astro
yeah, i am the disciplinarian in the family and my hb is the goody-goody. but when it comes to disciplining, we all, includg my sis & BIL as well as my mum (main caregiver) ensure tt we do the same thing so the 2 tods are not confused. this is v effective as the 2 tods know tt there is no favoritism and everyone gets the same treatment.
haha, at times i oso feel tt my son is so poor thing to hv me as his mommy. but u know wat, i feel we hv succeeded if we instill discipline and yet at the same time, our sons still love us, prefers us and comes to us at the end of the day.
we dun smack/whack them for nothing. i always explain to my son aft he is punished, thou he might or might not understd. we hv been doing tt since he is young.
my PILs comes once a wk to look aft my son and coz they only drop by once a wk, i can understd they tend to spoil him. i will tell my MIL the ground rules but allows her to indulge in a few treats 4 my son lah.
i always tell my MIL, "If a child has no manners, no discipline, outsiders will always point the fingers to the parents and say tt the child is not taught properly. Its nvr the grandparents fault." So my point to her is tt, dun interfere wif the way i discipline my child. of coz u love ur grandson & feel heartache when he is being disciplined but he is my son, whom i gave birth to; of coz i love him more than anyone else will. so far, she has not interfered which is good.
Diana
No one will come and help me coz my hb, mum & MIL super pantang abt shifting things lah. and even if i wan to, i oso cant do much in my state! i can only fold clothes and arrange them in the drawers. so i can only rely on my hb.
in our family, we oso agree tt no matter how we disagree with the other person when he is disciplinaring the child, we will not talk in front of the kid. the discussion will be done aft tt, when they r not ard. else the child will know whom his allies are.
So this rule muz b abided b/w u and ur hb else ur son will know who he can bully. but astro is right, there will b conflicts regardless of wat happens. however dun let it sour ur r/s.