(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Astro what time is ur appt? The visiting hrs is 12-830pm but I think my mom v kancheong Liao ha u SMS me before u come I scare they stay here dun wanna leave lol as they limit to 2 per time leh.. Btw my room is just outside acj
maybe u can sneak in ? Lol

Oh btw ya we all quite surprise of my fast labour. Was 3cm dilation at 2pm then by 7plus already 10cm Liao. BD more people HAHA!!!

i have my appt at 255pm.. hey no worries.. i dun like to impose also.. let me know if too packed.. and u need more rest hor :p
i very auto one.. kekekee.. wah. so near.. just outside acj! :p

ya.. i think ur dilation really speed up towards the end leh.. normally one cm one hour leh.. u almost like double it ah! great job.. -- BDing.. hahahahah :p

hey. i think they will bring charlotte to u later. u dun have to wait till tomorrow. coz u need to bf her? u rest well. tomorrow then i sms u lah
congrats once again

Astro: they say bb just came down.. It's better to stay in nursery first, to keep her warm.. So they givivg her fm tonight. Tml then bf..

cjdg & astro: thanks for the info on the freestyle. i will keep the parts dry to see if suction improves. And maybe i'll buy a smaller breast shield to see if that works. i wrote to medela. they told me that the nipple should be able to move freely to and fro in the nipple stem. i'm not so sure whether the fit is right for me. The shields do look a little loose on me.

PY >> congrats! please see charlotte clearly k? and upload a pic or two, or several..!!

astro >> Mr SF does need to manage his expectations..told him so. Now he's back to normal. I suppose the bb and gg without much sleep is making everyone cranky in my household.

Just finished her 11am feed. 1hr feeding, almost an hr of burping. Got tips here for me? I really don't know why I take so long to get that precious BURP from her...

Initial days at the hospital, I didn't get to see sister kang at all cos she was overseas for two days and it happened to be the day i delivered. latch on 15mins per breast on day 1. there was certainly a sharp pain that eases then. haha, but on day 2, this "easing" bit didn't happen cos of improper latch and the barracuda really went to make minced meat out of my nips. now i think i am used to it so it might feel like tension instead. on day 3, i increased it to 20mins and by day 6, it was 30mins per breast. stays the same till now. the increase to 30mins is at sister kang's suggestion.

hi, i'm selling this electric sarong stand. pls PM me if interested,bought from kiddy palace on jun 09 @$219. PM me if interested tks
3100022.jpg

Ginger: congrats to u too!!
haha I dunno abt that I feel like dying now.. Super painful. To make matter worse I wanna pang sai now leh kao!! I was constipated for 4 days ytd nv clear all also

wa,1 nite so many posts:p

PY: congratz ye,finally pop

Astro: me same as u lor, we r still waiting while joanna they all planning fullmth. my sis passed mea avent manual pump!!! shd i just use tt for 1st few days b4 i buy my own?

Miemie: seldom see u nowsaday, busybusy?

Re:induced/c-s
alot of my frds physchoing me to go for induced,shd i!!!!!!!!!headache.Gog see gynae at 1030am if bb engaged or lower ok lor but if hes still high high, not engaged,head definitely still bigbig35cm or bigger + the sharp pain i been having since preganncy,shd i go for induction?

Re: hospital bag
1) just bring clothing to wear when discahrge for mummy n bb?when we in hospital dun need rite?
2) we need bring toothbrush/toothpaste haha?

cant findthe list diana posted mths ago:p

PY: Congrats! Wow! U really energetic enough to post online at TMC. I was so tired with visitors coming non-stop on sat & sun. Looks like its better to deliver on wkdays than on wkends. hee. Glad that your bb is doing fine.

Gal: We pop on the same day by the same gynae. Hee. But u really steady! Went natural without epi! Good job!

Astro: You r so funny.. chopping all the gals in the forum. haha!

Breastfeeding is really not easy. I'm already having sore nipples during my stay at hospi. The nurse at TMC recommended me to use avent nipple protector to prevent nipples from being too sore. And it does helps cos i am already having blisters on my nipples!

Overall, i am very happy with the services at TMC at Level 5 where the newly renovated premium rooms are. They are prompt, encouraging and helpful when i needed help in breastfeeding.

PY: they nv empty ur bowels before u go into labour? for c-section, the nurse poked something into my a**hole. damn painful until i screamed. tried 3 times somemore. by the time i pooed, i saw some blood lor.

u didnt take painkiller after delivery? my gynae came tis morning n said pain shd set in today so i quickly took the painkillers le. once my drip is off, i will try to walk ard.

which room are u in? ytd i kinda took the last single bedder so li jiawei gotta take premium, unless someone else discharges.

ipheh >> hw come u get induced when u are not even near due date leh???

sorry ah, to the rest talking abt BD.. u mean it works to naturally induce baby to come out? no risk??

hi gals, morning ....

it was a right decision to come in to rant... you gals truly understand what i'm going thru ... really supportive. Hubby and mum brought baby to the polyclinic this morning so i have abt one hour of rest. My mum is not that bad la, but her sacarsm kind of pattern, quite hard to tahan... I know she will feel hurt if i decide to move back home with hubby and get CL, but after discussion with hubby and in view of my uncontrollable teary episodes, we decide we'll manage her feelings later.

