(2009) Twins/ Triplets/ Multiples mummies to be

Hi mummies, I am new in this forum and is now 12 weeks with twins. Due late March 2010

May I know the CL charges for twins? I just called one and she asked for S$2800 for 28 days. Is this the market rate?

Anyone know of Josephine from Ipoh? Is she good?

Or can any mummy recommend a good CL that you have tried before?

Jia you and ganbatte together.
My elder twin back today and i tried bf him..dun seem enuff coz he wake up 2 hours later instead of the scheduled 3 hrs.. he seems a bit pek chek..and my arm ache from carrying him. after reading all your posts, i feel better and more sane... will try to adjust what works for me, giving fm if need to... and accepting whatever help that comes..

CJ, I had that once. I think coz I pumped for too long and the suction power was too high. I just applied some BM and then nipple cream and it healed very fast.

xiaofu, bbq, i asked the doc today and he said it was normal but advised me to throw away the "pink milk". bbq, did you freak out? i totally freaked out this morning :'(

the doc also said i should start exercising now to tone up my tummy!! it must've looked pretty hideous X'D!!

The first time it happened, I thought I was color blind because it happened in the middle of the night.

Mt gynae also said my tummy very "unsmooth"...so sad.

My bm also not enuff..got to strategize some more to divide the milk.. coz my small one still in nursery at NUH..and i have big one athome. how do i know hw much milk to feed. when he was discharged, he was on 50ml...so does it mean i increase everyday? if so, how much?

76, if your boy doesn't seem satisfied after 50ml (check their mouth and lip movement), you can try to increase it to 60ml next time and see if he can finish. how's the small one doing now? reaching 2kg already?

bbq, my massage lady says for our case we need to do more sessions in order to see effect, cos our uterus over-expanded le..

I have intended to start the massage a mth after delivery but many of my friends who had csection didn't do the massage at all coz their gynaes said better not. How? I can't live with the pouch!

my frens with c-sect did the massage only after more than 1-2 months. btw, i was told by many pple that we should use the tummy binder everyday.

CJ
the small twin just hit 1.86kg tdy and has moved to nursery. 140g more to 2kg which works out to be about 5 more days to discharge if he puts on 30g per day... hopefully, by early next week, he can come out...
by the way, my elder twin's bill is out...17K for 30 days stay in ICU and nursery.. 12k subsidized and we pay 5k from medisave. Younger twin shld be more, awaiting for his bill...
BBQ
your wound not pain ah..for me, 5 weeks past c-section liao..someitmes certain position still feel pain...dare not massage...can you believe, my tummy is even flatter than pre-pregnancy? think when gynae sewed wound, he sewed up fats too..hahaha...the only problem is though it looks flattened, the area is soft..so got to tone it up..maybe go for light sports, e.g. walks, treadmill soon...

76,I like your gynae. I should have asked mine to remove some fats and saggy skin as well. My wound is never pain.

bbq, my confinement was considered over on 13 sept when bbs celebrated 1st month :D
76, wow your tummy is flat already? envious
my tummy still very flabby and protruding now..

See jay

Happy right? I am counting down to mine - not sure if I want to do 1 mth or 40 days. I want to eat ice cream and drink cold drinks.

So now, your CL has left, your mum is still at your house or she has succeeded in bringing your babies home with her to take care? You able to cope without the CL?

Yes lor, mine also very flabby and like carrying a waist pouch like that. Hope the massage will help. Starting it one mth after my delivery.

Seejay,

So guess I can only wait till 20-weeks scan to confirm my babies' gender, which is exactly 1 mth from now. Time crawls!

Can any mummies advice me what must I do to ensure that my babies stay with me till my EDD date? I hope they do not come out earlier as it will clash with CNY. *Pray and pray*

bbq, i do flexible confinement :p wash hair after 12 days, start bathing with water after 3 weeks. but i will avoid cold drinks and ice cream until 40 days, hee hee.

my mum is staying with me now, we're coping without CL. just taught the maid how to carry bbs. now my smaller twin cries for one two hours every afternoon.. i suspect it is colic.. yesterday he cried and i cried with him :'(

as for sagging tummy, my massage lady advised me to wear girdle to support the skin as it will take time to shrink. if we dun wear any support undergarments the skin will sag and cause a fold at the lower abs.

Katherine, i think when i was preggie i keep telling my bbs to come out after a specific date. in the end i calculated my gestation weeks wrongly and the babies overstayed so i had to go for c-sect :p

see jay
my elder twin just had his feed at 4pm..burp and tried to coax him..but till 630pm now, still crying...in between, he did doze off after coaxing by my mum and myself...but after a while, he cried...sometimes feel so helpless myself..dunno whats wrong with him...and my twin 2 still not back yet...

See jay, your mum will stay with you till? Mine also cried a lot during the day and I also cried with him too yesterday.

I checked with my gynae, she said I can do massage 2 weeks after csection.

76, yours will stop after you carry him?

76, bbq, I feel so helpless every time this happens. thank god my mum is here to help me cos she can soothe the babies better than me. I will try gripe water next time it happens. Hope it works..
I dun think i'll continue my massage after this week. Too troublesome to arrange for additional help at home.. Sigh..

Btw yesterday my smaller twin calmed down after crying when i turned on my breast pump to distract him. You may wanna try. But it only worked once for me.. Today no effect

Hi BBQ,

My twins go to Queenstown polyclinics for jabs. The most recent one was for the 5 in 1 jab. Can use CDA account.

