(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

Evening ladies,

Thanks to those who gave valuable traveling tips. Suspected that the fruits in Tokyo are gonna be ex, but I thot it'll be a last resort if the boy refuses to eat what I bring there. Dun think I'll cook there cos it'll be quite troublesome. Guess I'm just too lazy. Want the trip to be a fuss-free & relaxed one. hehe

Cooked cauli/cheese for my boy's lunch today. Added some steamed fish (cos the maid defrosted too much for his dinner) to it and mashed everything up. It tasted quite good to me. Can't really tell if it was a success or not. He was extremely excited at the first few mouthfuls, but in the end, he only managed to finish at most half a bowl. THink I'll try again tom. This time I'll puree the cauli first cos I suspect today's portion might have been too chunky. He chew until tired.

Cheerieheart, yr boy so smart, can drink from straw already. Mine still don't know what to do with his combi straw mug, keep chewing it. So gotta stick to his sippy cup for now.

andie:

It's true SQ does provide proper meal for infants below 1. i was given the option to have proper meal or juz packed food jars to bring home. 1st time i travelled was when my gal was 4mths, that time she wasn't on solids yet so the air stewardess was nice enough to pack food jars for me. 2nd trip was when she was 6mths, only just started weaning but as Lamb mentioned, it can b very messy hence i only fed her milk on the plane. Anyway, SQ provides bibs too if u ask them. I guess i had much more pleasant flights with SQ than Lamb. Oh yes, just in case, u need to wash yr milk bottle or any baby stuff, dun use the tapwater in the toilet to do so...it's NOT suitable for consumption!!!

Hi Andie,

Didn't know that SQ provided bb meals [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I guess, since they won't allow u to bring purees yourself, they jolly well give you some on board.

Err, gonna sound abit suaku, but do we have to tell them to arrange bassinet for us or is it automatic one? Cos my flight is an overnight one.

Nana -- oohhhh I was planning to add fish to the cauli/cheese puree too once I am sure the twins take to the cauli/cheese combo. May try this next week. I think you have to indicate that you want a bassinet. For SQ, you can select your seats online. They will indicate which seats come with bassinets and you just have to select those seats.

Andie,

Your girl looks so adorable. She doesn't look like a boy at all. My boy looks like his daddy, very obvious looks like a boy but there are still aunties who ask me is he a girl. Can faint. Sigh

C.Yang,

I let estovan latch and pump after that but can't seem to clear the blocked ducts. Went to see gp today. He says if got fever and inflammation, then it's mastitis. Luckily no fever and inflammation so quickly take antibiotics. Just now let him latch again and clear already but have to finish the whole course of antibiotic. Actually if take too much antibiotic will lead to yeast infection.

I tried letting estovan drink bm from the magmag cup but he drank about 20ml and refuse to drink already. When I replace the bm with water, he can drink more than 50ml. Guess he associate the magmag cup with water only.

I taught estovan how to kiss me today. I put my cheek next to his lips and tell him "kiss kiss mummy", then I say "muack". He keeps laughing very loudly initially. Then after a few times, I put my cheek next to his lips again and he really place his lips onto my cheeks and got the kiss sound. Then he laugh again. He's so funny. Hee

hi, any mummies who latch got problem with bb biting the nips like its a fun thing to do? i told her not to do it in a stern voice, but she smile back....sometimes she also pull it away in her mouth like rubber band and let go with a pop sound. Faintz....

byrest,

oh no, mastitis! I also got blocked duct recently twice, but is it considered mastitis? Both times had slight body ache, lethargic, but no fever, so am not sure if got infected. I did not see doc, just pump diligently. after 3-4 days, it subsided. Luckily never develop into breast abscess which need surgery to drain out pus, which i had much earlier.

hope you get well soon.

ikea photoshoot> what is it actually about huh? can we tk the photo back?

jessie> thks leh... hope we've not stressed you out... still got time to spend with arwen hor...

andie> whoa, u made a hat for her... so nice... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

furby> ya, they've grown so big... hee hee...

and now they can remember they're ignored... :p

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-1305892/Six-month-old-babies-stressed-ignored-minutes-mothers.html

feel so guilty after reading it... :p

any mummies interested in this? i dont fit the criteria... sighz...

