(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

famela,
I thought that the placenta will start dying around week 39. Carrying over 10 days from EDD is abit risky isnt it?! :eek:

re: calcium pills after birth,
I heard from my clinic nurse that we have to continue the supplements that we are taking now if we are to BF.

re: height loss,
I already quite short (and I am not petite)... don't wanna lost any more height... sobsob...

hey how's our queen huh? i don't have FB account leh. any baby photos yet? wonder what her birth story is like

mommies, i have a small request: when you pop, please put up your baby photos here can?? i can't access FB lar.. then i miss out on all the babies' cute photos..

i compose my reply below since morning. everytime wanna post, refresh the screen, got more things to read. ahhahahaah.

hippo : yalo. after u ask me that time abt ur experience, then my friend told me what happen. i v lose trust in that lady liew. Maybe its safer if we source for others now.
my friend manage to get another massage lady *phew*.

PY : wah..7-8 minutes apart. u not waiting to meet me at delivery ward on 10th ah ;)

dreamygal: Congrats!!! 3 hours labour. *thumbs up*
soh : congrats!
QueenRA : congrats !!

ddnikz : nah..think the herbs will be there after you discharge. won't OOS wan. so many herbal shop. if one herbal shop dun have go next one lo.

astro : 4 TUBES of Desitin? do we need so many? i only have 1 pigeon nappy rash and 1 drapolene. how many u used for Teng.

ddnikz: i think varies from person to person. i join the forum on US based sites and there are plenty of mommies who go overdue. there was a discussion that i followed and they said that some docs (more midwives though) even allow patients to go into week 42 before discussing induction.. so i really think it's not a fixed date that the placentas start to age at a certain week. this is from my understanding lar.. dono correct or not..?

famela,
hmm... that I don't know... cos' I got this information from internet. haha. you are one good example that aged placenta doesn't really matter.

As for baby photos, think not easy to post here. From what I see, each mummy here have at least 4 to 5 photos.

gal,
haha. Just abit KS lah.. Scarly all OOS then I no need to bathe liao >.<
From what I see... think I only have one herbal shop at where I stay...

famela,
yeah cos need to shrink the pic first then can post here. will be inconvenient leh. especially since most of us may be using camera phones to take bb pics eh? btw, why the resistance to FB ah? i think u mentioned b4 in the past. cant remember already.

LOL! not a real resistance lar... i have an account but under my son's name. and that oso for family members only. just so i can view the photos they upload. hehe

i am an internet junkie lar. am already spending LOTSA time on the net blogging, tweeting, foruming.. etc. if i open FB i scared i will spend even more time online then i don't do anything liao. LOL! so it's my own attempt to stop myself from 'going over the edge'

my girlfrens oso cannot stand the fact that i am still not accepting their requests to be added as frens. hah!

i understand though.. this forum very hard to upload photos! very leceh!

famela,
haha... sounds a bit delusional leh... no offense!
anyhow, if i'm not wrong, can mirror your blog on your FB account too. so its not exactly MORE time? anyways its your call.

seems like QUEEN had a pretty long labour. this morning she went in around midnight, this morning only 3cm dilated. but bb arrives finally around 11+am. dunno her birth story yet tho. only what i can see from her FB updates.

Astro
WAH! Ur Teng is sooooo tall! And to think i alrdy felt my 34 mth old niece is super heavy at 17kg... ur teng wins hands down!
U r so tall, no wonder teng has ur genes!

Famela
Adil's of v gd height &amp; weight. So dun worry abt him not gaining weight. In fact when we visited PD abt a mth ago, he was sayg tt my son is a little on the heavy side - he shld weigh abt 14 kg now. i was thinking then tt the PD muz b joking abt my son being a lil on the heavy side! hahaha

Happy hippo
i agree wif wat famela said. the only thing tt will build up gd supply is perservance and the will to regularly pump in the initial few wks when u r establishing ur supply. U muz b diligent enuff to pump every 3 hrly, even in the wee hrs of the morning. Pump, pump, pump will make sure u steadily hv an increase in yield.

