(2010/04) April 2010 mtb

Orangey,

my BT also not as good.. consider normal (higher than low risk). Gynae said I have a choise if i want to do further testing and both me and my hb decided not to go for the amnio because of the risk...

from what i know, NT scan has alot of false positive case cause it takes population from UK too...

this is my 1st preg too..

now, i will fully trust my bb!

Wonderland,

Mind sharing your BT ratio? Actually I find that the calculation can be confusing.. One of my friend who is ard the same weeks as me.. her PAPP-A is 0.205iu/i and I have mine at 0.492iu/i. She is classified as very low risk and I'm classified as high risk?! I assume its my HCG that pull down the whole ratio.

ooh...tks lynn! Tink early b4 got ask BBdust similar qn but now 4get n v lazy to search...hehehe ;p

Yiwen, orangey. Please dun cry n be strong. I wouldnt noe hw to react too if my results next week also not ideal. But Must have faith in yrself n keep ur bb in prayers. Am sure yr bbs will noe n turn out v healthy n fine one. Jiayou n All The Best! Hope to hear good news soon...

SG-SC

i think your spice question - tummy more sensitive so chilli & spices can "irritate' it abit more than usually lor.

& if u dont eat small frequent meals/snacks - u can also develop abit of gastric which i had when i continued to work forgot to eat lor. after that whatever i ate caused tummy discomforts.

Hi girls, those of you who have booked your CL, how much are you paying?

What are the rules/T & C set?

What is the market rate now huh?

Orangey - Am from the Mar10 thread. On a similar note, my results also not ideal, but I really believe my bb is OK. Btw, i tell bb to be strong and healthy when I 'connect' with bb.

My blood test result was ok but NT not good. To give myself a piece of mind, i will go take amnio.

There are couples who do not perform these additional tests and await for BB's arrival.

No point worrying. U must keep yourself positive ok?

not sure abt market rate but this is my quotation from a confinement agency: this amount seems rather common after comparing with my sis and SIL.

$1,850 ($500 deposit, remaining to CL after confinement of 28 days)

$168 levy (m'sian CL - amt to be paid direct to govt)

$270 herbs package (incls red dates drink, herbs for bathing, herbs for cooking)

2 red packets for day 1 and last day (av amt $30)

i'm exhausted today [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] didnt sleep well - woke up twice to pee and to close windows coz it was raining. was also hungry and had to snack. misery [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] + hubby's snoring, can die!

Hi vic ma,

Thanks .. i shall get the plastic and use it tonight.. so dreprived.. this cannot, tt cannot..

i almost used my Tiger Balm for shoulder and neck oilment last night, then the words behind says " for pregnant ladies, babies, children under 12" pls seek doctor's opinion before using..

so i held back and used the normal oilment.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

woofy, seems like it's like tat...wakefulness at night, sleepiness in the day. an article i read said it's nature's way of preparing us for a crying baby. argh!

orangey,

my papp-a is 3.978 iu/i eh.. what is this measured for ah? I did not ask the gynae, only focus on overall risk rating...

Mine is even higher lor....

Would like to check if you all still have morning sickness? I still vomit till yesterday though I'm 14th week now.

orangey, I also abit worried.. but just tell myself to trust my bb...

A story to share, my ex-boss whom was abt/over(not too sure) 40 yo got preg last year and choose not to go for OSCAR test because they are catholic and believe in no abortion - take whateveer god gives. They enjoy the preg period and a healthy bb was borned few months ago....

see, sometimes I regret to take the OSCAR test also, but I told myself that I enjoyed the OSCAR scanning because I got to see my bb actively jumping here and there in my tummy....

plus, the risk rating will kind of give me an indication... but only indication....

I still trust my bb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] you should, too...

vic ma, no choice lei...nowadays jus love spicy and stronger tasting foods...at least more taste coz tongue always very bland...yah, prob shld snack in betwn then i wont pig out during meals.

wah CL so exp one ah..everything costs like $2.3k...

wonderland, u r such an optimistic mommy. I salute u! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lynn/XLH, these few nites always rain so nice to sleep, but we stil must wake up pee 2, 3 times damn sickening lor. yday i also suddenly wakie at 5+ then stare at ceiling, cannot sleep.

hehe...Sg-SC ...there was one period ..i zz ard 9+ ..woke up ard 12+ midnite...woke up AGAIN ard 3+am n stone till 6am + ..by then time i get to office, im like a panda..darn tiring..had to munch some snacks eg an apple or some milk n do some reading to make myself tired out then immed KO into my bed...im keeping my fingers crossed that this is a passing phase *-*.

