(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Hello everyone!!

Have not been coming in for days. Busy with showing my hubby black black face, preparing food for Glynnis' to bring to school for children' day party and yesterday was my FIL's first year death anniversary.

Congrats to all the mummies who have popped.

Really cannot catch up with all the postings.

Tomorrow is weekends, cannot come in again!!

siangjiao>> wahaha.... i also keep having mooncake when i'm hungry coz my house is full of mooncakes! omg.. think at the end i'll be scare of mooncakes liao wahaha

siangjiao,

me also last day of work and start my ML next week so happyyyyy.

Wow you gal bath daily ah, my MIL dun allow. Only after 2 weeks then can bath with herb and not daily somemore

waha seems like most of your MILs know the do and don't for confinement... my MIL dunno anything abt it and she dun bother too i think.. all those preparations are either done by myself or my mom.. and yet i'm moving over to MIL place for confinement irony huh? ha ha.

Morning mummies...
Astro: Saw your sharing on sign os labours too. Only having 3 out of so many

1) Weight loss (I actually lost 2.5kg...effectively the whooping 5 kg that gained suddenly disappeared suddenly too)

2) BH contractions at night

3) Constipation..which is actually outside your list

Anyway mummies, today my tummy feels a little different. Baby's movement very close to tummy surface and she is not very active. My tummy feels really tight but not uncomfy cos it feels more like her limps pushing the tummy...dunno is it paranoia..

Hi mommies to-be,

I am a july mummy.
would like to let go 2boxes of pigeon breast pad(36+6) and tollyjoy (40+8) at $17.
I have one PureLan (1.3oz) to let go @$12 (brand new), market price is $19.

Please PM me if you are interested.

have a question on breast feeding. If I intend to breastfeed, after birth.. is it every 2 hours breastfeed once? even night time?

Tien,
You have constipation? Recommend you the absolute cure. Go and buy the "Magnolia Go" milk. Drink it and you should be running to toilet in an hour's time (in healthy way). I used to have severe constipation. This drink always works for me.

Not to worry too much. Just the other day, BB doesnt feel too active. Give her a few gentle jabs on the side of your tummy and she will be kicking in protest in no time ;)

astro / sotong >> hehe, i think i will pass the son bit..after reading the "90% of caregivers are daughters" in the newspapers :p ok, not such a great comment from me. no offence yah? seriously, SERIOUSLY, i cannot imagine a second round of this nausea for 9 mths, even though so many have been telling me every pregnancy is different...haha, while most pp are keeping a pregnancy blog to document the progress of their bbs..guess what i have been doing? keeping a puke blog. that's why till today, i think i'd better not publicise this...not a very pretty picture i am putting up for our powers-that-be and their attempts to get singaporeans to procreate.

hello,

My bb is born. Finally. It is a miracle for he is a healthy boy. Til now i m still quite shock at the fact that my boy is ok ok. The wounds hurts alot when i just woke up. Bf is not that difficult. I m tired but quite happy ! Thanks to everyone for their support all these months. I appreciate it.

ddnikz
BFG is by demand in the initial few wks. Then u will notice a trend after a while, so u will know when the baby needs to next feed.
And since a newborn's tummy is v small, they can only manage a small amt each time. I read somewhere tt the stomach of a newborn is only the size of a ping-pong ball and it slowly expands as they grow.
So to answer ur qns, yes, u oso BF on demand at nite. Most babies can last 2-3 hrs. They shld b able to drag the intervals as they grow older like 3-4 hrs in the day and 5-6 hrs at night, eventually weaning off night feeds.
I'm the unlucky one tt kena 2 hrly feeds thru'out the day (even for night) and my son can only stretch to 3 hrly interval at 5.5 mths. he only weaned off night feeds after i stopped bfg at 14 mths.

Astro
yeah, i heard tt 3.5kg is average size!

xoxolight
somehow my nausea oso nvr totally left me and i am still occasionally puking. But its def much better compared to the 1st 6 mths. Cant complain anymore.

ww >> congrats! take care and rest well yah..

jRRt >> yep, definitely much better now than it was! guess we have gotten used to it. i am not too bothered by it now, just hope it doesn't continue past pregnancy... :p

Tien,
Good luck on that. If the process of pooping is painful, consider buying "Haemoclin" (indicated safe for preggies) and apply first before poop. But the "Go" milk should be enough

jRRt,
Wah... guess is no sleep for me after next week :eek: but still look forward to it. Hope I can manage my BF well...

xoxolight
it shldnt continue past pregnancy lah! but i know wat u mean, getting so phobic alrdy rite? 4 me, i juz console myself tt its juz the last few wks more to go lah.

