(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

xoxo: i didn't plan to cut her hair this way. My original intention was to "layer". Haha.. but it was way too challenging.. she keep moving and i was afraid of hurting her. So end up this hairstyle. Some of my frens commented not nice le... i tot it was rather cute though.

tien: wow.. i didn't know there is a height limit too! i'm using Air. it already looks pretty tight on her already.

feifei: so far i've given my gal baby rice, nestle cereal, apple puree, carrot puree, mashed papaya. The only thing she dislike is the apple puree... gonna try broccoli soon...

Babymax: Guess wat.. my chubby gal can finish 180ml in just 5 mins! she didn't even need to get a breather! that probably explains for her weight..

llovemaxmax: my gal can oni sit with support. She's a big baby so that's why can fit nicely into the highchair w/o toppling?

Diana, so sorry to hear abt your mc. Take good care of yourself!

BabyMax, I used to have bottle battles with Amelie all the time. Later on I lightened up and decided that if she ain't hungry, I wun force her. BTW, are you giving EBM or FM? FM once touch bb's mouth, can only keep 1 hr. Bcos bacteria in saliva breeds very fast in the milk. Not sure about EBM.

Niemweis: yes, your bb's hair v cute! And you cut it urself? I bring A to my hairdresser. Very tiring! My hubby will have to carry her so that can cut her hair.

Highchairs: I am still using the Combi chair and sometimes and bumbo to feed. A will try to propel herself out of the bumbo. The combi is always dirtied by her. Wondering if I shld get a proper high chair. Maybe I check out the IKEA one. Either that or this high chair that I've always liked from Mothercare. Hee hee! I don't think A can sit well in a chair with low back support. Not strong enough yet.

hehe, talking about #2, share with you all this funny incident.

during a family gathering, My HB's cousin's 3YO boy was playing with Sam in the room. Me and another cousin was talking to the boy's mummy who said she dun mind have another one but the HB not keen.

so the cousin ask the lil boy...
Cousin: Do you like baby?
boy: yes!
Cousin: do you want a didi or meimei?
boy: meimei!
Cousin: Ok then you go out now and ask daddy to give you a meimei.

the little boy went out to the daddy who was with a bunch of relatives and said rather loudly:
daddy! i want you to buy me a meimei!
of course everyone there laughed and the daddy was a bit paiseh and talked to his son softly.

when the boy came back into the room we asked him wat his daddy said.

boy: daddy say ok but he say mei mei out of stock... don't have any now.
cousin: no! you don't ask daddy to buy you a mei mei. you ask him to make you one! in fact ask him to make one tonight!

the little boy went out again... hahahah!! and this time he didnt come back to the room liao! :p

ting: i hope your engorgement is gone now. i had an episode of thrush cum mastitis when my baby was 3mths old. it was horrible. i had to apply anti-fungal cream on my nips and nystatin for yuning to cure the thrush, and also take antibiotics to cure the mastitis. i also had to constantly use hot towels on my breasts to soften the lumps. and then a mth back, i experienced 4 times of painful engorgements over a short period of 2 wks. the problem was worsened by yuning biting me, causing there to b a crack in the nipple and blood in the milk. i eventually got rid of the blocked duct by taking a hot salt bath everytime before feeding, massaging and looking out for white spots to pop. i also rinse my nips with warm water after every feed to make sure there isnt any dried milk deposit. and i take plenty of rests/naps where possible, increase water intake, cut down on oily and sweet foods. Hope u get well soon!

Famela: i didnt realise u went all the way to the states!!!! such a loooong flight with 1 kid and 1 baby, not to mention the possibility of jetlag after arriving at the destination. U r amazing! I m going to fly bac to sg from london this june, and i already shudder at the thought of the 12hr flight + jetlag. do u have more tips to share on wat to watch out for on long distance flights and how to help babies overcome jetlag? TQVM!

Hi funzee>>I gave FM, and had to change the milk if he does not finish. So in the end, I make 2 rounds. The first round 90ml and the next round 90ml, so it can be fresher. I also had a warmer ready to keep the milk temperature constant. I tell you, its a massive operation when it comes to feeding time. I almost had to check the almanac to see if the timing is "auspicious" for feeding.

Elly and Famela>>Me too. I'm supposed to take my bubba back to SG in June and I am still not brave enough to go book the tickets. I don't know how to help babies on flights and they will be grouchy. Especially since my bubba is in bottle rejection period...so will really be interested to hear your experiences and tips.

PY>> Thank u for helping me check wif ur hubby...
Ask u hor.. if he is on work permit.. he can ROM wif a singaporean meh?

Re: Porridge
I also quite tempted to give leh.. cos think my milk supply is hard to sustain for his whole day's intake le..

Diana>> Wat kind of porridge are u giving Asher?

