(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

hi blinkblink.. didn't see you ard these past few days.

hahaha! where did that qn come from? errr... i still take as much chilli leh.. the more the merrier. even with my heartburn and all i just bulldozed lar. i don't think i can take bland, non-spicy food. my favourite now is ayam lemak cili padi (chicken cooked in coconut gravy with chili padi which are those tiny super hot chili), ayam masak merah (chicken cooked in chilli-tomato paste) and anything with chili

why do you ask?

famela: my friend told me that one of her friends ate so much chilli that baby come out got eczema..

and i cant eat anything without chilli!!! i can be a malay already.. hahhaa...

do u eat as much chilli when u had adil???

ohh.. really? never heard that one before though.

oh yes i rem you mentioned that you loved your chili too!

yes, i had as much chilli with adil!
i had even worse heartburns with adil but still had to have chili lar. then that time my 1st trimester was during fasting month and there was a food bazaar just beside causeway point selling all the yummy delicacies. and my fav was the spicy otah2, and this roti boyan thingy which is basically pastry with potato filling (like curry puff liddat) and eaten with sambal. yum! loved all that! but i could NOT stand the food smell cos of my MS so ate with one hand pinching my nose. hahahah!

no problems with eczema though. maybe that fren's case just a coincidence..?

famela: actually i thought so too... i really cant live a day without chilli leh. ok lah. maybe one day is acceptable. but not like more than two days?? hahhaa... i think eczema has got to do with hormones more than the chilli that mummies took?

i can transform into a hot chilli padi and fight with the bad guys in transformers.... hahhaha!!!!

btw, i was reading all the posts ah.. just didnt post anything cos nothing to say.. hahaha...

hi hippo/famela, thks! been taking some vit C drinks too. Ya me working. In fact my job dun reali require me to be in ofc as i can work fm home but my boss dun reali like us to work fm home unless we reali got something on.*haiz..*

btw, taka having sales fm 25 june to 28 june. members have additional 10% discount. tink someone asking abt it sometime ago and i happen to rcvd the leaflet ytd.

blinkblink: LOL! the image of you transforming into chili padi to fight baddies is funny lar! haha!

i don't really know what causes eczema though but could be the hormones like you mentioned.

me too, me too! i read pretty regularly from my hp too. but as i mentioned lar.. hard to reply fr there. and most times nothing to say or too busy on my laptop doing online shopping. hahaha!!!

ong: it's good though that you haf the option of working from home right?

this taka sales is not the baby fair or is it? i tot the baby fair usually in july/aug? am looking fwd to that fair to get all my little items and toiletries for baby

thanks for that link. no mention of chili there so i guess we're good to go!

ok ladies, i need to go lie down and make sure my son goes down for his nap..

chat later yah?

hi famela

ya, they r nt reali very understanding ... so sad cos i have been wking hard for them, but.. well, i shall rest 1st b4 thinking of wk ba, co nt ours, wk so hard also no use de..

you must have a enjoyable off and enough rest these few days hor...

hi joyce

i had given up the thought of rebonding for the time bring le..

u mention natural with epidual, is it pain in the process of giving birth?
magazine oso mention that when abt to give birth, stomach will hurt every few mins, is it true?
i m just scare of all the pain "(

did ur bb come earlied than EDD or later?

i like to check if any1 encounter this b4...

my hubby say that sometimes he will feel that there is many things in his chest, and the feeling gets a bit sour and full to below his throat, feeling is like a bit wan to vomit and is happen frequently..

do any of u noe y and how to cure?

Hi Lin,

There is still small amt of pain but is bearable. If you find the pain too difficult to bear, you can request to increase the dosage through the whole process. Small amt of pain is request so that you can still feel the urge to push your bb when he/she is ready to arrive to the world.

My 1st one is induced due to the medical condition the whole process from contraction to delivery took abt 9 hours.

As for my 2nd one is 3 days eariler than the edd and the process just taken abt 4 hours. I actually regret to take the epidural for my 2nd one because almost immediately I was adminstered with the drug I feel the urge of pushing liao.... So is the kind of wasted the medication....

loke : if u have the tangs credit card, will be 10% rebate during normal period. This rebate is one of the highest as majority only 5% rebate. Quite worth to buy during their sales as they provide 20% + 10%(members during specific day) +12% rebate for members. But too bad their baby's stuff nt much.

famela, my boss did not offer me the options to work fm hm leh only. i only work fm home if i happen to have parents teacher meetg or if i am on MC or half day. tink the taka sales is the general sales and it could hv include all depts.

lin, i badly need a rebonding too but din dare to do it as worry abt side effects etc though it is pretty safe. My hair just look like a bunch of wild grass as it is so frizzy. Just "ren" for the time being.

famela
i din read the part abt ur placenta moving up... if its true, I'm so happy 4 u!

I'm getting anxious over this and next wk, i'll find out during the check-up.

do u still hv to fast? i thot pregnant mums are excused?

Hi there...
I just found out that Mount A will provide you with a BB bath tub, so for those delivering there maybe dun need to go buy this item?
Will check again with them when i go for the prenatal class.

