(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

famela
thks 4 taking the time to explain to me abt the fasting issue. Guess i juz missed it coz sometimes i dun follow thread as closely. I know tt if u dun fast, u hv to pay back but i thot pregnancy is an exception. Oh yes, if u feel up to it, then i think no issue to go ahead.
and esp so if u r gg to b bfg later, then its even harder to fast coz u need to eat to be a milking cow!

well, i certainly hope so tt eventually everything will b fine. if gynae declares during the next visit tt my placenta has showed signs tt it is slowly shifting up, think i'll b more happy as compared to when she told me i am expecting a girl!

jacelyn: u just made me feel that i didnt make the wrong choice. hahaha... looking forward to the delivery experience at mt A.. haha.. sounds like some marketing tag...

ong: how about those maternity pads? u dun wear at all during the hospital stay?

loke : i am using kkh maternity pads while staying there. Theirs are those with loop type that u need to tie aro just like wat our mum uses last time. Therefore not require to wear panties. However, when check out, u need to use those stick on maternity pads that u bot fm outside since i can't imagine myself using the loop type when out of hospital. I tink private hospital probably uses stick on type unlike KKH.

good afternoon everyone!

regarding delivery at KKH (esp for those 1st time MTB who will oso be delivering there):

i remember that i was provided the pink gown so don't haf to bring if don't want to. every day after i showered, washed my hair, dried it, i changed into a new set la. very convenient. only bad thing was that sometimes the gown came a bit crumpled/creased at the folds which i hated. hee hee. but can't expect them to iron every single one of those gowns oso lar.

my baby was oso provided clothes (just those kimono, side tie tops) by the hospital. i actually brought my own 3 sets of baby clothes cos heard that it won't be provided. in the end only used the set of nice going home clothes. the other times i just let him be in the hospital's clothes. less washing mah?

like ong, i didn't bring my breast pump. i just loaned it from KKH free of charge too. very convenient. they did all the washing and sterilising for me.

however, i rem i was given the kotex stick on maternity pad leh, NOT the loop ones. i brought a whole pack my own kotex maternity pads too and lots of disposable underwear beacause i oso heard from other mommies that KKH uses loop pads and i didn't like the idea of those. but since they provided the stick on pads, i used up the ones they provided first la.

i had a very good experience with KKH truout in spite of some horror stories i've heard from other mommies. my hubby stayed with me overnight too and i had baby room-in with me as well. so it was all pretty convenient.

jrt: no prob abt the explanation of the fasting lar. that topic was discussed a long long time ago i think. i always feel it's good to share these things too.. part of national education too mah? heehee.. the ministy always emphasising abt NE so i'm glad to be able to do my part. haha!!!

i fasted truout my breastfeeding period with adil the last time too. my milk suppy was still ok, thank goodness. so this time round i wanna try doing it too. but all these are my plans lar. whether i will follow thru or not will all depend on how well i feel at that point of time. if can, i go ahead. if not, i stop. no hard and fast rule here for preggers and breastfeeding mom

when's your appt to see gynae next? good luck! i shall be sending positive tots your way

lin, regarding storing of breastmilk:

you don't necessarily haf to store in freezer if you're gonna use the milk for feeding within the next few hours. in fact if keep in normal compartment of refrigerator the BM can last for up to 36h (depending on the temp inside your fridge).

you only put your BM in freezer when you have excess and you won't be needing that batch so soon.

always store in the amounts you need so it's easier to heat/thaw when it's time for feeding.

you can try googling abt storing of breastmilk. there are plenty of sources out there. it's good to read up now and gather the info now. you will have less time for reading when the baby's already out.

hope this helps dear

Erynn, thanks for sharing the list! Very useful. My gf also did one for me but I think yours is more complete. Another gf told me that cotton balls is better than the facial cotton pads as they are softer. You may want to consider that. Also, you may want to consider a drying rack for your bottles, although another gf of mine just left them in the steriliser.

As for the going home outfit, yes, I think it should be a new outfit. I am scrimping on other clothes (buy cheap/get hand me downs) but I splashed out on the going home outfit. Even if too big for my bb girl when she is born, I can let her wear during her first month.

BTW, MPH is having 20% sale on Dr Seuss and Usborne books, if you are interested. I bought 2 touchy-feely books from Usborne. I had earlier bought another book on how to play with baby also from Usborne, which I thought is not bad.