RE: Desitin cream
do u girls need to stock up so much? I still got the bottle of leftover desitin cream fr my son. and its barely 50% used. normal times juz use drapolene. sufficient enuff 4 him to prevent nappy rash lah. but i heard girls r more susceptible to nappy rash so i need to standby a tube oso. i wonder if my half used desitin fr 3 yrs back can still b used?

hippo: none taken!
i know i am. it's actually also mostly me being stubborn and not wanting to lose a bet that my frens made lar. hahaha.. dowan to lose face mah? they die die think i will surely succumb to the 'call of FB'. the more they say i will succumb the more i dowan to join. see la.. ego lar. hahaha.. BUT, i think eventually i will join on the sly lar.. then i just have to be prepared to get ribbed by the girls lar.

and thanks for that update on queen

jRRT: thanks for sharing that info from your pd

oh, i'm a drapolene user too! works very well for my son so am sticking with it.

glass: heh.. thank goodness my grandmother was there to normalise us. else i cannot imagine. coz my grand father was the tall beanstalk in my family.. ha.. dunno if he will hit 1.9m.. ha..

famela: eh. i think i am taller than 1.75 :p.. ya. i like tall and big men. ur hb is of the good built.. there are some men who are very short eh but overtly built.. hmmm..
i saw ur last blog entry.. i think ur tummy bigger than mine :p

aiyoh. teng is very big sized.. 14 kg is the norm.. goodness gracious me.. :S hmmm..

hippo: u sound like a good swimmer. u must teach me to swim..

gal: hahaha .. i lost count of the tubes i used for teng.. if u apply after each change.. i think u need quite a lot..

jrrt: ya.. he is tall.. hence that weight? *in denial*.. his BMI is ok so i left it be lah..

ya.. after 3 years.. the weight gain will slow down. teng was 18kg for a long time.. but he put on weight recently..
aiyoh.. cannot use liao lah that half used desitin.. :p

Re: Supplement

I've finish my supplement since 1 week ago and i nv buy anymore from the clinic... i think should be ok lah hor? i drink a glass of milk every night.. hmm.. maybe tml i double check with my gynae again. haha the pills v exp leh!

Gal>> hahaha i still aiming for 10 or 11 lor. if jw agree to me induce, then maybe i'll admit on either 9 or 10. See how first ha ha..

i cant wait to see her tml! maybe she'll ask me to do the ctg

RE: Desitin cream

I bought 2 tubes from the BP and i dun intend to use it everyday.. only for bad rashes .. for normal days i'll use avent bottom balm. Mrs wong said Desitin is the best cream.. if we use too often, baby will get immune to it and next time no better cream will help liao.

PY: did u ask mrs wong. how to get 'immune' to desitin? the other way holds true? if use desitin as a preventive measure.. almost impossible to get diaper rash?

Every evening ard this time since last few days, I've been feeling menses-like cramps. Better go lie down now and rest la. It usually goes away wen i rest though. Hope e cramps means i'm dilating some more la. Hate cramps! Catch up later maybe ladies.

Astro: i wanna order desitin and standby 1 tube oso la since you all say it's reali good for rashes. Wer and how to order? How much per tube? Lemme know can?

my tummy big and round hor? and imagine, i'm so much shorter than you! gosh. actually my face oso getting so much rounder these days. feet and hands (especially my hands) all swollen now.

femela: eh. my fren has enough orders liao. hence she closed her spree liao :p

but hor. i think u can get it from pharmacy also.. if u need it urgently.. the brand is Desitin Creamy..(dun get the orginal. coz i was told. the original has a fishy smell wor...)
my fren can get it slightly cheaper.. but not much diff lah.. why not u can try get one tube first from pharmacy and u try try first? when my fren starts another spree.. i let u know?

ha.. a few more days.. u will be rid of the swollenness!

PY: ha.. but logical hor? if we use the 'best cream' as preventive measure. that means impossible to get diaper rash?..
hahahah.. then all the more must buy it?! ok. my warped logic :p

famela: abt there.. the cost.. but i think can be cheaper still? there was once.. i got a tube fro my fren. less tan $10. single digit.

astro,
haha... yeah i guess i am. was a competitive one too in the past. sotong's pretty good also. i dun mind teaching. but problem is, i never learnt CPR b4. so u must at least know how to float lor. hehe... remember we were saying if by early next yr the labour mkt still bad, we may go and get ourselves certified. teach for fun on the side. hehe...
will keep you updated on that... class for mothers and babies... hehe...

