(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

Kyxy - kekeeke u check it out lar...i read from other forums on my own gynae and friends..he is good [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ahh..all these talks on doula make me so wana engage one!!!

ET - i think everything also can lar....but in moderation....i think the only thing is a big no no will be pineapples.....keekeke...my own philosophy bah..

ET,

You can eat and drink anything that you want actually. As long as its done in moderation, I think its fine. Your body and baby will also know what's best for you. If your baby doesn't like it, your body will naturally expel it out for and from you.

I had ribena, sprite, orange juice for my first pregnancy. All except apple juice which my baby will make me puke out. Everything in moderation is the key. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My baby was 3.5kg at birth and I also managed to go down to pre-pregnancy weight after 3 months so I think if you don't overdo things it should be fine. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Relax and enjoy the glowing process of pregnancy, ET! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

maidenleak - WOW!! u manage to go down to pre-pregnancy weight...ENVIOUS!!....i hope and cross my fingers tat i will b able to..kekeke

ginger,

can lah! With you waking up in the night to nurse that little sunshine, who will not lose weight and also our previous sleep? hahahha

I'm sure you'll be fine a year from now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

maidenleak - :p erm erm erm erm.....i am going to engage a confinement lady so i can konk out at night lei...:p :p :p

*guilty...i think i must be the most super lazy mummy...just think of only ZZZZZZZZZZzzzzz and nto nursing...wahahhaha

ginger - I engaged confinement lady too but all the feedings were done by me cuz I was breastfeeding. Oh and I forgot to add, breastfeeding makes u lose weight too!

Are u intending to breastfeed?

ginge, can la, i also managed to go back to pre-pregnancy weight after birth. Dono y leh, i eat a lot of nasi briyani during preg days, but din go over 20kg, i only gain 13kg throughout. dono this preg will have the same boh, keke!

maidenleak - :p errrr super paisei i am going to ask something stupid here....i tot can breast pump milk in advance so i can sleep throughout the night :p not mei??? ekekekekekekekkeekkeek

joy - i alreaady gain 5kg...i wonder will i still be gaining....i have never go above 50kg in my life!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ginger> haha i also so tempted to engage a doula =x

and hor i super lazy mum BUT not engaging confinement lady, so bo bian tink i gonna be panda liao... or hope bb like me... prefer to sleep throughout the nite!!!

maidenleak> ur 1st pregnancy sound interesting... doula and water birth...

hi maidenleak,

I was with Ginny in year 2006. so dun think we have meet b4. When I had my no. 4 last yr, I did engaged Ginny but need not attend the course again so have not pop by her new place then.

So how was your water birth experience? Why din you opt for another water birth this time? And thanks for the clarification on the water birth in Mt A. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yes, I did went down to my pre-pregnancy weight too but that was after 6 mths. And I totally agreed breastfeeding helps alot. The most obvious part is my tummy. So mummies, do hang on to breastfeeding if you wanna lose weight ya... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ginger - No question is too stupid. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Being a first time mum, there will be many anxious moments. I had my own fair share and every moment is a learning lesson for both hubby and I.

of course you can pump milk but in the first six weeks of life, its better to let baby latch on to establish your supply.

Only baby's latching is the most natural way of extracting milk from your body. We can pump exclusively too but somehow its my personal preference that the pump will never be able to extract out the milk as efficiently as a baby.

go to www.kellymom.com for more breastfeeding info. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

remember to also ask for a lactation consultant's help at the hospital of your delivery to help you with baby's positioning and latch on. That will help you to feel more confident when you return home with baby. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jes & maidenleak> thanks for so much info... i didnt know tat we need to know so many thing! even got lactation consultant... =x keke...

Jes,

I just popped by Ginny's place on saturday to attend a talk there.

I had a very positive water birth experience, the water was very soothing and managed to calm me down.