ddnikz
juz treat this experience positively and u will not b stressed.
i think of it as i am the only source of food 4 my son. U can do it if u put ur heart into it!

jRRt >>> hehe, my gynae told me her she personally 100% guarantee it won't last past e pregnancy..then i reminded her, she also kinda told me that MS will clear by the 24th week...see where we are now? muahaha...silence. i know lah, just kidding with you..and yes, the phobia is definitely there.

woah. last night my right ring finger was STIFF! and i was so distracted by that finger i CANT SLEEP!

this morning i couldn't remove my ring from my left ring finger and had to get hb to help!! there goes my long slim fingers!!!

this is obviously not a sign of labour coming soon manz.. i must start singing happy birthday song to Angel already.. otherwise i dunno how i can tahan anymore!!!!

xoxolight,
know exactly how you feel man... ever since of my severe puking in my 22th week, I got so scared that I never touch bird's nest for the rest of this pregnancy and I think I want to close shop also

Loke,
kekeke, I foresee that my ring finger wont be able to take it. So in my early stages of preg, I already took off the ring and wore it around my neck :p

loke : u still wear ur ring? hehe. i stopped wearing it in case i can't take it out :p coz' was getting tight (with hb agreement of coz') :p

xoxo : its true leh. diff pregnancy diff case. my mum shared her 1st one she had bad MS. with 2nd one quite okay. so diff.

gal,
that is true. but for people who has bad exp for the first one definitely will think twice about 2nd one. Cos' afterall, once preg, die die got to go through it all over again. The thought of it is too much to bear.

loke >> my wedding ring came off a long time ago! i don't know if i can ever wear it again..it's size 2 - really tiny..

ddnikz >> hehe, yep..i got my "untouchables"...just the sheer sight of these makes me shudder. today's 38w2d...gg to see my gynae now..and still clueless abt what to have for lunch! just craving for iced lemon tea!

gal >> i know it's true, and highly likely..but u always got that silver of a chance it might mirror this pregnancy..haha, it's a real fear!

haha, mine's the other way round. my wedding ring became much looser during my preg! each time i wash my hands im so scared it gets washed down the sink that my husb told me not to wear it anymore.

i haf been having contractions since few weeks back but im only reachin 37 wks end of this week.. dunno when's the real thing.. since my contractions are so often.. scared i cant tell the diff!

xoxo: i can only imagine ur ring size is small. haha.. mine was small too. asian size 9 only.. so i'm very sad that its no longer 9.. hahhaa..

ddnikz/gal: i only took it off this morning cos i realize only two days ago that its getting tight.. but it wasnt SO TIGHT.. so i didnt bother.. until my right ring finger was stiff last night that i decided that my body is REALLY CHANGING.. so took it off this morning.

sighz.. i cant believe i was living in a lie all these while. hahha.. i try so hard to keep the weight gain down.. but still cannot.. very sad.... and i try so hard to keep everything as normal as possible.. but end up still got to go through the nightmare..

babyturn,
My mum told me that the "real thing" is so painful that you will be able to differentiate it from the "false alarms". Either is that or waterbag burst (I was hoping this one will be my choice!).

My finger bone is bigger. So my ring is bigger too. But don't want to take the chances. Know I sure put on weight from pregnancy. My ring got tighten (on and off I tried it) around week 35. haha...

Loke,
Not to worry wor... maybe is ermm.... water retention that is tightening the ring?

<font color="ff0000">Glamourmom Nursing Tanks></font>
Anyone interested? pls PM me ur mobile number, i'll sms u the details..

closing date for orders: 4th oct Sunday 10pm.

check out www.glamourmom.com for the Limited Stock Range and Colors of the month and Nursing Bra Tops Range.
Prices are at a low low low!!!

ddnikz: i would want to think its water retention. actually my upper body never grow a lot. except a little on my face.. the rest of the weight added from my hips downwards. HUGE backside..

remember Mrs Neo?? she is in labour now! on her facebook.. indicated 7 more hours before the arrival of bb Neo!!

jiayou!!