I would like to recommend my Confinement Lady, Siew Zhen.

She did confinement for me in 2007 and is currently doing for me now for my 2nd delivery.

She's energetic and experienced, having been in this line for 7yrs, cooks well and is able to handle my baby and my toddler well. Best of all, she doesn't keep nagging me on the dos and don'ts of confinement and is also experienced enough to advise me a bit on breastfeeding.

Her contacts:

92440112 (Singapore Hdp)

019-7733251 (M'sian Hdp)

012-7393588 (M'sian Hdp)

Do contact her if you are interested to engage her services. And well, she's already booked until Mar 2010.

Wonderland,

Increase in PAPP-A is okay [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Your overall risk is normal then good! Mine is borderline at 1:409. What about yours? I tried to PM you but seems like you cannot accept PM.

jasda, do you vomit every day? anyway, i still get nausea altho not too long ago i thot it was over. vomitted quite badly yesterday. survived the train ride this morning and still ok so far. but nausea is still there. i'm mid week 12.

quite a few ladies here week 14 still getting ms i read.

SG_SC, the bland taste in the mouth v irritating rite? the moment i finish my food that's it - i'm all uncomfortable again. and i also inclined to take spicy food coz more tasty. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I dont know lei..

My friend gave birth to #2 at age 32. has down symptoms. recently, #3 perfectly normal...so i also dont know lei...must wait until i do my OSCAR tomorrow then see.

lynn,

is that confinement agency good? my #1 confinement lady not good, so not going back. The agency confinement ladies are all malaysians ah? do they still need to go and stamp their passport every 2 weeks?

orangey,

mine ratio is 1:720+ and it sld be 1:750+ based on my age group.

I don know lei.. gynae just draw my attention to the adjusted risk... and 1 of my fren has 1:600+ just gave birth to a healthy bb... so you need not worry too much...

Wonderland,

You dont even have to worry. The Genetic counsellor told me as long as not borderline risk don't have to worry. Anyway they actually did a doppler test for me.. which improved my risk ratio to 1:6659 but u know lah the stupid BT ratio [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

orangey, i just changed my profile setting. try if can PM me if you want to know more.. but not sure i can help much coz I am 1st time mummy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i cant vouch for the agency, i went there coz my sis recommended her CL to me and she got from that agency so i'm booking the same CL. my sis said coz agency handle, they no need to go stamp their passports every 2 weeks - maybe that's where my $168 govt levy goes to.

haha...XLH! u sleep so early one ah..coz u anticipate the sleeplessness ah? sigh...yalor, we v poor thing hor, then sometimes i see my HB sleep so soundly i will feel unbalanced then will purposely make him wake up by complaining out loud or toss n turn v hard...haha..he must suffer wif mi lor.

yalor lynn, but besides these spices irritating our stomachs, not much effects rite? as in wont harm our bbs? Hope not coz im the type must have lotsa chili padi wif almost every meal one..very mafan...

haha, ya i get jealous that my hubby sleeps so well too...AND i have to suffer his snoring somemore. so i always jab him to stop the snoring but it only works for a little while. he doesnt have a clue the next morning except this morning he asked if i tickled him - tats coz i was too tired n weak to jab him.

i dun think will harm our babies la. anyway, except for today coz i had waaay too much chilli, my tummy usu ok with spices one. i not as high level as you as to take chili padi - chili padi makes me cry. haha.

morning sickness

sometimes if u are more well rested at nite or maybe consider a short nap afternoon - u can feel better

dia

pregnancy is so sacred most pple put disclaimer.

I think u stilll ask your gynae next visit if u can bring along that particular plaster type too.

its like 1 evil over another. I think u only put some parts of the body its not as bad. dealing with aches & pains & say inability to sleep properly could be worse than using the plasters lor.