Astro: i know where you are coming from . Baby pattern a bit tum balik now. We are trying to set a routine, but also dun have to be on the dot also. Hope my mum can be a little more flexible.

I a bit of breast feed phobia now. My nips are under severe abuse esp when he is bawling, latches on machiam i got steel nips.

PY: congrats!

clearing of bowels, the nurse also didn't clear mine. I ask her how come, she said, anyway you push later, all will come out also =_= but i pushed out all my piles.... OUCH

measured my weight today. drop 7 kg since delivery (ONE WEEK). That kinda put me in a better mood. sigh, but the stomach still a lot of loose skin.

Annette: you will need to bring 2-3 pcs of open front nightwear/PJs for your self. Hospital gown opening is at the back, vy hard to BF.
For bb, yup, just going home outfit.

Congrats to PY, ipheh & cjdg!

PY
u meant u BD juz b4 inducing thus ur dilation is fast?
i dun dare to BD now... worried will trigger contractions.

astro
u ordering fr natal essentials? heard the food is v gd. i recommended to quite a few frens aft hearing fav reviews fr some frens.

u oso delivering in TMC... heee... will we end up being labour buddies? hahahahaha...

siangjiao
its essential to rest more in bed esp the 1st wk coz of the wound down there. dun b too ambitious to wanna do things though i know sometimes u feel up to it. u might end up over-stretching and hurt urself w/o realising it. u tried sitting on a float? seen ur gynae alrdy? When the pain gets too much, take some painkiller. else u'll go crazy wif sore boobs and pain down there.
Oh dear, can imagine how noisy it is for u now when u dun get a gd rest, super frustrated. hey if u can feel tt u r sinking into depression, means u still quite "sober". pls speak to ur hb or gynae if u need any medication. dun spiral down into a real depression. if u really need to go home early to get all the peace u wan, pls go ahead. since ur mum is not really helping, then might as well u go home to rest. then order confinement fd so at least u get a gd diet. its gd to come in here and rant. at least u dun keep it bottled inside. everything will surely get better. it will not always remain this way. cheer up!

u can chg baby's diaper on the bed. juz take care not to overexert. but then again, if ur hb wants to do it, let him lah. aft all, u'll get many opportunities to do it later.

Loke
hahaha no hurry lah! i still wanna qait for another wk more or so. she can stay in there and pop ard 39 wks.

xoxolight
oh urs is the soft tissue, so no wonder can keep the binder on longer. the clear film really make me so umcomfortable. i was perspirsing all the time and had to use a towel to lay the baby over my tummy b4 i BF so he dun kena the spicy herbs.
ohhhh u got dbl stitches, thus tts y ur wound hurts more. mine was manageable then, din even hv to take any painkiller.
u do u wanna swaddle her tightly? can get v uncomfortable & she might develope heat rashes....
if u really hv a lot of visitors, then u hv to b firm and ask the visitors not to carry her so she can nap peacefully. they dun hv to handle a cranky baby but u will suffer!

siangjiao
one tip abt bfg - dun wait till baby is bawling and all irritated to latch. watch out for signs and latch him b4 he turns angry. chances are, angry baby = angry feeder. and when they latch, they'll come on it v strong. if they latch wrongly, u dun hv a chance to correct coz he is so hungry alrdy.

i dun watch by the clock when i BF my son then. i play by the ear and his reactions. when i test if his hungry by placing a finger at either corners of his mouth and he responds by turning twds tt direction, then yes, he's hungry & i'll latch b4 he gets too hungry.

paiseh, hijack ur october thread...

may i know which caterer are u all using for ur full month celebration? and is it halal?
any recommendations for cakes to give away as well?

sigh.. just came back from the gyne..

i'm 39wks tmr. but its as if i'm 37wks only.. EDD pushed back to 31 oct. baby weighs only 2.8kg.

gyne did VE and V not ripe yet. so gyne said wait another week. if nothing goes on next week then will discuss delivery options.

he prescribed medication for blood circulation and delay labour.

my baby seems to want to make full use of the $500 gyne package i paid after 1T. good baby..

Hi hi mummies!!

PY: congrats gal! You another idol of mine!! No epi! Can't wait to see charlotte's pictures!!

Ong: haha told hubby about BD- ing last nite but we din do anything cos my migraine came to toast my brain again. He said tonight but honestly, I really don't feel like. No sexy feeling wor... Feels more clumsy than sexy!!

