(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

quick update on my part.

- baby is finally engaged
- her weight is about 3.1kg now
- didn't do CTG or VE cos doc asked if got any pain.. i just told her normal menses-like cramps plus plenty of BH but nothing which qualifies as real pain so she said she'll wait til next week to do another VE
- water level oso still very high
- will see her next week on 8th oct if labour doesn't start before that lar. my EDD is 9th oct. she mentioned that if still no signs then then we'll discuss our options on what to do to encourage baby to come out.

roxie: congrats!!
glad to hear all is well with you and baby

joyce: congrats too!
what a cutie pie!

mrsL: your baby is sooOO chubby! congrats!

hope i didn't miss out any mommies. am just skimming tru the posts here..

<font color="ff0000"><blink>CONGRATULATIONS to all the mommies who have given birth!!</blink></font>

<font color="aa00aa">annette, i got no choice
thanks for your advice and concern. I have to walk out daily, breakfast i can settle at home if hubby is not around, now he is working from home, at least anything happen he will be with me. lunch again problem - we will walk a few blks to have lunch at my mum's. Dinner, my mum will bring to us and I normally walk a bit so she doesn't need to come allllll the way.

when he is not around, i walk alone then will stay there till dinner and walk back alone with dinner.

I stopped cooking because after wokking, felt my tummy hot hot..</font>

congrats to angeline too

was at orchard too just now after appointment. went to sakura at far east plaza for lunch and was supposed to go walk around with hubby after that. skali my uncle called me. had met him and his wife earlier at kkh. she was also there for her check-up. after scanning, doc found that her breeched baby had finally turned, and she was already 3cm dilated so suggested induce on the spot cos worry that baby might turn to her breech position again... her edd is actually 13th oct. so my uncle called to ask if can help bring back his 2 older kids and send them to my grandma's place at woodlands. so all plans to go "kai kai" (is this the correct word and spelling???) abandoned. can't wait to receive the sms that she's given birth!! it's their 1st princess after 3 boys. super excited for them!

famela: wow.. sounds really exciting wor... hehehe.. seems like most people give birth two weeks before edd.. maybe mine will come out next week?? hehhee..

loke: exciting hor? i felt that way too when he called me on my mobile just now. hee hee..

and yes, everyone i know personally who were preggers gave birth at least a week or 2 weeks earlier. everyone except me! whahaha! i am beginning to think that my babies all dowan to come out of my tummy. with my #1, he oso didn't want to come out. finally only came out when gynae induced him out at 39w6d. this one here, dono yet. but i only have 8 more days to my edd.

i also went for appt today. Think this period is super busy month. Second time in a row my gynae rushed out to deliver a baby.

Only 0.5cm dilated. Doc says if still not out by my EDD (6 oct) then will induce by 9 oct. Had a contraction today, but I didn't even know it was a contraction. The nurse noticed my belly super hard and the reading on the CCG was 100 and told me that was a contraction. Does that mean I should expose my belly so that I can see whether it's contracting?

went shopping at central later and now I'm super exhauasted.

tien, ya i know stella.... tink she is the one who introduced you to me
cant remember which tutorial class(es) we were in as well. tink could be more than 1 but i know for sure we were in the same lectures for several modules.

Ah... you all make me very excited and looking forward to my next gynae visit. All my friends telling me to rest more and enjoy these few days before bb comes out.

Diana,
Envy that you can still eat leh. I am slowly losing my appetite since the beginning of this week. Totally not hungry at all. After eating feel like puking. Anyone else has this prob?

Now tummy so huge and heavy my hubby banned me from going downstairs to buy food. haha. Scared anything will happen to me. Think I already starting the Pre-confinement period.

Famela: good that your bb is engaged. It's a matter of time. But I hv heard that usually girls will pop nearer to Edd. Patience is really the key to this waiting game.

Ginger: I see... But you are really sharp to recognize me on fb!!! I'm quite lousy at recognizing people... Hee hee

famela: bb is too comfortable inside ur womb:p gdgd finally engaged liao.hope mine too when i see gynae tomm but maybe not since bb is super active this 2 days

diana: same prob here lor.tt 4 days when im on vacation leave, ate porridge for lunch every day coz noone buy for me n hubby busy at work dun wan disturb him. fr next wk when i start my home rest leave, same thing gog to happen again abit sian when think of it.

glass: wa ur gynae instrument super advance can meansure to 0.5cm dilation!!! wat is CCG?

