(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

esther : josh has always sleep without lights, so far he's oaky with it. in face he seems know that its his bedtime, so he'll fall asleep by himself

candy white : 15th is the appreciation dinner, 6th of may is the appoinment ceremony. i'll come for both.

Candy White : Your girl wouldn't rub her face/forehead after you applied the oil?

Oh... I am going to start on carrot puree tmr. Think i have to be prepared.

Candywhite: I feel so tempted to apply ru yi oil on Kyle too now but prob is his skin will break out in rashes if I apply leh.. Hmm. My boy since born will cry everytime he poo and make the erm erm sound. Then everytime he poo Liao he super happy de. But this time round very poor thing Leh. Keep gek till face red red but nothing comes out. Today no poo again. Think I better try oil tmr.

Py: the pear is the yellow color kind from china or green color one?

Previously I gave si sen brown rice, potato puree and carrot purée he ok leh. Still can poo out what he eat and digest quite fast de. Only till he go infant care start on the nestle and Heinz plain rice cereal then he started constipating. Think too heaty. So sad for him. Poor thing!

Dreamygal: Think I got the part wrong... Ok exactly where I apply ru yi oil is not really forehead but the area above it.. On top of the head where the soft spot is. Only a small drop on your fingertip. Cannot press, just gently move the finger in small circular motion... Not across the whole forehead definitely. Hmm.. Hope this is clearer... My ger will rub her face, eyes but have not seen her reaching for the soft spot area yet... Have been doing that on her since birth... So far ok.

Angelina: YL has been on that post for sometime is it? Think that's why there's appreciation dinner. Mine just completed the course so only appt cermony. Next yr then I go for dinner. Haha..

hi mummies! it's been such a long while since i last posted!

1st off, my hugs and kisses to the mums and babies who are affected by the cp incident. May u all be well.

ting: if u want to ease your baby's constipation, you can try giving diluted prune juice. I dilute 1 part of prune juice in 10 parts of water. Works pretty well for yuning.

i have some updates to share on yuning's weaning experience so far. I have tried the BLW method - giving her whole foods to hold and suck and chew instead of puree/mashed food. She enjoyed holding a pear or peach and sucking the juice off the fruit. She also loves eating baby rice cakes, which are relatively easy to handle and swallow. But she gags a lot, and most of the time, the food ends up in a "puke bowl" that i would always get ready every meal. I have also given Yuning mashed food, which she also gags on... sigh. I see a preference for whole foods. However, Yuning is getting very lazy these days and prefer me to bring the food to her mouth, whether whole or mashed. tsk tsk. Lazy bum. I don't feed her solids everyday - sometimes i don't have the time, sometimes she just isnt in the mood. I guess it's ok to take things easy for now, since she is only 6 mths+, and solids are mostly tasters for her at this stage. I would strongly recommend dipping rice cakes in mashed foods if you are going with the BLW method. It's a really easy way to get the babies started. If anyone has any great tips on how to encourage babies to hold their own food, pls pls pls share with me. I am so keen to get Yuning to work for her food. She will reject food totally if she is not fed.

helo helo! greetings fr anaheim!

pics to share while i'm stealing some time to get online here...

Fireworks at disneyland
3818320.jpg

With Mickey and Minnie

3818321.jpg

3818322.jpg

okies. can't stay long.. hubby is screaming at me to go shower so we can leave. hurhurhur..

just glimpsed some talk abt work.. so tot i'd chime in and update.. my NPL will end 30 June and I've just settled paperwork to go back on part time basis. 3/4 load with no CCA. yahoooooo!! :D

big load off my tiny worrying head.

ok now i really need to go.

see ya later folks!

cheers!

Candy white: witches are all around my dear. My side has evil witches and slimy creeps. Anyway you shld try for another baby before saying sayonara! Mill them dry!!!!!!!

Famela!!! My gosh you went japan!!!! Was thinking if it's wise to travel with yx at this age!! How you manage? Esp on the plane. Teach me!!!! Nursing in japan possible? Cos yx rejects bottles. If really can maybe I shld push my plans to bring her there to this June!!!

Hi mummies, am oct mummy. Have a new tin of enfAproA+ for babies less thAn 6 months old to let go. I bought it for standby but boy was co-op n was on total bm. Email me if interested [email protected]
dun want to waste it. Am ok w meet up only at airport, eunos, or parkway parade

Famela: u r really good!! Have been contemplating on bringing kid on trip (long flight). Share ur tips on how to cope on the flight?? And how u nurse?? And sleeping in hotel?? Sleep on baby cot? Or?