Hi, Got this list of things to buy for newborn baby from a friend. Thought of sharing with mummies here to stock up during the GSS.<center><table border=1><tr><td>
attachment_icon.gif
Baby Needs
Babyneeds1.xls (27.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>

hi blinkblink

hi joyce
y does it take so long? 4 hours? i thought should be very fast de, 20 mins...? i also no noe, but nvr expect it to be soooo long... it must have been very suffering for u

i thought epidural is medicine to stop the pain? or medicine for u to push?

can any1 tell me the process from 1st step of storing pumped out breast milk to taking it out and warm for bb to drink? i dont know the timing..

i only know pump into bottles, store into freezer, and den into chiller when bb wants to drink and take out to warm the milk bb when drinking time... m i right? how many hours / days interval do i have to wait?

lin>> 1 set of baby clothes is enough, for baby to go home in, and i heard that this first set of clothes must be new as this is the first present from the parents to the baby! mine already all prepared.. wahahaha

went for gynae appt this morning, am officially 24 weeks today, baby's 602 grams, and mummy has put on 1.6 kg since 4 weeks ago.. next visit will be the test for GD where i will need to drink a whole glass of glucose water and take blood test twice.. so strictly NO DURIANS for me these 4 weeks!

I am also having very severe backpain that is disturbing my sleep. Stomache cramp also. It is quite scary. I still walk every morning, evening. swim about 2-3 times a week. My indigestion is worsening. I lost abit of weight.I am getting fearful of meat for it reminds me of indigestion. It seems to get stuck everywhere in me so i try to drink more soup instead. Hope to make up to bb for the lack of meat intake.

Lately having craving for milk. Day and night i think of drinking milk. Sometimes drink up to about 8 glasses within a day. What is wrong with me? I am getting very irrational .

jrt,

hehe.. i think this fasting thingy was discussed quite some time back. it's not compulsory for us preggers to fast if we don't feel up to it or it causes us more harm than good. but if we feel ok, we can still fast as usual. i'm hoping and planning to if everything is ok. cos as i explained to some of the mommies here, if don't fast during fasting month, we still have to pay back the days of not fasting after we have delivered. we have a period of 1 year to do this - before the start of the next year's fasting month. this means must fast during non-fasting month leh. which is wayyyyyyyyyy more difficult to do. cos everyone else not fasting. so i would very much like to fast if i can. hope that helps clears things up?

regarding the placenta: yes, it's moved up!
i didn't write abt it here. i think xoxo read abt it on my blog. i'm just glad that it's moved up lar. another worry less yet again.

i'm sure you'll be fine. don't worry too much yah?

hi miemie! GD? good luck dear. and that's a good weight gain for a month there. i gained more than twice that amount just this month alone!!

ww: maybe you're craving milk cos you're hungry? since you can't eat meat, opt for meat(protein) substitutes..?

HI Lin,

The pushing stage is relative short abt 10mins. But waiting for our cervix to open take quite long. The time is abt 1cm per hour. And you can only push your bb when your cervix is fully dilated to 10cm. Some mummies took 24 hours to deliver the bb.

As for the epidural is a form of pain relief. But the midwife will normal start with the low dosage first, if you still very the pain in very bad you can request to increase the dose. Note: The epidural medication is a continual flow till you deliver the bb.

As for the bb's clothes, you only need to prepare 1 set if you are delivered in TMC. For KK hospital, it depends on the package that you have signed up. Because my sister-in-law is the subsided patient, her bb is not given any clothes to wear and she need to bring 3 sets for her baby throughout the stay in hospital. It is always good to check with your chosen hospital what are the items that they are going to provide for you and bb esp this is your first child.

Hi Lin, during normal times it doesnt happen. Do you?

Does anyone still feel a blend taste in your mouth? I still feel it and have to keep drinking water to wash the taste away.

Hi mtbs, hee... back again.. missed a lot of the discussion here.. ;(

From my #1 experience at MT A--
Things you need to bring to hospital:
1) Own clothing (2 x button down night gown)
2) Baby clothing - just the button shirt for going home, they provide blanket to wrap bb, with hood
3) Mitten and Bootees
4) Receiving blanket: no need
5) Nipple Cream, if u want and buy medela
6) Extra Pad (in case you dun like what hospital provide)
7) Extra disposable panties
8) Your own daily essential (facial cleanser, comb etc) - provided by Mt A
9) Face towel, i think not advisable to bathe in hospital ;p
10) Breastpump, jus in case but i nv bring
11) Camera
12) Confirmation letter from hospital/gynae
13) Nursing bras - for going home as i didnt wear any during the stay there hahaha
14) magazines/laptop

morng soh

it happens to me during normal times too, occassionally...how abt u?

i too, sometimes will feel a blend taste in my mouth, sometimes, i will eat many things or drink many to cover it only to realise its worse so i drink coke to cover it. the coke must be cold n gassy enough'') shiok ")

ong: yeah. thanks for the info. i also think tangs dun have a lot of baby stuff. taka got a little more only.

jacelyn: thanks. the list is for those going mt A to deliver one right??

btw jus to add on, MT A's nurses are really good!! i enjoyed my stay there.. i forgot the ward i was in but me n hubby really thinks that their service is great.. ;p fyi, i went thru csect.. hee..

when i was staying at KKH, i did not brg my breast pump. Instead, i loan fm them at foc. They sterlise everything for me before i use and they will wash it for u too after using. So pretty convenience. If u brg your own, i guess u got to wash it or get your hus to wash it. KKH dun even need to use panties there as they use the pad with loop type. But i will just brg a few disposable panties there this round just in case as i hate the loop type.

hi, some correction. I am not wearing panties when staying in hospital but when check out, will need to wear panties since we r using stick on type.