(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Astro
Hahaha, so u'll hv to wait till #2 comes to conclude if its in the genes!

Not all babies can drink so much. My small eater son only took 150ml at 5.5 mths. *faintz* no matter how i tried to encourage him to take more so he cld sleep thru the night, he juz refused once he hit 150ml. B4 tt he was only drinking 120ml per feed. And it was a nightmare tryg to get him used to the btl.

Queen RA
CONGRATS!

Rooster & Moo
1st time i heard of CL thinking sweeping/mopping is NOT her job! Then she thinks u'll get a maid to help wif this? She's too much! And yes, i believe she shld wash both u & baby's clothes DAILY! Then wat is she doing on days she need not wash clothes???? She v eng leh! Thou still got 2 more wks, still she muz do her job. Ok lah, i shall zip my mouth, dun wanna stress u anymore.

Famela
I oso thot u might hv delivered! Looks like ur princess will only arrive near EDD, juz like Adil!

annette>> yeah that's right. haha but today is my cousin's birthday.. he's very irritating and i dun wish my baby to share the same birth day as him. so i told baby to wait another day if she wanna come out ha ha ha.

Me still at home playing e role of a maid. Haha! Seriously feels like it these past few weeks. Still running ard like mad woman scrubbing everything i come into contact wif. Even wif all tt squatting and vigorous activities, baby dowan come out. See la! Haiz. Dono wat to say oredi... I think i shall stop. Calling my part time cleaners to come tmr morning to scrub toilets and give house another thorough cleaning. Hoping it's e last time I'll haf to call them before i go deliver. I'm aiming for 8th oct. Love e no 8. Last time Adil's edd oso 9th but i aimed for 8th and got it. Dono this time if my baby ASH will listen to her mommy or not.

like what Rooster & Moo (precious_moment16) mentioned about the bottles, i'll be pumping directly into Avent bottles using my Ameda pump. have gotten this Avent breastpump conversion kit adaptor direct from the States as Avent SG doesn't carry it. good to use as I don't want to transfer BM from bottle to bottle.

i ordered an extra set to keep as spare.. if any of you is interested pls let me know

famela > haha you're so cute.. ddnikz will be having her c-sect on the 8th, while i'll be inducing on the 8th. wanna join us? :p

Astro/hippo>> yes i saw some threads talking abt the closing of the V in baby girls.. i think the term is call vagina fuse or something.. so need to clean properly.. pls all inform all the HBs also. i keep telling my HB if he clean must clean properly hahaha.

if close up hor.. need to bring them to the doc and they will "cut" open or something. dunno how's the process done haha

PY: fusing of vagina.. no lah. not cut open. but use steriod cream.. apply into the V.. then gently stretch.. if still fail to open.. then cut.. :S

jjrt: ya. hence i said max of 240ml per feed.. but thre are some milkoholics.. take up to 330ml! that one too much liao. will take off their appetite for solids..
with regards to not accepting the bottle easily. ya. tend to happen esp if the bb is exclusively latched on in the first 2 mths..and beyond..

that's why. i plan to gradually introduce the bottle.. to feed EBM.. starting from 6 weeks.. then 8 weeks.. replace one feed with fm.. else ah. dunno how to come back to work :S

WAH.. I AM BORED AGAIN!!

PY,
ok i will remind my heli. For 1st 2 weeks he will be on leave at home. So hes in charge or diaper changes n bathing bb hippo. Oh yah he will be assisting me w latching on too cos during parentcraft class, he was the one that could get the angle right, not me. Hehe..

Rooster,
i hve heard of some tua pai CL who specify upfront they only cook n look after bb. Everything else they dun do k. Its precisely becos i hear too many horrific CL stories that i decided i wasnt gonna pay n suffer w one. Anyhow like what ong said since CL is taking care of ur bb, gotta close one eye n ren a bit...

i already forgotten all that i've learnt from the parentcraft lah...... even the breathing techniques.. the pelvis exercises etc

Actually the HBs should help us remember lor.. then when i asked him the other time he also forgot liao. wah lao. ha ha...

Astro
I introduced the bottle to my son when he was less than 3 wks old leh... still, he took along while to get used to the bottle.
Well, my son is now a milkaholic! he drinks milk like there is no tmrw... At 3 yrs old, he still takes in appx 750ml of milk on top of all his 3 meals and snacks/fruits. And since milk intake does not affect his main meals, i let him drink lah. he is now taking in 1 or 2 EBM from my sis' supply as well. I will b supplying it to him when i start to express next time. hee, can help to save on milk powder since he can finish a tin of 1.8kg powder within 3 wks!

