(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

tien: i thought yh also verstaile to take both.. look what happened? haiz. i am taking xoxo's stand.. v few bbs are truly versatile to take both.. hence they say 'preference'..

ok . i siam.

astro,

*hugz* all i can say is to bite the pain now n endure everything. it will soon pass.

I oso MIA from here cos of things happening at home. not any better from yours. even now at work, at times i have no energy or easily giddy cos of all these drainage. but i keep telling myself, it will pass!

take care

astro, its tough, but hang in there, you'll see light at the end of the tunnel. dun be discourage ok...
dun shun away from the forum, this is the place for mummies to share all joys and woes.
talking it out might help to relieve some of the stress.
you are a strong mummy, and like mylvera say, it will pass soon.

hugs for you and your 2 boys. jia you and take good care...

astro!!!!!

*hugz hugz hugz*

*pat pat pat*

i googled "mycoplasma infection" and it does seem very scary. wad's the treatment gg to be like?

of coz hope the test result is negative and everything will shun shun li li for you okie?

there is no need to siam us, we are here to be your "pillars of support"

eh hippo, PY says the booties are handmade leh.. if really handmade, i think $20 is the amount im willing to pay la.. but of coz the lower the price, the better.. which im sure PY will give us frenship price! right PY?

tien>> one pair only? you have to buy at least 2 pairs okie..

PY>> i indicated interest in 2 pairs already.. think i should get size 2 ba..

astro>> great to hear that the mycoplasma infection results is negative!! hooray!!

Mie mie: saw py's email liao! Already told her 2!!! Haha.. Lucky I made decision before I saw your post. Else I sure say you bad influence hahaha...

Speaking of which, py got discount right?

Astro: saw yr FB post... glad Teng is all fine.

Haiz... but now my turn to worry about Sam.
So heart pain when he went for blood test today.
my usually chirpy boy boy wailing away in the room. wah, lucky I waited outside! Dun think I can bring myself to see.

shugar>> why sam had to go for blood test? poor thing.. its hurts them physically, and hurts the mummies emotionally and mentally..

miemie: Oh i recently changed PD... so the new PD wants to get a through check up coz he says he's taking over a case with complex history (sam's rough early days)

Shugar> hang in there! Megan had her full panel blood test done too, but was when she was abt 2 weeks old. They drew blood from the back of her hand & she cried so loudly! Understand the heartpain but most important is baby's alright

natalieL: thanks! yah he cried too... partly from hunger also coz he did an ultrasound scan before that that required him to have empty tummy, so no feeds for 3+ hours. :S

Astro: HUgz....take care of yourself ya! Teng will be well really soon!!

PY: If you want to feed her while walking, be mentally prepared that quite a bit of milk will end up on her top! Can you imagine, at the end of my adventure at NTUC, both of us smell like fish!!!! Cos I brought out fbm!!!

Shugar: Oh dear...poor sam. Had to endure so much. But it's all over liao and everything should be ok.

Tien:
haiz, not over wor! Results of ultra sound n blood test not 100% good.
Some issues discovered... Got to go back for more review
from further test results next week.
Ultrasound scans found tiny stones in gallbladder

pd is puzzled over this n wants to know how/why they got there.

Shugar: Be positive. Should be ok. Sam is such a strong and brave boy! Just have a good weekend with him first! Don't worry too much!

shugar : agree w tien. b positive. scans not 100% accurate one. could b nothing. take 1 day at a time. no worry.

PY : boy stuff leh? oct mummies majority r boys le... :p

Min is the Queen of ikan bilis club i believe - 5.81kg & 61.5cm. 25th percentile
but PD said for BF bb is ok leh.

we brought her favourite musical octopus toy in to distract her and she impressed PD cos was gurgling n laughing as he was examining her.

she cried like 2 cries after the 2 jabs and stopped almost immediately. PHEW! so the highly anticipated event became an over-hyped non-event

ops sorry din realised tt my last post had so much "nonsense"! nope not using iphone at all. gotta wait till this pg gets archived.

hippo
my RN is e tiniest ikan bilis. She's only 5.5kg @ 3.5 mths.

jrrt,
eh, but RN is younger than Min no? Min turns 4 mths on the 10th. i remember RN is like at least 1 week younger right?
anyways i am quite consoled cos PD said nothing's wrong and she's growing great and healthy so I shall not worry over her weight.

but you know what? i bought 2 really nice polo ralph lauren outfits for her to wear for CNY and its TOO BIG!!! ARGH!!!

hippo> wah 25 percentile. v low leh. but maybe her built is just like that lah. since PD said is ok.. dun worry ok!
slim slim nice ma next time she sure got nice figure hehe!

Tien> i tried NUK just now. hahaha i think it may works.. but it takes time.. she drank abt 35ml from the bottle. i inter-switch from my boobs to the bottle and she suckle! lol.

then i think the milk became cooler and she rejected.. hmmm.....

