(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Morning Mummies or shall I say Clumsy Walking Women (I am!)!

Sorry been MIA for so long. Was bz with lotsa stuff. Hubby got retrenched since May and still looking for a job. So that's why I was a bit down and didnt feel like writing, coz I would usually write crazy, RA funny stuff.

I should stop worrying I know. Haiz sianz..

Anyway things you should do and dont do during confinement.

Well for me I still shower but using hot water of coz. I actually showered at the hospital the next day after giving birth! Right after my shower, my gynae came to check on me and saw me with my wet hair. So I kena scolding lah and she called the nurse to get me a hairblower and blow dried my hair for me. Hahha!!

The most important thing to do during confinement is to eat less soupy stuff, drink less water and if possible avoid rice. During confinement your body tends to keep water in easily, so drinking too much water and eating soupy stuff will slow down your slimming back process. I didnt read this anywhere, just through my experience lor.

Post Natal massage is a must and a must have thing is the bind. Mine is a long piece of cloth which is tied manually. It's better than the modern ones coz it can bind the whole of my backside and stomach.

i wore this for the whole day and even the whole night for the first 2 weeks.

Actually I started going out one week after giving birth. Heheh. I know, not good. But of coz I wore a girdle to support my tummy.

Cat, I get the cramps too. But not really menses like cramps. It's sharp cramps. I tink right about now, we will all be experiencing Braxton Hicks cramps and also the ligament tingy cramp, coz our uterus is still expanding.

cat02: glad you're feeling better!

Joyce Ong: hehehe, the 'smelly mummy' thought is funny :p

Queen RA: Hmm try not to worry too much... hope things will work out fine for you soon!
I'm also finding myself clumsy these few days... tripped a few times when walking (eeks!) and just tipped my water bottle over this morning.

about Post Natal massage, I'm looking out for one now leh. anyone got good recommendations? The massage lady i had in mind won't come to my area leh... and i thought i live in a central enough area already.

glass: great info u have on confinement behaviours. haha..

talking about clumsiness. my fingers are blistered because i tend to hit on things more easily nowadays. very irritating. walk also can get hurt.. sit down also can knock the knee.. ahha.. is it normal for pregnant pple? i'm usually the more conscious type.. so very sian to see plasters and scars all over..

rina>> cheer up and somehow someway, things will work out one!
dun fret too much abt your hubby's job and look forward to becoming a mummy for the 4th time! heehee

re: clumsiness
i am getting rather clumsy now.. cannot really walk properly, sometimes i feel that i walk like a duck! hahaha.. and will tend to trip on a flat surface.. hubby always ask me to walk properly, dun scare him.. as if i want to fall down like that! humph..

regarding confinement, it's explained during my antenatal class.

I put on 1.5kg in this week, and 1kg last week!! It's starting to become exponential now. Plus my skin feels so tight all the time.

Thanks Shugar, mie mie for the encouragement!

I dont really have the contact on hand rite now, but I know the massage lady can go all over singapore. She's very good and if I'm not wrong will even get the bind for you if you dont have one.

I'll try getting the number again. I usually will get it after I give birth.

ww, the girdle I got is from Triump. I prefer triumph coz its very tight and usually i will get a size smaller. I'd squeeze my fat butt in it. LOL! Also, when it's tight, it supressed my appetite to eat. So dats another good ting bout putting on a tight girdle.

i guess a tight girdle wouldnt affect productivity!! hahhaa...

glass: i'm monitoring my weight closely.. everyweek max gain 500g...

Been MIA for a week cos my company having big earthquarke so a bit low morale.

Think I have put on 2 kg for the past month. Trying to put on 1-2kg monthly cos all the ppl see me keep ask y tummy so small and already 6 month.

Lin,

Washing of cloth for my Boy, I use Pigeon Washing Powder and Kodomo Softeren.

ling
if i am not wrong, Cheong Choon is NOT a dept store. they r more like warehse and its more like u know wat u wan and call them for quotes. abv certain spending, they will deliver for free. I've ordered wif them b4 for baby swing chair bed and its cheaper than retail stores. so u need to do research b4 u call so u know if u wanna buy fr them.

nowadays i think no one really stay at home thru'out the confinement period coz need to bring baby back for review and we need to go 4 check up as well. as long as u cover urself well (in long sleeves and socks etc), dun be drenched by the rain, shld b fine.

4 my 1st preg, i tahan till 5th day (day b4 i go 4 check-up) to wash hair and bathed on the 12th day. on the other days, i wiped myself wif the herbal water 3 times a day. i din bath/shampoo everyday. i waited till i cant tahan then do it. i wonder if i will b as obedient when i hv #2... i think quite hard to stick to it! hahahaha

i hope by the time we enter oct, H1N1 cases hv stabilised. its demoralising to hear updates everyday....

