(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

<font color="aa00aa">jRRt (crystallized), sure sure, will share and take some photos if possible on comingg wednesday!

mata, you work in hospital? which one?

Re: In LAWS
yeah, i believe almost everyone has Monster In Law...
but what I don't like is treat us like $ Tree. sigh...</font>

annette
dun worry abt leaking/non-leaking boobs now. this has no bearing on whether u can BF successfully later. During my 1st preg, i dun hv any leaking boobs, no discharge fr nipples either but still i BF successfully. As long as u set ur mentality rite and get prepared well, u will BF successfully. Dont worry!

Mata
yah its 职业病! totally oblivious to the fact tt u need rest now. juz ignore the emails &amp; phone calls. tts the only way they will get the message!

<font color="aa00aa">annette, yeah, don't have to worry about this.

mata, I agreed with jRRt, just ignore calls and emails but then again, sure lots of stories behind.</font>

Annette
Yap. I also under Dr Choo. Just went for my checkup last Sat. My appt always Sat morning one. Coz Sat is the only time my hubb is free to go with me. kekeke, I reserving my leave leh. Want to take one shot before maternity leave :p

Yes, according to the nurse, seems like Dr Choo is quite flex to go anywhere leh. I asked the nurse, she asked me which hospital I looking at. I told her TMC and RH. She say ok leh. even provide me the list of charges.

Mummies! I need help on some questions...
1)Posted this before. Don't think I got any reply - How do we know the dialect name of our bb at the point of registration? Is there any reference for us or the system auto translates?

2)What is the diff between Baby lotion and Baby oil? Should buy both or choose 1 can already?

ddnikz,

i didn't bother with dialect name. i just used hanyu pinyin for the name, but the surname still dialect surname. i'm not sure if there is a reference for translates. sorry if this doesn't help much...

diana,

i'm sure the whole world talking behind my back already lah. see lah, like that how to encourage women to have more babies?? they really have to change people's mindsets. But actually i can't complain lor, becos this is my 3rd kid with the same company... better not to say which hospital lah, but i'm their admin staff..

<font color="aa00aa">ddnikz (ddnikz), baby lotion and baby oil are 2 diff thing. I bought baby oil - clean certain area of baby, it will be easier eg baby scalp.

as for baby lotion, yet to buy but good to buy because can have some bonding session with your bb, before bed or after showering. I haven't buy any yet because my hb has dry skin problem and his family, almost everyone got ezcema so I am worry about certain brand of lotion, if bb's skin is ok, then normal brand is okay, or else, I will need to get other lotion, no scent, oil based, sorbolene. if severe ezcema, need prescriptive lotion.

mata, okok..keep it confidential..hehe... yalor, u know, the clinic i was working with, mistri wing, hint hint a bit. THE SSN always said,"pregnancy is not a disease hor!" so mean...</font>

Need to rant a bit .. My rashes has spread to the neck, chest, thighs, belly and arms. Thank God not the face (touch wood) and suffering from the immense scratching. I looked like i've been attacked from a hive of bugs, cos my skin is all bumpy now. Hadn't been sleeping well and last night, i just cry to my baby, telling him to be a good boy, don't bully mummy... super depressed and irritated

Called KKH, they say if it is an emergency, go down to A&amp;E. If it's not an emergency, i can wait till Thursday to see gynae. Kaoz, it's not a life/death situation now, but i am super suffering... And seems like there is nothing much i can do now
I miss the days with my private gynae, where i can just ring up the nurse and they can connect me with the doctor within the next hour or so ... sob

<font color="aa00aa">If you notice itchy red bumps or welts on your belly and possibly your thighs and buttocks as well, you may have a condition called pruritic urticarial papules and plaques of pregnancy (PUPPP for short). Up to one percent of pregnant women develop PUPPP, which is harmless but can be quite uncomfortable. See your practitioner so she can make sure it's not a more serious problem, provide treatment to make you more comfortable, and refer you to a dermatologist if necessary. Also be sure to call her if you feel intense itchiness all over your body, even if you don't have a rash. It could signal a liver problem. ---> from baby center

call this number 81217813</font>

sweetzinc/nomsnosm: i also not sure if those white deposit is due to leaking, nomsnosm r those deposit due to leaking?