Famela
Seriously i wished i can b as hardwkg as u! Try as I might, the body is weak lah. even walking feels like a chore at times.

clumsybabe: ideal scenario would be one where my gynae, when she checks me on the morning of the 8th, will say that i'm already having regular contractions and already ways ahead in the dilation dept and she says, "Ok, go delivery suite NOW!" we'll see lar. hahaha.. could be just wishful thinking on my part. sigh sigh

re vagina closing: woah, sounds scary. have not had experience with baby girls. shall keep this in mind. boys easier to clean la

re milk production: talk about moo moo production, i am reminded of my old production too. i was so overzealous with my pumping during the first month that it led to overproduction in the 2nd month. not to mention that adil learnt to sleep through the night at 8 weeks on his own so suddenly i had all this milk but baby sleeping so never drink. happy problem lar. like what astro mentioned above, there were times when i managed to pump out 300 ml of milk. this usually happens in mornings after a good sleep (talking about 2nd month here). sometimes after a long period of sleeping, i even pumped out over 400ml! pretty cool! i recorded it down on pieces of paper last time. took photos and blogged about it last year when i found the papers again. for those interested can see this link:

http://adiaryformylittlebaby.blogspot.com/2008/04/look-what-i-found-in-my-treasure-box.html

you can click on the photos of the documents and see the amounts i pumped out then. this was when adil was 2 months plus and i was starting to teach him to do direct latching. first few weeks i had such a hellish time with sore, bleeding nipples coupled with an impatient milk guzzler that i gave up and fully expressed my milk for him. after 2 months, i got so tired of it man. expressing milk day and night is no joke. TIRING! and mind you, i have no maid, no CL, no MIL or mom staying overnight with me. so i was literally going crazy after 2 months of fully expressing milk. i am not exaggerating

PY,
mine was sleeping in class ok?! but when its the critical ones i nudged him and ask him to wake up his idea. hahaha... then he will open his eyes big big and absorb like a sponge lor. most of all the other things i think not impt one i just let him be. some of the classes really a bit boring, one time i wanted to ask him go and ta bao rojak for me. hahaha... :p

just told him to take out the "notes" to revise and he gave me this "u'r not serious!" look. then just pretend he din hear lah. hai... men...

jrrt: wah. 750ml! eh. teng drinks only 360ml max leh. can that be affecting his food intake?
u said he was fussy?
ok. noted that 3 weeks can be difficult to get used to bottles also.. haiz.. hmmm...

famela: raised both hands and legs agree.. boys much much easier to clean up!

hippo>> now i feel like eating rojak..... !!!!! muahaha....

i saw alot of HB taking down notes also.. then i ask if he need anot.. he say got book liao ma can refer to that =.= but end up he didnt read the books lor!

anyway we will be on epi, so the breathing techniques i think not of much use right? pain or not pain also cannot feel ha ha!

jRRt: my son oso loves his milk. until now oso. eats a lot oso. he has his 3 square meals, and asks for snacks in between. and still wants his milk! BUT he is not gaining weight leh. dono if i should worry. but i guess he's happy and active so should not worry? but i really dono where all that food and milk goes to. it just seems to make him taller only.. no poly check-up till next year 4 years old so cannot ask the docs oso. that time he was sick, brought him to his pd, but oso forgot to ask.

I'm back! Hippo and astro, alamak, today still no dilation. So scheduled for induction on Friday. Will go hospital on Thursday 11plus pm and then doc says the whole process may last until 6pm or even 9pm.

Then she said since I'm going to be on epidural, it's basically a comfortable waiting game, so I can bring my books, magazines, Ipod, or anything to while my time away.

THe nurse told me that I have to pay $300 to the hospital more to induce. SHe suggested me to do squatting exercises to open up, but at 0.5cm, it won't work. Hers worked only when she was already 3cm dilated.

Astro
he is fussy but he's taking in main meals v well. he prefers homecooked food. height & weight wise he is on track leh. so i dun think there is an issue here.
yah he is a milk monster rite????

