(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Hey...Royce is having 10 1-hr play vouchers @ $100. The UP is $12/hr...hmmm..anyone wanna combine with me? I am just keen to take 4 vouchers...

Second Round (Estimated Date: Early Nov ~ Nov 3/4/5 - TBC)- with 20/20 hindsight, I suggest placing the stuff you wish to donate behind your name (this helps to faciliate whoever who might be helping you ferry the stuff over to know how big/small your items are going to be):
1) Glass
2) Sotong_Mum
3) Candy_White (teats, pacifiers, insect repellents, mosquito patch, some clothes, cloth nappies and liners)
4) 04Glad
5) Maymum69
6) xoxo
7)
8)
9)
10)

Good morning mommies!

I'm back again. Resurfacing after 3 weeks of hell - marking! Very, very stressful period.. 5 classes of compo, 4 classes of compre + 2 classes of Maths. Almost died!! N to top it off, both son & daughter fell sick.. high, persistent fever. Really wanted to cry then.

BUT, it is over now. It's the last day of school tomorrow! And thereafter, i'll just be reporting to school for admin matters. Hurray! :D :D

Just had to type that out and rejoice all over again.
Sorry had to bore all of you with such unnecessary details of my boring life. HaHAA

Anyways..

I'm feeling real sorry for having missed this collection drive. I did gather some stuff for a teacher friend who is going to Cambodia with some students though. Will try see if i can dig out more stuff for the upcoming 2nd round of donations.

I'll be checking in here more often fr now on.. yay for holidays!

hope all mommies and babies are doing well there.

Hey famela, great to hear from you. And ur marking load was really hellish. Erm...I would rate it as CRAZY! But u actually finished it.

hey cat! thanks
nice to see u here too.. it's been awhile

hi tien! see, even a fellow t oso said it's crazy. O.O I finished only after many many nights of not sleeping at all.. or sleeping for 1-2h before getting up at 5/6 again. blergh. nemind, dowan to talk abt it anymore.. all in the past now.

i'm pretty sure that you didn't exactly have it that much easier yah? how're u coping with baby kay n this 2nd pregnancy? all ok?

Second Round (Estimated Date: Early Nov ~ Nov 3/4/5 - TBC)- with 20/20 hindsight, I suggest placing the stuff you wish to donate behind your name (this helps to faciliate whoever who might be helping you ferry the stuff over to know how big/small your items are going to be):
1) Glass
2) Sotong_Mum
3) Candy_White (teats, pacifiers, insect repellents, mosquito patch, some clothes, cloth nappies and liners)
4) 04Glad
5) Maymum69
6) xoxo
7) joynbaby - (fish oil *1 unopened bottle)
8)
9)
10)

Famela: well my complaints are not quite abt marking. More on having realli irritating co-workers. Totally can't wait for my ml!

Coping with Kay is a pretty big headache. As though sensing that she will lose some attention from me soon, she has been more clingy than ever. #2 is doing well despite her big sister often 'bully' her with all the persistent carrying and cuddling.

Today is bally's 1st bday.
took off and brought him to polliwogs. simple affair..we were at waraku for dinner. and he charmed the socks off the waitresses there by smiling and giggling with them..they 'kidnapped' my boy. and carried him round the resturant.. passing him from one person to another for more than 15 minutes! then he got himself a toy plane.. hahaha.. uploading the video.. hahaha..

and.. yh. chose the red egg twice! what doe sthe red egg symbolise ah? he wanted to reach out for the ang ku gueh! think cold. he didn't dare lift it up to give to me.. so i didn't count :p

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HllaydihdKo

astro: happy belated birthday to bally! he's a charmer..

tien: when are you due? ya, ML coming so just look fwd to that.

glad to hear that you n babies are doing ok.
our babies in womb are very tough hor? I was also still occassionally carrying Adil right up til time i was almost due with Ana. all 17kg of him. i think it's normal for #1 to feel a bit clingy when #2 is arriving. hang in there n spend as much time with her now. cos it's really hard to haf that 1-on-1 time once #2 arrives. after that it'll be a different kind of fun (and chaos). hehehe

Astro: Hi-5* My yx also picked red egg as the first item. Got 2 theories on this. One is YH is very 'yuan2 hua2'. Meaning EQ high lah! Theory 2 is no matter where he 'gun3' he will do well. A bit duh hor...