I'm one of those who didnt really adhere to confinement guidelines. When my elder girl was warded for jaundice, I still went out and visited her at the hospital. Just cant bear to leave her there, so the least I could do was to visit and cradle her at the hospital.

I bathed with herbal water and that included washing my hair from 4th day. I cant stand being dirty.

And being in such hot weather, I need aircon. I can up the temp to 25 deg and the aircon shdnt be blowing directly at me, but still, I need to be in a cool place.

Re : clumsiness
Count me in! I just feel so heavy and BIG!!! Argh ...

anybody wanna take over my medela mini electric plus. bought end may/early june at abt $300. Used for 1 week. Looking to sell at $200 (neg)

Also hv an avent manual pump for sale. used for about 2 weeks. bought abt 3 mths ago. Hope to sell for $60 (neg).

for both items, You'll get everything that comes in the original pack.

interested, pls email me at [email protected]

hmm.. i was sent home this morning.. coz one colleague down with h1n1.. and before she see the doctor (i think just today).. we were all in the common room.. but i am well and ok.. . i think she got it during the weekend.. so mgt just pre-cautionary measure.. so my leave of absence. is only till thursday nia.. ha ..

but i am irritated with my mum.. she was trying to suppress a cough/running nose which was abut to form.. so i sent her home.. told my sis to go and bring her to see doct.. she keeps telling pple in clinic she is not sick and then my sister sot to bring her see doc! wah liew.. end up my sis irritated keep smsin.. haiz.. end up i also irritated liao.. how come pple just cannot understand? it is just pre-cautionary.. i am paying for ur doc fees. just go lah.. wah liew.. fed up..

then miser also never say much one.. stupid man. no sms nothing.. i got to sms him to show me some concern? wah liew.. what a joke. angry with him.. he says he knows i am ok? ya right. i am VERY ok..

astro,
aiyo... understand your frustration. just like i'm frustrated that i'm almost well, then worsen again. rest these few days and get lots of fluids and vit c.

i went for my gynae appt today. he said we will take longer to recover. but if i feel like i dun need medication, then dun take also better for bb. he didn't even talk about GD. which means the sonographer a bit too kiasee on the other end of extreme lah. he said bb is fine, nothing to worry about. hehe...

the nurse at the clinic was exclaiming how cute my bb is from the ultrasound scan. i was like huh? i dun even know what this ultrasound looks like. she's like "there, see the eyes, nose, everything so clear! so cute and chubby!!!" i was completely lost man. cant make out anything from it. maybe they look at them everyday so they can make out something. we couldn't. hehe...

hippo: u should have videoed it down and watch it again and again at home.. haha. that's what my hb and i did for the scan. otherwise we also couldnt figure out what's going on.. hahhaa..

hippo: i am ok.. will look after myself. just irritated with my mum lah :s.. arghh.
next wed, i am seeing my gynae.. i will ask her the h1n1 threat to preggies as well.. and if she is concerned.. then i will speak to my director abuot it. it is not as if i am being.. paranoid.. right?

i am just beginning to show.. but it is till not obvious.. ..hmm...

Queen: i hope u wil be feeling better.. soon..

Cat: for the past one week. i have been having soreness at the Vagina area.. dunno got varicose veins there or what.. really sore.. have to walk slowly.. andlifting of legs is difficult. going to ask gynae on that also..
pelvic pain is common. coz all the ligaments lossening up to prepare for childbirth.. ensuring enough clacium prevents cramps..

my weight gain is.. still stagnant leh.. wow!!

Hippo: Thanks for the insurance info.

regarding weight gain .. i put on almost 10 kg so far... 2kg in the past month
My tummy don't look very big, but it's stretching and i got one big red dry patch that itches like mad after i bathe. Hope it doesn't develop to those red lines at later stage. But i love my pregnant belly and enjoy looking at the bumps when baby is moving

I'm with KKH now; each checkup is barely 5 mins. Used to be able to film with my ex-gynae; but now everything is soooo rushed. want to ask more question also pai say.

astro,
you are not paranoid. in fact, i think if i were in your shoes, i would've like gone berserk already by now. so its great you're taking everything in your stride. and you have every right to speak to your superior about it.

queen,
saw my FB message? hope you are doing fine. i can only say that i know what it feels. cos we had a scare episode just last week. fortunately nothing bad happened. but i definitely didn't feel good. not with my out of job. so we have to chin up and focus on our baby. if there's anything i can help to lookout for, let me know.

siangjiao>> i tink you need to apply lotsa moisturiser / stretch mark cream to that red patch..

and i have developed stretch marks already! sobsob.. got 5 lines around my belly button.. the inevitable has happened, and im still unable to accept the fact of the appearance of the stretch marks...