I want to opt for another method of birthing this time just to try out land birthing.... so at least I can have a basis of comparison after 2 births. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

How were all your birth experiences? Since you already had 4, you should have a wealth of experience to share with us. I'm all ears! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

kyxy,

No problem. I'm not an expert so I'm here to learn from others and to make an informed choice on birthing and parenting too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Enjoy your pregnancy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kyxy - hur why not engaging confinement...hey can ease ur load lei..also will cook super good & nutritious food for u :p...

i think i must be a pig ...:p only can think of hong zao chicken and sleep :p

maidenleak - thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I so scared ple will think i ask stupid qns sometimes..kekeke.. yah i intend to go for breastfeeding courses conducted by lactation nurses in KK....hopefully it will not be a painful experience.

wah steady....i cant try the water birth even if i choose pte hospital cos i am afraid that during the intense pain i will just put my whole self under water and suffocate :p kekekekekekee...

Jes - yes!! we are all ears lei.....share ur experience with us PLLLLEEEeeeeeeeeeaaSSee [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Vanillaberry,

mine oso no.1. so excited over it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dunno what to expect oso.

rina, pangpang,

can i add ur when i @ home?

hi maidenleak and ginger,

actually I dun exactly have much to share cos all were via csec.

no. 1 - delivered via csec at wk 40 cos baby dun seems to want to come out. Being a 1st time and ignorant mum, gynae said cannot wait so in the end, I went for csec cos do not want to induce. Baby was at 2.7kg, delivered at East Shore.

no. 2 - since no. 1 was csec, so just opted for the easy way out, another csec. Delivered at week 38 at KKH by Dr Yvonne Soong and bb was at 2.45kg.

no. 3 - decided to do something out of the norm, to try for VBA2C. Went thru Hypnobirthing, engaged a doula and had to search for a gynae who is open minded to let me try for a VBA2C. In the end, only Dr Paul Tseng and Dr FM Lai are willing to do so. Opted for Dr Paul cos his fee is more affordable. He mentioned quite a good chance to do VBA2C cos previous 2 bbies were small. I went thru 5 days of labour at home. Mucus plug was out during 1st day of labour. In the end, emergency csec cos by day 5, dilation only at 3cm. Baby was at 3.5kg and she was delivered at week 41 (overdue).

No. 4 - labour started on the day of EDD. I went thru 9 hrs of labour at home and Dr Paul Tseng decided I should delivered via emergency csec cos worried of wound rupture since already 3 csec. Baby was at 3.5kg and delivered 1 day after EDD.

Becos of the course I went thru with Ginny, I wasn't afraid to go thru the labour at home. Hubby was kind of scare that I may give birth at hm, especially for bb no. 3 since labour was a few days. He kept urging me to go hospital which I din 1 2 cos I din 1 2 be strap to the machine. Ginny was my support. I smsed her very often, even in the midnite and she nv fail to reply me. With her assurance, I kind of managed to keep calm thru out the labour at home. Come to think of it now, I really have no idea how I managed to tahan the pain for 5 days. haha...

For no. 3 and 4, I was discharged on day 3 since I'm able to get out of the bed to walk. Wanted to go home asap cos could not stand the bed in the hospital. Somehow dun feel comfortable leh.

Hello Ladies

Anyone feeling stress from work. Today, my boss just told me we have a new business and i need to handle extra work....."faint", hv been feeling very stress since, wonders it will affect my bb....."sign"

blueberrypie,

maybe can talk to your boss..

nowadays i oso try to take things easier... just do things at normal pace and go home earlier.

Hi luvbabe11

My next appointment on this sat. I have been on Duphaston for 3 week already as i got some light spotting on the 5th week. Did Dr chong give you alot of vitamin? Everyday have to eat so many vitamin. I find Dr chong v friendly and caring.