Famela: My EDD is supposed to be between 25 Jan to 1 Feb. This one's EDD been changing. So, I have been taking 1st Feb as the Edd. Then after ML, it's NO MORE school for me! YAY!

I think BB Kay knows that she is going to be a sister soon. And sheis defintiely the jealous type. She will wrestle with her daddy when he pretends to 'sayang' me. And my gosh, went orchard with her, my mum and sister, she only wanted me to carry her!!! Almost died! For a moment I'd thought I will deliver on the spot

HI people! Aiyoh yesterday was such an unlucky day for us! First, a clock in Amelie's room crashed thanks to the strong wind and all the glass shattered. Thankfully she was sitting at the other side of the room with my maid, so no harm done. Despite the clean-up, I can still find tiny little shards of glass on her playmat. Scary.

Then, a stroller dropped on her head!!!! We normally prop it up behind the door, hidden away. My MIL went to close the door, and somehow the stroller dropped and the wheels hit Amelie on the head! Neither me nor my hubby were home. Heard all this from my helper and MIL. A's head still has red marks on it and when I tried to rub it she kept crying. Even touching it makes her cry. Feel so sad and painful for her.

Well, to look on the bright side, no one was hurt by the falling clock. My helper said that my MIL normally sits down to blow dry her hair and if the clock fell down then, then it would be erm... a disaster. So I guess we have to be grateful for that.

Just hope no permanent damage done to A's head. Sigh.

funzee: aiyoh! must be really painful.

Yeah, luckily the falling clock didn't hit anyone.
I also nearly kena this last week. Falling light cover in the kitchen missed my head by a few inches, and Elgin by half a metre in the bathroom. Yeah, and the shards are every where. Got to be doubly sure.

Hi mommies! Hope you had a good weekend. I've a situation and wanted to see if any of you had the same experience and if so, what would be your advice.

My bubba is never clingy to anyone. We purposely instil a number of key people in his life so he can go to anyone if he wants to. So from birth until the recent Saturday, he is ok with helper, daddy, grandma, etc. Then on Saturday, things sort of went haywire. I literally cannot go out of his sight. I went to the kitchen to prepare his porridge and he cried his eyes out. If I sit at the sofa and he's at the opposite end of the room, he will crawl and cries at the same time to reach me. Er....how ah? I mean, some people may feel its so endearing, but frankly, I felt rather weird about it. Then Sunday, it happens again! Then this morning! I had to get someone to distract him before I can go change my workclothes.

Another thing, he wakes up from his nap crying very badly, and we tried to console him. He proved inconsolable. Carry also cannot, put on the floor will do spinning. How come? My doctor told me a week ago that he can see 2 molars about to come out and warned me that he will be cranky. But is this normal behavior?

I prayed that this is a phase man...

Funzee: Hope A is alright now. Must be a big scare for you guys. She will be fine... no worries...

Babymax: I read somewhere that separation anxiety worsen when the bubs reaches 1YO. I can understand your situation totally. I took 2 days child care leave last week and this little girl of mine refused to let me out of her sight. Could only do some simple housework when she sleeps. Even on the bed when she sleeps with us on some nights. She can sense me leaving the bed and immediately she will jump and hang on to me like koala bear. So, I think it's the separation anxiety especially when she knows you are around the whole day. Apparently, reassurance helps. Like using voice to let her know you are around. But then again, not all the time.