Famela,

You bring 2 kids to travel. I tempting to bring Rhys but don't think I can handle 2. I am bring my elder for trip this Jul/Aug and now planning my trip. So excited finally can go for trip and have not travel for a year plus.

Wanted to bring Rhys but scare cant handle 2 in the flight as I will be going alone and meet my hubby there.

famela : super !!! share some story please

candy white : i'll see u on 6th of may then

Little Boss woken up several times last night. only drank a bit just fussy -.-"
haizzz sleepy

Mommies I need help or advises!! Now in this super shitty mood. I suspect I have Mastitis... What should I do now?? Go see a normal gp or my gynae?? Feels really weird to see a male doc leh.

It started on sat halfway at the gathering I feel my left breast painful but didn't thought much about it. Then when I reach home I was horrified cos only the top part of the breast is hard. Very hard. And extremely painful. After I let my bb sleep I begin pumping and it was alot of hardwork to clear that mass. Weird thing is given the fact it's so hard I will think there is alot of milk inside right? But no! Anyway I sorta clear it and was fine on sun and mon.

But yesterday in middle of night I begin to feel pain again. -_-"" i woke up with a hard mass at top part of left breast again! And it's hard till close to armpit the height and damn painful!! Even when I walking cos arms will move. Lil movement cause so much pain. I spent 2 hrs to massage and pump an hot compress to soften and pump but the hard mass still there now..... Me no fever... I dunno if it's block ducts or mastitis.... Sob sob sob..... Who should I go see now? Really very pain leh. The whole upper half of the left breasts so painful to touch and damn sensitive

Ting: Likely to be engorgement. Have you tried cold cabbage. That will bring down the milk production and ease the pressure on the milk ducts. And I think better to see gynae lah. If you are not comfy with seeing male doctors go see a female one.

ting: i had that experience in my right breast a month ago.. it was super painful. and i had fever too.

what i did was keep pumping and getting my son to latch and doing self massage during hot stone.. do note that when pumping out, the ss is damn pathetic (eg, my usual pump for right breast is ard 200ml, then during that period, i can only pump max 120 - 140ml(but the breast still very full) only after a week or so, it gets better, but by then my ss dropped and it is not as much as in the past.

hmm.. i dun think gynae can help leh. unless u wan to look for mdm rokiah (good in clearing blocked ducts).

Sob so painful now. Me now at tmc parentcraft centre. Waiting. Desperate just now so anyhow call up their bf hotline. They ask me to come down to see.
It's really similiar to limmil's experience, now I feeling as if going to have fever Liao too. one week! How to tahan so pain? Hmm but nw I already here..... Waiting to see a consultant. Bad day. I feel lousy and bb having fever fm vac now. The breast so painful can't even move without feeling pain.

Sob it didn't occur to me to go bk archives to look for mdm rokiah contact. I rem reading her wonders last time. Long ago.

Selling 1 unopen GNC Childlife Essential Fatty Acids Natural Butterscotch flavor.
Expire date: 23 Oct 2010

For infants 6 month old up to 12yrs old kids.

Product detail: http://www.childlife.net/node/53/

Original price: $ 43.50
Selling cheap now: $ 35

Pls PM me if u keen. Collect at my blk (hougang). Thanks!

Sorry to hear abt the CP thing. din hv time to read forum for a while. Hope all mums & babies are well.

ting
sounds like blocked ducts to me. if u keep hvg it, means the blockages not cleared yet. i clear mine by doing manual squeezing. it always works.
try to apply some cream on ur breast b4 u compress ur breast coz e 1st few times when i didnt, i felt utterly bruised aft i cleared my blockages due to the intense expressing. after applying cream, push along the blocked vein twds ur nipple and make sure got milk jetting out (it shld if u r pressing on the right vein). repeat this procedure until see milk ducts stop jetting out, means likely it has alrdy cleared. then use pump to empty breast. u shld collect some milk. then check breast again. soft means its all gone. gd luck!

Something to share for all the moms out there and here.

<font color="0000ff">Invisible Mother

It all began to make sense, the blank stares, the lack of response, the way one of the kids will walk into the room while I'm on the phone and ask to be taken to the store.

Inside I'm thinking, 'Can't you see I'm on the phone?'

Obviously, not.