WW: congrats.. why would he not be a healthy bb?
cheer up and press on

eating a subway sandwich. not much appetite!

hello hello >_<

thank you for the well wishes again. we have been home since monday discharge from the hospital. bb james had a few nights of tummy ache and winds - poo a lot too. otherwise, he has been good n chubbbly loving

myself still struggling with a very numb right hand with pins and needles feeling. doc told me it is carpal tunnel syndrome. because of that, i m unable to carry bb for very long. luckily my mom is very kind to not only cook for me but also stay to help care for the bb. mom is the best!

hope to go through the other mommies posts later on - hope all is well!

mrsL: carpal tunnel syndrome.. i thought that happens during preg? it comes after delivery for u? and u mentioned that with the prescribed medication.. u cannot breastfeed ah? ..
hey out of curiousity ah.. what is the full name of james?

xoxo
u r kidding me! it might continue past pregnancy?! *faint* i juz went to puke out part of my lunch as well. Finding that the vomitting spells are coming back more frequently the past 1 wk. Probably it will ease off when baby descends furthur down.
Like u, i am oso terrified of the MS if i had to get pregnant AGAIN. but i shld b done wif alrdy lah. 2 kids r enuff. Wif my #1, i told myself tt there is a 50% chance of me hvg MS for #2. But since i've always wanted at least 2 kids, i tell myself die die oso muz get over wif it. So when the MS was worse off for #2, i juz resigned myself to fate lah. There will not b a 3rd time, unless kena accident! *choy choy*

babytum
baby is considered full term when they r 37 wks!

hi im bck 2 share my labour story!
I go 4 my regular checkup on 28/09 n doc did a vaginal check n say i am 2cm diluated, it is so painful til i shouted her to stop, yet she can stil tel me, "yes, yes i knw it pain, bt it lik tat. Im helping u to stretch m0re" (i dun tik i experience tat "painful" vaginal check when i expecting my 1st child leh, tik she is choo ru) den my vagina bleed. Ask me go monitor my bb heartbeat n contraction, n found tat my bb heartbeat go dwn 2x during monitoring. Doc suggest induce since iam in 39week+.

I was made to admit in hospital n put the medince for induce at ard 8pm, at ard 9pm plus i start having mild contraction (painless), bt n0t v regular n contant, so i am hubby stil can go walk walk n makan tis n tat. Aft tat, too bore and i suggest go up ward n slp n wait 4 m0re intense contraction. I can only slp at ard 11pm n i estimate mysef ard 2,3am i shd b ready n go dwn labour ward liao... BUT!

I OVERSLEEP! i was so soundly asleep til 5am n wak up fr v intense n painful contraction 1-2min apart. (pls tak n0te, when we are lying dwn we dun feel much pain during contraction 1, so when i was awake n sit up, i discover it was so intense n scare i cant hurry 4 the epi, cos heard tat if open too big can0t put le)

Press bell n was send to labour ward at 5+am, nurse giv me laughing gas to ease my pain 1st (say inhale b4 contraction start). Den wait n wait til 7am den doc cme put the epi. By there i oreadi in great great great pain, laughing gas cant ease my pain at all, i cant even got the strength to inhale the gas when having contraction, so i dun care jus inhale in n out, dun care got contraction an0t (conclusion: if u opt 4 epi, pls dun wait til u r v pain den go hospital, since u opt 4 epi, all process shd b painless jus lik my 1st pregnancy)

Aft epi, i finally can rest... My contraction was so short n intense til by 8plus i was diluate ard 10cm le, n hav urge to push liao. Was happy to hav labour on 29/09/09, n doc say if i got the urge lik poo poo, inform nurse n can b ready 2 push bb out. Bt i purpose hold on til 8.55am den inform the nurse, hoping to get a 9am bb, by the time they cme, oreadi past 9am, so qing cai lah... Kep pushing bt bb cant cme out til i c the clock stating 9.09am, n i say nice timing n i tried all my best, push all i can, bb out... But it is 9.10am hahaha 1min late.

My Alston bb was out 3.205kg on 29.09.09, 9.10am! Tat my painful n funny labour story.

Had Gynae check-up today. 36 weeks now, my weight went up 1.3kg from last visit 2 weeks ago. Baby girl is about 2.1kg now. She is petite but healthy, plenty of amniotic fluid. Thank God all's well. Baby is still in head down position but not engaged yet.
Asked Gynae about contractions, she mentioned that everyone is different but once you get about 20 contractions in 1 hour, confirmed you are in labour...
She din do VE for me either, guess because I opting for c-sect...

sotong: thks. now i know wat's yu jin....

annette: principal just big name but in preschool, small timer, pay not high and have to do everything (bao sua bao hai)...;)
For the bath herb, da feng ai and the other confinement herbs, going to get from my friend's father medical hall. Once I find out the pricing and details, will let you ladies know.

im back. update for my bb:
My wt hit 71.1kg,gained 600 g ,bb jumped fr 2.5kg to 3.3kg.Plenty of amniomtic fluid n still not engaged. gynae said if next wk jump to 4kg ask me do c-s instead aiyo. Today did strep B test, need wait for result.VE test gyane said maybe next wk, to trigger it hehe but if bb wan come out next wk then dun even need do VE.Gynae said my tummy super big though bb average size.Gotta HL from next mon to 19oct then kick in ML on 20oct ahha,save my ML:p

