(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Rhys drinking around 180ml 4 hourly

Me also dream feed Rhys. His last feed around 10-11 (dreamfeed also) and I will dreamfeed him again in the morning around 630am before I go work.

ASHM , bbseed : wow ur baies drank a lot. i dont think josh can drink that much. he's still bf but eat solid at night

PY ; hah its not u ah ? paiseh..sorry... ya loke told me about the smalsmalworld. how do u know that its good ?

xoxo : great world...thank u so much for the info. will go there soon

MieMie - Yup, she has been on this pattern for the last two weeks...but sleep through for the last two months... Looks like our babies are drinking the correct amount of milk. She can gulp down in mins when she has her first feed in the morning! Must be hungry....heeheehee... I was thinking if she doesnt wake up or make noise in the middle of the night, then we will just leave her alone... And also to train her to sleep through..

ASHM>> actually i tink as long as they dun fuss is ok la.. belle also started sleeping thru the night when she was about 2 months old.. and she started on 180ML per 4hours about 3 weeks ago..

happy 5 months to Bella!

bbseed>> for belle, after her 7am feed, she will go back to sleep, and wake up ard 1030 to 11am. then my mum will feed her cereal.. we give her the 7am feed even if she is still sleeping, coz my hubby is afraid she will be too hungry.. hahaha

angelina>> bring josh downstairs for a walk la, may lift up both u and his spirits?

Contamination: I missed astro post earlier on tt, xoxo thxthx for repost. Our Oct running so fast just dun have time to catch up when i access almost on the move

Xoxo: I really pei Fu ur hb leh, he quitted his job!!! Tts a big n difficult decision. I have been pondering for mths n stll can't be tt determined to quit

angelina: mine consider little and furthermore his not on solid food. ytd went to PD, she commented that 150 at 4hrs each is abit little for him. but as long as his growing thn its fine. his weight now 8kg height 68cm

read that you are looking for a playmat, i bought a playmat from small small world at the starting of march and receive the playmat today. they are having a promo when buying the playmat u can get a free picnic mat (not too sure whether its still on as I ordered mine early march)

ya they can feel it.. just relax and try to smile at him.

ASHM: me also starting solids on my boy next mth..
now gathering info and buy some books to get myself ready..

mie: most of my friend's baby is doing ur method (which i prefer also) but if i feed by boy at 7am he will wake up (coz his a light sleeper) and if he wakes up and so happen that my MIL knows abt it, she will keep him awake in order to bring him out for breakfast which i dun really like (coz he cannot continue his slp) tat's why i dun wan to feed him at 7am.

bbseed>> tell ur MIL that it is impt for baby to have that amount of sleep la.. but i tink she wants to bring him out to show off right? show to her auntie frens that she got a cute grandson..

thank goodness so far my mum dun dare to bring my girl out on her own yet...

sunnylng>> that is only for the morning 'nap', 2 to 3 hours.. belle's afternoon naps are only about 1 hour long, sometimes 15mins only!

these 2 to 3 hours are very precious to my mum, she gets to eat her breakfast properly, do housework and read papers.. hahaha

so when i leave for work and belle din go back to sleep, my mum will keep grumbling.. these few days im on MC, belle din sleep after her morning feed, she slept at 930am! so i din get my rest and my mum had to keep coming into my room to check on belle.. hahaha

mie>> before my boy is born, my PIL have the habit of going breakfast together so now she need to help me look after my boy its like she cant go for breakfast so should happen that my boy woke up at 7plus 8, she will keep toking to him not to let him slp back while waiting for my PIL to get himself ready. another thing i dun like is she carry my boy and sit in the front, that is very dangerous (i think)..

she's not my mum i cant really say anything so just keep quiet lor or rant here..

Down with migraine yet again. Had to ignore yx for a few hours to rest and suddenly felt emo when i saw her after that and din help that I read the post first.

Astro: hugz. Must be feeling guilty and horrible towards Teng? Esp when he basically forgave you almost immediately. Just give him even more love n hugs ok. Dun waste time feeling down n sad. For the buckets he had cried today, you need to do something fun with him to make sure he laughs even more.