astro, thanks for sharing...
i felt more assured now, knowing that the crampy feeling is normal at this point of pregnancy...

shugar > I booked post-natal massage with a lady named Khatijah. She comes well recommended. Let me know if you want her number.

mie > have you checked out the mcys website? I had a look for the child care centres near my place, couldn't find nanny
and the prices for infant care prices are like
and not very near my place. Jialat..getting desperate. Anyone have any recommendation for nanny around west/central?

mie > belly button? over there oso must moisterise ?? :S (am quickly applying it)

Infant Care:
Heard that there may be a subsidy from government if we mummies are working? Any idea?

gal>> yes, the belly button area! and the skin ard there seems to be so thin now, i keep having that feeling ard that area.. maybe over-stretched already.. and im going double dosage on my stretch mark application now, morning will be the cream, at night after bathing will be the tonic oil.. hope this will reduce the appearance of stretch marks on my stomach..

gal^,
i want the post-natal massage contact pls!

miemie,
um, i dun have on tummy yet. but have one on my boob! which is worse? k lah at least on the boob pple cant see unless i go naked on nudist beach right?! hehe... but i have some on my thunder thighs already anyways. so hoping next time suntan wont be so obvious. *yeah rite*

fifi>> thot you already have a very good massage lady? i haven booked mine yet!

i cant see my thighs, so i dunno if they have appeared there!!! i tink stretch mark on the boob is ok leh, i'd rather my stretch mark appear on the boob than on the tummy.. eh, choy choy choy, i hope no more stretch marks appear!

mie: problem is the red patch is so sensitive now, it gets more itchy if i apply stretch mark cream or moisturiser. If i don't scratch, it's itchy. If i scratch, it's painful. Got so fed up that day that i just rub a couple of ice cubes on that area to numb it.

Gal: I may end up having to consider infant care as well. But the fees are very ex. heard that after deduction is still about $1000, don't know how true is this.

fifi & gal^>> i wanna have the post-natal massage contact too.. i stay in the east, and i wanna check if the lady comes to the east or not..

siangjiao>> wadever you do, dun scratch! scratching will cause the stretch marks to appear! my aerola (esp the left side one) is super duper itchy everyday, and i just slap a lot of SM cream on it, it helps... could it be that your stretch mark cream dun suit you?

miemie,
mine is only pre-natal. post natal she will only do after 4 weeks. so i guess i'll go with a traditional malay lady for a couple of weeks? after that maintenance my maid says she knows how to bind wor. i never try before lah. but erm, if good, i setup home business already! hehe...

then you all might as well send to my house for infantcare! so i can make some pocket money. hehehe...

fifi>> can you imagine 10 or more oct babies in your house? hahahahaha.. i tink is going to be a crazy scene!

post natal we can start immediately right, unless we've had a c-sect..

and your pre-natal contact, pls gimme too.. i have a feeling im gg to need lotsa massage in our 3rd tri.. can feel the backaches saying hello to me already...

hi glass
think i wont follow much on confinement rules, especially on meals. will still listen to older folks and eat some of the necc meals, even if i dont like, but i dont think i will force myself too much.
u mention about drinking water, cant we drink back plain water, soft drinks and fruit juice? must drink herbal type meh? i only dare to drink chyrsanthemum....

hi jacelyn
i dont know how to activate to accept PM. you can email me, thanks - [email protected]

hi joyce
i agreee wif u, 30 days dont bath will melt...so many rules to follow...

hi happy hippo
ya, u are right, blow air con also got wind mah, somemore the wind trap in the room, even worse lo.. just follow abit of the rules can le la... no bother...also hope the stupid h1n1 gone sooner....

hi cat02
glad that u are better, being pregnant comes with pain and etc... sometimes i also cant take it, especially being breathless, i thought i going to die, so scare

hi QueenRA
no worries abt ur hubby job, take it as a rest 1st, confirm can get job de.
i dont know y so funny,,,cos water is the most impt to us, but yet we cant drink it during our most impt times. i will also contimue to bath with hot water cos its a habit le, but maybe just blow our hair lo

hi blinkblink & Evil*Mie
ya, i also getting clumsy nowadays, walking like a duck...

hi Jrt
thanks for ur info on bb detergent and cheong choon shop

gal^: oh thanks! Does she do the traditional wrap/bind? Can PM me the number?
Thanks again!

mie: this friday is prenatal class day hor? :p

astro: just read the note u made about the underwired bras. will ask during the ante natal class if they never mention. thanks!

miemie,
hahaha... of course will be a crazy scene lah. but if i'm desperate for $$$, hehe... no lah kidding. i need my sanity. i think 1 is enough of a challenge for me.
ok. i'll message u in FB the massage contact.

