(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

smalldreams>you didn't put a bumper around the cot? we did that since ayden got too active and at least it stops his hands/legs from getting stuck. its a bit warm in it though so we will on the aircon if he sleeps in it.

lamb>maybe put a booster between your hubby and your gal? that's what we do and it seems to help. put her higher up and let your quilt only cover her body? I'm sure you will figure out something de. actually when ayden sleeps in his cot, he only has his bean pillow and a blanket. nothing else.

maybe you got more free time at home so focus a lot of your gal. find something else to occupy your time sometimes so yuo won't be so stressed over your gal? I don't even know if I crawled but I know hubby skipped his crawling stage too. But in the end, oso ok. My friend's son also only learnt to crawl/walk when he was older than 1 year old. But now running around a lot. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

smalldreams - I also once heard from a cabbie that the area near the casino? Is reclaimed land, and has caused a lot of bad flooding during rain. I dunno how true also lah. I mean, I dun travel around that area so I dunno lor.

smalldreams>hi 5. I also have no system or discipline for ayden. feed him as and when he wants and lets him sleep as and when he wants. donno good or bad...

Lamb: You can put the bolster or roll towel and put them under the bed sheets so she cannot reach and take the bolster. Ysh, today's weather is shitty man, thot can go shopping. Sibei sian ah!!!

TYL, little Lamb

then again, sometimes it's easier for us to say if we're not facing the situation. I recalled previously, someone I know was very worried coz her son wasn't walking yet at about 14 mths but another person assured here all was normal. However, it was the other person's turn to worry when her own son didnt quite meet the milestones himself. That made me realise that it's always easy to tell others not to worry... Then again, I think no one can empathise another mother's woes like another.

smalldreams - Dun say that lah ... it's just different parenting styles. I am really an uptight mom and I know it! I need to change ... seriously. Otherwise I'd be so highly strung ... while my gal is still there smiling away at me all the time.

lsntyl - Yah, maybe I have too much free time on my mind to think about these things. But hard to get a hobby lah ... my time is all tied up with her also. *sigh*

wei : yr esther so gd ? Can sit on her own w/o any support liao ? How u train her ?

TYL / small dreams : heee....my bb also like to flip in her cot & whenever she does so her legs will get caught or she cant flip back then will make noise....;p

smalldreams>hee, i know what you mean also lah. easy to say, hard to do.

lamb>that's the good and bad thing about being a SAHM bah. Because she is your main concern, you sure worry a lot about her de. I've to work so only get to see Ayden at night or on weekends so don't want to spend too much time stressing over his milestones. As long as he's gaining weight, eating and sleeping well and generally learning new things, I'm happy le. Get a hobby that both of you can do? Reading? Baking? Sewing? The last 2 you can learn a bit first then when she's older, you can do with/for her.:p

Xin, I din go down personally. Spoke wif d doc over d phone cos her nurse was quite clueless when I asked her abt d vaccinations. So d nurse put me to d doc directly. So in person oso blur huh? Heng I din go in d end.

My no 1's fever climbed up to 38.7 degrees. Juz fed her Leng Leong water. Got to wait another hr before giving her fever med. Poor gal so worried dat she wun get well but she looks ok except for d fever n cough. Get well soon darling!

ET : Thanks for the link and the comments are really funny lah! LOL, so Singaporean, can die laughing man!

I am worried.. long ago, the older folks warn against digging too much , will have consequences . I am scare and hope my family are safe when they go to work.

Melissa and Wendy, u r right. The huggies price doesn't seem attractive. Wendy, huggies ultra has jumbo pack? I can only find the 34pcs (L size) pack so far. Where can get the jumbo pack?

Wei,Esther is so cute n can sit on her own le. My LO gg to be 6mths in 5 days time n still can't sit independently, like a snake, no backbone n loves to lean on people. Haizzz...

Jessie n Lamb, seems that SH and SG weather sama sama. Am off today and wana bring LO out gai gai. But decided to stay at home instead coz of the bad weather.

Lamb, I given up tracking my LO's milestones since 3mths+ when he can't lift his head up on his tummy like other BBs. I was so stress up n despite all the tummy time, he refused to lift up his head. Then one fine morning at exactly 5mths, he suddenly flipped on his tummy n lifted his head for a good 20sec and gave me a big grin. I laughed at myself and decided to stop tracking and let him develop at his own pace. Dun wan any more grey hair! :D

Talking abt vacinnations, I super lazy to recce the price n decided to go back to PD. I told PD I have zero knowledge what jab to take so he must tell me when the time is up. Keke, hold him responsible.