Hahaha no need so kan chiong lah. In their own time lah. I only learnt when i was like 7? Dad threw me into the deep end of the pool... Funny how i wasnt traumatised. Think my dad quite warped haha...

RE: Desitin
If i am not wrong, its not meant to b used daily in a bid to prevent nappy rash but rather to b used as a treatment when the rashes gets bad. everyday use shld b lighter cream like drapolene.
Think the lighter version (blue tube) is to be used 1st. if rashes worsen or dun get better, then use the original (purple tube) which is def thicker. i heard its v hard to wash off the thick cream so dun go overboard wif the application.

Famela
No worries.

I was juz telling my hb how both u &amp; astro's son were. He was astonished! hahaha.
4 both of us, we need to standby desitin, in case. coz i've heard of bad nappy rashes in girls. and i'm def using cloth nappies in the day to reduce the risk of tt.

Astro
teng's within normal BMI then nothing to worry abt! Ppl worry abt their kids not hitting the minimum height &amp; weight lah, u got nothing to worry abt!
wah sayang leh, gotta dump the tube of desitin... but i'll do it lah... dun wanna risk it getting worse.

WOW, more mummies popped!
So nice!

hello mummies to popped and already popped.

I have popped today, on Hubby's bday at 1155hrs.

Will update with birth story soon on my blog kz..

Thanks all for your well wishes!

congrats pigsy and chynle!

roger about desitin..but i dun like drapolene.. coz screw on cap. diffcult to manipulate with one hand.. :p

haiz.. now feeling a bit moody having discussed how i can take my ML with miser.. i thought of splitting.. coz my school counts public hols as part of ML also sat and suns.. so if i split and then take annual leave.. at least .. christmas, new year and the chinese new years public hols. i dun have to use ML for that.. he said. dun be so stingy over the leave.. just to get those public hols.. then he said if he is my boss.. he wun have a good opinion of me.. wah liew! always like that. then i asked if i shd ask gynae for MC to rest at all. he said 'what for? u are not sick leh.. gynae how to give u mc.. she will get complaint one leh'.. haiz. arghh.. this cannot, that cannot.. stupid man..

Re: 37 weeks
Thanks to all for answering my query about popping on 37th week, now not so stressed if Baby decides to share my bday and pop earlier...
But my girl is quite small size and weight was only 2.1kg...

HB rearranged the furniture in our master bedroom today coz we dun have a nursery and baby will be sharing the room with us. Room is so much more roomy but baby cot is not set up yet and think it will be squeezy again when we put it in...looking on the bright side, at least cot can still come in...

Getting more excited about meeting baby! Feeling more weight and discomfort at the lower abdomen...

My baby is active and moves a lot from afternoon or dinner time onwards, guess she is a night bird, hopeshe sleeps at night when born

Wow, more mummies popping!! Congratulations!! Take care and hope to hear more on your birth stories!

Astro>> You are so tall!! I'm about 158cm only. Is your hubby just as tall?
As for ML, my company also counts PH as part of ML but I cant care less, just wanna enjoy the stretch of leave to rest. But I think if you need MC to rest, shd be ok lah. So far, I hvt met one gynae who is that "ngiao" on MC. When I ask, they give.
But that said, I hardly ask lah, so far only 2 days. :p If you need MC to rest esp at this late stage, I think you shd just ask... hehe ... bo hua to take own leave.

bluesea: that stupid man is about 1.73m. brooding over what he told me.. argh.. just want some time to rest.. stupid man make it sound like i taking advantage of my organisastion leh.. *sob sob.. sigh*

astro
i beg to differ! of coz gotta plan meticulously so we get to enjoy the max ML and how to plan ard PHs &amp; Sat/Sun! I am doing tt too! Thinking how to gain more time by doing this.

Lets face it lah, whether we plan our leave in this way anot, some bosses alrdy dun like it when we go on ML. So does it make much diff by planning so carefully now?

And which mother wun wanna spend more time bonding wif her baby and wats more tt we oso hv #1 to take care of?

Men will not understd how tiring it is to be pregnant, so dun get so bothered abt wat ur hb said abt u asking for MC to rest. And besides, who will complain abt the gynae????!!!

I popped today at 4.05pm. Baby Andre is 2.848 kg. Give you a summary of the birth story 1st.