No one can see if I'm on the phone, or cooking, or sweeping the floor, or even standing on my head in the corner, because no one can see me at all.

I'm invisible. The invisible Mom. Some days I am only a pair of hands, nothing more: Can you fix this? Can you tie this? Can you open this?

Some days I'm not a pair of hands; I'm not even a human being. I'm a clock to ask, 'What time is it?' I'm a satellite guide to answer, 'What number is the Disney Channel?' I'm a car to order, 'Right around 5:30, please.'

I was certain that these were the hands that once held books and the eyes that studied history and the mind that graduated sum a cum laude - but now they had disappeared into the peanut butter, never to be seen again. She's going; she's going; she is gone!

One night, a group of us were having dinner, celebrating the return of a friend from England ..

Janice had just gotten back from a fabulous trip, and she was going on and on about the hotel she stayed in.

I was sitting there, looking around at the others all put together so well. It was hard not to compare and feel sorry for myself.

I was feeling pretty pathetic, when Janice turned to me with a beautifully wrapped package, and said, 'I brought you this.'

It was a book on the great cathedrals of Europe ..

I wasn't exactly sure why she'd given it to me until I read her inscription:

'To My Dear Friend, with admiration for the greatness of what you are building when no one sees.'

In the days ahead I would read - no, devour - the book. And I would discover what would become for me, four life-changing truths, after which I could pattern my work:

No one can say who built the great cathedrals - we have no record of their names.

These builders gave their whole lives for a work they would never see finished.

They made great sacrifices and expected no credit.

The passion of their building was fueled by their faith that the eyes of God saw everything.

A legendary story in the book told of a rich man who came to visit the cathedral while it was being built, and he saw a workman carving a tiny bird on the inside of a beam. He was puzzled and asked the man, 'Why are you spending so much time carving that bird into a beam that will be covered by the roof? No one will ever see it.' And the workman replied, 'Because God sees'

I closed the book, feeling the missing piece fall into place.

It was almost as if I heard God whispering to me, 'I see you. I see the sacrifices you make every day, even when no one around you does. No act of kindness you've done, no sequin you've sewn on, no cupcake you've baked, is too small for me to notice and smile over. You are building a great cathedral, but you can't see right now what it will become.'

At times, my invisibility feels like an affliction. But it is not a disease that is erasing my life.

It is the cure for the disease of my own self-centeredness. It is the antidote to my strong, stubborn pride.

I keep the right perspective when I see myself as a great builder. As one of the people who show up at a job that they will never see finished, to work on something that their name will never be on.

The writer of the book went so far as to say that no cathedrals could ever be built in our lifetime because there are so few people willing to sacrifice to that degree.

When I really think about it, I don't want my son to tell the friend he's bringing home from college for Thanksgiving, 'My Mom gets up at 4 in the morning and bakes homemade pies, and then she hand bastes a turkey for three hours and presses all the linens for the table.' That would mean I'd built a shrine or a monument to myself. I just want him to want to come home. And then, if there is anything more to say to his friend, to add, 'you're going to love it there.'

As mothers, we are building great cathedrals. We cannot be seen if we're doing it right.

And one day, it is very possible that the world will marvel, not only at what we have built, but at the beauty that has been added to the world by the sacrifices of invisible women.

Great Job, MOM!

Hope this encourages you when the going gets tough as it sometimes does.

We never know what our finished products will turn out to be because of our perseverance. </font>

<font color="aa00aa"> tien, famela and her family went to USA, west coast. That's disneyland in Anaheim.

jrrt, thanks for sharing.

Hey, thanks all for sharing advises on my block duct. 6 mths of bf-ing and 1st time encounter this!

Consultants at parentcraft couldn't help, 12 o clock is here and they squeezing damn hard till I screaming in pain. Then they ask me go back cos I wouldn't endure the pain and let my bb latch on this breast for whole day. If tonight lump still there, come again tomorrow but if got infection they ask me see doc..... I dun even know how infection look like! And they ask me to go cos they need to go somewhere Liao. Not sure lunch or an event ba.

Hippo, ya I got the link and found the number, what I meant was first thing in the morning if I smart enough to go dig archives then I will rem who engage mdm rokiah services b4, then I wun so stupid rush to parentcraft Liao.