Lingxin: im working in one of the tertiary institute here, i dun stay in office most of the time, need go to classes and usually my classes r like one way abt 15 mins walk away.now im trying to avoid the dept office where my boss is.

nomsnosm/lingxin/sunnylin:nomsnosm, u so gd dun need wake up, nowsaday min i need wake up once to pee,sometimes twice a nite. As for green discharge, my other frd who got it also was told is yeast infection like lingxin, nomsnosm think u better ask ur gynae again

mata/nomsnosm: my hubby alwyas tell me tts workplc haiz endureeeeeee
wa u r expecting ur 3rd!! if i am i will stay home with them if hubby can substain our expense which he dun mind working hard n get extra job just to make me stay home but then is it really worth it...alot of my gerfrds told me not to stay home so confused...if to quit, i have to give up the luxury of buying things i like n spend as i wish wo

nomsnosm: y ur mil need call n ask for money. dont ur hubby make it a pt to give them once a mth at a particular date? i try to pass my mummy allowance at a certain date of the mth n if delay for 1wk+ then she will ask,do u give ur mummy allowance now since u dun work? i wonder if i dun work how to give her allowance.

jRRt/nomsnosm: thxthx. oh i asked during the hospital tour last sat at mount a, they said cnat choose lactation consultant wo,its accordingly to their duty rooster.

ddnikz: guess we have been seeing eachother often for the last mths, been gog on sat morning too hehe but coming 2mths be opting for wkday coz less crowded n we can just go for medical appt without taking leave during vacation time. As for ur1st qn, i dun knwo wo.Qn2,lotion is usually those like moisturer,usually opaque in colour, not oily.baby oil is those transparent in colour. lets wait for more experience mummies to ans us hehe

siangjiao: y sudddenly u got such bad rashes!? Y cant u get in touch with ur gynae direct? aiyo dun wait till thurs la,go down A&amp;E la

hoho...thanks nomsnosm..i didn't know i have this for my 1st pregnancy. i tot they're called stretch marks!haha...my ugly welts started to form only in my 8 months i think.. it just appeared one day and keep having more and more and so so ugly!! aiyoh, now then i know i am the 1% "suay" group of pregnany women...

err, what is this number for?

oh yeah, at first they're just around my belly. post delivery, it spread all over my arms and legs.. really v v itchy.. very "shiok" to scratch but the more i scratch the more it spread it seems.. in the end, i had to see my gyane because my colleague told me, if i don't get it treated, i might have permanent scars.. so scary! my gynae prescribe to me anti-histamine pills, steroid crean (very effective but i try not to use too much) and calamine lotion. after a while, it subsided.. heng,only my belly bears all the ugly scars now, not my legs and arms!

this is how PUPPP looks like (got it from google images) and mine is exactly like this post delivery! yucks!
2845741.jpg

<font color="aa00aa">Re: the phone number
The phone call will be answered by a experience senior staff nurse at The Private Suite KKH, they should be able to answer your questions pertaining to pregnancy then advice will be given. If they find your condition is serious and urgent, they will tell you what to do. They also has the right to change appt, force in early appt to see gynea if they think it is needed.

Re: Rashes
I've seen mummies with this condition during my attachment at KKH. Maybe there were other underlying issue, some will be warded for observation.

Re: white deposit
I think there are already milk producing and some just got dry up hence we see white deposit at the nipples.

Re: Allowance
My MIL asked for extra money ( almost every 2-3 months) for this and that. Not much reasons she can come out with
- see doc , well, see pte doc need more than what she requested ($150) but is foc when come to govt hosp so who is telling lie?
- they stay in johore but wanna go bukit mertajam for praying, they will ask for more money like $300-$500
- MIL birthday, she will tell u her wishlist
- FIL, presents for either fathers' day or his birthday, we got them a LCD TV this year.

We give them money on monthly basis but these are extra and they will ask for money, ranging from $150 - $500, every 2-3 months. now that I am not working and heavily pregnant, I don't understand why they still squeezing us. The best part - last month my MIL admitted to govt hosp, said service not good wanna change to pte. Then hubby said, I will split the bill with brother, then I told him, can split, but it has to be 1:1, not 1:3.