Jes - nevermind that they were all c-secs. Its still wonderful to hear your birth stories.... most of all, how do you find the time to parent all your children and watch them grow. It is such an amazing process to watch them grow up. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I heard that Dr Paul Tseng is a highly skilled gynae and on the expectant management side. Some of my hypnobirthing classmates were under his care and they all sang high praises of him.

Ginger - yah good that you are going to take up the breastfeeding classes. That should prepare you on what to expect in terms of breastfeeding. It was a literal pain for me in the beginning cuz my baby didn't latch on properly but after solving all the positioning and latching on problems, we enjoyed the intimacy and bonding very much. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hello, been so busy with my girl.

This thread is super duper fast!

Ginger, what u said is exactly what my gynae said. Anything ok. But in moderation. Except pineapples. Pineapples cause womb to open up.

For my #1, i took everything including sashimi and drank lotsa old drinks.

According to my mom, too much hot drinks will cause baby to be botak at birth. Dont know wat kind of reasoning. But i didnt take hot drinks. Only took lotsa coke. My girl had lotsa hair at birth.

Re: heartburn

Any mommies having heartburns already?

Im having v slight heartburn. Comes faster than i expected. For my no.1 i had heartburn from 5th month onwards. Every night is so dreadful when i lie down.

Cladi, im seeing him at cck.

any sahm here?

Joy, thanks for updating the table. Im having no.2 and seeing dr adrian woodsworth. Im staying at cck.

the thread is moving fast, trying to read thru hahha

I have crave for food with strong taste like tom yum, curry, laksa....

Actually, my doc havnt confirm my edd yet, its according to the babycentre calculation.....I hope its ard there n nt in dec or too late cos jus nice confinement over it will be cny, if it eats into cny, I tink I will feel so lonely alone...cant go ba nian

I have some BN and rarely used wide neck BPA free bottles for sales. Pls PM me for more details.

jes - thanks for sharing your experiences [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] though its a C, its still something that we will like to listen to...kekee especially for first timer mum like me - veri sua ku.

blueberrypie - errmmmm does your boss knows abt ur current condition? if he doesnt mayb should let him know...also sometimes depending on work culture and nature of work..haiz try to relax more - being too stress up is definitely not good for kid..

ladies, yesterday while shopping for maternity cloths, i puked [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] kind of felt guilty as i puked at the front of one of the shops [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

seems like nighttime is worse for me, i definitely need to lock myself at home after the sun goes down - kekeeeke vampire mummy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

summer's mama - ya [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i had been a sufferer of this heartburn thinggy every night too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

somehow i find that i can trick this thing around if i sleep early...so nowadays my routine is

930 - must bath and dry hair by then

1000 - MUST BRUSH TEETH by then...if anything later than that i will feel damn gag later on.

1045 - latest must be on bed. once on the bed, i will tend to fall asleep...whatever heartburn feelings cant feel liao ...hahahahaha

Morning, Ladies..

have not log in for a few days.. busy busy.. have a tiff with my hubby but ok liao lar.. men just work so differently from we women..

Hi, Blueberrypie

U can talk to your boss.. dun stress yourself.. I have learn to take things easy now. wat is more impt is not work, its the little one in us.. dun feel stress, they can feel it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi, Ginger

I also sleep very early when I had my no. 1. abt 9pm plus I slept.. but now with my boy ard, I can only sleep at ard 11pm and have to wake up twice in the middle of night to make him milk and put him back onto the pillow (he will move and sleep till the other side of the mattress.. hahaha..)

good morn mummmies....

i oso slp quite early nowadays...like 9+ im off to dreamland...but when i wake up im still tired....but of coz in the middle of the nite still wake up and pee....zzzz....

btw...does anyone knw if brown discharge is considered spottin? can i go to any gp or muz go to gynae?

joanne

you can go to GP to check first if your gynae is too far for you.

or you can call gynae to check and ask whether you need to go down

as long as it's not bright red and gushing out kind

morning...