Tien n gal: Hey thanks!
Yup will wait till wed when we see the pd again.
Meanwhile his laughter makes me forget abt worrying :p

awww...so depressing! i went out to dabao dinner and there were just too many CNY goodies i am missing out on because i cannot take dairy! let me cry my lungs out here..."WAAAAAAAAAWAAAAAAAAWAAAAAAAAAA"..besides bak kwa and love letters...i can't have anything else..ok, add mandarin oranges :p i can't even have an "angpow" :p u gals going around for CNY? I am trying to escape my family's radar. Usually i'll be overseas so everyone has gotten used to my absence..heh, not much hype abt so i suppose if this is successful, besides the MIL and mummy's place..i should be able to spend my CNY in quiet bliss at home :D

duracell >> hmm...strategic reason indeed! heh...hope it pans out the way you want it..who knows? maybe angel cld combine both breast and bottle - that would be a real clincher yeah?

elly >> I was in ucl ard the same time u were in ic! i am just a yr younger...
besides, what's yuning's birthdate? is it the 4th of oct?

tien >> no..i am used to bloody diapers. she is fine now...having spent the past two days a tad more lethargic than usual...but as it is with each episode, i get the blame. i have actually tried feeding her the bottle as i walk abt the hse. no success. in public..whoa, that would demand plenty of courage from me! hmmm..should i try?

astro, shugar >> hope both babes are well enough for CNY. let's all stay healthy and happy k? shoo away the glum...no more needles, no more docs and no more meds for all of us!

hippo >> min has a favourite octopus? audrey has discovered that these eight legged creatures are delicious! she has been trying to stuff her 8-legged friend these few days...glad both girls find so much delight in octopuses! nvm..numbers only..audrey joins min at the 25th percentile..or maybe dre is actually at the 20th percentile? SF reported her weight at 4mo is only 5.8kg? not past the 6kg mark yet!

xoxo: yeah.. real clincher.. then i must make sure i don't say anything that sound like i'm gloating over it.. cos i know many mums here either can't get baby to latch at all, or can't get baby to take the bottle at all.. so of course i count my blessings now.. right now, i'm taking it easy on Angel and myself. if i can't be around, then i'll let whoever is looking after her to give her the bottle...

duracell >> don't worry..it isn't gloating. everybody's circumstances are different - just like our babies are all unique! guess we came together on this forum to vent steam, share concerns, add oil for yr chums and to be generally positive and happy mummies (i read there's BPs going on..so shopping, spending money together are all par for the course!)...yep..taking it easy, enjoy yr bb..that's the attitude *thumbs up*

PY,
yah haha... i hope she dont get my pear-shaped genes. her daddy's side has the nice slim n trim genes. hopefully she inherits his rather than mine. ;)

xoxo,
hahaha... dre likes 8-legged creatures too huh? thats cool. they can be best frens hehehe...

shugar,
hey if i din have 15 bibs i surely will get a couple from u. sowree... sam's gonna do great. dont worry k? he looks perfectly fine, in the pink of health, to me.

Harlow mummies!

Hippo: Trust me! It's better to be in the ikan bilis club. I grow up as the chairperson of the killer whale club and it was a sad and depressing childhood+teenage-hood and now motherhood...I was only happy for 4 years! That's why I am going to be those super control mummy, controlling what goes into yx's mouth. cos she already have the fat genes. Hopefully the bfg (according to myths) will subdue the stupid fat genes.

xoxo: You are another amazing mummy. For the lil one can control your diet. Jia you dear...I will be abstaining all the CNY goodies this time round too. Although for a different reason, you have me!! Hahah and to make you feel better, I am also TRYING not to take bak kwa. Effectively I am not taking anything.

hippo> hmm charlotte is ard 6kg, 62cm
also ard the same chilli padi size as Min hor..

but actually i hope she inherits my genes rather than the dad.. i dun want her to be chilli padi leh.
Taller better hahaha.

Asto - Glad that Teng is fine "Hug Hug" you must take care of yourself too.

Shugar - You too must take care. Everything will be fine.

Jrrt - Rhys also around 6.4 kg at 4 month so not big size also.

Hippo - I also buy 2 polo tee for Rhys and is too big cos I bot 9mth one haha. Acually I want both my elder and Rhys to wear the same cloth but now the cloth I brought is too big so thk they cant wear the same during CNY so disappointed.

Tien: i didnt know you can bottle feed such a young baby on the bjorn! U r so innovative! Maybe i shld try too. Me been unsuccessful getting yuning onto the bottle.

