(2009) Twins/ Triplets/ Multiples mummies to be

I tried similac for my babies but seem they poo after feeding.. Now they are on 45ml..
I think I'm going to ask hubby to buy NUN that was used in KKH since they did not poo that bad as in drink then poo...
but their stool not the watery kind.

hi juliana,

congrats. so happy that all three of u are safe at home now. they must be cute.. so was it painful. with the urine tube, does it mean u don have to go to e loo. btw, when did they ask u to walk. was the first try painful. sorry so many qns, my threshold of pain is really low.

last qn, what was the total bill?

thanks dear. pls rest well and take care e little cuties

Congrats Juliana! From my own exp, breastmilk will actually make the jaundice worse so if you're breastfeeding, you might wanna store the milk for a few days until the readings are back to normal!

babies poo very frequently in the first month or so and i remember the first few days their poo poo was a very dark colour. as long as it is not very watery it'll be fine de. hope you're resting well and both babies are doing well

Alyssa, it was very painful to walk around on the second day but it gets better so you must try to walk around more. the final bill will only arrive a few weeks after delivery. if i remember correctly, the initial payment upon admission for A1 is around 2.6k. my total bill was only about 1k so the hospital gave us 1.6k refund.

COngrats Juliana. Do rest well. My babies also have jaundice. My boy infact had to be admitted yesterday for treatment. My girl's level has come down but must go to polyclinic again on Tues to do blood test. Very stressful during this period.
How's the pain? You coping well? remember to eat well and have lots of rest. Good that you are staying with your mom for confinement. At least there's always someone to look out for the twins even at night. Now, me and hubi have to work out some schedule as he will be going back to work on Monday.

hi SeeJay,

thanks for the info. is ur 1K for everthing, c-section, ward, baby etc. e rest Medisave is it??
how many days in the A1 ward?

Hi alyssa, the 1K is cash. medisave was around 6-7k. the standard A1 package is for 3d2n but the day of operation does not count so i stayed from tues to friday and only paid the standard package price. if your babies dun need additional treatment and/or extended stay, it is actually quite affordable. i only paid about $13 in cash for the delivery of each baby!

Sophia,
Its very stressful actually.. Actually, my girl suppose to be hospitalised due to jaudine but i argue with the doc to release my girl..

My mum infact go to chinese medication hall to get yellow flower for jaundice and actually it helps and also morning sun @9am... I actually place their playpen near the window...

Its very tiring and painful especially with csection.

Next appt for jaudine at poly will be this friday. Tomolo my girl have to go to KKH to check her heart murmur... which the cardo said its slight.. one of the heart tube suppose to be closed when she's born but due to loud crying and pain cause of the drip on her hand (low glocose) the tube is not close. So now at home, we try our level best not to let her cry.. Just hope that everything is fine for her.

Even how, i have to cancel babies photography session.. i think i will have their photo taken when they are 1 mth..

Today, my hubby back to work after one week leave. Alot of things to follow up luckly I have my parents ard..

I actually, bottle feed them temp and change milk formula to Fisco gold, which I find good and not poo poo when every I feed them..

Hey Jules,

my 2cents worth...regards your bb's heart murmur..one of my bb had slight heart murmur too when she was born, as detected by the KKH pd..we thought it was serious from the way the pd explained to us..so agree to subject bb to tests...(since we are first time parents..) of course we were worried and all... my other bb had slightly higher jaundice level, as we went to polyclinic for checkup, the docs there arranged for checkups every 3/4 days..we returned thinking it should be done since doctor said so...so can you imagine my poor bb being pricked every few days to test their jaundice level..? Anyway, thereafter we sent our bbs for their 1st vaci with private PD..and of course we enquired if they are all clear and whether all their issues (murmur, jaundice) are resolved..guess what the PD said...he read my bb's health booklet and said that the murmur reading was so low that there wasn't any need for the tests! and that there is no need to subject bb to test for jaundice level every few days!! He said KKH doctors tend to be KS and will order alot of tests...my point is..do seek second opinion on your bb's health and not just rely on any one particular doctor...we should be KS but informed parents!

Hmmm, twinsmama your comments very logical. Good idea to get a second opinion.

I have a question for mommies: I am having problem latching my babies for breast feeding. In the end express my milk and bottle feed instead. Will this decrease my milk supply? Today oredi felt the soreness of the breast and very painful. Besides massage, ( which I can't even do because it's so painful), any other ways to relieve the pain?

