(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

hippo: the thread is quiet coz i was over at my other thread sprouting nonsense! here i am! heh :p

Sotong: ha. too big gap? cld be wor.. i def feel the differences more this time round. :S sore and mroe soreness.. haiz..

jrrt: miser always hast his can't be bothered attitude.. not can't be bothered per se.. but slow and easy.. u know type A and type B pple? he says he is obvoiusly type B.. i say he is type B+.. if ther eis type C.. he is type C liao!

but when it comes to food. he gobbles down leh! alamak. teng is following him with this aspect. eats machiam got famine leh! i eat slower though. hahahha..

anyone popping or popped? I know Queen is still stuck in the labour ward? she must be cursing :p:p

re glass bottles..
i was asking my other thread on this.. they say .. the COVERS of the glass bottles tend to rust very easily.. and sometimes chips off the glass can happened.. so be very mindful..
also after a while. when production exceeds glassbottles. it becomes a constraint.. and hor. pls do chill the EBM to a suitable temp before freeaing it in glass bottles in the fridge because i have seen a phenomena when the glass bottle is shattered in the freezer!

i am poor in physics.. but coz was at Uni hostel. got some prankster go and put a Absolut Vodka bottle in the freezer.. all cracked! so i have this impression that glass bottles shdn't be frozen. coz dangerous..sames goes for plastic coz it might cracked.. milk bags is still safer than drinking cracked glass bits in milk?! omg.. ok. i am IMAGINING!

i asked miser (that chap is an engineer so 'by default' he MUST be good in physics:p:p )about that phenonmea i observed.. miser said must make sure cooled before chilled then it wun happen. same for plastic.. so i guess.. milk bags for me.. easier to label also lah.. i feel.. stored flat.. good.. :p ok. i sound like milk bag promoter..
hahahaha..

This morning i kept having BH contractions and i timed them.. first 3 are abt 7-8 mins apart.. then after that become 11 mins.. too tired to wait liao and end up sleeping beside my HP haha.. :D

i think when real labour comes, i will be too kan cheong to go and time them man.

anette: hahaha. dunno. it is a waiting game for me as well..

glass: woo-hoo. sounds like teng and my case last time.. 2 days short of EDD?

PY,
u had it ytd. I didnt so been craving it since. Already informed my village i gg to get chilli crabs tonight. Hehe...

HI mummies
Hee me woke up late again..11am...woah hoooo!

Almost wanted to call my doctor just now when my girl refused to bulge when I poked her. Turned out after the breakfast, she started her splits and stretches....thank goodness.

Going to spend today clearing more work from home. Got a feeling it might be soon for me. This week is also 38 reaching 39th week for me.

Astro: Think if store in glass bottles must cool first, like what you said. I saw my colleague store their EBM in glass bottle in the office in their cooler bag and they freeze them when they return home. And they dun fill up to the top only to about half. But you are right about the volume. For me I am concerned about the space in my super small freezer. Probably will end up storing in bags. Thinking of getting storing in a container before putting into the freezer to avoid contamination by the raw foods. Dunno if it is feasible? Hahah really like some science lesson and experiment.

hi all, long time din posts cos been busy in office trying to hand over my job to my col and seems to hv prob posting too.

i am on official sick leave now cos hv sm contraction last fri so my gynae gave me leave to rest.

miemie, need you to update my gynae cos my actual gynae is away for his studies so nw my gynae is Dr Ben Choey.

congrats to all mummies that had popped, dunno whn's my turn. nw Jovann getting very active and naughty keep pressing on my pelvic area too.

Tien: ya.. some of the bf-ing moo moos in the other thread advise that can keep in containers (the milk bags).. best if have seperate freezer. those small kinds for EBM.. my household got4 adults plus one mininature giant.. so freezer is a constraint.. i very much want to buy the smaller freezer now and put it in my room. miser says. wait first.. see how first.. haha he doesn't trust that i can bf successfully this time round :p

oh ya. cannot store too much at one go.. will burst also.. hahha. i forgot about that :p