The nurses are pretty nice, and there is not much queue. Its an old estate so mainly ah peck ah soh go there see drs!!!

bbq98,

Which weeks did your doc prescribe you the medicine to delay labour? How cum your doc gave you the medicine, was it under your request?

CJ,

You so funny, your babies must be wondering why mummy ask us to overstay...heehee..But may I ask any food that I should take to ensure that they hit the 2kg if premies?

just back from babies' vaccination.. they cried until my heart so pain ~

Katherine, if i'm not wrong, earlier in the thread some of the users recommended eating durians, you might wanna try

hi all.. Bb jabs cn be done at polyclinic? Is it much cheaper? Payable by CDA means wad? My bb will be out next jan.. So tthinking of bringing him to polyclinic for jabs. I hope its much affordable n cheaper..

My gynae gave me the med coz I started having BH at week 26. You may wish to eat durians,beef and milk to boost the babies' wt.

For twins at weight of 800gm and 700gm are they at normal range? Cuase my last check up on 10 Sept they are at that weight.. I think now should be more cause I feel heavy now..

Do you experience breathless when you are sleeping at 27 weeks?

do we just bring our bb to polyclinic like normal ppl visit doc or we nid a referrel letter from hospital or gynae?

Poko
I am also going to poly for bbs jab. how do you know its 5 in 1 or 6 in 1? the immunization booklet din write leh.
Anyone knows whats the best schedule to bf and pump? currently, i express out and bottle feed...but find it tedious coz after taht i got to pump for small one in hospital after feeding the elder one.And by the time i finish pumping and washing of bottles, the elder one is ready for the next feed liao..that is not including the crying and fussing they may have after feed...i v stressed....anynoe can help? my and bbs schedule now v luan

Hi seeJay,

May I know how much you pay for the confinement lady? Is she good?

I am expecting twins and has called a CL but she charge me S$2,800 for 28 days. Not sure is this reasonable.

gschui, 2.8K is wat my CL lady charged too....abt there la.

76, my twins took the hep jab at 2 months old, so last week, the nurse say take 5 in 1 lor at 3 months. It is 70 over dollars. But the 3 in 1 is the most basic, and its free i hear.

I KS so decided to take the complete set.

Juliana, my twins are also around that weight. I'm at 27 weeks and yesterday went to Dr loh for check. My boy is 800g and girl is 900g. He says they are doing good. Both their heads are down and facing one another.
Have been feeling out of breathe and tightness at the lower part of the stomach. I think it's just going to get worse.

Sophia,
my babies heads are down and facing one another too.. The lower part of stomach is full and tight.. running out of breathe everytime.. I cant stand or walk too long now.. will get cramps!! and also backache is worst.. It seems i need alot of air these days.. there's one time when I went to my new company unit, it was hot and stuffy, few minutes later I had my bleednose.

Dr Loh said that its normal, he ask me to take hospitalisation leave for bedrest when visit him again this 6 October 2009.

I also got hospital leave from him till 14 oct when I see him again. But very difficult to leave work behind especially when it's now the end of year exams approaching.

gschui, my CL charges 2.8k for twins, i think this is the market rate as Bliss Confinement and PEM also charges this rate. but i paid my CL 2.5k as my mum helped to look after the babies as well. she's a good CL who even cooked meals for my hubby and mum during my confinement. but she's already booked till April next year, that's why i didn't recommend it to you earlier on

76, now i only latch in the first morning feed, otherwise the latch timing will disrupt my pump schedule :p the nurse told me polyclinic only offers 5-in-1 (at 3 mths) cos the 6th jab is given at baby's first month. so it's the same as 6-in-1.

Hello gschui, sorry to intrude on this thread. But just wanted to share with you on my Cl's charges. I have triplets and my CL charges $3500. but pls note that she can't really handle triplets lor. Nobody can, in fact my maid has to do all the household chores + take care of 1 bb at nite. She has the cheek to charge me so much!

BBQ
i am on partial bm...coz i give fm at night..cant really determine how much they drink via direct bf...and dunwan them to keep waking up at night..also, not enuff milk too...now i try to latch 2x per day..and pump 7x instead of 8x to rest my breasts

I latch one of them during the day on one breast and pump the other breast. Night time on total fm for both. I pump only about 6 times a day.

juliana, I try not to as also paiseh that the board at general office wrote as hospital leave and I'm walking around in school. Work from home which can be quite limiting.
I tell myself to let go. My babies and my health more important. Life will go on in school without me. How about you? Also strictly at home?

i'm still working but very hard to move ard these days.. they are getting heavier and I get terrible backache if sit too long and leg cramps for standing too long...

But Dr Loh already told me that by 6 October, I have to be on bedrest.. no good for my babies or else I will suffer premature..

The probs I'm facing here is that HR asked me to go on maternity 1 mth earlier which is on Nov. But I just go ahead with doctor recommendation, my babies n health is important to me.

seejay- i having prob with my mym maid.. n i have a pair of twins due in nov..i need some help in how to manage a mymmar maid.. can u pm me? thanks so much.. i m very stressed she is heere 2 wks but still doing very weird things very village like n i did not get a confinement lady at all.thinking a maid will do.

just click my name n u can send me a message..thanks soo much!!