SG_SC,

Not stupid.. not many pple know what's a Doppler test. I don't even know when the Prof at KKH told me they did this for me. Told me that Doppler can detect any defects of the blood vessels and monitor the blood flow. If blood flow is normal then baby is pretty safe of not having Down Syndrome. He said babies with down syndrome have back flowing blood. Actually not v clear also lah.. i just listen blurry cause i was already panicking for my BT ratio [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

2 links for your info:

http://www.fetal.com/Genetic%20Sono/03_gen%20us%20color%20dopp.html

http://www.fetal.com/Genetic%20Sono/05_gen%20us%20women%20younger%2035.html

icic..tks orangey. am so confused over all these 'terminology'. So issit a compulsory test done together wif the 11-13 weeks test? There r so many tests n wif advanced technology these days, dunno whether its a blessing or not to noe so much b4hand. The pple back then had no such tests then n seems like everyone jus joyfully await for their bb's arrival, one aft the other...sigh.

Orangey, Things might not be as bad as you tink. Please be strong n must tink +ve k!

u see why out mth very hormonal - cos we also doing the 1st trimester / down tests & morning sickness is tapering off or just started to get worse.

its added stress & hormones!

haha Lynn, ur HB same as mine. Will snore but now better liao, only wen he v tired. Then i wil elbow him, then he will stop for a while, then cont again lor...hahaha...ur HB finds it ticklish ah...next time u shld pinch him hard to wake him up so he cant act blur in morn. *evil grin*

vic ma, dun scare mi...tot they say MS aft 1st tri shld taper down liao...my MS stil ok, wont vomit like most mommies here so xinku, only nausea or wen brush teeth. But oredi v torturing n super lethargic liao. So u mean the worse is yet to come??!!

yeah..n all these sufferings r caused by our overloaded hormones...arrgghhh

SG-SC

it should taper off after 10th -12th week. this period shold be the worse.

but its hard to say cos everyone's diff. small minority MS thru-out.

i not scaring u la but its just someone asked why our batch so hormonal lor.

just a fact - my friend called the clinic 3 times for her down scan results ar 1 mth ago very Kan cheong one lor.

SG_SC,

No lah.. I'm better already. Comparing to last week, I didn't cry this week. Hehe.. I believe my baby is very healthy and normal plus with the Doppler test even more confident cause risk ratio now 1:6659 but hor.. think see expert opinion better [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Will be considering to do my 22wks Detailed scan with Camden Medical instead of KKH. Alot commented that Camden detailed scan are so much detailed than most reputable hospitals. Will really consider if the cost is not that high.

jasda, hang in there. vomiting every day is damn horrible. my sis had v bad ms too - the type have to be hospitalised one. hers stopped at week 14, so hope yours too.

there's no guarantee, some pp vomit throughout their entire pregnancy. hope none of us here like tat.

SG_SC, i no strength to pinch him ah...usu quite tired and sleepy...just nudge nudge to stop him, then quickly try to sleep before the snoring comes back.

thanks lynn for your encouragement. It really comfort me a lot. Agree vomitting everyday is horrible, mine is non-stoppable one sometimes.

jasda

today i just vomitted whole lunch. its controllable but a dialemma. I could have prevented it - but i tot give it a try.

if u vvomit u feel better but then u get hungry again - very lechey if u are working lor -eat & eat.

its my #2 maybe i can control it better. but last week started to have uncontrollable want to vomit must run to toilet streaks then sometimes good - no clear indication getting better or worse- this week i am week 11.

hi vic_ma,

yes i vomitted a few times my dinner too. Normally my MS is during evening time after 5pm.

This time is my #2 too, but MS is worse [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] My MS peak at week 11 and 12, when I need to have spare plastic bags with me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my ms rears its ugly head during meal times, esp lunch and particularly dinner time. spoil all my appetite even further.

i used to carry plastic bags around until recently when i thot it got better. after i nearly vomited in the train yesterday, i carry plastic bag again today.... =.=

jas i could be travelling end Oct to japan i am worried as i dont know what to bring - zip locks i guess incase of vomitting hor?

also bringing my 28 mth old.

once my hb & SIL confirms its more or less confirmed going le. I was actually secretly wishing not to go. cos my MS sitll so shitty.