Funzee : Oh dear!!! Poor A. heartbreaking.
Babies are pretty sturdy. If you no see any other odd sign like vomit, listlessness, hand jerk, etc...she should be okay
*kiss kiss Amelie*

babymax : my boy had some of that too recently. Especially if i go somewhere he walk to find me and cry while looking. =.=. Can't leave him to play on his own anymore. Have to always be around (either daddy or mummy)

Brushing teeth :
do you buy a high chair to put at toilet to brush teeth? or?
just a small pail or something to teach baby to spit after?

Hi all, thanks for the well wishes for A. Well I suppose she is alright now. Was more clingy than usual on Friday night and over the weekend. Wanted to be carried instead of walking. As for the clingy-ness - the books say that when the babes reach toddler hood and when they start walking, they feel v conflicted. On one hand, they are more independent, on the other hand they want to cling on like when they were a baby so expect some clinging onto the legs. Oh well, I wish A were attached enough to me to cling on to me. My only instance of this was when I came home today and she didn't want to let me go to the toilet. Probably cos her father wasn't home for her to plaster herself onto. Hahahah! I resign myself to 3rd position for now. Have been trying to carry her a bit but I realise that it kills my back!

gal: erm, A doesn't spit out after brushing leh. You mean Elias knows how to? I just sit her on the chair and use the finger brush after her last bottle of milk. I let her drink some water before and after brushing to rinse out. I doubt she will understand the concept of spitting. So no pails needed for her.

funzee : no, Elias doesn't know how. i've been using gerber wash cloth all these while. once in a while will let him chew on the soft bristle silicone toothbrush (act as teether as well).

must be careful with back. give her plenty of hugs?

Thanks all..really appreciate the feedback. Last night when I reached home, it went haywire again. My mum told me he's ok when I'm not around, but when I'm here - Oh gosh...seriously, I really cannot have my dinner because he clings to me..when my mum and helper tried to get him away for me to take a quick shower, he cried so pathetically that I think the neighbours probably thought something unspeakable is happening in my household. I literally have to sit with him, and he has to see me close to him. Then he will sit down properly and play. Oh man, please let this be a phase....

My hubby is of course not very impressed with this show of clingyness because he cannot get close to my bubba..

Re brushing teeth, I just sit my bubba up after his last milk and then brush his teeth with baby toothpaste. But never once did he spit out the toothpaste and water..so I hope that one day he understands that he's meant to spit it out..not drink it. :))

Funzee: hope A is feeling better now

Baby max: clingness is a sign that ur boy has attained a cognitive milestone.. so perhaps that's a more positive way to view it? ha.. but yes.. me am detached mother. if teng or yh clings to me like that. i go berserk.. anyway. yh free like the spirit.. he ok with anyone and everyone.. but if he is not in the mood.. he is a terror.. and the moment u try to put him back into the playyard. he yells at u.. not cry wor. but yells.. anyway. i heck care him one..

gal: i think too early for them to know how to spit.. teng has just learnt how to spit out!

Thanks Astro. Yeah, you're right. To think postitively, he now recognises for sure who's the mum. You're right too that frankly, its only cute up to an extent. After that, I really just want to be left alone. HAHAHAHHAHA.

I was googling this, and the good news I found is that this is a phase. The not so good news I found is this can continue up to year 3....oh dear....

And mommies, I've brought bubba to his playgroup and signed him up. More peer pressure than anything else. Don't think he is learning anything useful, but I guess its socialisation with the rest of the world. During circle time, he cannot sit still, crawls all over the place (inside circle, straight across the circle and then tumble out of the line)..I see other toddlers guai guai sit there and clap hands, I want to hide...hahahahaha. Oh well, just hope that one day, he realised that "Oh, I'm actually supposed to be in the circle, singing songs and clapping hands too." :)

Re Stopping Breastfeeding
Hi all, I'm stopping breastfeeding and I had cut down to 2 days once for the past week. Today is the 3rd day, and my breasts are starting to feel a little firm. Do I still feed or I just ignore it and can be considered as completely stopped already?