Anyway desperate me, cos still swell and in pain I call mdm rokiah but she is not in Singapore!! Just my luck!! Faint. The admin only ask me to go down to their shop tommorw noon. But I already have fever now Liao. took 2 panadold and keep latch bb on this side only. The other side pump out wah ss drop so drastically to only 60ml Nia. I also went to sleep and wake up to massage The affected side. How do u all know where the block ducts are?? Mine whole upper breast is swollen and pain. So I jus massage everywhere (keeping in mind xoxo's tip abt massaging n let bb latch. Now is softer Liao. But still got a lump inside!

Dunno if I can pass tonight. Gambateh.

<font color="aa00aa"> ting, unfortunately, the sign of infection - fever/high fever.

you take care, k?</font>

<font color="aa00aa"> I failed miserably on BF.

My friend who had mastitis stopped completely and baby on FM. You may wanna get a 400gm tin to standby, just in case.

Mummies, please help ting.</font>

hey babes! in for a quick looksee again. it's 2.15am and i need to be up early tmr so can't linger..

thanks everyone for your kind comments on my chewren :p naturally, *I* think they're adorable la.. with their warts, whines and all heee ;)

tien: we're now in california. (thanks diana for clarifying :D ).. transit was at Narita. i latched ana all the way in the plane (no bottles i mean). so far no problem. all i need is my dependable nursing poncho. no one bats an eyelid lar. i oso don care. the japanese at the airport and on the plane didn't care either. the angmos here *lagi* don't care.

ours was a 24h journey with the delay at Narita. of course in the plane baby got a little tired = cranky. we requested for a bassinet since she's still within weight limit and still not so mobile. the bassinet is NOT recommended for crawling babies - they'll get too restless. tried and tested with adil at 11 months - FAIL. and that was only abt 7-8(?)h (to melbourne).

so my advice: travel with younger babies actually easier! once they are crawling/creeping or worse just learning to walk the headache is elevated. from experience lar.

this time travelling with Ana definitely MUCH more peaceful compared to Adil's first plane ride (11 months) so plan your hols soon!!

Ana got cranky when she didn't get to sleep properly. there was turbulence, so seat belt sign on almost all the time, bassinet could not be used. slept in our arms most of the time and was a bit uncomfortable for her so she fussed esp towards the end. but she did sleep quite a bit. tag team with hubby lor.. play pass the parcel whenever either one of us got too tired. (sunnyling: i can imagine it'd be tough without your hubby on the plane.)

adil is now old enough to entertain himself. he enjoyed the cartoon movies and slept the rest of the time

mummies, just try lar.. my motto is don't try, don't know. prepare for the worst, hope for the best. hee hee and i think i mentioned this before.. doesn't mean you have kids can't go for hols rite? just GO!
it's tiring but you'll enjoy it, trust me.

ting: that sounds like severe blocked ducts. i had that for the longest, longest time. and i felt like kicking myself in the ass for not calling mdm rokiah earlier. CALL HER! she's MAGIC. i waited until i got fever and was put on antibiotics before i called her and really felt stupid for delaying so. there's A LOT of milk stuck inside. don't wait no more ok????

call her hp. she stays in JB. but can come in. SMS her oso can. 92716091 take care!

ok, hubby needs to use laptop to hand in his assignment. bah.

laterz again ladies... kisses to your young ones :*

ting: can still BF, infection won't pass. (some strong medication can pass, ask doc if need to express and throw away that milk after you take medication or time intake of medicine etc) but it'll be damn painful. get your antibiotics. and get the blocked cleared. it's be gone very fast. i KNOW the pain of mastitis. it's painful to the max if it gets really bad. i rate it as worse than labour. so don't delay. get help asap. go to gynae is best. but GPs can oso prescribe antibiotics. gynae can help compress a little (not much, but every bit helps).

can still BF, don't worry. once cleared, you can get even double the amount of milk. try!

ok bye. hubby making noise

hah! hubby asleep. i shld be too! it's now 3.10am!!

spam with photo of my son trying to 'pick up' an angmoh girl can? hehe

3822225.jpg

found 1 hubby took of me while i'm feeding ana

3822226.jpg

Ting: the pears are green ones
btw pls call mdm rokiah abt ur engorgement. She's very good! She helped ne cleared my block ducts in a session! Actually I'm supposed to see her 2 visits but didn't call her up after that.. So u diy hot towel massage

can understand your pain till the armpit cos I also experienced it before!!!

Better call her ok!!

Ting dun waste ur time at tmc!! Call mdm rokiah! Tell her u condition and I'm sure she will zoom down to ur house asap! ( unless she's overseas)

I like her service. Darn good hehe u want her no?92716091

Haha I'm such a dumb dumb!! Saw narita not Anaheim!! See how badly I want to return to japan!!