Smalldreams, U retiring at 2042, I think I gota work until 2050! Sad.... sob sob

Oh dear, hope bbs who r unwell recover soon. Mummies and daddy, do take care too and drink lots of water n pop vitamins.

yuki>you not going marina for the young parent's fair? I hope my course will end early so I can pop by. :p

my parent's helped me get the huggies jumbo pack at ntuc. just checked and realised I left 1 huggies ultra M and 1 fitti M. Wonder if I should go get more... Think I too kiasu when I stocked up on huggies earlier. I've 4 huggies ultra L and 1 huggies ultra L jumbo. :p

Yuki

So you gathering orders for the huggies? A lot of work you know...hehee...

TYL

I'm thinking of going down to the fair too but wonder what there'd be there. Maybe I'll ask if hubby can drive down there after picking the kids up. Just a short outing later.

Still stuck in office...gahhh... haven't even pumped!

Wei -- Esther is so cute !! And like what some others have already commented, she can sit really well!! Steady xia!

Abt the Shicinda method. A friend also asked me whether I was interested to sign up for the class but I'm not that keen. Although I do wonder if there are any benefits of all these classes and if I'm putting my babies at a disavantage if I do not enroll them in classes/use flashcards etc etc.

On another friend's recommendation, I bought a book "Einstein Never Used Flash Cards". It is a really interesting book written by 2 children developmental psychologists. I'm halfway through the book right now and basically it is propagating the school of thought that children learn best through play and they need to play more and memorise less. It also explains how over stimulation of the brain might be bad in the long run and how some research has been distorted by the media and product marketers to make parents believe in "hype" like how letting babies listen to mozart builds a better brain. It basically encourages parents to step away from the cult of achievement and towards a more nurturing home environment filled with play.

Being a lazy mother, I would like to believe in all these and I do lean more towards this school of thought. But there will always be more than 1 school of thought and perhaps I'll end up taking the middle road just to be on the safe side!!

TYL, still have light drizzle at my hse leh, n also need to MIL hse for dinner tonite. The YP's fair worth going?

Talking abt gg MIL place makes me feel so sian. Always drag myself go every week. Sure kana 'swan' by her and she treats me transparent. Siannnn.....

smalldreams/yuki>donno if the fair is worth going. but just curious mah. nowadays, always checking out bb fairs. :p

but my course going really slow leh. bored!

chameleon>I read some articles based on that book. As a lazy mom who doesn't have much time with her boy, I like this school of thought too. :p anyway, my parent's are unlikely to use the flash cards even if I get them and I think they are not useful if you don't use them regularly so... :p

jessietan - Shitty? That's any understatement man! My whole mood's super fouled up. I can only count on my gal to cheer me up later. LOL. So she better know what to do! I am crazy. Think my DH also knows better ... just now called me to tell me he bought the things i want him to also. Otherwise tonite no dinner for him! Muahhahahaha.

smalldreams - Yeap ... I guess as a mom, we will worry NO MATTER WHAT. It's not so much about comparing sometimes. It's about how she's developing. I dun expect her to excel beyond her milestones. Sometimes, I dun even know if I'm doing the right things by training her with her motor skills.

ET - Whoa, did the floor take place today?

TYL -- Haha. We can form a lazy mom's club! Agree with you abt flashcards too. If I do use them (my mom has bought some for me already!) it will probably just be to entertain the babies with the words and pictures every now and then without any expectation of them becoming super babies and being able to learn to read/recognise words earlier. Another book that is quite popular is "The Hurried Child". I might look for that after I am done with "Einstein Never Used Flash Cards".

Smalldreams, no I m nt in Australia.

TYL, tks. She juz took her high fever med n trying to sleep now. Coughing away n so worried shd wun get well cos of her hospitalization 2 yrs ago. She's such a worry bug.

I oso wan to join d lazy mummies club.

I oso believe in letting my LO develop at his own pace n not rush him. Most of d time d pressures dat developed will b on d parents rather then d young babies cos dun think they knw wat pressure is right now. So let's juz relax n enjoy them as they r now.

bubblebath > pray your #1 gets well soon.

I am stuck at home today cos Bryan is still having fever on and off after his 5-in-1 and prevenar on wed. PD just told me this morning that if his fever dun totally go away by Monday, I have to bring Bryan back to the clinic.. Argh!!! To add on, I am having cough n flu, so I m like spreading the virus around... My work is also piling so high that I am drowning in office. I really need a breather!

yuki - Yah ... been raining quite a fair bit in SH these few days. But can't really complain also coz' the rain also did bring down the temperature quite a bit. :p We're gonna be having a whole week ahead of rain! Including this weekend. And next week's rain comes with 35 degrees temperature lor. Lagi xien!

lsntyl - Yeah, the both of us enjoy reading too. :p But cannot read in the evening or she'll get over-stimulated. LOL.

re: rashes

Read some threads about rashes... Bryan is also suffering from some bad rash on his cheek to eyes area. looks so red and scaly, especially when his fever comes in. PD said its common to babies at this stage cos they spend a lot of time sucking their fingers and then wiping their faces with the wet fingers.