bbmax: let me shrae with u that.. when they turn 3 years old. it is no longer clingness which we need to deal with. but tantrums.. strong stubborn wills.. and plain loud protesting.. it is becomes a teast of who is more stubborn.. how i konw.. i was just out of that phrase.. too!

glass: just ignored.. but it really bothers u.. then pump like 5 mins.. till now. i can still get some milk if i squeeze.. and i stopped like.. ages. liao..

wah, I've already kept my pumps.
I probably need to wake Elgin up to feed him. Now starting to feel uncomfortable.

funzee > how we wish we have the powers to protect them always...thank goodness A is alright

babymax > it's a phase...don't worry. dre went from koala to slippery frog...so between the two...i seriously prefer the former. :p

astro > teach me how to deal with tantrums. i am actually meditating everyday, no kidding, just to deal with the turmoil and stress...if i were to tell u the daily tantrums i am handling now...i've got nothing sweetie pie to say abt her. only consolation is that she is pint-sized..so when it gets really bad, one of us can carry the meltdown and go elsewhere where she can vent her fit all she cares and no one would call security (i am referring to moments when we bring her out and the whole world looks at us macham we are some sadists or what)..

glass > hopefully you've resolved the discomfort..why the decision to stop?

xoxo: I'm heading back to work next year, and I only planned to breastfeed for 1 year. And he also seems to be not so interested in being breastfed nowadays. He would roll away and run away sometimes.

<font color="ff0000">hi mummies! I'm back! to share something with all of you.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">The few of us have a very bad experience with a FB seller - Poppletots Lee and her attitude suck to the max!

Mie, Cat and I ordered 3 sets of family tee and total cost up to $219 (excluding postage) and i request if i could self collect since the amount was so huge and i'm not comfortable to mail lah. hehehehe and she isnt staying very far like Jurong or what have you lor. so i tot i could just pop by and collect from her.

She told us that her time is very precious with the son. and she dun entertain self collect. I meant wtf? I myself is also a BP seller and i really cannot accept her reasoning leh. and she say "3 of them cannot share postage ah?" "i haven charge them for the box lor"

In her FB page she keep saying that the cost price itself is very high. i mean in this kinda home biz, service sometimes exceed more than your profit lor. not everything you sell need to earn alot. but that doesnt mean she can compromise on her service level lah!

I have to take care of Charlotte and at the same time to attend to these emails and orders. she also keep saying she's a one man show, no maid or family member to help. HELLO?! I also no maid and one man show lor. somemore her son is quite big liao ard 3-4 yrs old. Mine is a 24/7 super glue leh. hahaha

she keep emphasing that she has no time no time. NO TIME THEN DUN DO LAH!!

I nv request her to meet me at some MRT station leh. All i requested was to meet her at her void deck or i could go up to her doorstep!! Is it very time consuming for her to do that? RUBBISH LOR!

Heard from quite a no. of us that her biz gotten bigger and her head also now quite big hahaha. big deal ah ? her tee also not very cheap lo. 3 sets cost us $219 ok! chey!! i also can go find my own lobang.

please beware of such seller ok. i condemn her already. hehehe </font>

xoxo: how to deal with trantrums? develop a thick hide and ignore! that's what i do with teng.. less with bally.. coz bally doesn't throw much trantrums except if u been carrying him then u suddenly dump him into his playyard.. well. even that i ignore and he is fine after a while.. u got to ask Mie.. coz she bumped into me once at vivo when we were still preggy.. and bao was throwing a fit.. so many pairs of eyes were staring at me.. mie was stunned tosee teng's trantrums too.. ha. ignore lor.. what to do?

there were worse times when i literally dragged the hysterical boy into a corner and told him to shut up.. so.. lucky for u indeed.. bao isn't pint sized!

haiz.. bao down with stomach flu.. lucky ceased vomitting.. i prepared that my whole family will gena again. sian..

py: hmmm ithink quite silly. if pple come to my doorstep to collect.. i lagi happy

btw why stomach flu? any idea where he got that from? sigh... the bug is still in my house. Charlotte has been sick for almost 1 month!!! URGH! ever since after her bday!