5th Oct 09. Routine gynae check up. Dr say induce cos i mentioned decrease foetal movements. VE check, cervix soft, 2cm.

6th Oct 09
7am admit to break waterbag. 2.5cm dilated.
11.30 am Pain sia! ask for epi. 3cm.
12 pm. Relief!
2.45pm. 4-5 cm. clear pee.
3pm. Baby heartbeat drop, 3 nurses run in. I blur also cos thought nothing wrong why sudden panic. 9cm. Told the mid wife, dun bluff la,but it's true.
3.30pm. Dr came. Ask to push. After many many pushes (cos down there no feeling, dunno how to push also). Baby Andre is born at 4.05 pm.

Threw up a couple of times, but now i'm pretty okie, with a huge appetite and walking like a penguin. Haven't really try latching cos too seh earlier. will try at 11.30pm, but if cannot, i will go sleep and charge up for tomorrow. When baby came out, felt that 95% of my energy also drained out together with him.

Today is truly a milestone in my life.
Give you more details when i can, haiz ... there are long stories behind. But glad all is well.... so far

Re: Glass bottles
My mil was telling me that i can store my EBM into the empty glass bottles of food content (jam, pills, etc..) Just need to wash them clean so don't need to buy those specially for storing milk. My sis in law also using for her 1st baby and now the 2nd one who's 5 mths old now and she said she will pass them to me.. Wonder if it's ok?

Re: Glass bottles
My mil was telling me that i can store my EBM into the empty glass bottles of food content (jam, pills, etc..) Just need to wash them clean so don't need to buy those specially for storing milk. My sis in law also using for her 1st baby and now the 2nd one who's 5 mths old now and she said she will pass them to me.. Wonder if it's ok?

harlow mummies!

i've been away for the last two days...quite obvious lah what happened

last i came to this forum, i wanted to say thanks to quite a few who have fretted with me abt the issue between my gynae and my husband..glad it all came out well. hmm..i did not expect things to progress so quickly..so some of the "must haves" in my hospital bag were not ready when i really had to go (e.g. fave nightwear, gg home clothes etc)..

here's my little one's birth story:

3 Oct - Mid Autumn Festival...spent the early hrs worrying abt gynae vs hubby..slept early after all the insomnia the weeks before! glad i did! kept waking up from 7am with the need to go to the loo...strange..no activity, but there was a moist feeling so i'd to change out quite a couple of times. at 11am, xoxo the BLUR ONE, finally realised i was leaking amniotic fluid. called the clinic, gave silly, incoherent replies cos i didn't want to trigger a false alarm and still quite terrified abt seeing the doc with my gynae...haiz!! in the end, decided to go. a swab to test for amniotic fluid at 1pm showed there was none..so really false alarm? my gynae decided to do a VE. Ok..first time for me, and the most uncomfy thing to have (better get used to it). found to be 2.5cm dilated. cervix was thinned and told to admit to Mt A immediately...so my gynae turned to my hb and made it clear she wasn't going to allow me to "strain" past 10 pushes. that's all i've got before she'd intervene..looking back, 10 is actually alot of pushes!

2pm: went for CTG monitoring, found to be having contractions approx 8-10mins apart. i feel something, but yet "nothing", can't quite believe these pp consider me to be in labour already..(really cannot make it..)..began to understand that 127 reading on CTG marks the height of a contraction..well had at least 11 of those in the 1 hr...anyway, since i've not eaten the whole day, i asked to be discharged to go home and get my hospital bag (yes, it's NOT IN THE CAR)...

3-5pm: Pre-Birth Celebration...hubby &amp; I decided to do have a really good pizza lunch at Pizzeria, Greenwood and I am so thankful for having that! Without it, I am sure I'd go on a flat tyre...cos my gynae did not authorise me to eat at all after admission! Whew...

5pm: Call from gynae - "have the two of you decided to abscond?" she has been waiting for us to show up at Mt A (coming from her TMC clinic) since 3pm... *blush* quite terrible patients eh?

5:45pm: finally reached Mt A, remembering the PIE traffic was a nightmare. I began to "feel" that I am having contractions. Very manageable..and I rem telling my hubby if it's just like that, I am cool abt it..happy that I managed to get my hydro birthing room #1..plenty of births at Mt A that day..I was #13..can we make it for a mid-autumn babe?