Astro: Eh...not going for lunch?? Oh there is such a thing called mini freezer? Hee hee...I very suaku. But think my space contraint will only be during the confinement. I hardly cook not sure if I will cook during my ML. Honestly, I dunno how much milk I will have. I am now assuming that I am going to be producing plentiful of milk! Hehehe

happy hippo,
I am not inducing. I am having C-sec. that's why can confirm is on this Thurs... unless the nottie munchkin can't wait to come out **cross fingers**

aria jo,
oh ya... Thurs is your EDD date. Heard bb in there too long also no good as the placenta is dying. Do we have bb bathing demo on Fri? Not aware of that... kekeke, think if you see a haggard looking woman crawling around in wheelchair, probably will be me :p

jRRt,
Glass bottles are heavier and not sure if compatible with my breastpump. In addition, my company fridge is like those really fully utilise kind. Open up anytime can have things dropping out. So not sure if having glass bottles in there is a good idea.

Astro,
Oh man... Now you got me back to square one... glass bottles or not? :eek:

PY,
I alreayd convinced that I cannot count properly on the contractions part. Just just aga aga loh.

Ya... now getting paranoid over alot of things. Somehow even the hospital bag, though alreayd packed, I still worried I didnt bring enough stuff. Esp things like disposable undies. I only have 8 of them. think is enough?

Astro
Eh I am B+ leh, but sounds like a different strain fr ur hb! hehehe

Wah sounds so gd tt ur son gobbles up his food leh. My son is a mirror image of both me & hb. Fussy abt fd! Argh!
#2 will not b any better off. Haiz...

Like u, i worried abt glass btls breaking while frozen and the chemicals fr plastic milk btls leeching onto the milk during storage. So i rather store in milk bags. Lesser hazards in comparison & saves space.

Tien
Like i mentioned, it is recommended to get a container to keep ur frozen BM in the freezer. it helps to cut down on contamination.

tien: canteen packed with pple.. *does a teng's 'later...'*

u know those bar frige in hotels? but i dun think that is a freezer per se hor? i dunno but my frens say have.. they say wait till i can establish milk supply. they go find the lobang for me.. then we do BP here again! whahaha.. ops.. shhhh :p
good to assume that we can become good moo moos.. hahahah..

ddnikz: kekekke. *evil grin*.. really ur choice lah... u bought some medela bottles for storage right? that shd suffice for the time being. why not u use them first... and then monitor.. and then can then gauage more accurately..

wah. i didn't know can attach glass bottles to milk pump leh.. SURE OR NOT? :p

u have those chiller bags.. got chilled components to keep EBM chilled for a period f time.. and if u have desk space. invest in those mini bar fridge i was talking about.. coz easier. some pple dun like EBM in office fridge.. coz these are after all consider as bodily 'discharge'

ddnikz: c-section stay normally three days? hmm. think u pack 2 packs of ten for disposable undies? seemed 8 to me is a bit little.. dun get paranoid. ur nesting instinct very de strong. soon soon. kekekeke..

jrrt: dunno. but teng likes to eat.. he goes 'yummy yummy' when he is eating.. so he is very FAT and big.. for a kid yet turn 3.. u must see him to believe it :p
i wonder if yu he is like that too.. if says. i will conclude definitely.. IT IS ALL IN THE GENES!

Astro,
re the barfridge, yes.. they do have freezer compartment. very small only. can just insert a few bars of chocs in there and it will be full. No use one leh. somemore is big.

ah... the medela bottles. Never really buy. Came with the breast pump. kekeke, I don't know if can attach glass bottles to the pump leh. Doesn't sound very realistic to me also. Neck will be damn sore with the glass bottles since they are heavier. and what if... **touchwood**... right after pump and drop it on the floor? Will cry one man...

For the company fridge, my other colleagues have been storing in there their BM last time. So I don't supposed will have issue with bodily discharge. Just afraid will drop out with the mass density of stuff in there.

ah... mine is C-sec together with an additional op. So not sure if is 3 days leh... die liao. now abit too late to get more disposable undies. Have on hand some but those are non-pregs one...

ddnikz: i see.. i think if use milk bags.. can fit into that space.. bottles chilled i think will suffice and bring back in chiller bag to freeze..

ha. dun need to have glass bottles to cry if spill after pumping.. any ordinary bottles will cry liao!!

ddnikz: or u cld bring some normal maternity panties (cloth kind) along first.. then instruct ur hb to get some for u while u are the hospital? still got time dun worry

jRRt: Haha thanks dear. I must have missed out on that info. Only remember that i have to store milk on top of raw food.

