(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

diana>> no, he not busy.. he just feels that should wait until after today's gynae visit then set up the baby cot.. (coz will be week 37 liao, full term already ma) he is a pantang young daddy.. and after today's checkup, he went back to work, so i guess have to see this weekend if he will set up the cot..

<font color="aa00aa">blinkblink girl, many people said after having baby, our house will be mini nursery..i think this is true... haha...

oh yah ASTRO, when you teach your kid, do grandparents interfere? Sometimes I think, if they interfere then don't know how to let them know..

Re: nursery room colour
wanted yellow, but FS master said no then we have to choose another neutral colour that suits baby boy and baby girl so this brilliant colour was suggested by my sister.</font>

<font color="aa00aa"> mie mie, icic, my hubby at first also don't want to put the bedsheet, said baby comes home then set up but then i told him, you sure you can do it alone by then? you come home - first thing is to settle your doggies first you know because of the poo poo and pee pee in the service balcony...then baby waits for you??

Your hubby is good daddy..thats why he will have this pantang thingy, is for baby good...

argh!!!!!!!!!!!! wats wrong wif this forum?! v frustrating tt more than hlaf of the time when i post, my msg gets lost!!!!!!!!!

astro
same thing here abt disciplining a child. i dun believe there is such thing as we cant control a young kid. if the child behaves in such a manner, i feel tt the parents &amp; caregivers play a major role to contribute to tt.

i am still using the naughty corner for my 3 yr old son and it still works. my son knows tt if he fails to behave properly aft a few warnings, he will pay for it when he gets home. even my patient hb oso dun tolerate rolling on the floor kind of tantrums.

blink girl
yeah, got my mum to help "sort" out wat can b recycled and those tt hv turned yellowish, can dump away liao. but its a happy headache! i dun hv to spend $$$ to get stuff again.

Diana
i am motivated to do up the room BUT can u imagine the mess wif a 3 yr old child as well? Everything looks so messy tt i know i cant manage tidying alone w/o my hb's help. and needs to shift the furnitures and yet i cant b ard, so its v troublesome! tts y nothing much done all these few mths. I am alrdy bugging my hb to hurry and get done over wif it. we've got max 4 wks more to go only!

jRRT: heh. *high five* i am an advocate of tough love.. sometimes. i think just teng's luck that i am his mama! :p but seriously.. now the channel of communication and heirachy must be established.. if wait till they are youths or upper primary then attempt to reason. the fundentmental wun be there anymore..quite sad to think back how the youths in my school are neglected.. yes they are at fault for not being automatic. but when u look at the family circumstances.. it all becomes crystal clear why..

noms: yes. my mum attempts to interfere.. as in she cannot stand teng cry.. but she knows that.. i want my way with teng.. anything else i am easy.. we normally black face one another.. then ok liao.. with my fil it is tricky. he doesn't stay with me.. so it is still ok. he will say i over protect teng by not lettin him eat all kinds of foods etc.. miser dun say too much coz miser is fillial man mah.. duh.. so i let teng eat abit bit. then after that come back. miser gets it..
everything starts from day 1... even the way ur bb sleeps and feed. needs thinking and structuring. this is the impt take away from teng.. he taught me so much.. yu he will be mroe fortunate in this sense.. dun need os much trial and error..

<font color="aa00aa">jRRt, the more you tidy, the more stress you have...erm..i shift leh... my sister came to my place yesterday and told me, your furniture all shifted ? sofa also change new set... I really got no pantang over this... don't know is a good thing or bad thing... I try to avoid thinking, scare myself, afterall, I am a chinese, sigh...</font>

<font color="aa00aa"> astro, thansk for sharing. I will take note also, not to upset my ILs if they were to interfere but we can always talk to our laokong... I, first time mum, my PILs also first time grandparents so I was afraid will have conflict. </font>

noms: sure will have conflicts.. no doubt about that. even between the father and the mother also have conflicts! so be prepared for that! heh...

diana>> ya lo, if ILs want to interfere, i will get my hubby to talk to them also.. if my own parents, i will talk to them myself.. mine is especially tricky coz i am staying with my parents until my flat is ready, and i have a feeling my parents are soooooo going to interfere..