PY: is 1.3-1.5 per pack cheap? tt one is the one which pic was posted few days back wo. also come in 10 packs type wo.i din get tt wo.i gotten the one tt in 1 pac have 8small sacs n need boil 4 sacs per bath one.coz some days might just wipe n not bath

ww:Congratz
jiayou

Joanna:hows ur CL? ok?

angie: mine aslo nvr do VE.ok u let me know abt the herb, i only get 5 packs so far.tt medical shop aunt said dun but so many 1 shot as i told her i intend to be in air con rm during confinement then ask me wipe for some days

nlimm: my gynae only use her fingers, lots of lubrication and strong light to see the 0.5 cm dilation. haha. no super powerful instrument. Probably means one finger also cannot go through.

chnyle: just think of pentration without sufficient lubrication. not super painful lah though it's an irritating feeling

annette: hopefully we can deliver on the same day, 19 Oct. Mine is scheduled C-sect unless she decides to pop out earlier....hehe;) Will be quite fun, same day and same hospital!!! How many weeks are u now?

Once I find out the pricing of herbs, will let u know. BTW, which area r u staying at?

annette>> compared to EYS and Hockhua cheap lor. haha.. i think i will get the big pack and use that big pack to boil instead of the 4 small pack that u mentioned. so the $1.3-$1.5 is the small pack or big pack? lol if big one then it's cheap lah i think

glass: oicc hehe

angie:yalor we be each other companion as well hehe.Everyone said most likely mine will pop out earlier looking at my tummy so huge see how lor.
I stay lakeside area how abt u? u have msn ,wanna chat there as well?

hi annette,
Re:my CL
Jus a communication break dwn with the bliss confinement agency... The agent have call me on tat day after i posted the thread 4 help. She call n send Cl to my hse on tat late afternoon. The agent hp happen 2 drop into water, n she did msg my hb abt the new hp no she holding nw, bt my hb overlook it, so tok the agent con us when we cant reach her. Tks 4 ur concern, everything go on well nw, tat day almst wanted 2 cry out liao, hahaha... Nw feeling great with cl around luking aft newborn n my 1st child send 2 my m0ther hse every afternoon, i really rest well these days. Hee... Jus hav my jamu massage done, shiok shiok...

Re:my vagina wound aft birth
Anyone knw hw long it tak 2 recover? It been my 4th day, i feel m0re pain. I apply antiseptic lotion 2 it every visit to toilet, bt it jus hurt m0re n m0re aft each day, scare infected. My 1st delievery wound tok me 1mth to recover cos infection too. Hope n0 infection tis time

Back from my gynae checkup. Baby's weight estimated to be 3kg @36 weeks. Gynae did a VE and said cervix has softened and thinned, but not dilated yet. Will be seeing her on a weekly basis from now onwards.

Also had my CTG, baby's heartbeat is good and I'm having regular mild contractions. Not painful but the tightening can be really uncomfortable. Baby is still head down but gynae didnt mentioned whether baby is engaged. So the waiting game continues... However, gynae did mention that baby is still above average weight so will keep monitoring for the next 2 weeks and if need be, I may be induced.

Joanne>> Congratulations! Do rest well, yeah? As for vaginal wound, mine hurts a lot when I had forceps assisted delivery (1st child) and I had a bigger cut. Even sitting or laying on bed can be painful. Took me more than 1 week to walk more normally. For my 2nd delivery which was natural with no assistance, I can walk and sleep properly after discharge. Not really painful.

Chynle>> VE is bearable for me. Discomfort, yes. But if the gynae is gentle and experienced, I think it need not be painful. You just need to relax and "open up" because the more you clamp your legs together, the harder it is for gynae to check.

anette: the one that I bought was 10 small packs for $8, so tis like $0.80 for 1 small packet (as seen in the pic previously)..

I bot it at the med hall opp the Pioneer MRT station.. the lady said each time need to use 1 small pack.. I havnt open up the small pack (80g) so dunno what it looks like inside wor..

is this considered cheap?

sotong mum: will the yu jin from brands (or was it some other brand) work the same too? need to take for how long? daily or?

astro: CTS can get worst after delivery. unfortunately i m one of those
my left hand is ok after delivery but my right hand gots worst. doc prescribed 2 weeks medication for me to take and i can't breastfeed when i take the med. my bb name is james alexander lundquist

mie mie or someone can help me update the table? my bb was born in tmc and height is 51cm >_<

many thanks!