http://www.todaysmotherhood.com/2010/08/hasbro-consumer-consultant-singapore/

Smalldreams -- You too funny lah :p. You're right, with 2 babies, I will already have a lot to lug to and fro, no space for potential BP goods :p. I just hope my mil wont make me lug back diapers!!! When my husband went home to visit his family just before I delivered, his mom made him bring back a packet of disposable diapers! I was like .... ermm ..... ok .... why would I need diapers from Australia when I can get a wider variety of brands at a cheaper price here in Spore ......

bryest> hope u get well soon... i find tt hand express more efficient to clear my blocked ducts... can try it... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

furby> my son likes to do tt too... when he's not interested in drinking but more like nibbling... usu i just unlatch and stop the feeding... now got teeth more painful... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]...

after pumping for a few weeks, i finally got a hang of pumping and getting more than 100ml... but now like no use to pump coz i'm always with him again... :p... donno should i pump to maintain ss... or start to pump agn in dec... or just wean him when i go bk to work in jan... hmmm...

To all mummies bringing their LO overseas..

I prolly use cereal then order fish for my main meal to feed him.. no bian.. if not.. he is to go on vegetarian diet for 3 days..

Does anyone knows where in singapore they sell frozen cubes of food? I know 'Happy Baby' (the one which sells yogurt melts) do sell. But its in USA.

Andie >> Your ger look so sweet!!

SPREE UPDATE:

OK I PLACED 95% OF THE ORDERS LIAO AND 40% CAME.

I GOT NEWS FROM MY POSTAL OFFICE BOYS THAT NOW CUSTOMS ARE VERY STRICT WHEN RECEIVING PACKAGES FROM CHINA. ANY REMOTELY LOOKS LIKE BRANDED STUFF WILL BE REPORTED AND DULY TAX.

QUITE A BIT OF YOU BOUGHT THE RL POLO AND A COUPLE OF BURBERRY, ZARA, ADIDAS ETC ETC. SOME OF THEM LOOKS FREAKING AUTHENTIC SIAH! I WAS TOLD AS A PRECAUTION TO REMOVE THE TAGS AND THE PLASTIC PACKAGING SO IT LOOKS LIKE USED CLOTHES AND NOT FOR RESALE. SO SORRY ABOUT THIS. I WILL REMOVE ALOT OF PLASTIC AND LUMP ALL THE ITEMS IN ONE BIG BAGS, OTHER THAN SHOES AND ODDS AND ENDS. I HOPE YOU GUYS DON'T MIND.

TAM , CAN I HAVE THE FINAL SHIPPING LIST? I NEED TO BUY BOXES LIAO! THOSE WHO WANT TO CHANGE THEIR MIND ABOUT SHIPPING, PLEASE DO SO ASAP!

PLEASE LET ME KNOW

Sherry

11) http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=5866053382 Size 100 Red RMB 9.9 Alt Size 110 -> No 110, 120 ordered instead, you want?

16) http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=4510231191 Size L Grey RMB 32 --Xl n L OOS -》 M instead You Want?

________

WEI

15) http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=4510231191 -> M码,颜色: 粉色条纹, 32.0元/$6.6 --》 L instead You want ?

________

CUling

3) http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=4021057018 x 2 packets ( 6 pairs) Sub Total: $4.30 x 2 RMB 8.60 IT IS PER PIECE RMB 4.30 , Not pack of 3.. Got 2 Pairs Only, You want?

APPLEGAL

27) http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=5639445949 x 1 12-18M 粉大花朵 RMB28 -> Only 18 to 24 left -> You want?

29) http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=5639564545 x 1 12-18M 彩条 RMB28 -> Only 18 to 24 left -> You want?