astro
yeah, i am the disciplinarian in the family and my hb is the goody-goody. but when it comes to disciplining, we all, includg my sis &amp; BIL as well as my mum (main caregiver) ensure tt we do the same thing so the 2 tods are not confused. this is v effective as the 2 tods know tt there is no favoritism and everyone gets the same treatment.

haha, at times i oso feel tt my son is so poor thing to hv me as his mommy. but u know wat, i feel we hv succeeded if we instill discipline and yet at the same time, our sons still love us, prefers us and comes to us at the end of the day.
we dun smack/whack them for nothing. i always explain to my son aft he is punished, thou he might or might not understd. we hv been doing tt since he is young.

my PILs comes once a wk to look aft my son and coz they only drop by once a wk, i can understd they tend to spoil him. i will tell my MIL the ground rules but allows her to indulge in a few treats 4 my son lah.

i always tell my MIL, "If a child has no manners, no discipline, outsiders will always point the fingers to the parents and say tt the child is not taught properly. Its nvr the grandparents fault." So my point to her is tt, dun interfere wif the way i discipline my child. of coz u love ur grandson &amp; feel heartache when he is being disciplined but he is my son, whom i gave birth to; of coz i love him more than anyone else will. so far, she has not interfered which is good.

Diana
No one will come and help me coz my hb, mum &amp; MIL super pantang abt shifting things lah. and even if i wan to, i oso cant do much in my state! i can only fold clothes and arrange them in the drawers. so i can only rely on my hb.

in our family, we oso agree tt no matter how we disagree with the other person when he is disciplinaring the child, we will not talk in front of the kid. the discussion will be done aft tt, when they r not ard. else the child will know whom his allies are.

So this rule muz b abided b/w u and ur hb else ur son will know who he can bully. but astro is right, there will b conflicts regardless of wat happens. however dun let it sour ur r/s.

<font color="aa00aa">astro,

miemie, my parents easy to tackle.
at least i know their pattern. right now, we all keep quiet when my sis lecturing her girl.

is my ILs i'm worry.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">jRRt, thanks for sharing..see la, housewife so free now nothing to do think of something that is not going to happen in the next few months..haha...

suddenly saw someone saying 3rd oct is next saturday, oh my, just 2 episode of 抢摊大行动 and I will be screaming in labor ward!

now everytime go toilet i will check check.. </font>

Im from the Aug thread mummy.

I have 2 packs of Huggies small size diapers for sale. Each packet have 44 pcs. Looking at $12 per pack.

Self collect at choa chu kang crescent.

Pls pm me if interested.

Jrrt: heh.. i like ur household. i must drag my mum here and translate what u wrote to chinese for her..and tell her.. see? this is how u be a good grandma..! doesn't mean not allowing teng to cry is good! she honestly cannot stand teng WHIMPERING at all! actually. i am the one in the dilemma.. :p miser is more consistent.. as in.. he is no nonsense. but he wun flare like the way i do.. me want to flare yet i get slightly upset if teng dun come to me.. cozi got my maid mah.. so to teng.. everything is 'auntie ellie'.. but i have learned to accept that. i cannot have the pie (to have help with managing the house/take care of my son).. and eat it.. but i will still whine about it from time to time :p

yeap.. kids will leave the nest.. but the spouse will stay with us..
.. so i can black face.. but i wun tell miser off he did the 'wrong' thing with teng in public.. at home.. then i will tell him liao. in fact.. that's my honest take.. both parties are educating the children.. it is impt for consistency to be there else the children blur.. coz parent salso cannot be consistent.. how to expect them to behave?. but then again.. parents are only humans lah. so preserve their dignity.. and go easy with one another.. and TALK it out...

3012662.jpg

here's mine to share.. i didn't have the priviledge of giving my girl a room of her own as my maid is using my extra room, so baby's gotta cramp together with mummy &amp; daddy plus 2 doggy siblings! hehe..

<font color="aa00aa">clumsybabe, same cot!?hehehe...nice nice oh..my son also got 2 furball siblings..

miemie, during shower, i check the discharge consistency and the muscus plug... </font>

<font color="0000ff">Congrats to all mummies who have popped

I just came back from my supposedly 34/35 wks check. Next check is still 2 weeks for me. Gynae didn't measure bb. juz measured my stomach to see if coincides with no. of wks, doppler to hear for bb's heartbeat and feel the head to see if engaged.

aaahh... baby M is not engaged yet but head down already.

