(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

congrats to ipeh, PY, ginger, clumsybabe !

Tien,
Your hus must be waiting for it dam long liao lah. so if nx few days u got any signs, we will know y liao. haha.....

dreamygal,
jrrt is our in hse LC lah as mentioned by hippo, tats y

my cl gg back this sat am. sianzz. gonna deal with the endless poop attack.

hullo everyone..
later then going to gynae.. today on mc.. hahahah..

dreamygal/ipheh: bo bian. the babes here are hot.. and it helps to have a wide network for them to zoom in to THE ONE.

siangjiao: hey.. dun have to be on the dot lah.. eventually need to retune the bb back to normal hours.. else very draining on u all

gal: the bb wun be sleeping thru the night till later.. and sleeping thru the night means max 5 hours continuous stretch nia.. heh.. :p

tien: that's what i told miser.. we need a bigger house lah. current one aiyoh.. too small.. hahahhahha

clumsybabe: megan is cute ..ok ..*choped* :p:p

PY: the post partum recovery is very uncomfy.. not looking forward to that :S

sot sot tien: u funny.. now aim for 5%.. :p

loke: like that mine be pushed forward.. u week 39 liao.. ?

astro : Leave some for my boy boy hor. Or maybe i should pop over to Nov thread to do some networking first. Haa...

Anyone can let me know roughly how much milk are you feeding your little one? As in how many ml?

Hi all im back fr gynae appt......
Confirmed C-S on 15th Oct 7am for BB Matthias to say hi to all anuties

since bb only1/5 into my pelvis area,dun talk abt engaging haiz,head bigbig at 35cm n weighing 3.5kg now.Chances of delivery thru induction also super low, since so decided to go for c-s la.

PY: u super energetic lor ahha

Loke: pushed back EDD doesnt mean BB be 'overdue'? ur amniotic fluid n placenta still strong enough to hold BB till then?

Shugar: thxthx. wa think ahve to bring hubby shirts liao. all my button shirts all too small for my 22 kg gain of wt haha.What else do i need to bring ? Do i need start drinking tt red date longan drink on the day of delivery?

Clumsybabe: megan cute cute esp the cheek hehe

ong: CL gog back,so fast 28days for u aldy?

Ong: Haha the thing is my hubby very cautious...scared we both scared scared chicken out later. Anyway still trying to think how to achive the 'deepest connection'!! Hopefully, if we succeed, I will disappear from here a few days to go popping!

Astro: You DON'T need a bigger house! You need a PALACE!!! In olden times, emperor has palace with 'hou4 gong1' to keep all the concubines...at the rate you are choping the princesses, you need that!!

Anyway my toasted sot sot brain been coming up with a lot of crazy ideas to make my days a little happier and chirpier..getting really bored waiting and worrying about the supposed long labour and yet dreading the sleepless nites ahead...

Well well mummies, MOI shall go and have a good lunch at Parkway! Smelling eith crystal jade or fishand co..need to nourishe myself and Diva!

Talk later!!

xoxolight : I just read your post on your baby latching on 30 mins per breast. Mine only latch about 30 mins on 1 breast and he will drift off to lala land. If he suck more vigorously, he will be done in less than 30 mins.

Now was wondering if he is drinking too little.

Do you still pump after feeding?

Loke
wah EDD pushed back to 31 oct! Then u will really hv to wait! U hoping to pop soon anot? Talk to baby? I find tt it really helps!

clumsybabe
Cutie Megan!!!

gal^
Congrats to u too! WOW! w/o epi as well. I doubt I can do it man... i will surrender as soon as i enter labour ward. this time round i think i will start cursing and regretting getting pregnant the moment i enter labour ward, juz like my 1st.