But I guess Ang moh country is so much easier to latch in public. Not so sure abt culture in japan. Nonetheless thanks for the tips for the flight. Think Ana is really a sweetie
pie to behave so well. Yx is turning into a little monster these few days. Dunno where and when she learnt the technique of screaming. Sigh... Really miss her non-crying and no- fussing days.

But you are right! Must always give it a try. Shall cho cho hubby hahaha.. See if we got spare cash after renovatng the new place.

Famela!! Enjoy the rest of your trip ya!

Ting: I got a friend who also gone thro the same thng as you. But she even had blood in her milk She was concerned abt passing the blood to her gal and so she pumped and throw the milk away. Anyway if you can't get mdm rokiah can try my massage lady. She also can do it. Need to find he number. Post in a while.

Oops I just read ur post hahah that time when I need her she was also overseas!! So I SMS her and she called me tell me to use hot towel.. And 2 days later she attend to me

I am from the aug 2009 thread and currently making Munchkin Mozart Magic Cube Spree.

Just to share about this toy as my son loves it a lot and it is a life saver for when I need a couple of minus to do something. Thought the toy might be helpful in the future for Oct mommies too. Robinson is selling this item for S$99.

Do let me know if you are interested. =)

wow.. so envy so many of you are still bfing your babies for coming to 6 months. I had to give up in the 4th mth when i went back to work.

i'm planning for a trip in Aug too... most likely can only go HK, cos BB used to sarong, and definitely can't sleep well for long-haul flights.

Anyone knows the weight limit for Baby Bjorn carrier? worried that it may not withstand my baby's weight soon....

Wow so many of u block ducts b4? Nw I agree is damn painful!!!!! Worse than give birth cos labour can see your beautiful child. U all are really really great mommies!! And really appreciates all the help and advices. But nw in laws back home hubby say endure till tomorrow cos ltr his parents will ask and say a lot of things, possibly say bb can't slp w me too. Which will make my pain worse! Now running a fever of 39.2 last I check. Temp is climbing despite the panadols. But I shall endure then. I jus feel trap in this home! Sick also can't see doc! Wat kinda son my mil raise!! See!! Super fed up.

Waiting for daybreak.

Hmm, so actually is not that bad except pain and fever only? Can endure 2 days de? Haha. Since I m trapped, so just hope miracle will happen n tmr can get it cleared!!

Btw mdm rokiah dun do home visit Liao as of 1 apr. I told her my situation. But to go to her shop at Jovan tmr. She is in jb nw.

Thank u all...... Really appreciate all the advices when I whining away. I really glad I have u gals

Famela, your family look gorgeous in the pix! Love that photo of Adil "picking up" the angmoh gal, hahahaha! Oh boy, is it really easier to travel when they are smaller? Would love to take a trip (feeling deprived) but can only do so in Jul/Aug, when baby is about 10-11 months. Ugh.

Ting, I think if you pump out and there is thick yellowish stuff then it's infected and can't feed to baby. I was once at TMC Parentcraft and there was a mummy with a huge red bump and very painful and I overheard the nurse telling her this.

niemweis: Think limit is 10kg for Baby Bjorn, at least for the basic model that I have.

For the mummies who would like to encourage your babies to stay on their tummies to practise flipping etc, I read on Baby Centre this tip from a mum - use a wind-up car. My bb used to hate TT and then when I read that, I used the wind-up sushi toys I had. It worked! I think the moving toy intrigued her enough to tahan slightly longer on her tummy. Hope this helps.

10kg? oh dear, she's really outgrowing the carrier very soon.

My only consolation is that she learnt to flip from back to tummy last week, despite her heavy weight! Not sure how to make her flip from tummy to back though. i'm trying to think of more exercises for her to do, so that she can quickly shed off the excess fats.

Another thing i worry about, is she being a really quiet baby. She almost never babble at all... only make noise when she's tired/hungry. Sometimes scream when she's happy.

<font color="aa00aa"> niemweis, oh she is such cute girl ! don't worry about the weight, once she starts to walk and crawl, you will miss the chubby girl.</font>

famela > COOL! Thanks for your cheery pics from afar. Did quite alot to perk me up...pls post more..I'll be hanging out at your blog :p

niemweis > I am inspired to trim dre's fringe like yr gal's! She looks so contented and happy!