<font color="ff0000">Strep B</font>
I just tested +ve for this.. sighz.. so gotta be on antibiotics on the day of labour. sianz...

<font color="ff0000">Waterbag Bursting</font>
For my #1, it burst in the middle of the nite. Call it mum's instinct or wat, but I was sleeping halfway when suddenly at 1am, i felt like there's something leaking from my V. Somehow I woke up and went to the washroom. Only after sitting at the toilet bowl and pee-ing did the bag burst fully. It sure doesn't feel like pee. or rather i should say, uncontrollable pee. Just cannot control the water flowing. i had to sit there till finish flowing (or so i tot), den went out to wake my hb up. Even after showering and all, i had to put a pad, coz was still flowing once awhile. hehe... sorry for my long winded-ness :p

Oh and the water is warm warm de...

<font color="ff0000">Weight of Baby</font>
Am not sure how heavy is baby M since gynae didnt scan for me today. but last visit 2 wks ago, he was 2.3kg at Wk 32/33. Gynae did comment chubby baby. Am quite curious to noe how heavy he will be at birth. My #1 was 2.95kg but he came out at 36+ wks....

<font color="ff0000">Working</font>
Anyone still working like me? sighz... tough life..

<font color="ff0000">Pains &amp; aches</font>
Oh.. just needed to check if anyone is feeling the same as me. Sometimes when i'm walking around, after awhile, can feel like something is pressing against my nerve linked to my left leg. den there'll be this 'suan' feeling and suddenly i have to stop walking until the feeling goes away. I have difficulty walking these days..

ha.. all ur hbs are so nice.. my miser cannot make it.. even when he was first time father.. he was still cool as cucumber.. wah liew..

nosm: how can u reach ur muscus plug? it's way up... i suggest leave it alone. lest the introduction of bacteria..

Diana
I can only share wat i do but u need everyone's cooperation to show consistency in disciplinaring the child. u alone cannot succeed but if u and ur hb on the same track, then its easier.
u will learn in the mths to come.
hey dun think tt infants cant understd wat we say... so books say we shld always treat infants as an individual and talk to them wif respect. i do agree wif this.

dun get so paranoid! if it comes, it comes w/o u hvg to scrutinise it. u wan baby to come out now huh? heee...

astro
my mum easy to tackle coz she's my mum. my MIL is not stubborn but she is v mild wif my son and indulges him every wk she comes to take care of him. so i hv to remind her every now and then abt y is there a need to discipline my son now. she herself can see how effective our discipline is to my son, so thus far she has nvr interfered.
i dun blame her if she cant bear to do wat i do but at least dun interefere, and tts all i ask for fr her.

Aiyoh we cant stand my son whimpering and my mum is better at cooking up excuses to stop my son fr whimpering than me. 4 me, i juz send him to naughty corner.

ohhhh u hv a maid! we hv one too, but is employed by my sis. i dun allow the maid to get too close to my son. and she knows tt. so when i am ard, she stays away fr the tods. hahahaha, i am so mean rite? i am not willing to let the maid replace me and neither can i trust the maid wif chores, so i alrdy made it v clear tt even if i die fr overwork, i oso wun engage a maid. at most a part-time helper in time to come. i cant stand my son being so close wif a maid, as wat i hv seen wif some kids. then the maid will b so yah yah papaya, thinks she rule the household.

wat issit tt teng goes to maid and not to u? try wkg on tt? when u come back fr work, send the maid to do her chores and dun let her come near teng? like feed teng dinner, chg him into his PJs, read books to him and settle him to bed?