Famela
wats adil's weight & height? My son is slightly over 15kg and is 98.5cm @ 36 mths. Adil might b taller and heavier.
if he doesnt gain weight, i guess he got v gd metabolic rate? my son is 4ever slim! he takes aft his daddy lah.
at this age, its hard 4 them to gain alot of weight... my son's weight was like 14.8-15kg for the longest time. but as long as he is active, running and all, i guess weight & height is juz a number.

I oso asked my son, "Where did all the milk u drink go to????!!!!"

talking abt books. coz i signed up for the SBI card from TMC.. now i got another set of the three books written by wong boh boi.. dunno what to do with that :S

famela,
so guess u'r one of those blessed w good supply like jrrt? i can only wonder what it'll be like... at this point in time. hehe...

PY,
we gonna keep egging each other on with cravings huh? hahaha... too bad u stay so damn far away. otherwise if u come out and makan with me, xoxo and sotong. bao you peng san by the 2nd week k! those 2 are solid one leh!

jrrt: nice. prefers homecooked food..

ehh.. famela/jrrt.. remmeber i said u must see teng to believe for urself.. the last time he was sick..(he lost some weight). i weighed him and measured his weight.. now at 34 mths.. he is .. 19.3kg and 1m 5cm tall :p

famela: wah, I've been at home for 2 weeks plus already, and I can't bring myself to do any housework. Think I super don't have neat and clean bone in me. Only thing I did was to wipe out 3 ants' nests in the kitchen yesterday. They keep coming back!

Hippo: I also told my husband what type of things I may need when I went to Kiddy Palace today. But he super blur. I was holding on to storage bags when I was thinking aloud about getting them or bottles or whatever. He asked the counter girl which one was better, pointing to cotton balls! Like that also can mix up.

Someone told me that Kiddy Palace sell bath tubs, but I didn't see. Maybe the one I went to is too small. Think must go those provision shops that sell buckets.

The nurse also told me that since the doctor will be checking on me every day, it's advisable to wear skirts instead of pants, so that I don't have to pull up or down. Does anyone know where to buy cheap skirts or sarongs?

glass,
in the mean time, i remember u said u havent opened your breast pump yet. u shud take it out and test it. make sure u know how to use it and that it works!
also, the breast shield must fit your nipples exactly one hor. so check its the correct size.

but is your bb's head engaged already?

squats. yah our yoga teacher always recommend squats. she says that helps baby move further along birth canal and aids dilation wor. maybe i shud squat a lot more at home. hehe...

hippo>> no wonder our girls are 3kg and above ha ha ha!!! i sms my hb tell him to drive pass and tabao back.. he replied "not on the way leh" wah lao! dun care i want to eat ha ha ha!!

Astro>> yes that's the book i'm referring to also.

glass>> induce still need to pay additional $300 ah.. for what? If my gynae agree to inducing, i might induce on either 9 or 10 too! hehhe.. see what she say tml ba.

glass: wah.. now you can have a date to look forward to
all the best!

jRRT: adil is 16.sthg kg. i think last checked was 16.5 thereabouts. and is 102 cm. he was closer to 17kg last dec hols but when i went back to work, and he went to his grandparents' place, weight went down slightly. so he's been 16kg for a longgg time now. he'll be 40 months exactly this coming thursday the 8th. oh, and he is DEF active. can't keep up with him lar. his mouth oso very active. very hard to log in here because of tis boy lar. now he's sleeping so you can see me happily chatting in here.

glass,
yup. i bot my bath tub from kiddy palace in toa payoh. think that's the biggest store. but i know parkway parade also has quite a few types. u didn't ask them ah?

PY,
hahahaha... i think u'r right lah. but at least u'r TALL! so its ok if charlotte is bigger. can u imagine me with a potential little michelin bb? wah lau. but seriously i dun care too much lah. haha...
am pretty sure isabel is a bit on the big side thanks to my durian/mooncake rampage. i kept quiet when gynae ask me what i eat. then he said "u chiak a lot of POR isit?" i just smile at him and keep quiet.

wah.. i just stood up just now.. my pelvis area is breaking :S.. got to wait for a while.. for the weight to settle.. then slowly move.. while aching.. :S haiz.. wasn't as bad with teng.. haiz..

hippo: u reminded me.. ok. must go and fiddle with the Free Style liao..

PY,
yah, eh tekan the ah lao. make him go and buy. later the princess come out we are no longer empress dowager anymore. kena downgrade to maid straight away. hehehehe...