Yes 15 mins on each breast sounds like a gd time.
Fret not abt the duration the baby latches, let him decide. Mine was latching only 1 side of the breast all the way till 5.5 mths. And his weight ballooned by 1.7 kg within the 1st mth fr 3.1kg to 4.8kg! PD was astonished. So its not abt how long they latch but rather how effective their latch is so tt they stay full despite the short latchings each time. my son was latching 10 mins MAX each time only. and yes i was nursing him every 1.5 to 2 hrs then. darn tiring but it was a promise I made to him while he was in my tummy so i had to fulfill my promise.

And pls, at this stage, the last thing u wanna stress urself is for baby to sleep thru the night! They generally will sleep thru the night on their own ard 8 wks or later... but lets not go into there now... but my advise is let baby sleep in a bright and slightly noisy env in the daytime. talk to him whenever u r nursing. at night, do the exact opp. Put him to sleep in a dark and cosy env and DO NOT talk to him when u r nursing him. This helps him to differentiate its day and night. I find tt it works for my son (thou he only slept thru the night aft he turned 2.5 yrs old

dreamygal & ong
I dun deserve the title lah. I am juz sharing watever i know & still rem and hope it'll ease everyone's anxiety. for all u know when it comes to my turn later, i might need u all to remind me coz i wld hv clean forgotten wat to do!

Oh and i rem latch baby MAX 20 mins per breast each time (so tt he can get the foremilk & hindmilk) and switch breast if he wants more. Then aft another 20 mins on the other breast, switch again if he wants more. Usually they'll b contented aft 2 boobs, provided they r really latching and not juz sucking.

astro
wah u chope so many gfs 4 ur son alrdy!!!

Hi Tien,

Rasberry tea can help your womb to contract and thus may trigger labour....

My confinement just left 1 more week to go.... so happy.... can wash my hair daily liao....

hi, i'm from aug mtb thread.. i have 2 boxes of Pigeon Sterilizing Tablets for sales. brought at $6.70 each selling at $5 per box. brought too many boxes and i'm leaving US already and i do hav a sterilizer over there so dun need the tablets le. if interested do PM me k!

annette,
Yalor , 28days like so fast. Hubby will take leave to be with me for one wk and later on i will be home alone with bb. All the best to u for your c-section.

Tien,
Hope u wld succeed in your plan and MIA for the nx few days.

loke,
2.8kg is not reali small leh cos u mentioned small earlier on. For gals, that's abt the ave weight. How come still need to push out the EDD leh?

dreamygal,
i tink the only way to know hw much he is drinking would be to pump out and feed him. I oso get to know hw much keith is drinking by feeding him thru bottle. For initial one wk plus, my bb is drinkg one side oso for aro 30mins. Now he need both sides cos mine supply nt tat much. My max duration for both boobs is aro 30mins.

Most of the time, i find bb like to suckle for comfort at the back end(cos they suckle so slow and like dozing off constantly) so i will pull out the nipple and put them to sleep else i can't imagine nursing him for an hr.

dreamygal >> i usually burp baby after 10mins or just when i catch that she's going to sleep...trying hard not to allow her to fall asleep on the boob. so i end up with 2 burps for each breast fed. she does use up both. taking 1hr of feeding. after chking the diaper condition and putting her to sleep, i'll proceed to pump for 10-15min..amt varies. during the day, i might get up to 50ml even with bb "emptying" the breast but at night, i can only collect abt 10-15ml. it depends.

Joyce
Wah envy... only 1 wk left to ur confinement... juz by thinking abt confinement makes me so sian!
and my hb can say, "Wats so scary abt confinement? U eat, sleep, BF, surf net only mah..." I chided him and say "Yah yah papaya... u join me in not bathing for 12 days and see if u still think its ok?!"

xoxo,
I read fm somewhere that bf bb dun require to burp. And i nv burp so far. And so far so gd. I only burp him for maybe 1min when i have letdown that make him choking but nv get to hear the burp sound so far. After burping, i will proceed to the nx breast. Cos i realised if i dun burp him and proceed to nx breast, he will burp out my precious milk after being breastfed. Other times when no letdown, i will not burp him.

