(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

ww >> xoxo wants to become a hikkomori. the ways of the world do not agree with me...muahahaha, when i drive, i get infuriated. when i dine, i get paranoid. when i shop...my toes get stepped on..and the list of intolerables goes on...

famela/astro >> life becomes more complex when ST is screaming "worse to come" on the first page.

while i haven't taken to wearing masks yet, my husband been telling me to ditch that pride and put the N95 on (it's the only one that can keep u safe from the virus..generic ones are as good as useless). i tried to have a "feel" of what wearing a mask felt like..can only say it really makes breathing darn difficult. and when i have just finished with a fresh rd of nausea, the last thing i want to do is put a mask on.

meanwhile, i have used my elbows for lift buttons, hips and bums for doors (better if there are pp behind me, i'll gladly step aside for them to open these for me); antibacterial wipes from freshening (wet wipes do nothing much to viruses again)...using tea tree oil sprays on my mobile, office phones..drinking from my own water bottle rather than share office cups..hmph..and this is the most drastic bit, i've taken to dine at odd hours to minimise contact with the public. so breakfast for me is at home, lunch is at 3pm, dinner's at 9pm and i choose the most deserted of plcs...

haha, sorry to bore u. but it's really tough being in the high risk grp and memories of my pneumonia is still fresh in my mind, hence the heightened sense of dread..

Siangjiao: Maybe you can try to apply calamine lotion. It may help to relieve your skin prbs.

Astro/xoxo: For your concerns about fish mercury level: Eat some garlic. Astro, maybe have to think of some ideas how to make your boy eat salmon with garlic. It is suppose to help in getting rid of the mecury. Concerns about flu. Barley is suppose to increase immunity. I have to emphasize that the above is from readings of health,pregnancy related materials. As to how accurate they are i am unsure. But harmless trying in moderation.

Actually i am also upset with those ppl who go around spreading the flu. But i figure out, it is pointless wasting my time/resources with them. Why let them increase our stress and anxiety level further?

I have been persuading my hb to eat his fruits or his redoxon daily.

Famela: Thanks alot. I can understand better why some women become vegans after pregnancy. I need to cut down on my walks because i am getting too busy and tired.

astro,
hey... thanks for your concern. unfortunately, this cough/cold is STUBBORN! one day it gets better, the next day it gets worse. so one step forward, one step back. quite frustrating.

i went out to buy facial masks as well. but i only bought the normal ones lah. i didn't get N95. maybe i should get a couple as well, just in case.

HB in HK now, gave him hand sanitizer and masks too. for on the flight and in the exam hall. he'll be back tonight. YAY. luckily only overnight stay. hehe...

astro/famela,
pls take good care. and just wear the masks to school. cos its quite dangerous lah. i was telling my HB not to attend SAF day even. but cant leh. he gotta receive some stupid award. so unless mindef calls it off, he'll have to be at the parade.

i'm also avoiding crowded places. but i dont like going to crowded places anyways. even when i normally go to orchard is like 10.30am in the morning, go and buy whatever i need, by lunch time, i left already. so quite ok. but i think i'll stay away in the mean time lah. when i feel bored and need to sneak out, then i will wear the mask lor.

astro : Juz got my hus to buy the normal type of 3 ply masks and vit C fm watsons. Bot 50pcs in a box for mask as that is the only packaging selling at the watsons store near my hse. Just grab it before it runs out. Anticipating situation to escalate further since now all clinics and polyclinics are trained to take in H1N1 patients as well.

If i wasn't pregnant, i believe i wun be so panaroid. I nearly had pneumonia few mths back. Pneumonia would put us as super high risk since it will increase the complications of the recovery if reali kena. H1N1 is only mild if there r no complications. There r 89 cases today. Seems like spore could be one of the highest as compared to our neighbouring countries.

hippo : me avoiding shopping during wkend now. Been at home for the past wkend and this wkend. Kinda boring as can just surf net. Bobian, just "ren" for 3 more long mths!

Take care everyone!

Lin : i am using normal detergent to wash my #1 clothes last time. There r many brands for bb detergents. Easily can find pigeon, tollyjoy, ABD etc...at malls.