Astro: think you need to buy a palace to help teng n Yu he keep their 'san qi si qie' muahahahaha

me feeling soooooooo lethargic again. Feel naesous, body aching and whole nite my diva was doing some cat stretch tightening the entire tummy!

Loke: ya lor been telling hubby that it's good that we took package cos we are really seeng gynae a lot!!! Haha

anyway just to share! I read that only 5% of the world's babies are born on Edd itslf! Now I got a new aim to work towards! That's to see if diva will be that 5%!!

PY: i admitted at 8+ ytd n saw someone familiar walking towards lift lobby. took me a while to realise i saw ur photos on fb b4... haha. anyway me at 6*5

ya, i totally agree the aftermath is a lot worse... so its the same for natural n c-s hah? my first steps today were so bloody painful i was cursing n swearing in front of the nurse. but i m so happy for u dat u managed to induce successfully!

btw, charlotte latching on? mine not keen coz i got no milk
. he is surviving on glucose water since ytd

babes, i am back! finally found time to log in here.

i popped on the 8th (induced) at 1451, baby Megan weighs 3.34kg at birth. Here's a photo of her to share:
3101610.jpg

Loke: This is also known as self-consolation! I super Ah Q!

Ginger: Take care of yourself then...don't stress yourself too much too!! Rest well these few days at the hospital and get ready for the bigger challenge later on!

Clumsybabe: Megan is soooooooooooo kawaii!! Love her cheeks! Congrats!

PY: Saw your fb profile pic! Charlotte seems to have your eyes!!!

helo mummies/mtbs :D

Baby : Elias Shawn Tan Kiat.
Born on 10-Oct-09 5:11pm
Weighs : 3.265kg

labour story :
10:00AM-ish did CTG. there was one time drastic drop in bb heartbeat.

11:15AM Gynae suggest induce and to check into hospital and be strapped to CTG to continue to monitor bb heartbeat. Gynae did VE and went "Hmmm" (happy sound) and said i was 2.5cm dilated. I told her i was hoping she was going to say 4cm. Gynae help to stretch cervic and pop in 1 tablet to induce.

Went to labour ward. given the gown. I wore the gown incorrectly. haha. the ribbons is to the back i tie in front :p no food no drink. Felt slight tummy ache.

01:30PM - nurses gave oxygen mask as bb heartbeat got drop once in a while below 120. bb heartrate stabilised. (btw the rubber mask very smelly :S) Tummy ache stronger. Tried to sleep / rest since they say more relax you are the faster you will dilate.

02:12PM - Gynae pop by and did a VE. Said my wish came true, i am 4 cm dilated. I told her I was hoping by then i was 7cm dilated :p. HB took out towel and wrap his arm :p haha.

04:05PM - Nurses check am 7-8 cm dilated. I asked for Gas.
After that all was pretty much a blurr to me. A bit different than diarhoe cramps but about there. Grab the smelly mask, squeeze my hb hand. (towel discarded). felt urge to push or something under there so press the bell to call nurse to inform. somewhere here and there was pushed to delivery ward, heard gynae, a nurse and my hb there rah-rah-ing. Funny thing i remembered was when i was gathering my breath for another push, my gynae asked me "you can relax your face now, it looks like the expression is stuck there" :p hahaha.."

05:11PM - think about > 6 push. Bb is delivered. The last push i really took a deep breath and did all i could knowing that the bb heart rate dropped and there is a chance i may need to do emer-c-sect.
(who was it who only pushed once? you are my heroine!)

my labour tip : relax as much as possible, don't think about the pain, don't think what you will be going through. think that you will see your beautiful healthy baby very very soon.

Breastfeeding :
Just brought baby Elias (pronounced as Ee-Lye-Us) back home yesterday. He pretty much feed like every 2 hours last night (panda mummy and daddy), but only took like 1.5 breast or .5 breast. How i count is 15 minutes each breast. Is that normal? or its because my milk supply has not establish.

Any tips on how to train the baby to sleep at night throughout?

Congrats to all mummies who popped :D
I briefly glanced and saw PY and ipheh delivered. congrats!!! :D

Congrats to mummies who popped!

jRRt : You give very good advise when it comes to breastfeeding. Its very useful to first time mummy.

astro : Your yuhe will end up with too many GFs. He will be very busy.

Congrats to all the mummies who popped!

Advise to all the mummies still waiting for the arrival of your little one.
1. Walk ard as much as possible
2. Have intercourse with ur hubby
3. Drink coconut juice
4. If you can find rasberry tea, drink daily till you deliver.

Tip to have just one or few pushes
When you are ready to push, once your contraction start focus all your attention to baby. Just like you are passing motion..... you can feel your baby head is coming out and all you need to focus....
If you are epi, try to have it a low dose so that you can feel the bb's head is coming out....