astro: yes. my edd is 21 oct. tmr is 39wks liao.

annette: i'm not sure. i guess that's y gyne prescribed medicine to delay labour, so baby got more time to grow. he saw my weight gain is too much, and too much water retention, so he also prescribed medicine to improve blood circulation.

jrrt: got talk to baby leh.. last week edd pushed all the way to 6 nov lor.. this week at least its still in oct.. but gyne last week already said baby might come out after edd..

ong: cos firstly my V is not ripe yet. and gyne said my womb still got space for baby to grow. baby's head also still high. but i think not as high as last week.. plus my hb and i are not exactly small. my hubby was 9pounds when he was born.. he was a huge baby.. haha..

dreamygal: he suckles for comfort? would that mean he might be stuck on the pacifier? hehe..

xoxolight : I will also pump after feed as he only clear 1 side.

ong : Burping is one way to wake the baby up. xoxolight does not want the baby to develop the habit of falling asleep at her breast. This is what i don't want as well. For me, another reason i need to burp is because i am using nipple shield to help me with the latching. So need to burp.

loke : My hubby don't want to let him use pacifier at all. We have not offer him pacifier yet.

dreamygal: i think it depends on the baby.. some babies really need pacifier.. if no pacifier baby will be very irritated also.. but if baby never show signs of wanting pacifier then no need to give ba.. thta's what i'll do lor..

ong:thxthx. i be in same situation as u 1 mth later as well,home alone with bb.

Loke: icc so gynae hope ur bb can grow more.mine so scare tt he will outgrow haha.u be getting a scopio bb hehe tts cool.

Tien: when is ur gynae appt?u still puke?no idea y today feel so nausea, bb must be angry tt i wan him out asap haha:p

Joyce: Hmm thanks for the tip on raspberry tea. Tried looking for it at Parkway just now but no pure raspberry Shall look into my tea cabinet to see if I have those berry type of tea. If no pure raspberry shall have those mixed berry ones.

Ong: I am so keeping my finger crossed

Annette: Today I am feeling so much better. Migraine gone and puking feeling gone too! Nausea could be the food that we take..I am trying to avoid oily food now. My gynae appt is this coming Friday afternoon. Hoping to pop before that cos if I still get to see her this Friday, it would me induced birth or suggestion of C-sec...scared scared.

been a long time. been busy settling in at home. can't catch up with all the posts and archives.

congrats to all the mommies who have given birth!
and thank you everyone for all the congratulatory notes for me and baby Ana Sofia.

tried to post here during labour using my mobile to update but just could not post. type and type but when clicked on preview/post message the page just got refreshed each time. sigh.

anyways, here are my updates for the table:-

ADD: 8th Oct 2009
Weight: 3.525 kg
Length: 49 cm
Method of delivery: Natural w/o Epi

Thanks for updating the table, mie mie

Ha sry no time to reply one by one.. I keep passing out gas man. Doc says it's natural. I'm on a stronger dose of painkiller if not the nurses will kena pester by me till siao ha anyway I posted 1-2 pics in fb only. Will post more when I'm bk home

Ginger: ya she quite smart lol.. I no milk also but can helps to get the milk to come if u latch bb on.. My bb alot of saliva dunno is it cos i took too much bird nest? She puke just now and with some blood, as my nips bleed
she's a strong sucker haha

ong: just got a call from my sis.. she also say baby is quite small at 39wks.. so she asked me y dont induce. but i think more important to monitor baby's movements..

sigh. i feel so sianz..

Anyway super proud of myself! Walked around Parkway with a darn tight tummy (think BH) for 1.5 hrs! Hahahah....hope it will help!

Tien: oicc me too,now so lost dun know wat to pack for hospital bag haha.