PY: congrats on getting your girl onto the bottle! mylvera also recommended me to use nuk teats. i am gg to try that. had been trying to bottle feed my ebm with many different bottles but my girl just refuses to take the fake nipple! sigh...

shugar & astro: hang in there girls. i really hope everything will be fine soon for your babies. *many many hugz*

tien: i cross my fingers and pray that angel can be vversatile.. if she doesnt, then i can only really be glad that i managed to reverse the bottle-loving situation to non-bottle-loving situation. haha..

elly: think the nuk latex teats are good cos the texture is like the breasts.. budden because the teats allow fast flow of milk, baby might not get used to it.. u need to start with the smallest hole size.. remember to check the packaging. it might say for 0 - 6 mths, but there are different hole size, from small to medium to large.

Astro: sorry, i missed out on some of the messages. very happy to know that teng is fine now. Yay!!!

xoxo: those 4 years were one of the best days of my life. but u said london wasnt that great for u ya? yuning was 2 wks early. She was born on 220909. i quite like this date. and yes, u r such a good mummy to b able to stay away fr dairy and all those yummilicious cny goodies! oh, but u can still have the nian gao! if it's any consolation, i don't get much cny goodies.

thanks to mummies on your advice. I guess I just have to accept his ever-changing patterns as part of the excitement & fun of bringing him up ;)

these few days have been better as my boy is able to take longer naps during the day. sometimes if he wakes up crying before his next feed, i will pick him up to pat him... and he will fall back to sleep again.

feeding wise...he is now drinking about 150ml per feed. as what some mummies mentioned, as long as they are healthy and gaining weight, shldn't fret too much abt the slight drop in appetite. he will be going for his 4th mth jab tomorrow..we shall see his weight gain then! ;)

elly> not really leh... she still fuss and cry when i gave her the bottle.. need alot of patience to coax her.. then she will suckle abit.. i think i will try slowly lah.

haha.... i tried TT and NUK. so far still not v successful with both lol

my baby is going to 4mo, he likes to flip to sleep in d middle of the nite. do i need to flip him bk on his back? is sleeping on the tummy for a 4 mth old cause SIDS-sudden infant death syndrome?

my boy drops quite a lot of hair recently, is it normal?

elly,

i keep some cny goodies for u?
or u wan abacus? if u back for longer period, i mite b able to apply leave n make some for u, tho not as nice as my mom's cooking.

py: looks a bit like minnie mouse shoes.. hee. charlotte is your model mah.. not bad leh. life example rather than just pictures..

sigh.. my mum says angel seems to have lost weight. managed a tbf day on 7 feb (sun). i hope her lost of weight is not because of this.

what should i do? carry on with tbf and monitor? always very tempted to give fm.

Loke: as long as u r tbd on baby demands..think u dun have to worry too much abt baby not having enough. Jia you!!

Janjan: am having the same problem with my boy. I woke up in middle of night to feed him yday n he scared the shit out of me, cos he essentially stuffed his face in the mattress and he wasn't crying either. How to prevent him frm flipping??? Cos after the feed I put him on his back, in the morning when I wake up he is half stuffed against the pillow n mattress

Vodkarib,

I have this cusion for Rhys for his sleep, you might want to consider buying.

3617380.jpg

Oh Cotton on Kids already in Singapore??? I like it very much. Alway buy alot when I go Aussie.

Ling>> u mean the cushion below his legs? Will prevent him?where to get it? Brand? ;)
what pillow is he sleeping on? All the while my boy sleeping on bean pillow....

Ya a bit exp compared to BP but now they having second item 50% sale... So per piece works out to be $10...;p

Shugar:You need to appear calm and happy in front of bb.It will affect him if he witness you been so anxious.
The doc also found some stones in me last month. I wonder if a keyhole surgery can be done. My lymp node and thyroid gland is as swollen til about the size of an egg.
My wrist is injured and it makes caring for him harder.Most of the time he refuse to be fed by others even his daddy.So regardless of how MIL or mum likes to rattle about been 'experience'. They cannot handle him during feeding. Scolding me daily that i overfeed and injured my bb coz he drink abt 150m-270ml per feed.He become quite aggressive and wont stop crying when he is hungry. They are also very unhappy that bb will insist in me feeding him most of the time. Ppl around me said that i spoil him. I see nothing wrong in playing music, singing to him during feeding. Because he drink slowly and is use to listening to music which is a must during feeding now.I have been singing til my throat is sore. Did i spoil him? Why are these ppl critising non stop at almost everything? He is quite happy,sociable and active. I cannot fathom how he can smile,laugh and babble at everyone who smile and talk to him? The PD laugh at my concerns and assure me that my bb is very healthy and his weight is ok. He said every bb require different amt of calories.
I felt that i m shortchanging my bb if i go for the surgery coz i wouldnt be able to care for him this much for sometime.
I know that i m complaining alot and is worrying abt almost everything. I want to ensure that i am giving the best to my bb in assuring that he is and will develop well. Alot of frustrations!