stressful when both kids are sick. It was a nightmare week awhile back when my gal was down w hfmd and spread to didi a few days later.

Ruru: I am packing E1's goodie bags too! Dr Seuss books were marked down 20% at Popular so I am giving each kid a Dr Seuss Book , a bottle of bubbles, a pack of oreo biscuits and some gummies.

morning mommies

ming8110,

they always have a routine but not a routine on 'doing homework' but they are ok with it as of now.

ruru cat,

we are told by cc no food in goodie bags, so no sweets, chocolates, etc.

orangey,

don't worry, every kid is different.

Thanks Ruru and Celyn!

Yeah, I kept telling them EVERY CHILD IS DIFFERENT but to the MIL, they simply loves to compare. Hub's cousin's son in TW is 7 months old and weigh a whopping 10kg, really enormous in size and MIL kept praising how great the mum is etc etc. She's like telling me I'm not a good mum because my J is not fat and chubby. She felt that me being not overweight is the cause because I am not eating enough to provide the sufficient nutrients in the BM for J when we were on total breastfeeding. Even if I explained that I eat 8 regular meals a day doesn't suffice and the hub helps to prove. That's the main reason why I sometimes get really upset over my MIL.

They are really contradicting. She complaint that hub's cousins are too overweight and no one helps to control their diet when they were young etc but on the other hand, she wants us to make J overweight. I was like.. it's easy to put on weight rather than losing weight. As long my child is healthy, I'm happy. Sometimes don't know how to stop her from adding more comments. No wonder my BIL doesnt like to stay at home lol!

orangey,

just treat that she is 'singing' loh. here in and here out on such comments. or best is leave j for her to look after and see if she can fatten him up.

hello mummies!!!

Orangey...Same point...As long as the child is growing up well & healthy, being chubby or not is not important...hard hor when u in TW listening to yr MIl's jabs ..but then give yrself a pat on the back ( we all deserve it!) for a job well done nevertheless.

bday Goody bag

Ok..kiasu me ..my boy's goody bags are done just last night! ...whahaha ...a set of stationary, a party blower, some biscults & gummies ...Nw our kids getting bigger so fast..i reckon stationary sets aka something useful might be a better option..anyway im buying a cake for the kiddos in class to blow candle so no nid overload on the foodstuff/tibits.

Ruru,

Can i be yr gal's classmate?? then i will get a dr seuss book :p

Hi XLH,

Neh, it is ming's daughter bag that has a storybook. My gal's one is just sticker set, stationary and some biscuits and raisins (succumbed to tibits in the end).

i bot the sealed activity colouring cum sticker themed bags from that seller we always buy from 1+ month back & got enough for didi birthday next month & jie jie's in June.

i might get the snap on watches too if she runs that bp agagin soon for jie jie's class. i recall it was $2 or $2.50

lol..ruru ...confused me!

is it just me? im excited like duno what ...dh say i smiling v silly when i packed the goody bags last night!