Shugar/ mummy gave birth in mount A: shugar u mentioned we need bring daily buttom top how abt bottom?theirs come in 2 pieces or1 piece?Toiletries etc provided?

ong >> i was told by the LC that it's good practise to burp. But bfg babies are notoriously difficult to burp. i take very long to get a burp from Audrey but there is a burp...one, i do it out of necessity based on advice. the second is i suppose it's because i use it to prevent her from zzzzz at the breast.

Loke >> rest well, eat more! how abt major durian session?

xoxo: u delivered at mount a also?i only need bring button tops like wat shugar mentioned,do i need bring bottom? mount a gown is 1 piece or 2 pieces(top+bottom type)?

xoxo: i tried durian last sunday. i gained 3kg last two weeks.. but baby is still small. gyne said my blood circulation not so good.. so baby's not absorbing as well as she should be..

PY: we got mrs wong to help wif the latching just now... she is really a lot more persistent than the other consultants/ nurses. poor stubborn lad dun stand a chance wif her... she managed to squeeze out some droplets of colostrum n force him to suckle!

bleeding nips? u need lansinoh? i brought it wif me.

hope u r doing better wif pain management. was prescribed synflex n ultracet but only taking synflex so far coz its enuff for the time being. will reserve ultracet for greater pain later.

loke : Its the papa's problem. He don't know read a report from where that says baby hooked on pacifierh have slightly lower IQ. So he don't want to give. Nonsense.

xoxolight : I think for direct latching, the air that they take in is lesser, so harder to burp?

Ginger : I've got short nipple and 2 years ago, only Mrs Wong managed to get my girl to latch on successfully without much hassle.

loke,
wow, your hb was reali a BIG bb! In fact bb inherited these genes fm parents. Mine side all bb at least 3kg and that is y my bb at least 3kg too. surprise your sis say your bb is small. 2.8kg seems ok to me as gals normally slightly lighter than boys. Anyway its gd to let bb grow bigger as they r definitely much easier to take care when out. Btw, i juz realised our thread have many bbs more than 3kg !

dreamygal,
thks! got yr pt liao

xoxo,
yes definitely burping is a gd practise especially for bottle fed bb cos alot of wind. I burp alot for my #1 cos alot of wind then as he is mostly on bottles. i find bf bb so different fm bottle fed bbs. Cos they dun require to burp for so long leh. as wat dreamygal mentioned, the air they take in is lesser cos nt like bottle got gap inside. When they suck, they cover the whole area so no air.

Anyway, now u got CL so just let the CL handle the burping ma cos this is a hard job. U will hv plenty of chance to handle your bb in the days to come.

Initially i was also changing the diaper myself when bb poop but i realised my back was aching and i told myself i need to rest. i got ample opportunities to chg the dirty diaper very soon so just let cl handle him now.

astro : 5 hrs. that's not bad. looking forward to it.

JRRT : thanks for the tips. will try.

aiyo my tis baby, terrorised using his vocals until his granddaddy surrendered :p.

to wake bb up if bb suckling to sleep :
is there a reason y its better to wake him up?

Abt short nipple :
i got shorter nipple on my right, so at hospital only manage to latch on once with a nurse help. Some tips gathered during my stay in TMC with the staff there :
1. dun worry about it. use breast pump to simulate and it will elongate the nipple so easier for bb to suckle.
2. use the breastfeeding pillow.
works for me.

hi gal, ya, i have shorter nipple on my left after the milk came in. so pumping helped. my brest friend also quite good coz i have prob with football position at the hospital.

re waking baby up, i think it's coz of not letting the baby associate breast with sleep. my prob is after he falls asleep and waking him up doesn't work, we put him to bed, and he will wake up and wants more. very irritating.

annette:
will pray for you when u go for yr delivery on 15/10 and looking forward to meeting Mathias

astro:
now that i'm opting for natural, EDD is 2 Nov so may follow yr style and do some networking in Nov thread

angie/dreamygal: dun abandon us in oct thread leh! plenty of babes to go around leh..:p.. pls chope.. pls chope.. there must be competition to ensure standards :p

haiz. ppls.. dunno why feel bluesy again?! sot again.. haiz..