DEar all i hv a GRACO preloved stroller for sale at $80 ( last price)
pls PM me for pictures tks alot.

self collection at YISHUN/TELOK BLANGAH

lin: call me Astro.. that's my only constant nick. the rest chnges like the weather..

WW: concerned about fish mecury level? teng likes salmon and garlic.. ha.. so i am not worried :p just that he wun take his green veg! wah liew.. still trying to manipulate him to eat.. that boy has shapr eyes meh.. small specks of green also will pick out! argh..

hippo/ww/ong: this is what miser said.. when i keep nagging at the h1n1 situation.. he said, 'who knows? our family, u and me everyone.. would already hve gotten h1n1 . remember we had headaches last week? and u are always so tired.. so.. we got h1n1 liao'..
kaoz.. i almost pull my hair out at his response! hmm. i should pull his hair instead! argh..

xoxo: yep.. only n95 really works.. but h1n1 is still considered mild (we better dun get it though).. so the normal 3ply can still 'work' unless it gets wet or someone sneezes at our face!

ww: yeah i had stomach cramp last night!!! and it was quite painful

I can feel that the baby's either her hand or leg like slowly pop out from the side then it's hard hard like that haa. think sometimes her position abit sala and makes me feel v uncomfortable =\

Re: H1N1
My hubby ask me to avoid taking the public transport.. but cab are so expensive esp when my lessons are in the evening peak hours!
Think i also avoid shopping areas during weekend or those sales (mango,zara etc) so dangerous man!!

hi astro
okay ")

hi ong
thks, will look out for it")

hi ww
i m not sure if i am experiencing cramps anot, but definitely not stomach ache, cos the feeling is much painful than that, but only lasts awhile n only begin a few wks ago ( i m now 22 wks ).
do u noe what causes cramps? i m wondering if it is because i drank too much softdrink?

morning all,

MIA for a week or so. very tired with work n hse.

Re: N95

wun u feel suffocated inside the mask? i do leh cos i only breathe in my carbon dioxide. Think i dun bother liao lah. wat will come will come lor. jz be careful n anything not right, go see doc.

hello hello!

hippo reporting! finally beginning to see some light at the end of the tunnel. hopefully grinding another couple of days and i can reach 100% recovery.

this H1N1 is a real drag isn't it? i haven't been anywhere at all. pretty much been home trying to get better.

the HB is back. poor guy. even with normal masks he said was a bit difficult to breathe. i can't imagine using the N95. i haven't had to use a mask yet. cos i haven't been out!!!

was planning to watch transformers. then HB said better not. then he had a great idea. watch it in gold class. hahaha... so i guess we'll be doing it come this weekend. ;)

happy hippo: wau so good ah.. i havent try gold class before lei.. hee.. bu she de to spend haha somemore with #1 no need to think..

famela
hopefully as 2nd time mothers, we r better at handling engorgement issues this time. i am certainly looking fwd to the bfg experience again.

my son finishes 1.8kg tin of milk powder in under 3 wks... a true blue milk monster.
i hv no intention of weaning him off the milk btl coz i believes it helps him to maintain his current milk consumption. i wld like him to continue wif this milk drinking habit coz i believe its gd 4 him, thou the milk powder r really exp. when he turns 3, i'll "upgrade" his milk powder to the next stage and its cheaper!

i know some mums dun like the idea of their tods still drinking milk using milk btls but i really hv no issue wif tt. moreover, its only used to drink milk.

lin
i'm currently using kodomo liquid detergent & softener for my son's clothes.

hippo: good for u!.. that time my cough dragged for a month. heh. coz i haven't been diligent to take the cough syrup.. gynae told me cough's tricky

myverla: yes. i tried once when i was still moe teacher.. that times was sars.. wah. difficult to breathe.. hmm with this current 3ply one. also difficult ot breathe.

astro,
thanks. yah, what to do, cant go out, so stay home and rest and sleep and drink a lot of water. it can only get better right??? just keeping my fingers crossed. sigh... hope you're resting enough as well. this bug is a real drag on everything.

hi mtbs and mummies..

ask u all ah, for confinement hor, is it a must to eat the vinegar pig trotter? i am thinking of asking my mum not to cook that.. i dun like to eat that... ;p

Hello Jacelyn,

I dun take vinegar pig trotter too. But after delivery, I have the heavy bleeding all the way to a month and moderate for the 2nd month. People told me that I need vinegar to cleanse my body system to get rid all the toxic faster. So for my second one, I take vinegar pig trotter without the meat of course. And my heavy bleeding only last for 2 weeks. Completely stop by the six weeks, just in time for the post-maternal check-up.

