(2009/11) November 2009 MTB

velo, think u have to be abit more hard hearted lor, to get ur zzz back! jia you on the sleep training!

starrz, wow...ur gal's of good weight
hope she gets well sooN!

bidosoh, i wanna go polliwogs too! but next wed i cant tho! u gals have fun next week!

adelynn/bidosoh, jan shd be fine for me...why dun u gals go decide on a date cuz u gals need to chope the pass, i will join if i can? since my pass no need to bid...

Bidosoh: its my 1st trip to polliwogs so can only compare to Peekaboo but i've not been to Fidgets before. But i think most important is the kids enjoy. Fidget too far for us as we live in the east. No car :p

Sporty: I tofu heart. I panic when my boy cry badly and cry with him sometimes! Hahaah....i weird mama.

BTW, anyone plan to put kid in play school? I looking around my neighbourhood and saw there is those 2hr play school. Anyone got opinon if its good? Tot to put my boy there when he 18 months to get some play and my mum & helper can get some rest. Recommended?

pei pei,
Sad to say my girl isn't any easier to manage, difficult to discipliine and teach as she has a mind of her own. She's has her good points but then think she wail more than her brother.

velo,
Is not cute when she did that, scared the hell out of me and was worried if she have injured herself. Yah loh she's a magician to appear when you least expected. i intend to let my boy goes to playgroup in yr 2012. You can go to the playschool and talk to the teachers and perhaps request them to let u sit in their lesson to see if its good. For me i dun have very high expectation as think is for them to socialise and play. My area its either totshouse, talentplus or PCF.

starrz,
Ur girl of very good height and weight! My boy is really petite, now still 70cm. Hope he can shoot up. Dec is colder so maybe more easily to get flu and cough when they get chilled from the wind. My boy has a bit of cough on and off but when he get chilled will cough more. As his airway is sensitive so must avoid direct wind.

bidosoh,
good that ur kids enjoyed. Will bring my kids there when my hubby come back from his upcoming overseas trip.

Sporty, yeah! Their service really good! haha...

Sad to say my company's zoo pass is fully booked. Sob sob... If time allows, can I join the Jan outing too? Let me know in advance so that I can book the passes.

Starrz, hope lil K will recover soon! Take care.

My gal today refuses milk!!! Sigh... Now dun want food, dun want milk too... Headache. How? Let her be???

Adelynn, I'm cool with Jan

Pei Pei, I'm available next Fri...heheh...if got "space", I would like to join you for the zoo outing.

Velo, I'm planning to put my girl in half day childcare. Probably will go to Little Skool House at Safra Jurong cos it's very near my parents' place and they can help me fetch her from school.

Ooops Pei Pei, just saw your post....no worries...let's target to go to the zoo together in Jan with the other mummies!

I called up the play school teacher whom I send my boy to last time. As her school is a one-man show, she closed down her school early this year for her maternity leave. She had yet to find a new place. I find that she is really good, Lavina from Kidsloft. Very good with kids, her classes are very lively.

I started sending my boy to playgroup at 20mths old. We started with Kinderland weekend classes. Sat is Eng and Sun is Chinese class. Their lessons and teachers are pretty good and is value for $. But then the Eng teacher went for maternity and the relief was very bad. Can't control the class and slowly the class shrunk. We also dropped out. I have tried Zoophonics. Lesson is about the same as Lavina's style. However, I still prefer Lavina's class, she is a born teacher. Very natural. I have told her to keep me posted if she is starting a class soon. BTW, her junior class is actually Kindermusik, while 2 years and above is playgroup.

I also send my boy to Learning Horizon at Grassroot club. Teacher and lesson are not bad, quite value for $ too.

Hence we sticked with Lavina and Learning Horizon until my boy is too old for their classes.

Pei2, once my girl also refuse solid food. Then I realised she had ulcer in her mouth as she had bitten her mouth while she is bouncing up and down. You may want to check her mouth for some clue.

velo, i will start my gal with weekend classes now for 1 yr then will put her in full day cc in 2012... some 2 hr playgroups are not bad like talentplus etc...maybe u can consider...

peipei, so in the end u got ur ergo from where? come lets go to the zoo in jan!! hehe

ashley, u planning to head back to work after ur gal goes to CC?