I also cannot tahan sleep late....by 8pm my eyelid like dropping liao...by 9.30 i'm already having my meeting wt "zhou gong"...told my boy if he doesn't want to sleep he can roll about but his mummy cannot tahan liao...

sometimes felt quite bad for my boy cos i spend lesser time with him liao...playground time, sometimes i'll get my hb or maid to bring him down...night time will rush in reading him story books then quickly off the light...but bo pian I'm really so so tired...

wah....everyone seems to sleep even earlier than me :p i think i oso must sleep early..if not later bb becomes panda [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

mummyjloh - ermmm though i am not an expert. but i think anything abnormal discharge should b alerted to gynae.

morning ladies,

m feeling very lousy these few days. think will bomb my boss with the news le.. cos my productivity is damn low.

joanne,

u better go see a gynae. it maybe nothing serious.

LC,

me too can only sleep at 11plus. my naughty DS is sleeping late these few days.. draining energy out of me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ginger> haha my mum is my confinement lady :D i love her home cooked food. she used to baby sit and do confinement for my aunts so i'm using her myself. but at nite cant bear to 'torture' her further... so i'm prepare to wake up myself :D

oh take care of urself vampire mummy. nowaday i also tend to go straight home before i 'evolve'. at least rest at home feel beta...

water birth sound interesting, maybe next appt ask my gynae... kekeke...

blueberrypie> talk to ur boss bah. dun overstress urself. not good for ur health and bb...

Anyone know if TMC also offer those breastfeeding classes? or do i have to wait till later then my gyane will tell me?

Summer mama> good to know u drinking cold drink and everything's ok. cos i'm now a big fan of cold drink... especially ribena...

anyone appetite getting bigger? had a sandwich this morning, a curry puff and a big cup of milo! i'm getting FAT! hope next appt wont see myself hitting 50kg....

Wow everyone sleep so early. I can't sleep... am i abnormal? after work while in the bus or train i will feel sleeping and sometimes dose off but at home, i go to bed around 11pm, toss and turn and can't really fall asleep... then 4am 5am i will be awake liao!

thanks bb#2...im jus worried coz my cramps are getting abit more frequent...jus called the gynae...told me to go dwn tmrw...

thanks mummies for the advice...even the nurse oso told me to go dwn to see the doc...so i have to go see tmrw....im hopin its nothing serious...

kyxy - WAH that is a huge appetite wor!!!!!! i just ate a bowl of lontong.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] taste nice...i dont dare to eat too much too...sculi induce pukey feeling...

hey, i think if TMC dont have, u also can register lactation classes in other hospitals like KK but they charge more expensive if u r not their patients......

just finish a pack of ribena too...thinks it taste good [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mummyjloh - dont worry. think positively. everything will be fine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

joanne

coupled with cramps, better go down

can't be today?

got to wait till tomorrow?

kyxy

it's good you are starting to eat more

with less than 50kg to go, you have more leeway.

i was last 50kg before i reach JC [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

i tried to find my magic drink, still unsuccessful. after drinking ribena, it leaves a lingering sweet taste and i feel like puking. the oni thing that agrees with me right now is zzz.......

blueberrypie

just saw your post

it's better to tell your boss early so he can plan for alternatives.

well, even if you have to do it for a while, he still needs to find a replacement when you go on maternity leave, so he might as well hand it to someone who can follow through.

hmmm...cant be today...coz i dun wan2 take half day...and my hubby is in back2back meetings the whole day...coz i wan my hubby to be there in case can hear bb heartbeat...=)

but nurse says jus try not to walk to much...

joanne

i c. then you try to catch as much rest as you can in the meantime [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

im so confused with the pacakges till now...dun understand by the packages that incl doc's fees and those that dun...arrgghhh...explain till i oso blur liao...anyone can explain to me? jus now the nurse told me the antenatal package cost $856 incl everyting. the remaining is paid to hosp which is claimable via medisave...so means docs fees dun need to pay?? or wat?