Xoxo: really admire you n SF. Really wish I could let it go immediately n call it quits now. But reality is, financially we really need support at the moment. Mentioned to you before, I cannot just let go now. I have to wait for a few mnths. Even so I feel bad as to why can't I just leave the job now!! Already beating myself over the fact that I might miss yx's first stand, first step and even first crawl. If only i can stop looking at that carrot dangling in December. Yet reality is that carrot makes my decision foe next year easy. So I just have to hang on. Next step in life would be toughie but at least I know I can control the time better. Current job n baby simple means one side has to be sacrificed.

So jia you!! Cmon you are doing a wonderful job on dre!!! Putting me to shame already haha

bbseed - Sometimes the PIL just got too carried away with their cute grandchildren... For me, i would tell my MIL to sanitized her hands with detol before she is allowed to touch my bella... i insisted a few times so now she know liao, must keep clean if not cannot carry bella. I know i may sound rude but for the sake of our little ones, when they are sick or fall down, we are the ones suffer as well cos got to look after them....

Agree with Miemie - for our babies now, it is important for them to sleep as much as possible.

MieMie - Xie xie!

Bbseed,
here u go for the books.
1. Diet therapy for infants, by oyoung yin (bilingual)
2. 婴儿副食品 &儿童食品, by 高时焕医生

ASHM: for hygiene wise they will wash hands first before carrying him coz HB has been emphasing and he himself will practice it so naturally they will follow..

ya i know that sleep is impt babies, but i cant really say them coz my MIL is not obligated to help us look after our boy.. i always have this mentality.. if she's my own mother i will let her know that she is obligated to look after my son.. wahahaha..

another thing is that my MIL told me (2 days ago) that my boy can start on porridge already.. i replied in a very courteous way that doc say hold till his 8mths.. but in my heart i was "eh dun like give me new pattern leh, the little fellow haven even start on fruit puree and now wanna give him porridge"

bbseed - Yes no need to start them so early lah.... they have a long way to eat man : ) sometimes their methods passe already....

ASHM : happy 5 months baby bella

Mie : walk around is a good idea thanks

Bbseed : same like my MIL also like to bring josh to show off to her friends,end up josh is extremely tired afterward. N its really dangerous for ur MIL to carry ur baby like that. Please tell her that safety is important

i cant take it anymore! just want to find a job n not staying at home 24/7 with josh. he's been crying n crying n crying the whole day!
its tiring,n i sounds so lame. incapable of taking care my own baby.im so tired already

Bbseed, hope is helpful. I find da 2nd book is better if u can read Chinese. Heaps of recipe to keep our lil one bz :p

oh well, talking bout MIL... I just dunno to laf or cry. But, I always tell myself just try to bear wif it. If too much, I will get my hb to tell her off. Sometimes I really wish I hv the courage to tell her... is our turn to b parents now, so pls let us hv our way to handle our bb!!!

Angella, cheer up babe! N dun take it as u r not capable, I guess things happened cos u feel dat u r alone in da house. No one u can really talk or turn to. Y not trying to take a break or holidays bak to indon for few days or even weeks?

Hi mummies! Realised that quite a few of you can't open the excel file for Korean baby items bp. Maybe if you can keen, drop me a pm with your email address so that I can forward you the excel file.

Paisay...

miemie >> i don't think I can see so far ahead. taking each day as it comes. today was another low-energy day. and there was hardly a moment of rest...think after the domestic help arrives, i might want to go and get those OSIM massage chairs....was telling shugar, can we add chamomile tea and mix their bb rice? Zen....haha..

duracell >> what happened that made you feel so emotional?

astro >> now you know why SF dotes on Teng. told you..Teng's the first boy i have seen that SF likes very much. He is such a rare child! Highly intelligent and perceptive. Sayangs for the smacks..you really tried hard to control - I am sure you did! Don't be too hard on yourself. I might have done the same if I had been in your shoes..maybe he really dislikes LV?