Hi Bidosoh, polliwogs was great. Next round then we meet there again. Actually I like fidgets too, more like, my boy likes it. But then again, he likes anywhere that he gets to play.

sporty, where are you going to start your gal with the 1 year old wkend class. Jio leh, i wanted try out for my girl too.

mbj, fidgets v far away from ur hse leh!

bidosoh, gonna start her next term at GUG...wanna join our class? think half of the class are mummies from nov thread :p hahah

adelynn/bidosoh/peipei, go quick decide on the zoo date in jan... then i can go try to apply leave!

dingdong, been bz eh?

bidosoh, PMed you liao
yes the united sq branch

Ashley, u coming with Amanda only? Pm me ur number k. We liaise offline. Hee...

Sporty, I got it from agape babies. Their service very prompt! Yeah, I'll join the zoo outing if can get leave and get the zoo pass. Haha... Btw, how much is the GUG class? I'm interfered. But my hubby not so... Need to convince him!!

Sporty,

I've also pmed you for GUG information. If you don't mind me joining the class. :) I think it's time my boy start interacting with his peers.

14 Jan 2011 OK for zoo? I need to book by next week. Else got to wait for another month then can book liao. Will book 2 passes, for 8 pax. Chidren under 3 is free. So probably can take up to 8 adults, unless we have tods above 3.

TGIF!!

dingdong, i not superwoman la...its all abt time mgmt

peipei, agape babies service is not bad! tha time i bought things from them...v fast also! the GUG class, reg fees is 50 bucks plus returnable deposit 100 ... term fees is abt $354?! ard tha...cant rem the exact figure...weekend sessions are 1 and 1/2 hrs per session...

kanelmo, replied ur PM
hope to see u in class

adelynn, see my replies to peipei on the cost

bidosoh, 14 jan sounds ok for the time being!

We are going to the zoo zoo zoo!
Date:14 jan 2011 (Fri)
Venue : Zoo
Time : 9am? 10am?

1. Bidosoh
2. Adelynn
3. sporty (tentative ok, no need pass)

anyone else keen?

sporty,
How do u manage ur time? i find i got no time for myself except at night when they are both asleep. Still dunno when i can go for my leftover facial sessions.

I need to get a baby gate. Need help on which type and brand to get. I need it to block the stairways. Hope to get some advice here.

Wish I can join you guys at the zoo next month but it'd be busy period for me at work.

I called GUG but it went to voice-mail. Is it always like that? When is a good time to speak to a human on the phone?

taurus, can ur mum or mil help for like a few hrs so tha u can go for ur facial? for me, normally on weekends morning, i will put the kids with my mil for a few hrs while i go for my facial, do housework or even a quick date with my hb! juz have to plan in advance lor... my fren is a sahm, she gets her mum to help her jaga her kid while she goes on "off" day every fri...u see whether u can work ur schedule out like tha? cuz its v impt to have abit of ur "me" time...

kanelmo, i think u have to keep calling for a few times...cuz they are always engaged on the line one...

Long time no post..simply because I have gotten used to become a silent reader at most times :X
Anyway, I very heartpain lah...my baby fell 3 flight of stairs down at my main door in his walkeer 2 days ago...Haiz..I was at work and only found out after I called mum to find out what he was doing ( I call everyday to check on his daily routine like eat, sleep already or not,...got poo etc ).
So I went home after the phone call..poor son of mine, bleeding lips and bruised chin. I was like want to cry also.
Am now thinking to find a good infant care centre near my place in east coast to put him there for 1/2 a day. Any good recommendation?

sporty,
No leh. Dun think my mum can cope with 2 kids and she stay too far from me as for MIL not possible as she's too old. I'm depriving of me time that i am going bonkers especially when my girl doesn't cooperate.

saphira,
Long time never hear from u, how r u and ur boy? I used Lucky Baby safety gate at the kitchen entrance, so far so good but my boy hates it that it affect his mood so have to remove it.

Eastgal,
Must be very painful. Hope ur boy is ok now. Perhaps u can put a safey gate at the stairway.

Bidosoh, I don't think it's ulcers leh. Cos she still eats and drinks milk in school. Sigh... Maybe she's just tired of home cooked food, or rather my cooking?!

Eastgal, so heartpain! Bleeding and bruise. Hope ur bb will recover soon.

Hi taurus,
We are doing very well. Have been very bust at work and preparing the new house. Moving to a double storey house tomorrow. That's why am looking for baby gates now.

My son enjoys it when I brush his teeth. I guess he likes the sound. We uses cloth to wipe in the morning during his bath and Oral B brush for night time.

EASTgal,
Oh dear! Hope your baby is fine now. Do install safety gate at the staircase. I am looking it now. Will place one at the top and another one at the bottom of the stairs.