HI mummies!!
I am still struggling with my work. Super restless...BB girl keep tugging at the bottom of my tum tum. Very uncomfy...can't sit properly. Dunno is it her trying to wiggle her head into the pelvic to get engaged..

Famela: Wow you are GOOD! Must learn from your moo moo production.

Glass: Walk more! That's like what my colleagues, friends been telling me. That should help in dilation!!

So good, looks like we hearing more popping news these few days...good luck to all of you!!

hippo: i think with milk supply it's not a matter of being blessed per se lar. it's how crazy you are and how onz you wanna be. KWIM? like i mentioned above, i was going crazy pumping. sick with almost 40 degrees fever oso i wake up every 2-3 hours to pump in the first month hokay? if you don call that crazy then i donno what to say. my husband say i sadist. but i just wanted so very badly to BF my baby lar. i was sleep deprived, food deprived and i was hormonal. but i still pumped like mad. some more last time i only used the avent uno - single pump so took a longggg time. now i haf the duo so should be faster.

this time round though, i have a new goal: i wanna make sure my baby die die learn to direct latch from 1st day. i am NOT going to give up and go do full expression of of milk like with adil lar. too tiring. hopefully can achieve this goal first lar. once direct latch extablished then i will start the pumping.

astro: teng must have really tall, big genes. you mentioned you're tall too right? hubby too i assume?

i'm only 1.63 and hubby 1.67. we short short leh. hehehe

but teng is really big and tall for his age
next time grow up can model part time and earn extra pocket money. hehehe

famela,
yah astro is TALL! hehe... but i know of frens who also diligently wake up and pump every 3 hrs but not so much leh. really. so i think its still different ...
yeah i resolve to make good use of lactation consultant and learn to latch on while in hospital. if not, come back will call and ask them to make house call. die die also must make it. hehe...

glass: am not hardworking. i have no choice. if i don't do my house gets really messy. i've got a messy hubby and son.

hippo: hey, i have been squatting, walking up and down stairs at work before i went on ML, i even run and play hockey with my son, and i am still HERE just 3 days before my EDD!! what's up with that??

OH, and remember i painted that wall in my kids' room too?? i moved the roller up, down, up down, stand, squat, stand squat.. carried and rearranged furniture, cleared out my storeroom... still no action leh.

think my baby just being stubborn lar. wanna trick mommy only. my braxton hicks all started very early in 2nd trimester. even had false alarm once. but til now, NOTHING!! notty girl!

tien: can, can learn from me.. be crazy like me lar. hahaha. you can do it one, don worry. just work at it.

glass: i got my bathtub from KP too. last time bought at the toa payoh outlet. but causeway pt also has i'm sure. where do you stay?

*gulp and swallow my mouthful of water*.. how come suddenly my height is the topic here? :p

hippo: aiyoh. u making me sound like a giant liao. with ur CAPS.. hahah BUT i am a giant.. kekeke

PY: eh.. taller? :p and u might not be able to believe this. my mum and my sister are taller than me :p

FAmela: teng is way beyond the chart starting from like 5mths.. everytime the PD wants to plot his weight.. i tell them.. it's ok.. hahahaha. my hb is so so. i think 1.73m.. i wish he is taller leh.. then i can.. eh. there is a chinese saying.. 'be a little bird and lean on his shoulders'.. hahahaha..
grow up to be a model ah? ha.. he doesn't have the looks to die for leh.. how to be a model? :p.. 1.6m plus is not short liao wor..

hippo: i like ur determination. i also want to try to succeed this time round.. let's egg one another on hor?

and let us support one another when we are all down with the bb blues! *sob sob, wipe tears off eyes.. so touching*.. hahahahah.. drama :p

hippo: oh yeah, I wanted to do that today, but forgot again. It's at my husband's place, but he was in a rush today plus a bit sleepy and blur, so I didn't ask him to bring over to my place. Will get him to do that soon.

Baby's head is engaged since quite long ago, plus quite far down. My mum said I was born one day after the EDD, while my MIL said both her sons were late. Actually, I think my EDD was not very accurate because my cycle was much longer than usual months, so my doc long time ago said it was just an approximation based on the embryo's size that time.

hippo and astro: regarding bath tub, I think maybe I just see very selectively. I also never go and ask them. Dunno why it didn't occur to me. I went to the one at J8.