Hi Gal,
can you pass me Khatija's number pls. I'm also due in Oct and looking for post natal massage. Also can someone advice for how long post natal massage needs to be done?

shugar>> yeah, this friday is the pre-natal class.. so looking fwd to it.. heehee

anyone else signed up for the Mount A pre-natal class?

my sister-in-law just gave birth last night.. she's in her 39 weeks and doctor adviced her to induce.. not sure why la..
she was admitted on monday night, then tuesday morning 7am she was induced.. but 7pm she haven give birth leh.. only 4cm dilated.. so no choice, emergency c-section under epi..

my hubby went to visit her last night, she complained of pain all the way! i hope all goes well for us and we will not end up needing an emergency c-sect.. kinda scared me with her birth story..

halo halo.. just saying hi lar. nothing to say. in school now. just finished classes and taking a break. so sleepy!!!!! haha

Hi aloevera 08, please share the info about the underwire bra after you find out! I flipped through a Babycentre book in Borders before and they had some FAQs, including one on underwire bra. Think their answer was "may be harmful". As in, they can't confirm if it will be harmful.

I'm so sleepy... not been sleeping well. : (
BTW, can I ask if anyone has started shopping for cots? Do you know why some cots have the drop down side and some don't? Is there an advantage to having a drop down side? I saw two at Mothercare which are quite nice but neither have the drop down side.

Anyone those children are in JW area talent plus playgroup??? Which one is good. The one my son is attending now is at st 25, it is a very very bad school n i thinking of transfering him to other branch.... ANy mummies out there, care to give some feed back regarding other JW branch talent plus playgroup???

The reason i wan a transfer is becos:
1. When i look up to this branch is becos it near my hse, walking distance. When i go there go for enquires for the 1st time, i realise the main teacher can attend to me (enquires) for 1+ hrs without starting the class.... n the assisitant teacher there do nothing n just play with the children. I did have my doubt that bery 1st time, so i reconsider again after few more month. 2rd time i go regrister n that took me ard 1hrs too, n again the main teacher attend to me n didnt start the lesson as usual. I happen to saw a 3yrs old boy sitting alone outside the classroom sofa, doing nothing and i started to ask y he sitting here, n the teacher can tell me: aiya... he lousy lah... cme for 6mth oreadi still like this. I was there for 1hrs n he boy just sit alone there doing nothing, he is not crying at all, the teacher there simply dun care him,n tell me he will go in himself after an hrs plus... I think the teachers there shd encourage him to join in n not do nothing to him n let him sit there for 6nmths since he is not crying oreadi....

2. Today i start my 1st day with my son, n realise the whole lesson is playing with toys thru out the lesson.... For 1hrs plus, the children there are playing toys on the floor with 2 teachers there, after an hr plus, the main teacher take out 1 worksheet n ask 1by1 go table glue n paste, then ask them continue to play toys. After all children done worksheet, the teacher play toys with them awhile then ask them go wash hand n drink water. After drink water, teacher take out another kinds of toy n let them play, after that, sing afew song n good bye..... There is no hoslistic learning at all. I read from the website the programme is not like this leh.... Now i knw hw come the teacher can attend to me for 1hrs without starting lesson...

3. I find that the teacher is not those caring n patient types, when he saw my son is stuborn type of people, she tell me 2moro i dun come in n sty. I wonder what she is going to do to my son without me ard.... The reason she give me is children hard to settle down with parent ard. i think she is not going to use the soft way (hong)at my son as what i see his attitude toward other children. I really think there is something wrong with this playgroup at st 25, b4 i sign up, i oreadi have my doubt. Infact i shd trrust my feeling n not sign up in the 1st place when i find it fishy.

I going to try for 1 more day n see what the outcome, n decide to change branch, but that will be driving dist liao, no more walking dist.

I got another mummies at st 91 there say the lesson is not like tis when he start his son there... hope mummies can give other feedback regarding other branch for my referral.. Hw abi=out the branch at gek poh CC?

funzee: the drop down side is useful to allow the baby to climb up.. (when climb mobility).. and it helps to save ur back! heh.. coz if not u need to hunch over to put the bb in when you lower the cot in future

astro: yes, very tiring! and very HOT!! still have to climb up and down all the 4 storeys to get to the different classes. i get so breathless these days. haha! but guess can consider it good exercise to aid in labour lar.

am still in school now. preparing worksheets/class tests for different classes. but am enjoying the chit-chatting with the colleagues lar. at least got adult company.

underwired bra: i tot this was discussed already?

the wires can cut circulation and cause you to have blocked milk ducts in future. trust me, you don't want to have blocked ducts.. it can become hard and painful cos the milk collects and it's very hard to pump it out. have to knead and squeeeeeeeeeeeeeze very hard to express it out as you pump. or else must get your baby and position him/her such that he/she can suck it out.

hmmm

still sleepy....