Hi I've got a question about nursing bras, wondering if anyone has any answers...
If we try/buy now, will it still fit later when we start nursing? :S

xoxo
read tt u r still puking. Me too... it got better (thou i still vomit) for a few wks then since yest, i can feel it coming back again.

i wonder if it'll only totally vanish on the day i deliver... sigh...

famela
my check up is next wed... really hope to hear/see gd news. and thks 4 ur encouragement!

wow! u fasted thru'out wif adil? and supply was still good! tts so amazing!!!

4 me, i strictly store chilled EBM max 48 hrs only. if i know they r not gg to b used soon, then they'll directly go to the freezer.

shugar
dun buy nursing bras now... still early... u probably will grow some more later...

i was advised then to get aft 32 wks, where our size is more or less stabilised.

no prob.

can go get yourself measured at mothercare if u want. just pretend u want to buy lor. hehe. i've done tt before. they can advise on size to get. this time round i'm not getting mothercare ones. trying out this new bravado designs brand which my colleague recommended. she said super comfy! i oredy pre-ordered 1 to try. there's a sale on these now:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2572495.html?1245825727

that colleague of mine recommended the Body Silk Seamless Nursing Bra. i told her the BP price and she said it's cheap cos she bought from US at US$50 before shipping cost.

just sharing

jRt: oh ok! will take note of that!
oh by the way, for EBM, apart from the bottle/food warmer, how else can it be heated up? And is a sterilizer really necessary? Not keen to buy more electric appliances as I'm running out of storage place

jrt, haha, yes i did. i discovered tt eating dates helped with the supply! it's like magic really. since fasting month we're encouraged to eat dates anyways so i just made sure i ate more la. then even after fasting month i stocked up on those dates too. 1 hr before pumping i ate one piece. u shld have seen the milk gushing out after tt. i had multiple let-downs so plenty to pump out. my freezer was choke full with EBM lor. next time maybe u can try and see if it works for u too
oh, i oso took the nursing mother's tea fr MIM

Hi Shugar,

I am using a big pot of water to boil and sterilise all the bottles including my breastpump. So you have big pot (~30cm), you can consider dun need to buy the steriliser.

shugar, initially i used to just boil water than pour into small bowl/cup and sit the bottle of cold milk in it. but it takes a while lar. and used up lots of water.

same for steriliser. i used boiled water to pour over bottles/teats etc. after 1 week i gave up n bought steriliser n warmer. more onvenient. faster too. and used up less water. just my POV

shugar
no need to get food warmer! i din hv tt at all. juz warm up using hot water in a cup/bowl. works to be the same!
in fact i found the sterilizer to b a neccessity. Food warmer is optional. The initial few mths we need to make sure the bottles/teats are sterilized coz baby's immunity is the weakest. u wanna minimize any risks. alternatively, u can do wat Joyce suggested - using big pot to boil and sterilise. this is wat our mums used to do.

but like famela, i prfer sterilizer. easier to use, less time and most imptly, saves water.

Famela
Oh dates work wonders? its the 1st time i heard.

My supply was v gd too and like u, the fridge was filled to the brim wif frozen BM tt i had to donate. in fact my son only took 2 packs of FBM during the entire period i was bfg him. i always told him he is so blessed!
I did take MIM's nursing tea once every few days initially but coz supply was bountiful, i stopped taking such things eventually. i juz had to make sure i eat and drink enuff to maintain supply.
we r both so blessed 2 hv bountiful supply! this time, i hope to be the same. and if my son is willing, he can b on partial EBM & FM! helps save money coz he is a milk monster! hahahaa

actually i feel like buying the nursing bras now, coz i realised my normal bras are getting tighter, using bra extensions sometimes also a bit tight leh..

famela, jRt, Joyce: Thanks for your input on the electric items... hmm yah, HB also suggested putting bottle in a bowl of hot water... (hahaha...must be trying to cut items from the terrifying shopping list) so i say that can be his job next time! :p
As for the sterilizer, maybe might start with a big pot lor, and if we get lazy.. hurhur, see how :p
So meaning i throw all the bottles inside to boil and can leave them inside till i want to use?