<font color="aa00aa">Re: ROM
the answer is YES because my sister just got married last year.

RE: Porridge
I add fish(ngo wu), sometimes add carrot, once add potato leaves. he loves porridge.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">mine is very similiar to the one showing how to cook porridge with the tools. pigeon, also from japan. is easy to use. </font>

Diana>> The porridge maker seems gd leh.. where did u get it from? How often u give porridge? Everyday?

I thinking of cooking fish porridge for A as well.. Then kiasu mummy will add lots of ingredients like carrot, potato etc etc.. LOL.. Just like how i cook soup.. everything dump in.. nice and sweet... :p

Angelina>> Hope Baby Josh's fever will subside soon! U take care hor.. dun worry too much!

<font color="aa00aa"> yes, it is easy to use and wash also. got it at robinsons, you can find it at takashimaya or isetan. i got it around $21 after 20% dics during the sales.

Asher is constipated,I am not sure why, maybe I should give alternate day until his gut is more mature.I used to give daily but only one time, noon I give rice cereal. I read some articles, these are constipating food so now I give prune/pear for one solid meal and another will be either cereal/porridge. he is taking well/absorping that's why constipated but take it slow, should be ok.

you may wanna start giving every 2 days.

are you a sahm also?</font>

Diana>> No.. i am a FTWM..
I wish i can be a SAHM... Wishing it every monday and thurs.. If i strike Toto... if i strike Toto.. wahahahaaa...

<font color="aa00aa">mrs neo, sahm is not as "good" as many people thought.
like me, I always envy you all got income and can buy things for yourself, baby and hubby. I can never say, i buy for you</font>

diana, thanks for sharing the pigeon porridge maker, will go get one this weekend.

by the way, did you add salt or soy sauce or bovril/marmite before feeding to Asher?

Mrs Neo: hehehe this qns huh.. let me check for you. Coz he has a friend now.. who is involved with this PRC girl.. and in fact already preg..

This girl was a work permit holder.. so when any SG guy wanna marry a work permit holder (was also considered) need to seek approval from MOM.

which is very stupid. hahahaha.. i get back to you regarding this ok.

Ur sis's bf IS a work permit holder huh ? ... alamak your sis is really stupid leh.. or rather naive.. sorry for saying this =x

Diana> so the porridge maker we just dump all the ingredients in too ?

How long does it takes to cook the mushy porridge?
U know ah my mil dun like to on the rice cooker for long.. once the rice is cooked, she off it liao. tsk tsk tsk ....

Hi, I have also started porridge for Nathan. He loves the texture....
In fact I am against to adding any flavouring until he turns 18 months.... cos I dun want him to become too picky on food...

<font color="aa00aa"> py, is not bf, her sister secretly ROMed so I think they are married. may have difficulty in getting PR for the PRC now but is just a matter of time, once your sister is pregnant then go to MP, appeal, he may get his luck. ----> this is what my sister's friend did and this girl is only a PR and applied for the msian husbang. so now, both are PR.

There was this girl, not very close with her, she is SPorean. BF is msian, working permit. Pregnant then want to ROM, rejected, she went to her MP, failed also. She delivered her girl in KKH and birth cert no daddy's name because under the law, she is SINGLE but 3 of them stay together. (which is illegal if I am not wrong)

so I think, case to case basis. if your sister is legally married, by right, she can apply PR for her husband and ICA may approve.

Our very close friend, from India but Sg PR just got married in India and brought the wife to Singapore, he is applying PR for her and she is a housewife. As far as I know, the one who applying for the spouse must also have good income and our friend is earning $6k or slightly lesser. Got the feeling the wife will obtain the PR status because all my hubby's colleagues( at least 6 of them) are non singaporean and EVERYONE GOT IT</font>

PY>> Ya lor.. We all have the same sentiments as u.. she is plain stupid... And he still got the cheek to tell us he is a PR already when he knows my sis.. But i find it damn fishy.. so kept probing.. in the end found out tat he is just on work permit.. Haizz. but everything too late le.. they already ROM..

I also agree.. no flavouring... and i read somewhere tat shld not put salt in the baby's food till dunno how old.

Diana: yah i know abt her sis secretly marry this PRC guy.

Mrs Neo: I checked with my HB liao he say cannot. but i think if seek approval from MOM can. But that's of coz IF that guy IS A Work permit holder.

but ultimately as what Diana said, as time goes by, he'll get what he want lol. Yes the one applying need to have high qualification, income etc not any ah mao ah gou can apply one

Dun worry that much.. it takes time and who knows it'll get rejected haha!

josh is still having fever. Always around 38,5
Poor thing,keep crying ;'(
Changed his towel every 30 minutes
Let him naked just wearing pampers
Hope he'll be ok

Mrs Neo: Did your sis seek the family's opinion before? maybe you all rejected so she just go ahead without telling u all lor.. hai..... sian .. i also feel v sian for you.