Went for my w33 check up today. Gynae says the babies are 1.8kg and 2kg approximately. However, I failed the glucose tolerance test so was asked to go for a one day course whereby there will be professionals to educate me on diet and nutrition and also how to do self test and monitoring.. T_T sigh...

xiaofu, self monitoring is the daily finger-prick test ah? take care of yourself ah.. babies are of good weight already, jiayou jiayou! can see them soon!

Depends on what the professionals say. According to my gynae she say most prob no need prick daily, just once per week for 3-4 times that particular day. Will learn more about it tomorrow. Have to fast again tonight... Sigh...

i am wondering, is it a must to go on hospitalisation leave when u are at 30 weeks. i am teaching. so now is my hols. when i return school, i will be 30 weeks. worried if Dr Loh insist on hospitalisatn leave. now all seems fine, no discomfort or anythg. don think i can stay at home and do nothing.

anyone work till 34 weeks??

hi sophia,
I was not able to latch my older twin, only the younger one managed to. For convenience, I actually expressed my milk and store them. It's been 8 months and my milk supply has not decreased. I made an effort to pump every 4 hours (even waking up at night). I guess this helps to stimulate the milk supply. For engorgement, use cold cabbage to put over your breasts.
Happy breastfeeding!

xiaofu, hope your new glucose test was ok

alyssa, i worked till 33 weeks. actually my doc wanted me to work till 35 wks but at 33 wks i had difficulty moving around so i requested for HL. i think it depends on individual.

Spent one day at the day care whereby they served us food and gave us talks on what to eat, not to eat. Also learnt how to use the meter to monitor the blood sugar.. A pity the last lap of the journey before the confinement cannot be "enjoyed". Blood sugar for the day was within acceptable range. Hopefully the babies will not suffer any side effects from the GD. 4 more weeks to go!

Now my nights are always filled with BHC. Is it normal? I hope its not some early contraction symptoms that I am not picking up.

Thanks hoops for the advice. I've been expressing diligently every 4 hourly. Sometimes the supply is good and sometimes not too good. I also try to latch my twins on as much as I can.

Alyssa, if Dr Loh gives you the leave, do take it for rest. Especially at the start of the school term it can be madness with lots of running around. Somemore will be very big and heavy. Dont take chances. Just make sure you inform your HOD and other team members, I'm sure they will understand.

mummy,
i find that my BM is still very low.. i'm letting my twins to latch but seems that they have to drink mix BM & FM.

i'm thinking to get breast electric pump since mine is manual....

Alyssa, I was given HL during my 28 or 30 week of pregancy...

Btw, went to KKH for my girl's check up and seems that her mummur is slight and soon will be gone.

Sophia,
R u using electric breast pump? Mine is manual I find not so good..

can someone suggest which brand of electric breast pump is good???

juliana, when u rest more, milk will increase. I also ate fish during confinement to build up supply, u might wanna try. My pump was medela mini pump. It was not bad, not as painful as pigeon pump and less parts to sterilize

Hi all multiples mummies/mummies-to-be

Just like to share my story - I have a pair of baby gals. The pregnancy was horrible. Had to take jabs till week 16. On HL still 5th month and hospitalised for 1 mth due to bleeding. Gave birth at 34 weeks (2.5kg and 2kg). The older one stayed in SCN for 2 weeks while the younger stayed in NICU/SCN for ~4 weeks. The first few month after delivery was horrible too - Crying babies + breast infection+ latch on problems + no milk+ tiredness + gals' health problems etc....

Things got a little better when they are older...got back a bit of sanity...

Hang on! Now I believe mummies are the greatest!

Hi Juliana, glad to see you are online. I'm using medela freestyle. Can pump both breast at the same time. Quite good as you can adjust the pressure to suit you. This can be good as sometimes the nipple can be very sore and you don't want so much pressure on the nipples. However, the past two days my supply has decreased drastically from 190ml to only 100ml. I also don't know what happen.
Thanks newbride for the encouragement. Hubbi and I worked out a system for the time being. We eat early dinner at 6.30pm and I go shower. I will try to get to bed by 9pm and get some sleep so that I can wake up at midnight to take the early morning shift. My twins will eat around 3am and 6am during my shift. At least hubbi can sleep and have some rest for work the next day.
How about you gals? How do you and hubbi work out a schedule and still get some rest?

hi newbride

i agree with u, mummies are indeed the greatest. i am sure looking at ur gals now will erase the pain u went thru during the pregnancy.

can i ask u, why must ur gals be in NICU/SCN
and SCN when their weight is more than 2 kg.which hospital did u deliver ur twins and how much cash did u fork out after medisave.

rest well

hi there!!

seejay thanks.. i just tried funegreek pills and i've been eating alot of fish.. see how's my BM supply.. funegreek pills just started today.. and my BM when i pump not even 10ml... i have just bought madela mini, quite good too...
but my BM still the same, using avent manual less than 10ml too..

poor my babies, they have been drinking fomula..