Peiyu: ya lor, dunno why must extra $300. Maybe it's the tablet or dunno what they put in for dilation that costs so much. My doc got another patient for induction (I think) at the same time as me.

famela: yup, got date to look forward to. Gonna tidy up my desk, which is filled with a lot of books and other stuff like remote controls and what-have-you, so that my family can push the table out and bring the baby cot in. Can't arrange furniture now because my mother refused to let me.

Tien: I'm at home for the past 2 weeks, so not much place for me to walk. To think I was so active about 4-6 weeks ago. I was walking up and down, walking super fast, and dancing for hours for a few days. Now I'm like a slug, just sitting in front of my computer, playing game, surfing net, doing some work, or watching tv, or reading books, which are all super subdued activities.

btw famela, don't worry about height. With proper nutrition, can grow tall. My parents are not as tall as you and your hubby, but my brother is 1.78m.

hippo: my best fren.. was 1.5m onli.. then i always like to go and put my hand on her shoulder and lean on her somemore.. she wld tell me.. 'hello.. mind ur weight and built.. i dun want to be shorter than the shortie i am now hor..'.. whahhahaha :p

astro: wah, didn't know you are so tall! ANd your mum is even taller? If people from previous generation can be so tall, then teng is going to be 1.9 already.

Famela: Good good...will learn to pump like crazy...since I have spent so much money on the pump I better make good use of it...My mum was telling me that the daughter of her friend can pump so much that her hubby could use the milk to make kopi! I was like totally gross out!

Glass: Sama sama lor...stuck at home for 2 weeks liao...most of the time on sofa or chair or on bed. But these few days I just walk from kitchen to living room (which is less than 10 m...house is just too tiny) or go to toilet. Or just stand up and stretch. Or squat haha...just to pick up dirt on the floor...haha...see how desperate I want to pop! Think the more I want to pop the more stubborn my girl is. As stubborn as mummy...but this time she wins!!!

astro: 1.75 is very tall leh! actually i like my height. but just like you, i wish my hubby is taller. i can't really wear heels if go out with hubby. good thing is that he's a bit 'buffed' lar. lol. i kinda feel petite and safe when standing beside him. errr... i think better take that back. i USED to feel petite beside him. not now though. now i am just round like a ball. esp after i see the latest pic of us taken at KKH last week!! scary!

isit poss for us to shrink over the years? cos in sec school all along i was 1.65. but this pregnancy, when i went for first appt and they took my height, they recorded it down as 1.63. so i've shrunk by 2 cm.

glass: no lar, me not worried abt adil's height. i know he can grow tall. my parents are shorter than me and one of my brothers is 1.82m leh!

i am more worried about my son not gaining weight over a long period of time lar. but read everywhere, say as long as happy, healthy and active ok. so i guess just go with that lar.

Rooster & Moo,
that's good news! great... now no need to worry about sticking to medela bottles.

famela,
hav't hear from you so long.. thought is your turn to pop bb... keke... will be nice if you are popping on the 8th as well :p

Queen RA,

annette,
yah... 2 more days to go. but seems like the countdown gets more difficult as it gets nearer. haha

hippo: i hope so too! otherwise will feel kinda cheated lar. only reason why i have been so stubborn and refuse to slow down is the promise of an easier labour for active mommies.. we shall see lar. sigh sigh

tien: really ah? her hubby drank her milk?? wah. brave hubby. i don't even dare taste my own milk. haha!

ddnikz: haizzzzzzzzz.. me still around la. just busy with hari raya visiting, and normal day to day chores, and of course this bundle of energy that is my son.

my parents lagi best. they laugh at me when i complain about baby dowan to come out. they say baby stubborn like me. i was an overdue baby. my mom's edd with me was 25th Dec - a christmas baby. but i only came out on 4th jan!! i came out so late there was already meconium in the amniotic fluid.

i think secretly my mother is prob saying, "serve her right." LOL!
i am not overdue yet and i already can feel the increasing discomfort. dono how my mother can tahan carrying me for 10 days over due date!

glass: wah, really can shrink?? then i better continue with calcium pills even during breastfeeding?? i didn't take calcium supplements last time.

astro,
yup i had a classmate around your height and she liked to do the same thing to me. except she likes to go swimming WITH ME! so whenever we are in the pool i make her pay for it lah! :p hehehe...