Updated for Bryest

Latest at 11.40pm, 26 Aug

DISTRIBUTORS LIST

A ) WENDY ( YISHUN/TAMPINES)

1) Cuiling45

2) Wei

3) Pauline

4) Vanilla_Berry

5) ShaDing

B) LYNN CHONG ( Pasir Ris )

C) FIRIPY ( BUANGKOK / Sengkang)

1) Jesskoh

2) Yeocouple

3) Bluey

4) Cheerieheart

D) Jmi ( BUANGKOK / Sengkang)

1)Gyantan

2) Minime

3) Nana

4) Gardenia

E) Mstan ( Redhill/ Tg Pager)

1) Cloh

2) manunited

3) bbin2010

F) TAM (Paya lebar/eunos/marine parade)

1)Apple_gal

G) Sueann ( WEST/Clementi)

1)Brainkuku ( Jurong East)

2) Esterlla

ON THEIR OWN

1) FEBIE / ET/ Bryest

2) V_NI/3As

3) Bride_09

4) Pangpang

5) Sloan

6) Sherry / Fatbabe / Yuki

7) bbwoofie

8) Mel

9) Poxchan

10) 2005

11) Mel(Jere)

12) Freesia

13) CY/ AG

14) Smalldreams

15) Panda

16) Luvbabe/Melody

17) Xin/Chameleon/Lsntyl

18) Bubbleluv

Jessie: The latest list is correct as of 11.40pm, 26th August. Lynn didn't reply if she wants to tag with Wendy. So far, nobody indicated that they'll be tagging with her.. Not sure if she'll tag with Wendy or shipping alone.

Bryest I'm also going for the photoshoot at the same slot as u! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Ur blocked ducts better now??

andie, ur gal so cute!!!

I managed to book the ikea photo shoot on 11th sept 3-4pm! Went to peep at the forum n manage to do it

aiyo,

the Ikea photoshot seems like a gd deal..haiz! Joey juz had a haircut now like little monk =p so gotta give it a miss..

Andie,

i like the crochet hat u made for her. =) so sweet ! How I wih I've time for one to do it for my girl...

Cyang,

seems like Renne will outgrow Joey...eat 3 solids a day =p Joey now is the neighbourhood playground member---will yelled at MIL everyday 5pm+ to go out..also gd for the 2 of them cos MIL gotta chance to chit chat wif others Grandma caregiver share their recipes & tips...he he...

did u mummies read the news abt the Hk hostages incident, it's very ridiculous see this link

http://news.xin.msn.com/en/article-commented.aspx?ucpg=2&cp-documentid=4296217#uc2Lst

Tam,

Thanks for helping to update Jessie on the taobao stuff.

Great, will be able to see you on 11 sept. Wondering how many families they are taking per slot.

THE BELOW IS SOME STUFF FOR SOME REASONS I ORDER MORE. IF ANYONE WANT THE, PLEASE POST HERE TO CLAIM THEM DON"T PM ME. THANKS!

1) http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=5104107382 x 1 Size 12 Red RMB 18.80

2) http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=4616141384 x 1 Free Size Black Green Frog Design RMB5.50

2) http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=5479913604 x 1 Set Size 130 Design D RMB 20

3) http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=5252190694 x 1 RMB 9 Pelican Design

4) http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=5252190694 x 1 RMB 9 Pelican Design Also.

5) http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=4370736186 x 1 Size 85 Design F RMB 26

6) http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=5020272040 x 1 Size 95 Design D RMB 19.90

7) http://trade.taobao.com/trade/detail/trade_snap.htm?tradeID=45056329490262 x 1 One Size Design 6 RMB 5.5

8) http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=4465620485 x 1 Size 18 months RMB 27

9) http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=5506350071 x 1 Size 12 months RMB 28

10) http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=5240264538 x 1 Size 24 months GREEN FLOWERS RMB 28

11) http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=5240264538 x 1 Size 24 months PINK FLOWERS RMB 28

I'll be bringing my boy to Phuket in Feb next year. Saw someone paired that she's going Phuket too but didn't manage to find the post.

CYang..Hmm..looks like quite common to get fever after the jabs.

Mummies..But now Elly has rash..went back to the doc..and she said she likely allergic to the Prevenar jab! So she discouraged her from taking the next 2 jabs! Safe $, but worry for her immunity!

LsnTyl..Hey I'm interested to join in gathering..but cant find the list..anyway I will PM u.

bigfoot..sorry to hear yr boy got HFMD..where did he get it from? Keep him comfy..and u take care too!

Andie..Emma's so cute..no she's not boyish-looking..she looks really sweet! And u r fantastic..to be able to do something with the needle n yarn!! My MIL TRIED to teach me last time, and I only managed a quarter of don't know what too..hahaha!

Xin : No lah, not stress. I guess I am bit bored with my job and want to do something else for a change, this is a challenge ! Anyway last spree for the year so nevermind.