ddnikz... if u cant go down n buy food, then how do u settle ur meals? husb is banning me to go down after confinement since i will be alone with bb. still unable to find lunch tingkat for 1 pax until now
only managed to find dinner tingkat for 2 pax.

tien, coz u have not changed much! still look as young as in Uni days *envy*

ddnikz:
me me.. no appetite for dinner.. starts eating lesser but surprisingly my weight still shooting up each time i go for my checkup... haha

ginger: buy food during confinement!!! din u hget a CL to cook for u n take care of bb? who take care of ur bb for u?

annette, i have a CL so meals are settled for that 28 days. its the 3 mths after that i will be alone at home with bb. only when i return to work will i bring bb to MIL

<font color="aa00aa"> ginger, try this

http://www.empirefood.com.sg/tingkat.htm

annette, i won't sian soon, bcos after saturday, hopefully can start my confinement then after confinement I jialat bcos my mum is going to hainan island to settle some stuff. I need to cook, wash, feed, look after my BB and my dogs...siannnnnn so during confinement i must train BB to have time to poo poo and feeding.

ddnikz, yup, i can still eat, bought breadtalk bread just now, now going to drink my teh..

famela, good to know your update, Dr irene cool... should have taken her..nvm la..next round.</font>

ginger: oh talk abt tt me too, home alone with bb.tts y i ask my mummy to clear her leave after tt28days at least have someone ard with me. Now i havent thought of who to take care of bb when i return to work on 1st march.my hubby trying his luck to see if i be so attached to bb n quit n be sahm haha

Diana: u need to do household chore during confinement?!!

<font color="aa00aa">Ginger, http://www.houseofcatering.com/tingkat.htm
http://www.jessie.com.sg/

hope you get a good one..
let me know also..hehe

annette, I am a very typical clean freak housewife, i can't even stand a strain of hair, terrible right? esp the floor..I handmop my staircase and if I am not preg, i will clean the 3 rooms upstair using big cloth.

during confinement my mum already told me DON"T DO ANY and REST. but hor...I don't know la, see how, my mum 30 years older than me, i also don't want to hurt her back you see. I want to do and I think I can do then my sister said pls don't be so anal.

I keep a part time maid with me all the time, I'll see how, maybe get her to come 2x a week.

now my 2 dogs are botak, just came back from full grooming.</font>

thanks diana! will look thru

annette, so ur husb is hoping u will quit ur job? dats good... at least its a backup plan for u. tink u need to tink thru carefully the various options le.... not easy to find caregiver or a trustworthy infantcare centre if ur mum is unable to help u in the longterm.

eh, my post disappeared!

Ha. Lying on bed again. Then part my legs slightly. Wah liew can hear a gek sound! My joints are falling apart. Haiz.

Ladies, i'm really bored lei. Bored and sleepy. Has been falling asleep at office for past one month! Not very nice lei but just kept doing so! Cannot like that la, not for another 2 weeks with nothing to do. Gosh.

haha... astro, i get the gek sounds all the time. lol

u have finished handing over? better to relac than to be swarmed wif work at this final stage

diana: haha if im like u my hubby be so happy. since married till now im only in tt kitchen for less then 10 times n mop floor less then 5 times haha.

Ginger: ya coz his family all women after have bb all quit job n stay home to take care n educate the bb. but then err...ahh.... im sucks with household chores la haha n dun wanna rely on him to 'feed' me. all men r the same, if be sahm ,need endure with all sort of tantrum from the man just the extent of it ba. happen to a few of my frds who became sahm but see how lor.

ginger,
I do not have appetite for food anyway. Hubb bought me bf before he goes off to work.then afternoon I either eat bread or just drink milk. Dinner time he will buy back for me again.

limmil,
That's scary! Never eat much still have shoot up weight? oh man... I sure hope that don't happen to me.

re:caretaker,
for mummies who are like me, can't find anyone to take care of bb after 4 months, will you opt for infantcare or nanny?

Astro,
Think I am too "rounded" to hear any sound when I move. haha

<font color="aa00aa">annette,I mop the house 2-3 times a day..ahaha.. siao already... I mop a lot because I have dogs, if no dog, maybe once a day/2 days.

annette, must think the bright side, so far, I have never see any colour faces from my hubby.haha..that day I was telling him he is like a GULI, he works then money goes into our acct and he doesn't even know how much is the gross, nett, investment and expenses..