I am not working since 2007 but in between I work part time, that was before pregnant. Like I said before, hubby's pay comes to the acct and I will manage, so I will still give my parents $500/month, sometimes hubby asks why still give, then I will say, mum cooks for us right?</font>

<font color="aa00aa"> there are reasons driving me back to work also, not for luxury of cars or branded bags. It is to give more money to my mum. My dad's medical fee is driving us crazy, draining their hard earn money that they saved for more than half of their lives. I really learnt lesson, must buy insurance and never burden my own family, my children family. If only I got a disease and lie flat right a way, or else, falling ill is no joke.

Some said I am silly. In the past, I also find my ex coll silly, hubbyb earns so much why still work? got 4 kids leh, got maid, got car, hubby can afford, why still come to work and got bully by others. She is a Super senior staff and the junior went to hide the casenote she needed badly to settle one patient's case, you know how bad was it? She only found out about this after one of the girl told her and this girl only told her after she resigned and flew to USA. Later on then I realised, it is because she wants to give money to her mum. Now I understand her fully. I can't be taking money out of our acct all the time, that's why I will help my mum to make rice wine, then the earning will be given to her.

then on the other hand, I must know how to handle my MIL and at the same time, not offending my husband. </font>

mata, nlimm and ayoon: Thanks for your concern. My breasts looks EXACTLY like the picture now and the neck/chest area. Belly, arms and thighs still not reached this state yet, but there are at least a zillion tiny bumps where the pores are.

I called the number, but perpetually no one answers so i called the 80 cents per min hotline. The nurse asked me to stop using the cream GP has prescribed cos i could be allergic to it...

Ariojo: did the red patches disappear? I feel so distressed and disfigured now. so scared the scars will not go away.

Read the website, they say common for 1st time mum having boys...i must take picture, then show my son in future .. hahaha. Yes, it is very shiok to scratch... very addictive. I need to start wearing mittens liao. It started last tues or wed and slowly spread. so not a sudden onset.

Oh initially, i thought my colostrum hadn't come cos my nips look so dry. But when i squeeze the aerola, a few blobs of yellowish fluid came out. So don't worry if your breasts are not leaking now... the factory probably has already started production, but just in the initial phase. Different women have different patterns and schedule bah.

hehehe... nomsnosm, the ssn sounds like a tyrant. Reminds me of my company HR. Her car kenna scratched all the time.

1/2 hour more and i can go home liao ... yay ... but still so many things undone.

Summary
Course Title : Exam &amp; You
Date : 11 Sep 09
Place : Changi Simei CC (10 Simei St 2, Changi Simei CC Bldg, Classroom 01-15)
Primary : 2pm - 4pm
Secondary : 10am - 12pm
Course fee : $30 (Members), $40 (Non-members)

What will you learn :
Aim : To prepare students, in the smartest way, for SA2 or final year end exam
1.Goal Setting
2.Time table planning
3.Study plan and what to focus
4.Time management, including how much time to allocate for different sections
5.Important things to takenote. Eg.Infinitive "to", after to no past tense and do not add "s"
6.Mindmapping - How it saves your study time.

Hope to see you and, if there is enough seats, I will invite one parent to join in the class.

Register now, call Ms Elsie at 6781 6058 during office hours or call me at 92228893. While vacancies lasts!!

angela

this thread flies, i have hard time catching up, btw, put this up for my frnd...feel free to have a look.

<font color="aa00aa">siangjiao, she very knowlegable loh, feel more assurance after asking her questions.
better than the paid call la, waste time only and always brush me off.</font>

siangjiao>> oh dear, it seems like your rash is damn bad, hope it will heal and go away fast.. i cant imagine the itchiness and discomfort you are feeling.. *hugz*

diana,

i hear you about the reason we work. It's the same for me. If i don't work, there'll be no money for my parents.
so no choice. But i really wonder why some people are so mean at work, everyone's just trying to earn a living, why do they want to make life so miserable for others. sigh.