<font color="aa00aa">astro, i didnt go in and check!! I wash the pte part, always got lots of discharge and I check got blood or not with the discharge..</font>

nomsnosm: ya ya.. i realised same cot hehe..
my 2 furballs are abit lost albeit the addition of the cot hahaha. lucky they're small enough to squeeze under the cot when they need to pass through.

ilovemaxmax: me still working also. but nowadays feeling really uncomfortable and easily sick so i guess i'll start maternity leave as soon as my boss comes back from his overseas trip, which would be on 5th Oct *sigh*

ilovemaxmax/clumsybabe: still working too!! waiting for my hb to come back before i relax from work and can go on/off work as and when i like! wahhaa...

i've been kicked left right centre whole day today, feeling bruised from inside already
didnt help that i couldnt sleep last night, now felt like a walking zombie plus being kicked inside

clumsybabe>> din see you post for soooooooooo long!

me also still working (today on mc coz went for checkup).. will be working till end of this week, thereafter clear 5 days of AL and then start my ML on 5th oct too!

jrrt: i am a detached mother..so is miser a detached father.. we value our freedom more than looking after the kid..(that's a nice way of saying we are lazy. hahahahaha).. that i am not shy to admit
my maid konws her place in the household.. i might be okok and not upfront with her.. but this is my house.. teng's my son. of course i get uncomfy if teng wants ellie all the time.. but i respect that coz she's with him 24/7.. if teng dun like her.. i have a bigger issue to worry..
.. i was a SAHM befor. and i drove everyone up the wall. including myself.. and i know. i am not cut out to be a mother..
.. so u see...i let things be.. i see it as cup half full. teng has another person who can take good care of him.. miser tried telling me on occassions when i get upset.. he said 'maids will leave. they are temporal.. mother and son are forever.. so dun have to be insecure about that'..

the usual lor. if i raise my voice. .teng cries and wants to run to hug ellie.. then ellie also smart.. she will distance herself from teng and say 'rayner must be good boy. go and say sorry to mama'...

nosm: i see. i thought for a moment.. u stuck ur fingers inside! heh :p

blink: i banned miser from flying liao. from now on.. whahahhaha...

astro: haha. aiya. i'm just jealous that i cant fly. my fil somemore laughed and shook his head cos they enjoyed themselves so much in vietnam and thailand.. and then i got to be in the office the whole day to jaga everything else.

actually what do u all think if i split up the week for my mum and my mil to look after the baby? e.g. mon - wed leave baby at mum's and thurs - fri leave baby at mil's (or vice versa). we'll bring baby around on sats... and suns are family day (go il house in the afternoon and my mum's in the evening)..

do you think this kind of arrangement will cause confusion to the child in terms of discipline??

mylvera,
Ya i tink supply will drop. Maybe i shld reali try to wake up at 3+ to pump. Getting lazy at times :p

Nursery room
Wow ! Everyone seems to have nice decor done up for the room

Tien: I actually got a fengshui master to calculate the date for me and apparently 03 Oct is one of our short listed date.

PY: JW did asked me to control my diet if i want to go for natural but in the end JW sugguest that i go for C sec since bb is slightly on the bigger side. Better for me also cos i feel so miserable when i have to go on diet for the past 2 weeks. JW did ask me to take GD test during my 2 weeks diet period but luckily result is good. My bb gain 200g every week... even until now.

I have Huggies Ultra Diapers size Small to sell. My baby is too big for them now (born early Aug).

Huggies Small 44pcs per pack @ $12
Total 3 packs available.

Not too sure how much it is at retail - think it's about $16 per pack. Interested parties can sms me at 96300620. I can deliver/meet up at areas near Old Airport Rd, Parkway Parade, Raffles City FOC. First come first served. Thanks!

Mie>> You made me drool just thinking of Topless 5... hehe ... I love it too and because I love chocolate/ choc chips, I can finish the whole thing by myself! (But usually ask Hubby to share the fats)

Diana>> Your nursery is soooooo nice! Such cheery colours! I'm sure your baby would love it and your mood sure brightens up once you step into the room.
Well done!

noms: your bb room is so nice. I love your animal curtain. Where did you buy it from?

Mie: Your Hubby havent set the bb cot... your EDD is getting nearer. Better ask your Hubby to set up early... at least u can decor your bb room.