All the women(besides my eldest sis and one cousin sister in aus)in our family are SAHM ! Now then I realise... oh my..</font>

ddnikz, try not to skip meals. not good for yourself and bb.

i would choose to engage a nanny coz the thought of rushing to infantcare to fetch bb before 7pm is scary, not to mention the after-work traffic madness! tink the infantcare centre also charges exorbitant rates at more than $1k!

annette/ginger: think my joints are so bad that anytime can have fractures kind!

Ginger: my reporting officer can't believe it when i tell her that i'm very bored with nothing to do. She suggested to occupy my time, maybe help her review some lit and brainstorm to kick start a big project. Sounds so exciting! The problem is , it ain't going to be finished in 2 weeks kind and need major planning before implementation. The thing with me is, i don't want to restart my momentum only to have it stalled half way. And literature review? Wah liew, eyes too droopy to think of that :p kinda regret telling her, shd just pretend and slack around . Now too paiseh to even think of applying leave to rest at home! Ha. The things i get myself into!

Ddnikz: heh. Too rounded :p anyway i seen bbs in infantcare before. With no offence to any mothers who are thinking infantcare or have had their kids in infantcare before, i find the bbs quite neglected. They just strapped to their bouncers and left staring at the ceiling. Apart from feeding and diaper changes, very little interaction. At least it was for that centre i saw.

Nanny is a better choice with more attention to kid but it's more ex? And sometimes some bad habits can be cultivated by nanny which makes it hard for the parents to take care back home.

So really a matter of preference here.

annette: for me, it wasn't enduring of temper from miser that made me come back to work. In fact, when i was a sahm, miser got it more from me! Ha ha. More of character incompability for me. It takes a lot to be able to be able to stay at home and looks after kids well. Really no joke.

yes diana... i enquired at 1 infantcare centre near my place before n it was more than $1k. not sure what is the subsidy for working mums though coz after that i heard some bad reviews about the security at the centre so didnt pursue further.

astro, u really itchy backside ar... haha.

i thot nanny charges around $600-800?

ginger,
I no choice leh. If I take lunch, dinner I have to eat super light (like soup or perhaps even lighter). anyway, is going for a few days only. then bb is out liao! yeah!

re: infantcare,
Have lah.. Have rebate. after deduction is roughly that of nanny who charges market rate of around $600.

Astro,
the way you describe infantcare is quite funny. reminds me of those old folks at nursing homes.

I worried that nanny are not that devoted too. Some of them smoke, some leave bb crying there while playing mahjong...etc these are what I have heard of. not sure how true.

<font color="aa00aa">ginger, yup. my mum used to charge $650, then if 1-1 attention, most nannies charge at $800 (include dinner as req by parent)

My friend (stays at Qtown) also paying her nanny at $800, 1-1 attention then now her #2 also let nanny looks after but I didn't ask how much she is paying her nanny.

nanny plays mahjong!!!!!!!!!!! that's too much! </font>

hihi mummies...

mrs L >> cute babe you've got
haha, now i am a completely changed person. Used not to like babies at all..now I am swooning over every single pic...watch that hand of yours though...take care..

all the new mummies here >> congrats congrats and more congratulations! i can only hope mine's next week..not this weekend (cos I really dread the "jam" at the hospital given the highly popular dates)..hehe, but do take care and post more lovely pics up!

the owl update >> it's still very much on just that I don't see any other owls around...MS is still here and can get quite bad (yesterday for e.g.)..today's a better day
hmm...more "signs" are here...the snot discharges are more, the cramps can be really bad..had 9 of those over a 3 hr period..but since they were not 6 per hr, i didn't bug the gynae. doc visit tom..so something to look fwd to since i am home most days now. not feeling completely ok but i suppose this feeling is normal..

joanne >> i am using the same agency as you. i called them the minute i saw yr post at 3. managed to reach both parties. hehe, told them not to give me the same stress when i deliver. do let me know how your CL is faring..and hope no other hiccups after this so you can concentrate on yr recovery...

ddnikz, i guess there are drawbacks whether you go for infantcare or nanny. i have a friend who always got to rush to fetch her bb from the centre by 7pm and that is quite impossible for me to go off on the dot everyday. and we always hear children at childcare centres fall sick easily so i guess infantcare is no different. then like wat astro said, there could be bad habits cultivation at the nanny's and it could be difficult for u to correct them.

everything else aside, getting reliable care for your bb is most important. i would suggest u ask around for recommendations rather than trying it out urself.

ginger: kkekee.. ya. itchy backside.. hahaha..
eh. i dunno. i thought for the personalised attention. nanny charge higher..

ddnikz: haha. sounds funny ah? hahaha.. i think as with any trades.. there are always some bad apples..