Siangjiao,
you seem a little happier now. take care ok? Ya, i was quite amused to read that fetal male DNA may cause PUPP. See the men give us problems even before they are born!!

siang jiao,
it did but not my stretch marks..hehe..but you better consult your gynae because my colleague told me if i left them untreated, the patches will be permanent just like hers! so scary!i have another collegue who got permanent pigmentation (like freckles) on her calf too and she told me she got it from her pregnancy. Now i think back may be it's due to PUPPP.

lin,
sorry but i have to agree with miemie that what your friend angela have posted are not relevant to this thread. if i did not remember wrongly, you also help angela post her insurance service some time ago.

maybe your friend can create an account and post her services in more relevant threads???

hope you dun feel offended hor...

<font color="aa00aa"> yah, some mummies really sacrified to be pregnant, my ex coll got this dark patches ( like kema sunburn) at both cheek, the mandible. she forever look kena sunburn, think only laser helps but she didn't go for it.

my gynea told my husband, see, women use their lives to get another lives, men must love their wives. Then she printed out the photo of our scan and said," nah, go and claim some gift from your husband".

mata, I may go back to work, don't know when also but not full time, will def be part time</font>

hi mummies, sorry to interupt, I'm selling $500 takashimaya voucher at 10% discount. Let me know if you're interested in any amount (min $100 to deal). PM me please. TAKASHIMAYA BABY FAIR 27TH AUG

<font color="aa00aa"> eh..not bad oh, 10% disc, too bad i got almost everything already. thanks for informing.</font>

Hi Cat02

I am not offended at all. Actually thought of creating another ac to help her to post / ask her post herself... But just thought it wouldnt be gd to use 2 diff name to post, so i use back my own id and perhaps its just like helping around..

U dun offend too cos this is my explanation only. Anyway, just like my explanation above, sharing around only... Perhaps, next time i should share more relavant info like pregnancy n etc ba

<font color="aa00aa"> share lobang also can, good lobang got voucher, gifts and better still, like the paid survey, we will be happy to know...ehhee..</font>

Hi Cat02

No la, i mean i dont get any money de...
some ppl in this forum have also help me... so, i mean help my frnd in this way too

but rest assured that i share more relevant info the next round, and etc next time hor

Hi nomsnosm
ok, next time got gd lobang, like offers and bb stuff and etc,,, share ard with u all

thanks for understanding

hi all! i have been a slient reader for all these while. i must say i have learnt alot from all the mummies here, thank you all!
am a first time mom, expecting a boy, EDD on 9th Oct,will be delivering at MEH, gynae-Dr Douglas Ong.
Went for checkup last week, saw baby growing hair! ard 2 cm! so amazing. =D

siangjiao, you have my sympathy. I heard from my friend that when she got preg, she don't have any prob until the last 3 weeks of her preg, she got severe rashes right down from tummy. Cannot apply anything, cannot sleep. Is a torture. Do you think if applying powder helps to ease the itch?

Annette, I don't know if you have seen me before leh. Cos' I quite kiasu, I always get the earliest appt one - 845am :p only recently I change to 915am.

Ladies, thanks for answering my question on the lotion and oil purchase. Think I just buy both. :D

mata: Yup, i keep talking to BB about turning also. Haiz! I had a friend whose BB turned about 2 hours before her C-section and her gynae let her opt for natural delivery which she went for. So i still got some hope!!

Siangjiao: oh golly! I really hope that nasty rash goes away soon! Keep nails short as possible! Hmm, you think aloe vera gel will help soothe it anot?

Ee Ling: Hi there! Oh we got the same gynae!
But I'll be delivering at Mt A.

siangjiao,
oh dear! are you better now? that pic looks BAD. so did u see a doc? either your own GP or gynae about it? ok, just sharing my experience cos i had a similar condition that looked like that pic, but that was many years back. it got so bad, that i had those hives everywhere there's a joint, or where there's like waistband e.g. bra, skirt/pants where the waistband is. i saw dermatologists who gave me both anti-histamines, and steroids for it. but it never got rid of it til we used our own home remedy.
but for me, it was consuming a lot of "liang" (cooling) fruits that triggered the hives. i whacked a lot of watermelons and mangosteens. too much for my own good i think.

eventually my dad thot maybe my body too "liang" so me fed me red dates boiled in water everyday for i think a fortnight and miraculously the hives finally all went away.

now of course i cant suggest medically that what u have is the same as what i had. but i guess if u are really desperate maybe u can try red dates boiled in water? since its "heaty" should be ok to drink anyways. did u consume anything that's like extra "liang" or not?