So I think you can tried to drink the soup only. Try some eggs to go along, quite nice actually.

jacelyn,
hehe... if u dun like then dun eat lor. i dun think there's such thing as a MUST. cos its up to us to follow the "rules" right?

e.g. pple say confinement cant bathe for 1 mth. are you not bathing? i cannot stand not bathing. so i will be bathing. but maybe not as much as i normally do. like these days weather so hot, i shower up to 3 times a day. so sweating all the time so gross!!!

maybe if you feel bad then just eat a bit lor.

btw, you know i showed the herbal pack brochure to my parents and my dad said "you know what is really good for you now? dong chong cao. so now want to drink or not?" i was like eeee... but i dont like all those herbal things. then he said but its good for bb. so i will try after i get well. but if really nasty tasting, maybe just swallow really fast. i dunno lah. sigh... he even dug out my grandma's "medicine box" where all those herbs are and said "see ah ma got all this expensive dong chong cao its very good for you." peng san. i dunno what to say!? *shrugs*

haha thanks for the advices.. ;p

ya maybe will jus ask my mum cook once a week pa.. haha.. i will tell her i already taking the herbal soup so shld be 'pu' enuff la.. plus drink the longan red dates drinks too.. ;p

ya will sure BATHE la.. hee.. with the herbal bath pack lor.. if not mum sure dun allow me to bathe one..

so hippo, are u getting the herbal soup?
actually to me i think herbs quite good la.. hee.. i more to chinese med rather than western med.. and i also lazy to prepare so many stuff so jus get the prepack one.. more convienent..

hi jrt

thanks for your info")

do u noe if they are open tmr? and what do they sell? i m interested in bb products, if they are cheap. do u noe their pricing?

mylvera,
hahaha... u r very cute lah. :p how about i bring you with me to my MIL? cos she also another one, waiting to bomb me with the dong chong cao. my HB said cham already once i open the floodgates, both sides will bomb me nonstop. he said i just gotta open my mouth and say i want to eat. yucks man! eeewww...

what to do? cos my mum dun like all these stuff so she never fed us all this. but my grandma will force us to drink these "poison" (my bro & I used to call it) periodically. eeekkkksssss...

jacelyn,
my old man claims that he can get the same things from the chinese medicine halls also. like he very SART like that. funny hor? so i just left him the task lah. anyway i dun really care if i eat or dun eat. in fact, if no need to eat better. dun like the smell. hehe...

is it during that our confinement, we cant go out AT ALL, even though we may have already recovered?

how to stand 1 mth lying on bed?

confinement need to lie on bed throughout meh? no need one ba, we still can walk ard (in the house) right? and most impt is cannot have the fan blow at you directly.. i intend to stay inside the aircon room throughout the day lo..

we are not allowed to go out coz we cant have the wind blow at us.. also, with the blood flowing down like that, you wanna go out meh? and with the hair oily and unwashed for a period of time, i tink we will look ghastly to even step out of the house! hahahahaha..

at least for me, i will be trying to tahan not washing my hair for as long as i can but will be bathing daily with the herbs la..

hi Evil*Mie

but how to stand one mth at home? even recover le also cant meh? heard ppl say can bath de lei, but how long later den can bath huh? if got wind den what happen?