PY >> crocs..I might want to go..if I can squeeze the time and the skies don't open up. Are you bringing yr grandma?

angelina >> hope that your crabby mood has passed. if u want small small world's no, SMS me. sotong mum had a bad experience with her..but i had quite a smooth transaction - so 50-50 lah.... my playmat is 15mm...but it is parklon, not LG (they are essentially the same - same co!). nice for you to practise your pilates on too!

tien >> Dec will come soon enough! Don't worry! Dre usually have her "firsts" at night. but ytd she was different..so i missed out when i got back home from a brief media engagement. how's the exco? met already? i have been praying v hard...

weaning >> after two days of suspending her weaning and scattering spoons as her toys on the playmat, Dre suddenly showed an interest in the spoon. apart from BLW, we tried to feed her ytd evening, and was shocked. she took in three full bowls - bb sized ones of course!, of cereal. today, she had two solid meals - half a pkt of the cereal is gone. plus mashed pear. and her usual pear sticks. sounds like over-eating but she has not cut down on her milk consumption..and in fact, wanted more but i stopped SF from happily doling out the cereal..just an update..still unwilling to take the magmag, so i am going to explore the doidy cup.

i've tried half-feeding her on the breast before moving on to the cereal..but this girl refuses. wants to go straight for the cereal..and only then would she be willing to be latched...any potential issues here? hmm..

i wanna go crocs sale! brought the wrong size for hubby the last round felt so guilty. so i have to go today! anyone going n wanna meet?

xoxo,
i hv osim in my house. come on up when u need a quick fix. good to hear that dre is accepting the spoon n eating so well! it's always a delight to see babies n kids eating loads n enjoying their foods. reagan is taking brown cereal well, half a bowl now. yesterday i've try feeding him outside n it's a good experience.

DH
i hv yet to master up my courage to get one. worried about what u seen in the link will happen especially when my sil hd such experience.

astro,
hugs. it's not easy to be a parent. u hv done such a good job with teng. keep it up! maybe u can pop in one day without informing LV to see how he os during class?

Morning all, wow today wake up my whole body aching and worst is my menses come again shittttt. It only finish less then a month and now come again, wonder issit too many months nv come now come back for revenge. Super tireddd

alexis & xoxo : thanks a lot. ill do something bout this uncertain mood

xoxo : well done dre, so happy to hear that she's eating well

sunnyling : when r we suppose have our period? coz until now i still haven't got my period yet

mrs.neo : how was the fisherprice sale? did u get anything intresting? how much was the jumperoo?

loke: cant wait to meet baby angel later

must go to great world city this weekend to buy the softmat, thanks for the info xoxo

Gd morning, mummies!!! ITS FRIDAY!!! YIPPY!!!!

Angelina>> The fisherprice sale got nothing much already.. but still got jumperoo.. it's $200.. much cheaper than retail price.. BUT hubby DUN LET me buy.. Sobzz..

Hi ting,

Shared with you. I am also feeding on one side as my left side is producing more milk. Actually you need to relax while expressing, cos the more you worried the let-down will not be kicks in....
I have drink lots of fish soup, taking beef and fenugreek plus lots of water to try to est back my milk flow...
FYI I have taken more than 2 weeks for the milk supply to come back... During this period, I have used my frozen milk...

RE: In-laws
I used to be an angry DIL too.. if u read my previous posts.. everything my in-laws do will agitate me in 1 way or another.. I thought they are overly obessed wif my son and this irritated me quite a lot.. That didnt help much especially when I had a big row wif hubby over some misunderstanding.. Was basically very angry person..

Then, abt 1 mth ago, 1 of my NSF boy in my office died suddenly.. he was only 24 years old.. I witnessed his burial ritual. I was overwhelmed with lots of emotions at tat moments.. A young life just gone like tat.. w/o any warnings.. Life is so unpredictable.. we dunno when is our turn and when our loved ones will leave us.. Then, I thought.. hubby has done his part as a gd hubby and of cse a gd daddy.. I shld forgive him.. In-laws overly obessed wif their grandson because they love him.. Miraclely, my perception of life changes overnite! Really! I became more open to my in-laws and more tolerant in wat they do.. of cse, certain things which i still cannot accept like carrying my boy when she is sick and scolded my fil vulgarities when he tried to advise her not to carry the boy when she is sick.. My hubby also told her nicely... so, problem solved..

I guess the reason abt the sudden change in my attitude was really due to my NSF's death.. I asked myself.. in-laws already so old le.. how many more years do they have more? If they were to suddenly pass on, wld i be guilty for treating them tat way, gng to extreme sometimes? The answer is yes.. So, I treat everyday as if its the last day of my life.. I dun wanna leave any regrets..

I am really more open to my in-laws.. talking to them more often.. and of cse, the happiest is my hubby lor.. And i think my boy will also benefit from this.. cos wat we are doing is to build a happy loving environment for him to grow up in.. I want my baby to be a happy boy, not like wat i used to be - grouchy and unhappy..