Juliana
Hang on there. Mine was less than 10ml for 3 weeks!Despite massage by lactation nurses, warm towels, fenugreek, daphston(rt spelling?), milk tea, fish papaya soup, 3 hrly pump and many many other techniques. Finally it went up to 50ml. ANd then it just stay there. Once it hit 80ml but that's it, only once.I was devastated.And my younger twin got some gut problem so can't take formula. In the end,all BF went to him and poor big twin got nothing.But then I didn't give up, it's better than 0ml. Today, both at 8mths old, on formula and growing well. ALthough i regret not able to breastfeed them for long, but at least i have tried so I am going to move on. DOn't pressure yorself too much. Take care

dont give up on BF.
looks like i'm the cow here. i can get about 200ml on avg. i pump abt 4hrs apart and sometimes get my boy to latch on. boops r sometimes so hard that i wonder if i have stones instead, i hate nite time....... when both r cranky its terrible.

hey juliana...dun feel bad having to let your twins drink formula. You are great in giving birth to them already...BM is good but formula these days are good too. Though I'm still breastfeeding, I really feel formula is good too and am giving them occasional formula feeds just in case my supply suddenly cuts off. I think I got the genes from my mom who has alot of BM...on average I produce at least 300ml. I use Avent Manual..I heard that soya bean milk helps to increase supply too.. ;p

I've had this medicine Dom peridone prescribed to me and I think it works. Not that I have alot (I pump abt 1.3 a day) but maybe u can try asking yr doc for it? It was given to me after I gave birth and supply has been ok although my boys have nvr latched on as they are in nicu

Morning mommies, question for those who are expressing...... Where do you girls store your milk? I'm using milk bags from Boots at the moment and it's running low on supply. Unless someone goes to Bangkok I can't seem to get them here. Milk bags sold here are very expensive. What other alternatives do I have? I bought some from SKP ( shop that sells plastic bags etc) but there is no base for the bags to stand. so when put in the fridge, it will sit flat. The seal also only one instead of two found on Boots.
If use bottles, where to get?

sophia, i used pigeon and medela bottles for bm storage. I didn't buy any milk bags for freezing cos my milk was usually consumed within hours.. Haha..

Juliana, to get more milk per pump, u can try pressing on the hard areas in your boobs as well as increase the suction of your pump
formula is not that bad lah, my boys seem to be growing well after i switched to full fm leh.. Hee hee..

Buttons
I've tried a few and I like Lansinoh best, problem is only can buy from spree. I place my bags lyin flat to save space. If running low can try my first yrs from kiddy palace but abit ex. I use that when I'm waiting for my lansinoh to arrive. It's good thick yet not too thick like the blue egg or medela so save space too

hi Sophia

can i know which weeks of pregnancy did Dr Loh give u HL? i am teaching as well and next wk is my 30 weeks and school will start next wk?

thanks dear

alyssa,
mine dr loh gave me ard 30th week.. right now dr loh is on hols.. so the next appt sure he will give u HL..

mummy,
my son had blocked nose, when for PD dr said mild virus.. just common flu.. cost me $90 and just one nose drop medication...

Thanks juliana,

act it is best to go PD when baby is young. when my first son was sick when he was before 4 years old, he sent him to PD and the fees is definitely higher.

u take care ya.

my twins r coming 5mth, but so far only flip once for elder twin...is dev slower for premmies? mine was delivered 32weeks

Hi 76
My twins only flipped over when they were 7 mths old(corrected age will be 5mths). So yours is considered great compared to mine. They are now 8mths and still not very steady when they flipped over
I think not to be too worried, so long they are healthy and growing well. My 1st born, who was also prematured at 32 weeks, turned over when he was 9mths old! Pd said he was simply lazy as he was a bit on the high side for his weight.

Hi Alyssa, really cant remember when I took the leave but I was kindof lucky as it was oredi the hols so, not much disruption to the term.

Was having depression last week and was crying for that week. My mom had to go back to work and MIL took over the last stretch of the confinement. Nothing beats Mommy!!! To make things worse, she kept commenting that I didnt' have enough milk to feed the two of them.

Anyone heard of growth spurts? My boy experienced this last week as well. He was feeding every hour and my nipples were cracked and sore. Couldn't even express without feeling pain. He was also very fussy and did not want to soothe himself to sleep. Must have someone to cuddle and carry him. Made me and hubby really almost gone crazy.