mie,

sometimes old folks say no aircon too. i will definitely wash my hair DAILY haha n will stay in aircon room for most of the time but will still let my aircon take a break while i outside haha

hippo,

erm.. u r fortunate tat yr folks will double boil soup for u. for my 1st 2 preg, my MIL did not double boil soup for me. my own mother is too pre-occupied with my nephew, den nephews tat she seldom has time for me too. now she is busy with my grandma. this preg, my MIL did double boil soup for me but i tink cos my FIL wana her to do tat or cos my sons love to drink double boiled soup. else nothing for me too. she ever mentioned tat i cannot eat too much durian n did not buy for me. my FIL "gian" to eat durian so aft we bot a few times (n kena told off) he bot D24 back but not nice haha .. den my MIL mentioned last week that she bot 1 mao shang wang for herself n FIL that costs $21! i only get to hear but not eat :p

lin/mie ,i bath n wash my hair daily with herbs. I on d aircon 4 whole day except when bathg. Though bath daily,i stil smell like milk cow as simply busi pumpg every 3hrs.

lin/mie/ong, i also bathe and wash my hair everyday with herbal bath pack.. i also on aircon lei haha.. plus fan.. ;p

morning all mommies,
anyone experiencing constant crampy pain (like menses cramp) that just won't go away?

i woke this morning with the cramp and the pain just won't go away until now. is this anything to be worried about? any remedies?
the feeling sucks...

hihi, rem reading past posts that some of u have done prenatal massages before..my back is achin today n I took a day off frm work today hopin to go for one..can anyone pass me contacts pls? ;p

hi Jacelyn/ong

thanks, but where do we get the herbal pack?

i cant stand 1 mth nt walking out of the house? does any1 of u still goes out b4 a mth?

cat: mine is pain in the pelvic area. I try to do some exercises to relief the pain.
If you feel uncomfortable, call your gynae and ask. My colleague who's 7 months preg is in the hospital for dunno what monitoring. Hope she's fine.

lin: I seriously don't think there's a need to go overboard with the myths for confinement. My mother showered and drank water during confinement, and she's fine anyway.

Don't shower: Coz last time in china, they usually get water from well or river. Lots of bacteria. That's why need to boil water to kill the germs. In addition, there's no proper stitching of the wound when they deliver, so they don't want the wound to get infected, hence a blanket -don't shower- ruling.

Don't wash hair - coz last time no hair dryer. Plus China is so cold, they don't really need to wash or shower much.

If you don't shower and stay in hot room, then you only have sweat to feed your baby. Plus smelly. Yucks!

Regarding water, the guy at a chinese medincine shop says that drinking water will lead to water retention and bloatedness. So you may drink red, blue and black date drink.

Hippo: Check with you, when you went Europe that time, did you purchase any travel insurance? Did it include pregnancy-related emergencies as well?

Hi Lin,

I bath twice a week during my confinement. It should be okay as long you dun bathe in the cold water lah... For those days, I dun bath I will sponge myself with towel to clean up the dirt.

Aiyo... ask me not to bath for 30 days, I cannot tahan and I also dun want my bb to have a smelly mummy.. hahahahaha

During my confirment, I try not to walk around too much as I afraid that my womb will be pull down by the gravity. Thus, if there is really a need to go out for a short while, I think it still alright to do so....

vodkarib,
yah. that's my contact. gimme your email and i give you her number.

glass,
very well said. i was told more or less the same thing.

siangjiao,
i took AIG travel insurance. got pregnancy related stuff inside too. but i think up to dunno which week they dun wanna insure already. also airline wont let you fly if you're too advanced in your pregnancy either. and u need doc's letter to state how many weeks gestation you're at the airport.

re: confinement
i just wanna say. if we're in air-con the whole day, air-con is wind also right? so if you're blowing in the wind whole day anyways, then why cannot go out to "blow wind"? its no difference lor. so once you're in AC whole day, then it pretty much means you're free to shower or go out or whatever the hell you wanna do. cos it aint no different.

so just take old wives tales with a pinch of salt and alter it to your own liking and moderation lah. of course in terms of practicality, it is difficult to go out in the 1st mth anyways cos you're bleeding and nursing and wound also not all that healed yet right? but if really bored at home then go out and get some fresh air is also good for your own health.

lets just hope that by the time we deliver, this stupid H1N1 thing has blown over more or less. otherwise you wanna go out and worry if you'll catch a bug.