You all also make me spend leh!!!! I click click all the links and I also buy!! Wahliao! Broke lah! LOL

Brainkuku: I happened to be at City Square Mall a few days ago and saw that they sell the Happy Baby Frozen cubes. I think there are 12 in each box, 6 veggies and 6 fruits. saw it a 4 seasons organic market (can't remember the actual name). you can call and ask how much.

thanks mommies!

well, i find crocheting very therapeutic, a stress-reliever. I picked it up from youtube and crocheting websites during maternity leave. There's an unexplainable joy to watch Emma donning on stuff I crocheted for her.

Just for other mommies' inspiration, the coat (100% wool) posted below took me approx 1 hour a day for 1 month. And I bought the yarns at 50% discount from spotlight. So the total cost, including buttons, is less than $10. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i photoshop-ed away the background and added my own disclaimer. But left the ikea hanger in to retain its "homemade-ness".

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4421620.jpg]

nana (poca2415): yup, chameleon is right, you need to pre-select your seats online. These seats will be the first row of each section where there is more leg-room, hence able to put the bassinet. but if DH wants to sit with you they will have to pay extra cuz these are considered "premium" seats.

Andie -- Oh wow! You picked up crocheting from youtube and the internet?? Amazing!! I wish I could make something for the twins too but I'm not good at crafts and I dont have the patience!

sp_callalily & andie - WHAT?! Then I must have been on a super sucky flight back home! Nat wasn't even offered a proper meal! She was just asked if she needed jar food! I must complain!!!

Hi mummies, anyone keen to go for the babygym trial this sun at 1.30pm. Coz my gal is recovering frm flu.not sure if she would be ok in time or nt. Anyone keen can pm me?

brainkuku - Try petit Bowl in United Square. I once checked with them about freezing food so that I can bring overseas. It's located near the taxi stand.

good morning everyone!

been MIA cause busy at work.

looks like a lot of moms have started travelling with the LOs in tow.

sp_callalily> hope you enjoyed your vacation. we plan to visit SIL in Melbourne next Spring. did you use the water on-board to prepare milk for your LO? i don't think we are allowed to bring liquid/water on board right?

andie> you are so amazing to be able to learn crocheting from the internet and actually managed to crochet an entire jacket. I only know how to crochet scarf and even that, I must find someone to crochet the ends for me. and Emma is looking sweet and alert.

lamb> glad that Nat is on the road to recovery. Will be bring Yongxian on his maiden flight next Thursday. hopefully, it will be a pleasant experience for him.

charis> hope Elly recover from the rashes soon.

bigfoot> hope Bryan recover soon. you take care too.

c.yang> Yongxian also showing signs of being ready for another solid meal but this mommy is being lazy and hope can hold it off till we return from our vacation. his weight gain seems to have slowed down, at 10.5kg at 8 months. not sure whether it's because of different scale at different clinics. guess daddy is glad cause' he has been complaining of backache from lugging him around.

nana/chameleon> i also happened to make cauliflower puree for Yongxian too. instead of cheese, i added unsalted butter.

brainkuku> i'm also looking for some instant baby food and went to VitaKids at Paragon yesterday. I remembered they had quite a range the last I was there, but I was disappointed to see a limited range yesterday. Only managed to buy a packet of Bellamy oat porridge.

H1N1/flu vaccine> anyone giving this vaccination to their LO? my GP was recommending this since we'll be travelling and the likelihood of catching some bugs in the enclosed space in the plane is higher. But he said it usually takes 2 weeks b4 the antibodies kick in, and since Yongxian was taking his 2nd pnuemo jab that day and we'll be travelling next week, I opted to delay that.

cocoMa:

Yup, i did use the plane water to make milk cuz not allowed to bring fluids up. Only the toilet tapwater NOT suitable for consumption. So let's say u drop pacifier, need to wash it before giving yr LO, get the air stewardess/steward to use their water to wash for you. Enjoy yr trip. Generally, at this age,still manageable[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

been so so so busy...

so many mummies going overseas. Me going short bangkok trip next week, not bringing LO.

Am also thinking of year end trip to Taiwan, may not want to bring LO. If bring, sure mafan like carrying a sack of rice, can't enjoy. But don't bring, must pump (if still bfing).