I just bought some bras from mothercare. They are not nursing bras. I got two because I find my bras too tight, plus all of them have underwire, so it is getting a bit tight.

my bras also all have underwires.. so sometimes its kinda uncomfortable.. maybe i also should use 2 extensions now.. getting a bit suffocated.. i tink i need those lao ah ma bras that are super comfy.. hahahaha

mie: buy from the market.. those morning basah malam stalls.. they got big and cheap ones. super comfy.. no need to spend too much... cos u gonna lose weight after delivery also..

mie: hahaha.. no lah. some of the bras are not bad one... my mum's theory is that buy cheap and nice ones... spoil already can buy again!!! hahahhaa.....

loke>> hahahahahaha.. means tmr morning i need to wake up to go market with my mum le.. to go buy some cheap and comfy bras.. hahahahaha

mie: yeah lor.. not too bad one lah. hahaha... but must see carefully whether got extra holes or not.. hahaha... btw, are u sending isabelle to infant care?

huh, extra holes? the extra holes is at where? sekali is directly at the place where it is not supposed to be! hahahahaha

nope, i am looking ard for baby-sitter now, dun feel very safe to send isabelle to infant care leh.. scared and worried.. you intend to?

mie: i dunno about baby sitters. i might consider infant care afterall. my mum stays too far.. my mil busy taking care of grandma, though got maid lah. but dowan the maid to look after..

Exercise can increase one immunity. I doubt we can really stuff in much fruits because our stomach capacity is limited. Our kidney and liver is already working very hard for 2 person. I think too much vitamin pills may be taxing for them to filther.

My tummy is quite big and heavy. It is a strain to walk nowadays. How am i going to pull thru the next few months?

I worry too much from all the readings about bb nutrients need etc... Meat is so indigestable.

xoxo: We cant really control others behavior. So keep your cool about those ppl who are been irresponsible with themself. Another point is: How can we expect them to be responsible when they cannot even be responsible for themself?

jrt: me too hoping for good supply this time round - with less the drama please!!! in the intial stages, i suffered from bad engorgement and mastitis in the first week. very very PAINFUL! more painful than labour i always tell pple.

my son used to be a milk monster too!! i spent hundreds of dollars on his FM. but ever since he threw out his bottle and started drinking milk fr cup, he's drinking less now.

lin: no worries, don't mention it

ong: yeaps, MIM = moms in mind

bras: it's true la buying bra in 32wks onwards will be more accurate. but for those whose bras are too tight already, can consider getting measured and get 1 cup size bigger if you're getting the nursing bra. better than suffering with the tight bra. not good for the milk ducts. and what funzee mentioned is very true. we should avoid underwired bras from now on. they will cause a prob wif clogged milk ducts later on if the underwire and the bra cuts off circulation due to being too tight. best to get maternity bras/nursing bras with wider shoulder straps for the added support.

ww: be positive and upbeat. sure can manage one lar.
can still run and play in the later2 stages one, don't worry. should be especially easy for you since you've been exercising regularly all this while..?

maybe can ask those vegetarian moms how they manage with their nutrition during pregnancy? my colleague who just gave birth (the one who recommended the bravado bra) is a very strict vegetarian. but she managed to pack in all the nutrients for her baby. 2 saturdays ago, met with her for lunch at this vegetarian restaurant in chinatown (she specifically recommended it to me cos it happens to be halal too) so was able to catch up with her and saw her little boy. very the cute!! and sooooOO chubby!!

if you do have vegetarian friends, maybe can ask them what they eat to substitute for their protein intake...? if you want, i can sms her and ask her for you too. lemme know.

ww: i like ur last line.. 'How can we expect them to be responsible when they cannot even be responsible for themself?' .. yes.. take the case of h1n1.. dun expect pple to give me special privildge.. i can only take better care of myself..

ong: load on vit c, wash hands frequently and wear masks. no other ways to prevent the virus..

re: underwired bras
i read somewhere, yes it blocks milk ducts.. and it is uncomfy. given protruding stomach and enlarged breast size..

blink: there are some good nursing bras which give good support.. i tink can ask the parentcraft of TMC.. or different maternity hospitals.. they can recommend you some..

xoxo: i am not too sure if my superiors can understand the dangers.. coz.. they are not in the high risk groups. and the virus is relatively mild for the non-high risk.. haiz. sometimes we need to put ourselves in other shoes before we can understand.. u get what i mean?