Thanks Diana for the update on Neo Garden, Orange Clove, is their subsidiary too....

Massage lady
As I planned for a C-sect, cannot do massage rite?
But if baby girl decides to pop out before that, then will try natural, how long notice must we give the massage lady?
What is the costing/price like?

<font color="aa00aa">Angie, I got the Massage Lady recommended by Famela, we stay nearby (few stops only)maybe she won't charge you a lot. she quotes me $60/session , which is very very reasonable so I engage her service for 7 days, can start 3 days postnatal.
she told me c-section is at least 1 week post op.</font>

sigh.. the thing is, I cant find anyone to recommend.

Guess for me timing for infantcare on afterwork doesn't really affect much. Only thing is morning dropoff. Heard they charge as well. If I am not wrong, is $50 bucks 0_0

Will prefer to get a nanny. Just hope I can get one good one soon. Anyone tried the service of this agency before? -> http://www.innovon.com.sg/

i just had a major tummy ache .. my legs almost gave way
.. dashed into the toilet and had very very bad tummyache with very loose stools.. can't be after eating an (over)ripe banana from home. i immediately felt the effect?!

now 'recovering'..

i once heard from a mother in my other thread.. her labour 'started' with diarrheoa..
i think with all these increased uterine actions.. yu he would come earlier than it was with teng.. last time with teng. never had all these..

hi mommies

recently whenever i have BH contractions, i find mysself breathless, is it supposed to b like that?

when we r close to delivery day, do we experience frequent bowel movement n frequent urination?

Astro,
I had diarrhoea once in a while leh. like every 4 to 5 days once? may or may not be labour signs. Perhaps is change in diet?

Please drink more water to avoid dehydration after the diarrhoea.

xoxo: i think so leh.. next week , full term.. week 37 liao.. and hor.. this bb so far on track with the size. i got this silly theory that i am testing out.. that pple my built dun give birth to big bbs .. if he stays on till week 40, he wld be 3.5kg. which is highly 'unlikely' for my built.. teng was 3.1kg at birth.. then if yu he comes out next week.. about same weight or just abuot 3kg. more 'logical'.. hahaha.. my warped theory..

i like ur term.. i wld adopt it.. 'easy toilets'.. when i speak to my gynae next week. having increased uterine movements, cramps, hardenings. never had all these with teng.. given 2nd bb. quite convinced he wld come earlier..

janjan: i also get breathless at time.. :S
and frequent urination is because bb engaged and once again pressing on bladder. i dunno about the frequent bowel part.. maybe increased uterine movements.. like what xoxo has highlighted and my fren experienced..

ddnikz: i also.. but just now was quite bad..
.. then now burping non-stop. think a lot of gas
.. i didn't have a drastic change in diet.. but i think.. sooner or later ..

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Signs That Baby Is Coming!

Just when you think you can't possibly get any bigger and you'll never get off the couch without a crane, you may experience the following symptoms that let you know the time is near. Note that these symptoms don't occur in any particular order, and several may occur within the same day or a few days of each other.

An increase in vaginal discharge, possibly brownish or pinkish in color.
"Engagement," or the sensation of the baby dropping lower into your pelvic cavity.
Braxton Hicks contractions or "practice" contractions that feel like a tightening or hardening of the uterus with possible mild cramps.
Slight weight loss.
Dull pain low in your back that comes and goes.
Loose and frequent bowel movements with cramping.
Sensation of building pressure or cramping in your pelvic/rectal area.
A feeling of restlessness/increased energy, or marked sense of fatigue.
Softening, thinning, or dilation of cervix (as shown by doctor's internal exam)<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

but i also found another contradictory website which say bowel movements can be more difficult? hmmm..

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Diarrhea

An unpleasant early sign and symptom of labor is diarrhea. A release of the body chemical prostaglandins might occur in the process of early labor. This trigger can result in episodes of loose bowel movements.
<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

ok.. we got our answers why.. so maybe these two weeks.. aiyoh. what a way to possibly start labour! so UNGLAM!! whahaha...

joanne : glad all has worked out fine with your CL.

ddnikz :
- losing appetite. me too. but i make sure i make myself to eat something. I dun feel like puking after eating though.
- abt after 4 mths, i am definitely looking for a nanny
but reli not easy to find.
Think I'll go worry/start looking again after my confinement month)

Tingkat details:
wah.. i was thinking of starting to look after my confinement. thanks for the sites ladies.

Joyce : gosh..ur baby is so cutie cutie. Nathan looks like one happy little felle :D