6:30pm: Gynae came, decided that I've to be induced after a 2nd VE check (this one was so much worse than the first) revealed that my water bag has burst.. (???) i didn't have the gush/flowing scenarios..so I was quite taken aback. I remember sotong mum telling me she was induced...and that she made it thru' without epi. OK..I will keep that goal. Back of my mind, I was terrified cos I also heard stories of how this accelerated labour can be alot more painful. Oxytocin drip started, I regretted agreeing to the whole idea cos the need to be constantly strapped to the CTG unit meant quite a fair bit of discomfort for me.

7:15pm: Dilated to 4cm, contractions 5mins apart. I was still illegally eating cheezels on the sly. Height of contractions was rated 3/10 on my scale of pain.

9pm: Second check revealed no progress. I was given 2 hrs to get more dilation or it might be an emergency C-section. Drip was sped up.

9.30pm: I went nuts in 30mins. Pain level now 8/10. On top of the pain was extreme pressure. Felt constant need to go to the loo...remember hating the bed pan and insisting on the toilet till a nurse say, I don't think you want a baby in the toilet right? Yeah..right! Begged for one last loo visit..looked out of the window pane glistening with the rain. Quite soothing really..think I was going into another world.

9.45pm: Last trip to the loo granted, I returned to the bed. Decided to turn the CTG monitor to face me. I wanted to know head on, how each labour episode would come...so started staring at the screen...30, 58, 89, 112, 120, 127...grit, bear with it..felt a good sense of relief when after sometime at 127, you see the nos coming down. I kept at this for a long long time..hubby said I looked quite hypnotised.

11:30pm: Cut-off time (given 12hrs hv lapsed). Nurse came, found me delirious...kept repeating I was gg nuts (and I was)..so asked if I wanted gas. OK! Took one whiff, didn't work at all in reducing even 1% of the pain, threw the mask away. Was asked if I wanted jabs or epi..I said yes to all..somehow, after delivery, found it was my hubby whom I was talking to. AND HE DID NOT RELAY THE MESSAGE NOR THE CONSENT FORMS TO ME. Hence I did not get my pain relief when I needed it the most. Mr Smart Fella also ensured he did not hold my hand nor stand too close...hehe, on hindsight, he'd have had a broken limb or something.

Midnight: At some point, someone decided to do yet another VE to see if I have progressed at all or not. I cannot remember this anymore. Found to be 8cm dilated. Remember cool towel applied to my face and people telling me to try pushing if I felt like it .uh...like how? "Like going to the loo.."..rem thinking, I don't do "business" horizontally. Also one recall was that the CTG was almost always 127..and when it was not 127..I kept telling everyone ard me that the monitor is faulty...get the machine checked. Hehe..seems like now, the nos can "come down" but the pain wouldn't.

2: 50am: Fully dilated..cheerleading squad formed. At least three nurses were around giving instructions. I asked for the doc. I could feel bb..and this is the worst I've felt..told myself, don't lose it (start screaming) or I'll fall apart. Hb said I was still addicted to the CTG nos so whenever a nurse "blocked" my view, I'd ask her to move away (don't rem this)..

3:00am: Doc arrived..I rem her asking for her crocs..????? She asked how many pushes...I rem someone telling her I've done just 4. (Ok, so I've 6)..she asked if I wanted to have forceps (I cannot rem this) and apparently, she must have decided I could do without that (though it was prepared). So nurses started counting the pushes, 5..6..(the water bag that everyone incl the doc thought had burst completely before exploded at the midwife! not my fault i thought...but the warm water then was what I needed to come back and concentrate..funny for me, not for the fella's that drenched)..7 and 8 (i was told to keep holding and recycling my breath...into 5 mini breaths..) I didn't realise it, but I was tearing rather badly and doc had to quickly intervene to prevent more tears..so a cut was made..

3.10am: BB Audrey's here in the world..and I can't thank the ragtag team of Mt A well enough. Heroines..all of them!

candy_white >> glass bottles for EBM..it's OK. I was given a bag of 30 by Mt A, all recycled type...and I just bought the lids at the pharmacy.

xoxo>> Congrats! i think u can do it urself w/o the mr smart fella lah. wah lao!!!!! he's there but like not there like that... i'm so angry lah! GRRRR..!!!!