<font color="aa00aa"> bluesea, yup, hubby and i always walk in and touch this and that..hubby also peep before he left to work this morning...

soh, it is IKEA BARNSLIG DJUR Curtain. </font>

miemie,
hahahaha... better eat all the seafood b4 we pop! i've been eating crabs. then pple say to me "eh u eat crabs later your bb itchy fingers", to which i'll reply "which bb is NOT itchy fingers? if ur bb NOT itchy fingers then u better go see PD!" not true meh? when they mastering their motor skills sure wanna grab everything right? damn load of bull crap leh. cant stand it when pple say this kind of nonsense to me. anyways, YES! i already ordered my 1st meal after i pop. the HB has to go and ta-bao for me hahahahaha... my sashimi and sushi bento from shaw centre! aint it so nice and convenient i'm at Mt E? bwahahahahaha... *evil hippo laugh*

yah tom i asking HB to bring the cheesecake to office and get it out of my sight, and mum's reach. hahaha... think my mum quite poor thing. since i moved back, i nag at everything she eats.

diana, roxie (i think?)
bb room very nice lor. my poor bb gotta squeeze in guest room w maid. no space here already. keep thinking whether i want to have her in my room, but i'm a living eskimo leh. my room like an igloo and bb will turn blue i think.
ah well... we'll see how it goes lah...

loke,
eh... i think may have lor. cos 2 sides to deal with. if got conflicting actions then Angel will blur already. somemore dun say sure kena spoil. i think mine also quite hard to control. but luckily its my parents. so i can still show them black face if they go overboard. no such luck if it was MIL cos delicate mah.

astro,
am very apprehensive with the discipline issue. i think my heli is that kind that likes to spoil kids one leh. we sure fight one lah in future. eeeks. i cant even begin to imagine.

astro
OIC... then there is no issue here. As long as u r comfy wif the maid handling teng, then juz let it be. i am total opp fr u lah. its juz me tt no one can come b/w me and my son. hehehe... unless its my hb, of coz.

oh u were a sahm b4? i am prob not cut out to b one but if i had the chance to try, i wld! juz to satisfy myself! hahaa

Oh i absolutely forbid it if my son cries and runs to someone else (my hb included) for comfort. he has to stop crying and come to me (or whomever was disciplining him then) to close the issue. yeah, i am quite strict abt such things lah. so next time when u think ur teng is poor thing, my son kena worse! hahaha

Rayner's a nice name!

Diana
4got to add tt i hv the same set of curtains. sitting in my wardrobe now and waiting to b put up!

hippo: i know my mum wont spoil the child. but not sure about my mil. my mum is good at training kids... all my niece and nephews toilet trained by age 2 to 2.5 yo. she trains them to sleep at right times and eat and bathe at right times too.. that's y i prefer my mum.. but she's far.. and mil is like so near.. plus she's quite alone in a big house lah.. quite poor thing also..

soh>> i've been asking him to set up the baby cot, he keep saying wait wait wait.. after today's checkup, i guess he cant tell me to wait again! hahahahaha.. the cot sheets not washed yet leh.. tsk tsk..

but i got no baby room yet coz im staying with my parents.. so baby's bunking in with her daddy and muumy! but i want to see how the baby cot is going to look like with the cot mobile and cot sheets leh..

bluesea>> yeah, ^5 to swensen's topless 5.. wahahahahaha (i also can wallop the whole thing all by myself, but last time was coz of figure, dowan to get fat etc, so i wud share.. now no way!)

hippo>> ya lo, pple tell me dun eat so much crabs, later baby come out very 'jian3' (hokkien for itchy fingers).. but i dun believe that lo.. i agree with you, all babies are like that one, which baby doesnt like to grab stuffs and put them into their mouths? also have pple tell me dun eat squid or sotong etc.. i also dun believe.. hahahaha

hippo: yeah. maybe list them down with hb.. then see how it goes during the 4mths ML. sigh.. must pray for wisdom ah... but i'm sure my fil is likely to spoil the child. he loves kids. hahaha...

miemie,
hehe... sotong cannot eat? i really just listen to all these and laugh lor. in fact, even for confinement, whatever fail my TASTE test, i think i will pass. i mean seriously, i'm trying to picture this: we'll have sore boobs, be quite lacking in sleeping from being the human feeding machine, plus lots and lots of LOCHIA, then somemore feed me lousy food?! wah lau. i'll be an ANGRY HIPPO!!! hehe... so whatever i can take and dun mind, i'll take. but those damn gross things i think i'll tell my parents dun waste time lah.