Angelina: u got stick the fever pad thingy on his forehead ? seen the doc yet? give him panadol and sponge him often ok. Hope the fever subside soon!

Mrs neo: My hb say maybe at the time of ROM, he didnt declare to ROM that he's a WP holder.

He say he can stay in this way. then he'll never get caught.. but if he try apply PR, sure kena from ICA.

HOHO good luck to him!

hope this will cheer u up alittle :D:D

<font color="aa00aa">angelina, so worry for you. sponge josh frequent, if really too high, send to CE.

mrs neo, things done cannot undo. Just have to give them blessing and hope he treats your sister well. I understand how pek7 you feel, I/my family been thru this... </font>

wow, took me whole morning to read all the post :p

Chicken pox: hope am not too late to wish all those mommies n babies good health... cp only spread when the one infected is during da recover period, i.e when the wound is drying up... so high chances u guys wun get it ok? cheers...

Diana: so we put the glass container to cook in the rice cooker? n can bring traveling wif the other "cover" container?

MrsNeo: I tot in within 1 wk or 2 wks anybody can go for objection? so u trying to not letting ur sis's bf get PR? or? My cousin works in MOM as director if not mistaken. U wan to sabo or help? :p

Niemweis: i only can say WOW" 180ml within 5 minutes, amazing ler.. until now i only can feed my girl 90-120ml. even it still take so many rounds to finish lor. May i know how many months your girl exactly? I heard that carrot has Nitrate so can't give baby at early stage.
Today i start to give my girl farley biscuit + fm.

<font color="aa00aa">alexis, the photos only to show how to cook, the one selling in the market is metal base. I've never tried bringing it out but I don't advise because ppl all telling me to not to feed COLD porridge, will cause wind in stomach. and this thing doesn't keep warm. imagine after cooking, the base is also not " clean" because is together with our cooked rice.then after smashing into the white container, i feed right a way. no cover.</font>

Alexis: erm.. chicken pox is infectious two days BEFORE the first blister appears..(till the scabs are crusted over).. so high chance for all the adults/ bbs present.. we can just pray.. oh well..

py/angelina: i remembered noticing this.. when teng was admitted to kkh.. with persistent high fever due to middle ear infection.. i asked for a fever pad.. coz i thuoght that wld be useful..they dun have it.. u got to buy it wor..
then some docs/nurses commented.. sponging still the best way.. to bring the fever almost immediately. teng's fever mightily high.. reached 40.5 at one pt! dragged him into the shower to cool down :S.. haiz.. anyway.. straight to hte pt.. the cool pad.. yes, good initially to draw the heat away.. BUT must change regularly.. coz if u let it there when it has drawn the heat away and 'abosrbed' the heat.. it becomes a heat source.. and 'heats up' the forehead again! so miser concludes.. all these coolpads = waste of $..

feifei: nirtrate in carrots.. not that dangerous in singapore context.. maybe some other countires.. than the nitrate content cld be high.. in sg it is safe.

<font color="aa00aa">feifei, my asher loves farley, is very nice.
you got the less sugar or original?

actually asher can finish 240mls in 15-20 min but lately, he took 30mins. I observe the way he suckle, I think is time to change the TEAT size.
mummies, you may wanna try changing. they probably find that the smaller teat = less milk into the mouth, so longer time to finish the increasing milk and they have no patient hence play while feeding. my asher will turn here turn there, watch tv, smile, play with his feet.</font>

<font color="aa00aa"> agreed with astro RE: cold pad, waste money, i ended up sponging frequently.

thanks for the info about carrot.</font>

PY>> Thanks once again!

Alexis>> I am not trying to help or sabo.. I just wanna see wat is his motive.. cos wanna protect my naive sister.. i really have doubts in this guy.. how can he suggest ROM only being 2gether for less than 3 mths.. and furthermore, convinced my sis to go ROM BEHIND all our backs? its fishy.. And i tot getting a PR is his main motive, so he rushed into ROM.. Erm.. seriously dunno wat he is up to.. so, must get more facts and guard against him.. Even though wat's done cannot be undone, at least, we know whether to trust him in future or not and wat kind of person he is. Sighz.. Worried he is using my sister just to get his PR.. u know wat i mean?
Furthermore, my sister has got a 4 room HDB flat leh.. (Her story very complicated 1).. Not sure whether he is also eyeing the flat as well.. Haizz...

But like wat PY says.. if he never declare tat he is on WP during ROM.. then, gd luck to him lor.. ...

Diana: i bought the heinz's farley biscuit, package in yellow box i never check whether it is an original one or w/ sugar one.. hopefully it isn't :p.

I bought a lot of heinz bottle one and just realise that all contain sugar ler.. *sigh