Taurus: I started this habit with baby since his first tooth came out at about 6 months..using a tiny bit of the baby first toothpaste with milk extracts and he seems to like it. now when he gets his toothbrush, he will just automatically put it in his mouth and do the brushing action.

Peipei: yes heart pain to the max. Thanks God he did not hurt his head, the walker sort of cushioned his fall i guess. Funny bit is when I got home and carried him..he pointed to his walker and then pat his chest a few times to tell me he "pa pa or scared". Haiz, wad to do sometimes if we put our baby under mother or mIL charge and things like that happen, can only say so much...otherwise the relationship will be strained...

Saphira: Mine is human error..as its the steps leading to our main door from the lift lobby..baby should not even be out in the first place. It happened that my nephew and nieces visited and wanted to go swimming downstairs. Mum was making his porridge so she "commissioned" one of the elder boys to keep watch..and for some strange reason someone left the gate ajar and then baby went out in his walker...haiz...
So am thinking hard and had a discussion with hubby last nite to look for a good infantcare centre so we can put him there when he is 18 months.

Eastgal,
So good that ur boy loves brushing. My boy is reluctant to open his mouth even after so many months of cleaning his teeth. Perhaps have to try with toothpaste, like u say maybe he will like the taste and more willing to let me clean his teeth. Actually even under our direct care sometimes accident still does happen, i believe ur mum had tried hard to prevent accidents. Sometimes i also asked my girl to jaga my boy but as they are children so still have to take a peep at them everynow and then.

Taurus:
Yes agree with you. I am not blaming my mother here..cos I also know not to expect too much from her as she is old but she actually insisted she wanted to take care of baby when I delivered. I know she singlehandedly took care of the other babies of my sis and brother but that was like 10 years ago and definitely her health is not wad it used to be.
So we thought its good to let her get 5 to 6 hours breather each day when we send him to the childcare centre.
Just that when things like that happens, the most heartwrenched person is me. I know hubby also heartpain but he will always try to console me by telling me ..its ok lah, they will learn with each fall..

EASTgal,
I'm sure your mil don't want this to happen too. Maybe after this experience she will be more careful? Seems like she really do love your child since she offered to take care of him. To me, I would rather let my mil take care of my children than some strangers. There will also be a new set of problems when sending to child care. I am currently staying with my in-laws and they are taking care of my kids too. Though we do have some frictions but I am greatful to them. You'll have to weight the consequences.

Eastgal,
Is good that ur mum offer to help, my mum upfront told us she won't help to take care. And i understand cause taking care of young children takes up a lot of time and energy, now old liao so want to enjoy. Half day child care or perhaps those 2-3hrs playgroup maybe good for ur mum to rest. But at cc may get sick more easily.

Eastgal,
Ya, I agree with taurus. My MIL also not very keen in taking care of my children but no choice. I think her plan is once the kids are old enough for school, she will leave us so that she can enjoy her free time again.

taurus,
Ya. U can look for it at Guardian. At the moment, I am using only water to clean his teeth. I think brushing your teeth infront of your boy would help too.

saphira,
will u be worried if ur children gets measles when they are older? we used to get measles ard 3-5 yrs old but now our children still doesn't have them yet. Prefer that they acquire immunity by getting it rather than vaccination.

Taurus/Saphira,

yes, I know nothing beats letting our own pple takecare of our babies, plus my mum loves children...that is also partly why we decided not to get a helper too so therefore childcare will be the only option if we want to free mum up for a few hours...

vaccinations in the last thing on my mind. I haven't gotten my measles yet too. Will rely on natural ways. If they get it, will have to keep a close watch.

eastgal, gosh tha sounds like a bad fall...have u brought ur boy to see a doc yet? hear already v heartpain!

taurus, actually u never consider sending ur elder one to CC? then at least u dun have to cope with 2 kids, not as shiong? sending to cc, they will fall sick easily the first few mths but at least they learn more and u get ur sanity back...also, will u plan to go back to work next time? i use the finger brush to brush my gal's teeth...

saphira, congrats on ur hse move! yes better get safety gates if u have stairs at home!

sporty,
My girl will not want to go CC, actually i prefer to take care on my own too. Just hope my hubby can cope with the 2 of them alone, if not have to forsake the me time till they are older. I now very outdated dun know what position to work as, think have to start all over again.

saphira,
oh so u haven't got measles. i got mine at 4 yr old. But get it older will be more dangerous.