So interesting, my office is a complete opposite. The freezer is really for EBM only. When you open the door, you will see cooler bags of EBM from different mummies. Hahahah...no one dares to touch that place to put something else. Think the mummies are also fighting for a place to express milk.

Astro: Why canteen crowded? Actually kinda confused...are you still a teacher or an ex-teacher in schools???!!?

ladies.. do u all want to order some Desitin diaper cream for ur bbs ah? coz my fren doing a drugstore spree.. i always order this desitin from her. coz if gena diaper rash. the PD also prescribes this.. used to be difficult ot get it on the market..and must get only from PD...
now it is easier.. at TMC clinich they sell 2 for $22.. but seems like smaller than what my fren ordered for me all the time.. anyone insterested?
let me know by tonight?

Desitin Creamy (fresh Scent)
http://www.drugstore.com/search/search_results.asp?N=0&Ntx=mode%2Bmatchallpartial&Ntk=All&srchtree=1&Ntt=destinin
(the first one.. the orginal i was told.. doesn't smell very good) :p

i'm fr aug mtb..i hav a mamex gold infant formula 700gm to let go.. its not open yet and expire jul 2010 brought at NTUC at $29.95. give me your best price..
brought it jus incase milk supply not enough.. if any of yr baby taking this formula, do PM me.. will to let go at a lower price. self collect at hougang. thanks..

Astro,
ah? ask hubb to buy? ah... think he will faint first. He don't know how to buy gal's stuff one lah. Ask him to buy me T-shirt he also don't know my size. guess I got to rely on my mum then...

haha. ya. you are right. try the medela bottles first. If no good. quickly get the glass ones or milk bags!

ddnikz: ur disposable panties came in packaging right.. ? ask him to bring the packaging and buy the exact same thing? can't go wrong mah?

tien: i used to be MOE teacher.. now a lecturer/facilitator in a polytechinic

i rented medela Lactaline Select Breastpump (hospital grade) for a week last week when bb was hospitalised - to help me regulate my milk flow while he is away.
now that i have returned the rental set, i still have the spare parts - i.e. the double pump set which cost me ~$70 (i think).
i dun suppose these can be used manually or other purposes unless i buy medela pump (i already have an Avent Manual bp)

so if anyone of you is interested to purchase from me 2nd hand.. let me know. or pm me.

Astro: I see I see...I want to be out of MOE too!! Hahah

Talking about disposable panties, my hubby knows where to get liao. He just need to walk across the road from Mt E to metro to get. He knows if I need he must get...hahah...even the maternity pads...cos mothercare is at 3rd level of metro. Poor hubby.

I also got the desitin creamy on standby but 2 tubes only. Astro why you buy so many tubes??? It's quite a big tube leh!

dear all, let me inspire u further.. i was a 4.6kg baby when borned and my mum delivered me naturally without epidural! n she said it was a pretty smotth delivery... adn the nurses were all pretty excited when this giant was delivered..

dunno to envy those of u who have popped or not.. wnt to pop soon in a way cos waiting game is sooo frustrating but on the other hand, like not prepared mentally for a change in life like tt..

having such frequent contractions... so afraid will suddenly go into labour at work...

astro,
i KS bought 3 tubes already. eh, btw, this one we dun apply on daily basis right? only IF kena diaper rash right?

re: milkbags
can get from dreamygal. hehe... i got some from her. they look quite good to me. of course haven't start using yet lah.

babytum,
haha... u reminded me i came across one sep MTB 4.3kg natural w epi. i thot only pple in kampongs can do it. so in sg also got cases like these to inspire us lah?! hahaha...

tien: hahah.coz i got teng mah. so i keep buying lor. i CONTROL . not buying this.. buying something else for the moment.. :p

hippo: eh. apply on daily basis.. thin thin layer.. apply till vanish concept hor.. not gao gao kind. i used to apply gao gao.. then my PD said no.. not like that.. IF gena diaper rash then apply.. painful liao! i apply it after each diaper change.. teng's off diaper liao.. so the four tubes for yu he liao.. hahahah..

tien,
haha... i did exactly the same thing. took my heli w me and showed him exactly where the panties and pads are in metro. bwahahaha... like that cant be wrong right?

pple. this is what a scientist.. as in her occupation says about glass for freezing on my other thread.. of course. glass bottles for EBM storage got to be stronger than this lah.. but thought useful info for us to know also.