i've been good even with the stupid cordyceps. i swallow a bowl everyweek since i moved home. EEEEKKKKK!

loke,
i also ask my HB "what-if" questions until he give me question marks on his face. then i just sigh and say "i think we gotta play by ear lor" cant anticipate too much leh. we'll see when she arrives and deal with it as we go along i guess...

hippo>> my sentiments exactly.. i tink i will just end up hibernating inside my aircon room the whole 30 days.. anyway the confinement food i already told my mum, i want normal food, prolly she will just add a bit more ginger to the cod fish etc.. but other than that, i dowan too much of the traditional confinement food.. anywayz we shouldnt consume too much sesame oil if we are breastfeeding..

they say no sotong coz later baby's umbilical cord will be elastic and baby will be blur blur.. these old wives' tales i just listen lo, wad i want to believe, i will believe.. but some things hor, i will laugh it off..

<font color="aa00aa">happy hippo, oh, too cold not good for babies...cordyceps, my mum put this when she cook hashima for me and some other 凉茶. not much and it taste good to me.

Miemie, trust me, when you put up the cot sheet and everything, you will be smiling all the time..hehe

jRRt, IKEA curtains very nice hor...all very cute and not very expensive also.

BlinkBlink girl, we have the same type of mum !! my mum can really train children too, she toilet trained us before we turned 2 in the past. My niece was toilet train in 1 day!! she was 3 and still wore diaper, the school teachers making noise but my sister's mil doesn't wanna toilet train her then one day, her PIL went overseas and my sister left her girl with my mum and we all got shocked when we realise my niece didn't wear diaper on that day and she told us, she pee in the toilet!</font>

happy hippo>> u on GD diet meh?? didnt knw that!

*MieMie*>> 2.9kg is still smaller than mine lor i think Charlotte must be damn chubby.. all thanks to mummy who snacks too much during exams period.. lol keep looking for food.. and also thanks to my mom who likes to cook curry or buy back some chocolate muffins to tempt me! and now the mooncake seasons.. my house got 4 boxes of mooncakes man!!! omg!! I think i can expect charlotte weight to be ard 3.5kg at least for the 38W check up.. =.= hope i dun underestimate man.. if not i dunno how liao haha!

I miss out msn session! we shall resume that tomorrow muahahaha..... xD

blinkblink_girl>> yeah!! finally it's OVER!!!

nomsnosm>> Nice nursery u got there! Baby Asher is a lucky baby!

clumsybabe>> cool u make me wanna lay the bedsheets for the cot and get ready for the baby's arrival! hehe maybe i shall do it this weekend!

Soh>> yeah she asked me to control too.. but very hard leh.. especially when it's the exam period.. tend to find more things to eat haha.. if not before that i usually dun snack so much.. and most of the time i'll be online chatting and chatting and time pass very fast! She did not suggest me to go for c sect just saying that maybe can induce if baby gets bigger.. if not v hard to come out also .. we shall know more next thursday on our 38W check up
hopefully she wont be heavier than 3.5kg lol!

hippo/mie : hahaha.. i so agree w u. So i am still eating crab :p~~ sotong :p~~~ all my fav high cholestrol stuff (since its the only time we eat cholestrol stuff and i dun have to worry since it is good for bb).

mummies : after we give birth when we home, do u keep track of feeding time, left breast, right breast, poo colour, etc? if yes, er..got any template can share share?

diana>> you make me feel like setting up the baby cot by myself now! awwwww... i wanna imagine Isabelle sleeping inside looking so cute and adorable...
without the physical cot at the position, its a bit difficult to imagine how the whole room will look like..

sweet>> if JW got 3D scan, you will be able to see if Charlotte's chubby or not le.. but great to hear that your GD test turns out to be -ve!

yeah, tmr we shall resume our gossips sia.. but lately not much gossips leh.. *wink*

haha sorry wo lazy to read thru all the posts:p

nomsnosm: ur bb rm very nice also, i havent do anything to the bb cot yet:p *lazy mum*

clumsybabe: its ok at least ur bb's cot is cosycosy hehe, i havent do up mine
ilove maxmax: how come ur gynae do strep B test so early, my gynae said usually done ard wk38, not sure y. me still working as well. my boss yet to approve my planned maternity cum vacation leave.