blessedcyn,
My newborn was 3.4kg when borned. Have u delivered? Or not yet. Btw, many of us here go for cordblood banking. For me, i opt for stemcord. U can also donate to singapore cord blood bank too.

gal,
if u dun wake the bb up, then they will wake up frequently for feeds cos they doze off w/o drinking enuff.

annette >> yes, i delivered at Mt A. their maternity wards, they don't provide PJs (strange hor)...what you get are those you wear during labour - back ties. you've to bring your own PJs. I suggest you bring front button PJs with pants and socks. if natural birth, 2 would be enough. if you're having C-section..maybe you can get one piece PJs (avoiding anything around the tummy?). other than that, you're given a kit with shower cap, shampoo, bath gel, comb, toothpaste/brush. facial tissue is chargeable so bring along a box if you don't want to use theirs. i missed the boat for the mt alvernia ladies card cos audrey chose oct 3 to make me go into labour (date they launched this card). you might want to quickly enquire if you can get it. gives you discounts i heard "HEARD". not confirmed...anyway, i am making a trip to Mt A again on Thurs so I'll have that checked out.

loke >> tried massage? i had foot/body massages right up to delivery. think it helped me to relax and eased the blood circulation. don't worry, 2.8kg is enough..audrey's 2.95...manageable size and on the bright side, easier to give birth to yah?

dreamyga/ong >> maybe u are right abt the hard-to-burp bit. but babe also hiccups quite alot...sometimes i really marvel how they can continue to bf when they go hic-hic-hic...

tien: also dunno why.. mood swings lah. as usual.. heh.. check up was good.. was told 'plenty of water.. so continue waiting.. see u next week. maybe in the labour ward'.. she always says the same thing? :S
fluid level was 8.7..
gynae asked any questions.. i first time said no.. ha..
ok. MC for the rest of the week lor.. think dunno what to do.. and the fact tired so. blue?

tomorrow want to bring teng to school.. then bring him over to a fren's house play play lah. but it seems anytime might pop.. so sian again lor.. :p

tempted to retrace archives.. but lazy.. but i remembered xoxo asking me a question on burping?
xoxo:bf bbs dun swallow a lot of air.. and sometimes, they really dun burp.. if they need to be burped.. they will pull themselves off the breast.. and that's an indication that they want to be burped..
failing which.. once they have been laid down flat for a diaper change.. and then brought striaght up again.. they might burp

bottle fed bb will stop sucking.. to be burped.. but they easier to burp.. so ya. if audrey seems fine.. then dun need to pat too long i attempt to make her burp..

didn't manage to visit PY.. coz feeling tired. went off to sleep instead.. saw camera men moving in and out.. Li Jiawei delivered at TMC today.. no wonder..

astro >> sometimes just gotta let yourself roll over in the blues. i will go w/o burping for the next feed at MN and see what happens..never try never know. back to the blues..i am also feeling it today. emo moments aplenty after delivery. mum and family not understanding my need to set the schedule - get blue. seeing that audrey prefers the CL handling to mine - get blue. witnessing the super tired Mr SF blank staring at her - get blue...having pp turning up at my flat unannounced just to play/coo/amuse themselves with audrey - get super blue. then out of the sky, my mum says she wants to look after audrey full-time (i.e. wants me to return to my job while i leave her for the weekdays and pick up on weekends)..reason being..."she's cute". and this coming from my mum who declared to me during my pregnancy that taking care of grandkids isn't her cup of tea. therefore, big bad blue. and i just had to hit the brakes earlier this evening otherwise i think i'd have bawled along with the baby.

Astro: maybe it's the sudden relief of work that's making you feel bluesy or the idea that you are having a 2nd one to deal with.

in which week was Teng born? I heard from colleague that usually 2nd one will be earlier.