famela: yep.. loading on vit c.. just brought masks for my ENtire family.. no joke. my home high risk CLUSTER!. me, teng. my mum.. *sigh*

lin: as per elaborated by hippo.. we are experiencing reduced immunity. plus the complications are worse during pregnancy. .plus effect on tamiflu on bb unknown. blah blah blah.. u get the picture liao ..

hippo: better now?

xoxo/ong: i dunno why those preggies died.. could be VERY bad complications. in any case.. we can't afford to catch the virus. i finish my work. i siam liao. dun care if it is early or what..i rather come back and work.. my health, my life leh.. haiz..

i am pyschoing myself to be positive.. and that life must go on. but it is easier said than done..seeing the number infected students rise but i have to try. *sigh*.. thank goodness though, they are all very mild.. as in only slight discomfort.. recovers fast.. i hope if i ever get the virus *touch wood* it wun cause major complications.. *sigh*

astro: scary yah this h1n1 thingy? i am worried oso abt going back to work with all these thousands of students. but what to do... so i agree with wat you're doing - finish classes, siam. i plan to do that too in case my skul's got any reported/suspected cases. actually if no cases oso i would still want to practise social distancing la. better be safe than sorry.

eh, where did you get your masks from? how much do they cost now? i have absolutely no idea what to look out for. i oso need to buy. any lobang for cheaper ones?

lin: the symptoms of h1n1

• High fever (> 38 deg C)
• Sore throat
• Cough
• Body aches
• Runny nose
• Headaches
• Tiredness

but they are so generic.. and half of infected patients dun have fever..
i been having headaches and certainly tired..so i am having h1n1 also? haiz..

famela: go cwp.. guardian. still in stock. better grab first.. else once more cases hit.. out of stock again!
i bought two N95 for $3 each ( i think it is very affordable.. ) and highly necessary.. just in case anyone of my family down. *touch wood*.. think tomorrow i go and get three more.. so all of us have one each..

then the routine masks.. can be the ones that comes in packs of 10s. i think $3.50 each. still affordable. that is 3 ply..near the pharmacist area..

i kiasi.. went and buy 2 big packets of redoxon, 20 3 plys masks, 2 n95.. and one small bottle of hand sanitiser for Miser..

can't help it.. i know i am being kiasu.. but hmm. better be safe than sorry..

famela: i actually feel.. my school will be the the hardest hit. coz.. others are all still having the hols till coming monday.. and any possible cases all requestd to stay at home for another 7 days.. so chances greatly minimised.. unless of course.. spead via their families.. then come back to school.. wah. then that is aother issue..

ok thanks. then maybe tmr i go down and get all those you mentioned. i need redoxon too. finish liao.

i have been carrying the small bottle of dettol hand sanitiser in my bag everywhere i go since the outbreak too. and placed 1 big pump bottle in the hubby's car. once go inside the car after jalan2, will get everyone to sanitize hands.

i agree that now is not the time to worry abt being kiasu. like you said, better safe than sorry.

famela: i asked for kids mask! dun have!. ha..
anyway. teng now will wear the mask (though it is so loose on him).. coz i told him he looks handsome in it. and he plays peekaboo with me with that.. haiz..

u cannot imagine the number of times i been washing/santinisig my hands in one day..i use edges of my shirts to push/pull open doors, push lift buttons etc!! ha!

haha! teng is sooo adorable! with the mask oso can play peekaboo. hee hee

i have not started wearing masks when i go shoping centres. do you think we should start now? or not necessary?

neither was i before this h1n1 coming in during this pregnancy. last time SARS oso not so worried.

blah!

famela: coz now we are the high risk group mah :S.. so unless we are in the shoes of the high risk, we won't panic one.. that's human nature lah.. sorry for being so frank.. i am speaking for myself..:S

given the situation in my school.. come monday i will wear the mask.. i have frens who have delievered. she is also wearing hte masks! if i can force teng to wear. i will make him wear to playgroup!

i think i will eventually get accustomed to the stares.. i have colelagues (non-preg) who are wearing the masks liao..

ok ladies i am going to sleep liao..
been having headaches.. hopefully nothing more major that just overworked and tired..

go and clear the stores of redoxon (vit c), hand sanitizers, masks etc.. i believe in the power of our thread! whahahaha.

night ladies.