Oh and to add on: she just dropped our orders cos she said she couldt comply to our request, even w/o trying to retain us!!!! Roarr!!!

Astro: oh I think v hard to prevent also la hor? I bought a pressie for bally leh! Pass it to u when we meet k?
hope he gets well soon!

PY: I can understand your unhappiness with this seller... and thank you for sharing your experience with us....
Cool down....this type of person dun deserve any business from you!

gal: A's last bottle is around 8pm - 8.30pm. When she is still conscious. Gee, she fights the toothbrush quite a lot nowadays.

Astro &amp; xoxo, thanks for the concern. Still have marks on the head, after one week (!) but other than that she seems ok.

Astro : Hope Bao is already feeling better. Oh dear, seemed like a number of babies not well. Mummies please take care of yourselves too.

PY : That's terrible service. So does she want business or not? I thought this type of business is based on reputation and word of mouth? Sounds like someone to stay away from!

So...I have couple questions again. I'm so paiseh...always come up with more questions. I want to thank mommies first in advance for your patience with me.

(1) MMR vaccine. What should I do in advance to prepare bubba for this? I hear can be rather difficult to manage after the shot, feverish, no appetite, low immunity, vomitting, etc. He's taking this shot next week. Should I get him to start taking some vitamins to prepare?

(2) CNY Trip to Singapore. After 2.5 years away, I'm finally making the inaugural trip back to Singapore with a 15 month baby in toll (God help me). I will bring my helper along as well. We don't have a house in Singapore and parent's place no available slots. So I will book into hotel/serviced apartment. I'm tending towards serviced apartment because they comes with kitchenette for me to cook my fussy boy's culinary delights. Will you ladies recommend any serviced apartments to me?

Thanks PY.. sweet of u to get bally a pressie.

Funzee: ahhhh.. pray the marks go away fast.. show me this sun :p:p

Babymax: thanks. bao has almost fully recovered. no more vomitting. and eating his usual qtys again..

Bao didn't have much reactions to the MMR..
aiya. bally behind his jabs.. sitll have one prevar not done.. one chicken pox.. and now i remembered. MMR . haiz.
for general vit c.. i give Bao delrosa.. my PD recommends it.. for even bbs of 6 mths.. but it is quite sweet lah.. preggies also can take delrosa for vit c.. so it is quite safe.. not sre if HK has it thought..

welcoming u home in advance

ladies.. anyone know where i can 5 pts 'extension' for my stroller ah? the stroller only has a 3 pt buckle..and it is not enough.. yh can wriggle his way out of a tightly fastened seatbeat. squat.. and then stand up inthe stroller.. :S this is .. sooo new to me :S he does the same in highchairs.. wriggle wriggle and stand up.. argh...

i keep calling yh a monkey this day. then teng chips in and says he is an elephant.. i think .. teng really got the descriptions right man..:S

Aye.. now back to me spamming forum again?

Anyway I went to a free autism talk. there was this indonesian lady who is sourcing for information so that she can set up a biz or sort to train nannies who can take care of special needs back home in indonesia.. come to think of it.. it is a very smart idea.. win win in fact.. help the ladies back home who can't find jobs.. and then assist and help the kids who need so much support.. best of both worlds!

I got to know what she was doing.. coz i happened ot bump into her and joined her at a nearby resturant. then she had to rush off coz her girl came to pick her up.. when i finised my lunch. and asked for the bill. then i realsed.. she paid for my meal!!!! alamak. she only ordered a mocha leh.. but she paid for my $30+ atas meal.. god.. i thought it was a mistake and that she was blur.. coz v rich mah.. mocha cost $30+ also nvr mind.. and i still thought need trace her email andrefund her liao. Miser said.. dun need wor. most likely she thinks i look poor and hence out of pity.. paid for me!aiyoh :S

BabyMax (babymax): yah lor very terrible leh.. i guess that from her tone and choice of words used, she doesnt want our business lo. hehehe