This morning, b4 I left for work, MIL was playing wif my son.. and she was still coughing away.. But this time round, she didnt cough in his face like she normally wld do.. I felt.. shdlt we really be thankful tat our in laws care for our babies? If they dun care, wld we start to blame them for being bochup? I think we will..

Just to share my story.. Pardon me for my long long story and ranting!

Hello Mrs Neo,

Thanks for your sharing... This is the way of my thinking as well... How many more years do they have left? If I always complain and fight with them, who will suffered later... Of course is our poor hubby....
Therefore, I always try my best to give in to them... So that our family can be harmony...

mrs neo: u know.. that is the exact same ting miser will tell me.. when i rant against my own mother! ha..and some memories of how i obbessively restrict the diet of my ailing grandfather.. and the look on his face when he is finally allowed to eat KFC.. huants me till today.. really. eventually.. life is transient.. let go.. let go.. ha. i think i genna pyschoed too much by miser.. my perspectives has also changed.. used to be v persistent on things. i still am.. but these days. i check myself with a deep breath.. and says 'it's ok.. life still goes on'.. a paradigmn shift.. or simply.. ihave aged?

thanks ladies.. teng is happily at home today.. case last night bally kept me up with his cough. and ellie told me teng also coughing thru the night.. so both of them will go to see the doc again.. ya. i am v rich :S.. teng is the happiest because he said 'yey! i am going to see the doctor!'.. wah liew eh..

Astro>> Yah.. my perspectives also completely changed.. I no longer rant and complain abt my in-laws and also my family le.. In a way, i have become more tolerant than ever.. Hubby is extremely happy abt the change in me.. And indeed I am so much happier than ever! Yes.. Let Go, Let go!

Had a real crappy morning again. Don't know what is it with my son. He keeps waking up at 5am in the morning!! Why oh why?? Checked his diaper, ok. He does not want milk, checked the aircon, checked the temperature, checked the blanket, checked his tummy, checked myself (last one before I lose my mind). Last night he went down at 8.30pm, had a dreamfeed at 10.30pm, but why does he wake up at 5am?? He used to be able to sleep to 7am....
Does anyone have the same experiences? What did you do then?

joyce : waaaa nathan so handsome , too bad didnt get the chance to meet him at expo

mrs.neo : thanks for sharing, it is so true about the part where they r old. if IL irritates me i'll just ask YL to talk to them. they'll understand eventually

PY : ahhh ur back at SK no need to babysit granny anymore

babymax: maybe he peed. or dreaming. just pick him up and cuddle him a bit? sometims angel also like that. then after a while she'll settle down and go back to sleep.

xoxo: haha. dunno probably due to the hormones.

astro: actually ur episode with teng really set me thinking too..

mrs neo: thanks for the post.

if children are God's gift to us, then God must be wanting us to learn how to love more. Love our parents and in-laws more, love husband more, love own children, and even other people's children. This little gift also made us learn to be more tolerant and understanding to others.

feeling philosophical all of a sudden...

Angelina> initially thought i could go your place this weekend as we have planned few days ago.. but right now i better put the plan on hold as Megan is down with abit of runny nose!
better not be bringing her over spreading virus to Josh and / or Angel. haih.. totally spoil my weekend, somemore my hb is on standby duty for both days!

Thanks Duracell. Tried cuddling him and he yelled louder...sigh. Pat him also cannot. Running around like headless chicken trying to pacify him to sleep. Then he will wake himself up completely and my game is over. WAHHHHH WAHHHHH! sob sob.

X: ya. i was.. eh. u saw me? and u are ?:p

mummies.. both boys sick.. (Nat, megan a bit of runny nose? both boys FRENS withrunny nose and now coughing liao!).. then smsed miser.. coz the stand in pd like not v frenly to questions which i asked my mum and my maid to ask like that.. wah liew.. then called back heard yh crying refusing to sleep. he has sore throat with cough but lungs clear.. teng coz he dunno how to spit up phlemgn so still coughing.. haiz..

then i smsed miser all these. his reply 'ok'..

then i smsed again saying my phone batt low. asked him to call back again later to check on them and then emailed me the update.. his reply ' v v v busy today,. sry'

hmmm. if u were me, how wld u react?
haiz. let go huh??
wah liew..