mata and any other mtbs i missed out (too many posts lah...)
tks tks. i'm ok. now i dun really dare to make 3-point turn in front of my neighbours house. hahaha... so i make 5-point turn in front of my own house lor!
and NO i didn't strike 4D. it was quite close but didn't hit leh! @#(%^*^(&amp;*^&amp;^(*

ddnikz,
haha... i was just wondering the same thing. like u, i think i will buy both too lah. i think lotion is like everyday use, whereas oil is more suitable for bb massage?!

diana,
the situation u have has to be handled with care. cos if not, it will cause u &amp; HB a lot of grief. i suppose its always nice when there's enough $, but in reality, $ always not enough?! i suppose if the MIL dun always ask for a lot, then just give her some, but not all. e.g. if she ask for $500, u give $200-300 can or not? then like that it wont seem like u dun wanna give her, but still wana give your own mum... just a thot...

shugar,
aiyo, ur little prince also sitting upright in his throne ah?! wah lau... my princess also leh...
how ah? i suppose i dun feel too strongly either way lah (re: C-sect vs natural). cos i think im very realistic about my own pain threshold. so whichever way is best for the bb to come out, hit me with da drugs and i'll deal with whatever pain AFTER delivery. heard of too many horror stories about women who like want a totally natural birth plan and then end up with emergency c-section that kind. no thanks man. haha...
tomorrow my gynae appt. wondering how i can get him to shuddup about my weight... hehehe...

shugar
wah wat u posted is so encouraging! turned 2 hrs b4 c-sec!!!
did u try gg on fours like a cat on ur bed? I am using tt position almost every night when i settle my son to sleep. i think it helps. can feel my girl's kicks at my ribcages.
But still the most impt is whether placenta has shifted up sufficient enuff.

<font color="aa00aa"> lin, added liao..

jRRt (crystallized), 加油 !!!加油 !!!加油 !!!

happy hippo (fifidoog), no way to nego, I think I ever asked that, then ppl said $300 is $300, not half, give half can't do anything, might as well don't give. I give my own mum, because she cooks for us daily, got fish got meat, she prepare fruits daily, cooks bailey/dessert. so hubby cannot say anything. Sometimes hubby will reject his mum, maybe 1 in 10 times. I always handle with care, just that now I got the feeling hubby also a bit not comfortable with his family, sometimes he is the one who doesn't wanna call home. Just like my delivery, soon right? then i think he asked them behind my back if they are coming, then they said they are not coming to see me and our newborn. said this is their law. then hubby told me, he told them off, said they are unreasonable straight to her face.

Then my mum told me not to be upset, said maybe she needs to go temple that's why cannot visit me and bb for the first 12th day, something like that.

Dear all, I am going to see my gynea tomorrow, going to ask her about my baby's weight, engaged or not.</font>

Thanks all for your concern and advice. Shugar: i haven't thought of aloe vera, will give it a shot. Hippo: i will try the red dates tea too. Desperate man. I've seen a GP, but the medicine like no use and after researching on the internet and finding more similar pictures, i'm more or less sure its PUPPP. Seems like its a LL (pardon me) situation though, something like GD, it won't go away until after delivery. My colleague joked with me saying that baby with lots of hair will cause mummy to itch. We'll see then huh ... haha

Regarding baby oil, my sis say not really necessary leh, and lotion also optional. She say the ones that we really need is the ru yi oil, nappy rash cream and powder to dust the baby. But she said, oil is good if baby has cradle cap, you rub a little, the dry skin will soften and be washed off during bath the next day. Well, don't have any experience, maybe our experience mummies here can help comment ..

<font color="aa00aa">oh yah, forgot to mention, don't buy big bottle of oil, you only need it a little bit..
like what siangjiao said, some don't even need it, it really depends how's your BB skin and condition.

My sister also said lotion is optional, got powder then no need lotion, buy lotion then don't get powder.

My BFF told me to prepare 肥仔水 and she recommend one gel to standby sore nipple, she used it and told me it gives a cooling feeling. I bought it, so expensive $8 small tube at guardian. as for 肥仔水, i didn't buy as my BFF gave me one. My mum said if wanna buy, get woodward's gripe water