Just did my twins full month celebration on Sat 2nd Jan. Decided not to do it at home to retain my sanity. Held it at Pinsi Rest at Yishun Safra instead. The food is not bad.
I ordered my cakes from Sweetest Moments and the boxes were of good standard. Overall I am quite pleased with their service and efficiency.

Flipping - My younger twin (heavier twin at birth) started flipping from back to front at abt 4 half months. But my older twin (lighter twin at birth) only flipped at 5 and the half months. And this was only from the back to front.

At abt 6 mths, they started flipping back/front/back. Now at 7 mths, both like to "stand" on my tummy when i hug them, and flips wif no prob as well.

Even twins born the same time, pick up different skills along the way, so dont worry abt it!!!

My soon to be 7 mth old twins have juz started on cereals, and the younger twin is very enthusiastic on it, whereas the other twin is not too keen on it..

Juz went to confirm my c-section for next tue to deliver my twins. Though today's weight is 2.4kg and 2.6kg respectively, gynae herself thought it might be an over-estimation, but felt confident they are above 2kg. ^_^.

Took 1st jab to mature their lungs and it was painful! I hope the one to the spine before the operation is not 10x more painful than this... >.<

My gynae has said no to my hubby being in the OT eventhough I am not going under GA. How about the rest of your hubbies?

My twins are 2 months old. I am basically struggling to take care of them day and night now. What is the normal arrangement? My inlaw and my mum cant help me. And i just hired a maid who has minimum experiences in babies.

I sleep with one of the baby at night and left the other baby with a maid and a elder relative, but the relative wont be helping me for long. I am worried no one i can trust to take care when i am back to work.

xiaofu,
I delivered my twins in Jun thru c-section. my hubby was not allowed to go in the OT as well. but no worry...c-section is not that scary. jia you!

bbtwins, I put my babies in infant care when I returned to work after my maternity leave. I sleep with both my babies since the day I brought them home. tiring but still manageable. dun worry. am sure you can do it too.

As there have been change of plans for the care of my twins, there will also be hrs whereby I'll be all alone with the twins.. and yes, the twins will sleep with me in their cots in my bedroom too.. so.. I also nervous abt caring for them by myself.. but i tell myself.. CAN DE!! hehe... but I do not know if subconsciously I am very worried coz these 2 days I hardly have appitite to eat. Its like early pregnancy whereby I have no interest in food at all and I leave all my meals half finished. sigh

hi xiaofu, your babies are full term already?? how come you need to take jab to mature babies' lungs?? actually you won't have time to worry about hubby not being there in the OT cos too many things are happening and before you know it, the babies will be crying and the doctors will be stitching you up

bbtwins, the first 2-3 months will be very tough but things WILL get better when the babies are about 3 mths old, cos by then they should be sleeping longer at night and everyone can get some rest. jiayou!

My twins, 1 girl and 1 boy, were delivered by C-sect on 29 Dec at 36wks and 5 days. Both weighed 2.33kg.

My 5 days in the hospital was the honeymoon period because I had the nurses help. Since being back at home, things haven't been that easy and I've been crying on a daily basis ... partly due to stress, partly because I feel so lost and am not sure if I'm doing things right, partly because I'm so sensitive to whatever my mil says.

Wondering if anyone has advice on whether I should feed my twins on demand or wake them every 3 hours for feeds. My girl can go for 5-6 hours without waking up for feeds and when she wakes up she drinks so little. She is so tiny and I'm worried but my CL and mom say it is ok and that I should let the twins sleep and that they will wake up when they are hunry. But the parenting books I read all advise to wake up babies every 3 hours for feed. So i'm really at a lost as to what to do.

Also, it is very depressing that I dont have much breastmilk and am supplementing with Similac formula milk since that was what the hospital nursery was feeding my twins. But my mil keeps insisting that I should change to Nestle Nan because my sil's baby is on that and so she feels it is better than Similac. It is very stressful for me because the nurses at the hospital told me I can just stick to Similac since the babies have been feeding well on it but my mil keeps nagging at me. May I know which formula you mummies are using? Any recommendation?

SeeJay, I itchy mouth go ask if I need to take the jab... coz for singletons they do have to take the jab if they are inducing ard wk36-37 as the babies are not growing well. Since our twins, their size on the smaller side so I just asked if I need to take them. After thinking a while, my gynae say its not a bad idea, so decided to let me take the jab lo... Itchy mouth lo... ;(

As far as my readings goes, I believe day feeds, should wake the babies up wor... its the night feeds that you can let them sleep through if they are not hungry. This also help them in getting use ot the difference in days and nights.