Lamb, agree with u so xien with the rain plus the 35deg temp. SG 33deg I already bui da han le.

I jus gave BB Chris the teething biscuit. OMG, it is so messy! The biscuit turns a little soggy after a few bites n starts to have crumbs all over his romper n rocker. N yes, his hands so dirty n he happily touches his face n got biscuit facial.. faintzzz

Mummies, I have the following items to let go. If u or your friends interested, pls PM me okie? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

1) Benedictine DOM 750ml, 3 bottles (Brand new, unopened)

$58 for 1 bottle

$55 each, if buy all 3 bottles

Self collect at Serangoon North, Bukit Panjang or Orchard.

2) Drapolene Cream, 55g, twin tube (Brand new, sealed)

Expiry: Feb 2012

$8.50 for twin tube, free normal postage

3) AVENT Moisturising Nipple Cream, 30ml (Brand new, unopened)

Expiry: June 2011

$17, free normal postage

wei: ooooo...esther is so "pinch-able"!

xin: Oh dear... DH was just telling me that chai chee was flooded earlier this morning, saw an RX8 almost one-third submerged in water. *heartpain*

megan: 5-in-1 jabs need to sign package? I went for the 6-in-1 jab at Healthway@Pasir Ris, the clinic assistant told us it is pay-per-visit. The doc is quite nice, he has a 5-yr-old daughter, so he can understand our concerns as new parents. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

little_lamb: somehow our LOs will pick up the necessary skills. It's just like when we were young, our parents/grandparents/nanny will just leave us alone and we'll play on our own. Emma hated tummy time too, we probably put her on her tummy 3 mins each time, 3 times a week. But somehow she managed to roll on her own, and now watches TV on her tummy. They are a lot smarter than we think, let Nat surprise you okay? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bubblebath: hope no.1 feels better soon!

I'm also a lazy mommy, my cousin-in-law was telling me to enroll Em to GUG at 10months, I'm not too keen though. I'd really want her to develop at her own pace. All I'm doing now is to read to her every evening.

Bringing Em to the PD at east shore later, think Em has caught ringworm on her back. Probably from my in-laws' dogs (though they'll never admit).

Littlelamb, mstan, yuki: yes Esther can sit quite well now on her own but can only flip from back to front n not the other way.. I only remembering sitting her with pillow supporting her back since she's about 2.5 month old... A few times a day but not longer then half an hour. I dunno if that helps.. But for sure now sitting up is not enough for her... Keep wanting to stand n we always telling her to slow down..

Lin: hahaha… your girl sounds so much like my boy! Has the nanny seen her flip before? If yes, then believe her lah.

Erfi: Your girl so interesting, can spin, so cute! Ya, can be worrying when we see babies so much younger than ours can flip and ours haven't master it yet. But I think as long as they are healthy, it will be a matter of time before they do it.

Chameleon: I saw that book in the library but din borrow. I also think sometimes certain things are hyped up by media and marketing folks. Recently, one of my hubby’s friends told us something interesting: he has a colleague who used to work for a very well known Japanese skincare brand. They did this research where they had 2 groups of people trying out their products, but unknown to one group, they are given some ‘ordinary’ products of another brand. Yet in the end, both groups claim that the products produced great results! So sometimes marketing can misled us to believe in something which isn’t real.

Andie: what is GUG?

anione knows cures for sorethroat? My girl seems to get it rather easily. But we don't let her scream very long lei. at most 10mins.

cheerieheart: Growing Up Gifted. They are quite popular among my group of friends with toddlers 2-3 years old.

My MIL seems interested in starting Em on the piano though. She's a piano teacher. Guess that gives them more bonding time as well.

hi all..

I have alot of excess ebm.. any recommendations on what I can do with it? I have about 80+ bags at my parents-in-law's freezer and 50+ bags in my own freezer, and still got additional 2 bags to freeze everyday.

I have tried posting on the forum to give away. What other things can I do with the extra ebm if I can't find anyone who wants to take?

cheerieheart> heh yah that's a good takeaway =) i also agree that though i read a lot, i'll still find and adjust to what suits LO best.

semi solids> i tried giving my girl cereal today according to 1tbsp to 4tbsp. she doesnt push the spoon out and in fact she wants "more" as in will want to move towards the spoon and open her mouth but she doesn't swallow the mixture. Does this mean she's not ready?

happy bellies cereal> hey mummies, i think my hb/i accidentally pass the dented tins to one or two of you. we wanted to keep that and wait for the new tins from evitaminstore to arrive. if you would like a replacement, you need to wait for the new tins to arrive ah, it's supposed to arrive 4 days ago but til now haven.