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

astro: Glass that is not specifically manufactured for freezing has the unfortunate ability to crack, leave behind tiny, microscopic shards and fragments and also is prone to bursting.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Haha just finished my lunch...MaMaDelivery...can't believe I went on to organise my tea and coffee cabinet??!! Strange...

AStro: Hmm that means have to buy those special glass bottles. I saw some online...many brands sell special glass bottles even lansinoh!

Hippo: Hahha that's the beauty of having Metro next to the hospital. In fact I suspect I will have cravings and hubby will probably have to go there to buy for me...I love orchard!!

If I am not wrong, the diaper cream will have to be applied at the butt cheeks...hee hee...

hippo: for girls. remember to wipe front to back.. then u know area outside the V.. (dun rub into the V).. spread a thin layer there.. if still kiasu.. apply a bit more to the Perineum area (ok.. i dunno how to spell) but u know where they cut for episiotomny? that area..

the anus that side.. also apply a bit bit..

ya.. apply after each diaper change..

and hor.. kekeke. this might freak some of us out.. for girls. the V can closed up one! so hor.. must GENTLY stretch it a bit.. to open it up.. else the V will close up. i dun ahve practical experience.. but other thread got a bb girl.. her V close up. end up must use steriod to thin the skin.. to make it open again..

any mummies with older girls here.. can share on this?

No lah not milk bag promoter. Anyway which brand of milk bag did you buy? I bought the pigeon one. Quite amazed by its design. Pour from top then seal then open from the bottom hee hee I will proably try the lansinoh one once I have milk supply!

tien: no.. DUN apply into the V!!! :p
or are u refering to my fren's case.. ya. she applies the STERIOD cream into the V and gently stretch. sometimes got blood one wor..

eh.. i tink i bought the lansinoh. but i dun remember :p

Haha I know cannot apply into the V...just that must very careful..in case some get into the V...poor BB sure scream!!!

Anyway I jsut went to see the pigeon bag that I have...it can take a volume of 160ml!! How can get so much milk in one pump!!???? Now I can understand why bottles might be better at the beginning stage.

ddnikz: 2 days away from seeing ur BB tts fast ye
3kg is average wt, im only aiming at tt actually

hippo: i hope she scaring me.when im wk33+ bb only2.1 then wk35+ ard2.5 n wk37 jump to3.3 weird lor maybe machine not accurate ,gynae also said dun think will hit 4 kg in 1 wk, just telling me if really so,then c-s better.

sotongmum: ya i believe tt playsch n nursery impt too, once developed bb character, kindergarten not as impt.

PY: oic thought u having ur exam b4which n he oversea tts y u praying hard for bb to come out after end sept ehhe.guess my memory is realli failing me, really find myself stupidier when preggy

babyturn:u r a hugh bb hehe.

AStro: 300 ML? That's a lot...Ok shall start psychoing myself, "I WILL HAVE MILK...LOTSA MILK!! MOO MOO MO.............!!!"

Yeah another mummy popped! Congrats QueenRA!

Hey mommies! So many more mommies have given birth oredi. CONGRATS moms!
My edd is this Fri but i'm still playing e waiting game. Hippo, mine's even slower than yours leh

astro,
hehe... thanks for the illustration!

famela,
was just wondering if u've gone to pop!

annette,
mine was estimated 2.8kg at 36.5wks. i hope doc dont gimme some astronomical number when i see him on thursday.

just for your information..
For those using medela pumps, we do not necessary need to buy back medela bottles for milking session. Pigeon (normal bottle openings), NUK and hospital supplied glass bottles are all compatible with medela pumps. which means they can be attach directing to the pump for milking.

JRRT:
regarding the confinemet lady, she is definitely thinking sweeping and mopping floor is not her job. Cos last evening, she actually question my hubby saying she is here for 2 weeks, and how come she never see him helping to sweep and mop floor. My hubby was shock to hear this and back in our room ,he was laughing off saying she never do her job and end up pointing her fingers at him.. haiz