Little lamb:

Hi, i am actually a Feb mummy but i do enjoy reading the Jan mummy posts cuz always found them to be very enlightening.

My gal is also on a Gina Ford routine. She's currently 5mths old. I am planning to start her on solids at 6mths. Care to share if the Gina Ford of Weaning is worth reading or buying and if it's easy to follow? Thanks lots[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My kid is actually born on the 31 dec... of all days. She was supposed to come out on the 5th jan. So i'm in denial and i'm in this thread:p

Hey SP: I actually borrowed Gina Ford books from the library, cos i never reread books. My hubby and I were just saying that if wefollowed such a routine, we don't need to go out on weekends already.and the relatives cannot play with her or visit. Just stay at home and follow the routine. the routine works for your girl? since when did you implement it? I think it works better for SAHM? I have a friend who is a SAHM and has 3 kids all on the routine. She has limited support and help so she has to stick the kids on a routine if not she'll go crazy..

Hi Mummies! Sorry for interuption [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I'm signing my baby @ Sean Lau Baby photography for photoshoots. Anyone interested to have a photo session for ur baby with Sean Lau? I'm trying to gather min.10pax to get better deal. 20 slots to go… interested mummies pls PM me or send to my email @ [email protected] Sean Lau Webbie - http://www.seanlau.com/home/home.html

callalily,

Personally, I find the Book of Weaning a good read if your LO is already following G Ford's routine. Coz' it's more like in detail what's to be done in meal times. In it, G Ford also shares recipes. Personally, I dun find her recipes suitable for me except some. Coz' DH and I are more chinese style people when it comes to food. Especially DH.

He basically dislikes ang mor food. So I must adapt my gal's tastes to eating more asian style cooking. I haven't completed the book as it extends all the way to 2 y/o. I like the back page though, where she does the A to Z of foods. It's like a glossary of different baby foods and when to introduce to them. Maybe you can try borrowing from the library like ShaDing did and see if it's worth getting.

Personally, I feel G Ford's books should be bought and not borrowed because you'd need to refer to it as and when. :p

ShaDing - Actually, even if your LO is on G Ford, you can still bring her out. Your relatives or friends can still pop over her place during play time to play with her. Sometimes, I do have lunch outside and I'll just bring a stroller for her to sleep inside. But I do agree with you that it's somewhat easier for a SAHM to implement this routine coz' if you're working, it's hard to enforce your caregiver (especially old folks) to follow. My mom for example, thinks 4 hours is too long a gap to feed her. She also isn't comfortable for my gal to sleep through the nite without feeding from 10.30pm onwards.

andie, there's suppose to be a package price, pay one time only...anyway i regret going healthway cos the doc dun really check on the bb, i shd bring my girl to poly cos the poly nurses are more experience...

yo ladies,

arrrgghhhh is it the weather....its nice but so many babies start falling sick...

yeocouple, bubblebath...

me juz brot tytus into KKH A&E as well....he didn't drink whole of yesterdae..only had 1 jar food..we also tried to self medicate since wed..doesn't seem to go well...went to polyclinic on fri...juz so as to get him check on his cough & flu...and get referral for his flat head..

results of trip: on nebuliser to clear his airway...total 7 mins.,.suprisingly he did not struggle like T2 in the past...he gladly took it...and attempted to put the mask into his mouth!!...

went for xray, oxygen test...and doc made him drink 15ml milk..every 15mins...see if his appetite improve...

check for my primary concern..his flat slanted head...& confirmed by doc he haf plagiocephaly..doesn't affect growth, developement..but its a cosmetic problem..he may grow up wif this weird headshape...

doc wasn't concern..book his next appt to be 10 Aug..came bk & google...juz let me chanced upon dat KKH does haf the helmet to mould his head round...& physio...

jessie,

tytus oso can turn 1 side nia...and he cannot flip bk at all...

wei,

esther v pretty...she oso look abit like angmoh kia hor??....any foreign blood in your family??...i agree wif the ladies...she sit v v well!!.....

maid found new use for bumbo...

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4161776.jpg]

listless tytus at KKH

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4161777.jpg]

Fat babe, hope tytus gets well soon.

Yeo couple, how's your LO doing?

Brought my no 1 to see PD tis morn. PD pointed out dat 1 of d med from GP contains steroid n asked me to stop giving. I was quite shocked at tis. How can d GP gif a 6 yr old steroids for sore throat n inflammation? PD says it will lower her immunity. Will not bring her to GP nxt time n will go straight to PD. Sigh.

Anyway, sneaked off to see Lucas in the afternoon while DH watched over no 1. So happy to see him! Gonna miss him when I'm away for work next week. Cross over to Sat n Sun somemore. So dun feel like going but haf no choice.